Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Chiqui This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida García Lago, 9, 39005 Santander, Spain

#9 of 28 hotels in Santander

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3284 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.5
    Short one night stay but very memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms should have air conditioning

    When we arrived there was limited car parking, there was also a wedding, the lady on reception went out of her way to facilitate our parking, absolutely brilliant she is a real credit to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    Bad experience sleepwise.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible room. Looks nice but no Ac, light bulb on the terrace not possibl to turn off. Very irritating, cause had to leave door open for ventilations. Lots of noise from restaurant.

    Nice location, nice reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.5
    Good choice for off season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is an opaque pricing system for this hotel. We paid extra on an already high price for a 'room with sea view' only to find that although we had this, we did not have air conditioning as it was not a 'superior room'. Most other rooms did. The hotel admitted that none of this was explained online and that they were sorry it was not clear. Parking outside is chaotic and the price for parking in the hotel garage is 22 euros a day. There is little local atmosphere at the Hotel Chiqui.

    This is a lovely location at the end of the strip and with direct access to the sea. Snorkelling along the rocks at the edge of the bay is interesting. The breakfast was good, if overpriced. View from the balconies is excellent. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    6.7
    Location is top, rooms are clean, breakfast is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking very expensive no airco in room. If you take half board be aware that the meals can be very good or ... very bad. It's not buffet but you have to choose out of 3 dishes. Some dishes stay on the menu for some days and some of these dishes are not very good.

    Location is top, rooms are clean, breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    6.3
    Basic summer weekender at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No aircon in the room nor the hall way for a summer day. Guests smoke at balcony and forced us to close door without any other ventilation. No self control of balcony light for sleeping but it seems to switch off at 1am (by the hotel).

    View to the beach is great. We drove so chose the beach location away from the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.0
    A perfect 3 night stay before catching ferry home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    The beach which our balcony overlooked was outstanding and minutes away. The room was well furnished with very good bathroom. Handy for buses into the city. On street parking next to the hotel was free. Amazing walks from the hotel. Perfect location with or without car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Superior venue in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This may sound trivial, but it was annoying that the bathroom door was either completely shut or wide open. And if you forgot to shut it when you went to the loo, it would swing back and bang your knees! Annoying!

    Room with a view! We had a balcony with a view over the beaches - superb! The room was a decent size, the beds very comfortable. We had lunch in the restaurant, and enjoyed that too. Good selection in the breakfast buffet. An easy walk to the nearby beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.9
    Would like to return and take in more of the area... We were always in too much of a hurry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was lovely, staff very friendly. Made two visits, one going on to Portugal and second going back to uk, but both visits were enjoyable. Great terrace bar if you want to just sit and enjoy the ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again for sure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my room, there were two twin beds and it was not possible to unite them. It would be also good to have hotel slippers in the room. The duvets and the blankets were not very comfortable. Good breakfast, but some different dishes might be added. Water boiler and tea/coffee can be put to the rooms.

    Very kind reception staff. Very good location and all rooms have sea view. The rooms are cleaned in depth every day. The restaurant serves good food and the prices are fine. Room size is more than enough. In general, really recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was excellent! Right at end of the street with view point. Beach right across the street. Great restaurants within walking distance. Beautiful view from our balcony! Staff was great and friendly! It exceeded our expectations! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Great location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location right on the beach. Bus stop 5min walk for bus to Santander, 7min. Friendly staff. Great food in restaurant at good prices. Get room with balcony. Will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Was upgraded to suite which was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was upgraded to suite which was lovely. Quiet at night. Parking for motorbikes. Lovely staff. Beach towels. Great breakfast and restaurant. 2nd time staying will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing apart from location and ambience of position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con in room. Very basic décor in room considering price. Small bathroom. No mirror near plug point in bedroom. No tea/coffee making facilities. Not all staff on reception helpful and friendly.

    Location, bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Great location overlooking the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shortage of parking

    We were upgraded to a room with two balconies overlooking the beach. Only disappointed that we were only staying one night, so were unable to fully take advantage of this

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower/bath installation was not the most comfortable. The restaurant was very nice but the staff there were a bit inattentive.

