Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cigarral de Caravantes 3 stars

Carretera de Circunvalación, 2, 45004 Toledo, Spain

#16 of 39 hotels in Toledo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1225 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    The view from the terrace restaurant is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door out onto the bedroom patio was really sticky - as was the bathroom door.

    The view from the terrace restaurant is amazing. And the swimming pool is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it. Pool was great. We never usually eat in hotels but we broke this rule, and we were so pleased we did. The food was amazing. Best steak I think I've ever eaten, cooked on the grill. We will definitely be back at some point

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurante have the same menu for lunch and dinner.

    The rooms are spacious, the bed is comfortable and the showers are very good. The pool area is quite small, but nice. The views from the hotel are amazing. We had an inconvenient that was rapidly resolved by the member of staff in a way that both parts were satisfied. All the staff members were nice and friendly. We really enjoyed to stay at the bar/terrace to enjoy some drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Ticked most boxes but wouldn't rush to book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    OK sort of place with a nice pool. Staff a bit po-faced alot of the time. Soulless. Long hot walk into Toledo but the 71 bus is a sensible alternative.

    Pool. View.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    The room had a spectacular view of the Alcazar and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing my wife and I enjoyed our staying here. The only thing I would recommend is to fix/replace the mini-fridge.

    The room had a spectacular view of the Alcazar and the Cathedral. Besides, it was big and cozy. We also enjoyed walking to the Old Toledo, about