    Ideal location with view over the Sardinero beach. Even if it is a bit far from the centre of town it is easily accessible with bus or you can take a long but pleasant walk along the beach. Pleasant and relaxing, comfortable beds and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, warm and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor fault would be that my elderly father couldnt shower as it was in the bath. I'm sure if I had requested a room for him earlier they would have obliged

    This hotel was just so lovely, lovely location and the staff were very friendly and spoke english, very helpful. I would definitely book this hotel again . Food in the restaurant was good too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    The staff are aware of dietary needs such as coeliac ( son gluten). I would like to see the chef offering customers boiled potatoes as a substitute for French fries as I was offered nothing, not even extra vegetables!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    we loved the terrace in our room which overlooked the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we loved the terrace in our room which overlooked the beach. At night the hotel was really quiet which made for a great sleep. Lunch in the restaurant was delicious. we'd certainly recommend this hotel. Great bus service into the city meant we had the best of both worlds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, ocean view with sound of the sea,...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Equipment of the rooms is quite basic - no water boiler, no tea/coffee, no drinking water, just one plastic chair, rooms are rather badly soundproofed - had a bit louder talking neighbours and could understand every word till after midnight, bathroom was a bit bonkers

    Excellent location, ocean view with sound of the sea, friendly and helpful staff, good mattresses, nice breakfast, fair prices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    can't beat the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    outside lights didn't go off. so light pollution into room

    beautiful location with sea right in front of hotel. nice food and bar balcony with sea view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room but easy enough to get one from café/bar downstairs whilst taking in the amazing sea views.

    Fabulous location, right on the beach could see for miles along the coast. Really comfy beds and very helpful staff. Spotless clean rooms. The restaurant had delicious food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Hightly recommended and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have tea and coffee provided in the room but there was a fantastic restaurant downstairs and great breakfast buffet provided.

    Absolutely fabulous location right on the beach with amazing views. Super helpful staff, the lady on reception really went out of her way to help us. The bed was really comfy too. Absolutely loved this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    I loved the view of the beach from my hotel room balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can not think of anything I did not like.

    We loved this hotel! Very clean room, great staff, awesome buffet breakfasts and very reasonable rates! Will return when I am in Santander again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel situated and it was close to most of the things love...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no in room coffee need to go down to get it , and they did sweep the flood , only made the bedding and clean the bathroom .

    Hotel situated and it was close to most of the things love it. It is clean and quite friendly staff .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Super location with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only problem in this hotel is the bar manager, Carlos. He is extremely rude to the guests and acts like they are an inconvenience to him. He also treats his staff badly - they appear to be afraid of him

    Super location with great staff. Our room had a fantastic sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The very thin walls and ceilings. Their refurbishment a year ago should have included some soundproofing not a difficult task with materials that are now available. The “coughing” coming from both sides of my room was unbelievable I had to laugh!!

    Location for those who like to have sea views. Their restaurant The Panorama was superb with good food and excellent service, plus the breakfasts provided me with everything I like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and comfortable. Overlooking Sardinero beach. Reasonably priced. Good transport links. It's an hour's walk along the front to the town centre, train station and ferry port. €10 in a taxi. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.2
    Great value hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lights on balcony come on automatically in evening and stay on till about 1am. Means could not see the lovely moonrise from our bed as well as we might have liked - but it was still good.

    Good value at hotel for the room we had with veranda on the front of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite far away from city center Windows could only bei opend unlocked (Not comfortable for first Floor)

    Great place to stay: Friendly & helpful staff Good restaurant Close to beaches & cliffs Easy parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Localised on Sardinero beach, at the end of a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Localised on Sardinero beach, at the end of a quiet street. Rooms with sea view. Cleaned daily. Buses to the city centre within 5 minute walk. Car park outside. Good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel,been our favourite for twelve years .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking almost impossible to park near hotel,especially during weekends/holidays.

    Location .esspecially for beach,and seafront.also for ferry port.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would’ve liked a double bed instead of twin but no problem. The coffee in the machine at breakfast, not great.

    The staff were extremely friendly. The room very comfortable, we didn’t want to leave it. The breakfast excellent with great variety

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.9
    A number of niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from other guests at about 7am. Seems to be less parking available. Also restaurant and bar have been modernised. Is very popular with the Spaniards. For English people the food choice is not very good. We always liked staying here over the last 7 years, but will go elsewhere in Santander in future.

    Comfortable room. View from the balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and hope to returned soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had a balcony with a fabulous view across the bay. There is a cliff walk at the back of the hotel about a one hour round trip, worth doing. The area is very quiet so no noise at night. We enjoyed our three night stay, good value accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.8
    the setting is spectacular and the hotel is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better. The bread was stale and what was available was uninteresting.

    The staff were lovely. The rooms are comfortable with stunning views and the evening meal that we ate was delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    Beach heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is right on the beach, close to excellent restaurants and we took.a wonderful walk to the palace and castle. Don't miss the seals along the way. Sunrise was the most spectacular I have ever seen. Helpful happy staff made our stay in Santander a pleasure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    Really excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    A quite exceptionally nice and good value hotel. Reception helpful. Room a good size, very comfortable huge bed, good bathroom, usable balcony. Evening meal ( on half board deal) really good and included wine, excellent service. Location excellent. All most impressive. Really recommend, especially if arriving late on ferry.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    Would always recommend, staff, location and facilities are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the new lounge/dining area we felt that the staff were in need of some in house training in speed of service and health and hygiene activities, service at times was slow with hot drinks sitting and as such cool or cold when brought to your table and tables in need of clearing and wiping. We felt that the evening menu was not reflective of the facilities,the chef or management were setting their sights too high in the menu presented, for the time of year (winter) it would have been nice to see a selection of soups included in the starters to go with their excellent bread.

    The facilities at the hotel and the staff were excellent as always, the refurbishment to the lounge, reception and the breakfast area were an added bonus to the hotels already superb status, breakfast staff superb, attentive and professional. Will always choose this hotel when in Santander because we are always make welcome and we know the high standards of service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    8.3
    Location, friendliest & value with secure parking for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked because we’d had such a good time before but this time didn’t quite live up to the standards. We booked dinner, bed & breakfast, good price, but the food wasn’t very good, although the restaurant has a nice atmosphere.

    Location, friendliest & value with secure parking for an additional cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice, comfortable hotel but let down by an extremely rude attitude of one member of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Assumed the radiator would automatically turn off as there was no way of doing it in the room but Very little sleep because maximum heat coming from the radiator less than a metre from my face. Engineer called in the morning to discover the regulator had been REMOVED. Complained at reception but met with a “what do you expect me to do about it attitude “.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    very good hotel with excellent staff and facilities t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by ferry and the hotel was easy to find, the view from the balcony was excellent we also stayed the night before we came home. Hope to visit again. Thank you.i

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    A great break & the weather was fantastic for late November.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that we only had two days there. Next time will have more time to explore.

    The staff were very friendly & helpful. We wanted info on buses into town & visiting the new art museum. Very convenient for catching the ferry.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.3
    Ideal place for a city break, warm weather, friendly locals and beach as far as the eye can see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only gripe was the hotel restaurant which we ate in on our last night, it was by far the most expensive meal of our stay and the food was edible at best.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the location is ideal being so close to the beach and also had scenic walks to a nearby lighthouse while there are numerous buses in and out of the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    The redesigned restaurant and bar is a great improvement on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The redesigned restaurant and bar is a great improvement on the former cafeteria/ formal restaurant offering. Food was excellent also the wine. Excellent service and value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.5
    Convenient stop over from ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Request that prepayment be taken in local Euros and not GP pounds ignored and on arrival faced with an already printed reciept in pounds to sign with all sorts of excuses as to why this could not be cancelled and reissued.

    easy access,close to the beach and amenities,excellant for ferry port and stop over before or after travelling south, good parking options a secure under ground parking or outdoor parking,smoking rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    We stay at this hotel at least four times a year Fab place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    I admit there could be more parking spaces the Hotel has a very good trade from the locals and sometimes parking can be a bit of a problem

    We stay at this hotel at least four times a year Fab place rooms lovely newly refurbished Bar and Eating area very modern and a delight to stay there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    We have stayed at some super hotels but this is one of the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - so happy would recommend and return

    The staff were so accommodating when I had to change the booking due to the cancellation of the ferry due to Hurricane Brian. Food was fantastic - almost too much to eat. Huge portions. Fantastic room with marvellous views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views from this quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first stay we had an excellent room, and reviewed accordingly. This time the room was small, and although there was a stunning sea view and terrace, we could hear people talking and coughing in neighbouring rooms. The breakfast was rather poor and although should have been served until 11, by 10 the hot buffet items were rather cold and unappetising.

    The location is excellent with lovely walks along the front and several small cafes for drinks etc. The hotel is convenient for the ferry and we used it both before and after our holiday. It is in a quiet position with magnificent views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Perfect for what we needed, would stay again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great location for stop over to catch the ferry next day, nice walk up to Magdalena Palace and back along the sea front. Amazing views of the beach from our room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    8.3
    It was totally worth it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location of rooms. There are too many different prices according to their specicifc location in the building, which affect the sea-views. Also, they should have rooms for "singles", with a double bed, not the old twin ones. These are modern times...many people travel alone.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent and the staff were very frendly and well behaved. Special mention should be made of the Recepcionist, Rocío, very professional, efficient and helpful. Thank you for a glorious short break!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    10
    Delightful and pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negatives for us.

    The room was excellent with a fantastic view. Location couldn't be better. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our overall experience was exceptional. Being able to park the car near the the location with no extra cost was a bonus. Would highly recommend and personally would not stay anywhere else.🤗

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Panorama restaurant needs to up its game. We have no idea how it gets its reputation . Bean stew was characterised by lumps of pork fat. Tuna steak was very rare ( slimy) and perched on a pool of tasteless sauce which could have been tomato. Spend your money elsewhere.

    We were given an upgrade and reception staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.2
    Too short, we were staying the night having arrived by ferry before driving through Spain t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable rooms, bathroom good, looks like the rooms and bar has been upgraded since our last trip. Helpful staff. The hotel is on a beautiful beach. It is also very good value for money. Ate in the restaurant, again very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location. Rooms small but comfortable. Well worth paying extra for balcony/sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above re cutlery/crockery

    Beds were super comfy. Some of the cutlery/crockery at lunch/breakfast was not completely clean, therefore full marks NOT given above. Otherwise excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful modern hotel in stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an all inclusive half board rate and the dinner menu was extremely limited. Breakfast also was rather disappointing, but adequate. A shame because everything else about this hotel is excellent.

    The room was superb with excellent facilities and a lovely view. You could take a stroll along the beach or promenade from the property. It is in a quiet location and very peaceful. Parking is easy outside the property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    Good location able to walk to beach, bars, restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't control the room temperature but everything else was good with excellent views over the sea.

    Good location able to walk to beach, bars, restaurants, although the hotel had a great restaurant and secure underground parking for a small extra charge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel- restaurant needs to be lass uptight and more relaxed- trying much too hard!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hmm the food was very over priced- my partner ordered duck it came sandwiched in foccacia- ( so a duck sandwich with a high price tag) and my meal was extremely salty!!!

    Amazing staff fantastic views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    Great short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Temperature in room, had balcony door open all night, don't think I would recommend staying in summer, as no air conditioning and room was hot in October. Would stay again out of season.

    location was good, view fab, quiet and breakfast good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    9.2
    if you would like to get tight sleep with wave-sound. it is the hotel chiqui : )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is not about the hotel. Santander is a very localized place in Spain to access.

    It was sea-view room and was fantastic in that I can listen to the natural wave-sound from the sea. and very wide area to park a car. Also breakfast was very satisfied with .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.5
    Functional, busy hotel useful for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking, as ever with a car full of holiday gear, was a worry. The English-only version of the dinner menu was offered but it wasn't explicit enough as an English translation, and what appeared on the plate was nothing like what I was expecting. I would rather have read Spanish and used my pocket dictionary. The breakfast buffet selection was mostly colder than it should have been, the pastry choices were almost all covered in a sickly sugar glaze and the one mini croissant was cold. The bedrooms now have wooden floors and bathroom walls thin, resulting in some neighbour noise.

    Recent refurbishment to the ground floor made it more welcoming and the reception staff were very helpful. The view from the bedroom was stunning. The 12 noon room vacating time was useful as our ferry didn't sail until evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    Great way to start a trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I love this hotel, it has everything space, beach, bar, restaurant fabulous people on reception food is great, breakfast - impossible to choose there's so much, view from the rooms - it's great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    8.8
    A great to stay and use as a safe staging place to travel on elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is great but the traffic can sometimes be very busy to reach it.

    This hotel is placed just right for me as a safe place to stay either if I'm waiting to board a ferry or after arriving from the UK. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Love this hotel and have fond memories of both stays here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in bedrooms could be a little better-not great for reading in bed.

    This was a return visit. Hotel revamped since first visit a year ago- very chic but comfortable too. Very relaxed atmosphere.Lovely sense of space with good layout which allows for sheltered outdoor seating areas where you can enjoy the sea views, read a book or simply watch the world go by! Staff excellent and very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Going back for more next year, can't wait!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were really helpful when I had a problem with hiring a citybike. I risked a 150 euro fine if the paperwork was not sorted. Not speaking spanish I felt pretty stressed but the receptionist sorted everything, Phew! Also the Hotel has a left luggage fascility. Our ferry was not departing until 9pm, this gave us a whole day of freedom on the beach before departing. The hotel is in a great location at the end of the bay which means no roads going past. Lovely public gardens set on the headland behind the hotel Great for picnics. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.2
    Modern but still atmospheric.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to change rooms as ours was next to the lift which was very noisy! Luckily we found this out in the afternoon when having a siesta so we had a nice quiet room by the evening

    Modern but still atmospheric. Dining room very nice with easy listening music. Our room looked over the beach, we borrowed beach towels for a swim

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    8.8
    Right on the beach. Comfortable room. Good sea view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Foot and drinks were quite overpriced for Spain. Although the food was generally good, I had one dish described as "soft shell crab with vegetables in tempura", which would have been better described as "vegetables in tempura with a barely discernible hint of crab". Crab is a speciality in northern Spain, so that was quite disappointing.

    Great beach location. Good room. Balcony was enjoyable - lovely sea view. Food was mostly good. Staff were very efficient. Its a bit outside the city, but ideal if you want to enjoy a few days on the beach. The views are worth the premium.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Quiet at night. Very comfortable bed. Secure garaged parking for motorbike at 5€ a night and could stay until 7.30pm next day. Towels free for beach. Drinks at hotel decent price and hotel has a very nice relaxed feel. Definitely use hotel again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    7.5
    loved the location and beaches near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had expected air con for this price, also was surprised that hotels in Spain have neither gym nor pool. however, all in all liked it!

    loved the location and beaches near.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    9.6
    Great place with outstanding offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    May be noisy. You can hear the shower of the other room and noise comes from corridor too. Was not an issue for us in September with few or no children running around.

    Great site, great view, very good, clean and comfortable room, nice staff, good breakfast. Excellent value for the money we paid through booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    As always a nice place to stay with amazing views along the whole length of the beach, and the sound
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ferry was very late due to bad weather, however the hotel forewarned the staff, who stayed open in the Bistro/Cafeteria so that food was available, well done to all of them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Great beach location fabulous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weather was't kind to us.

    Staff were excellent.Roberto and Monica were so wonderful in helping us with everything. Liked the location as close to beach and away from bustpy town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    8.3
    Great stopover in a beautiful part of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't stay long enough to have any complaints.

    The hotel was very clean. ... almost clinically so in our room, which we liked. The breakfast offered an extensive range of foods and was brilliant value for money. The location is fab - at the end of a beautiful beach in a quiet cul de sac. Parking was free and plentiful. Bar priced very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.8
    RIGHT ON THE BEACH BUT CLOSE ENOUGH TO THE TOWN TOO!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont think there was any air conditioning in room - not too hot when we were there but could be a problem in high summer.

    Well run hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms good size. Restaurant/breakfast and bar areas very good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.2
    Well situated and modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The extra bed was not that comfy.

    We enjoyed the views from the hotel balcony,the beach was beautiful, nice walking along the beach with low tide. Small but secure parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    This hotel is a lovely seaside place to spend a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't find any air conditioning.

    We really enjoyed our stay. The location was lovely, so close to the sea. The staff on reception were exceptional in their helpfulness and in making our stay both comfortable and fun! We also enjoyed the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Chiqui Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: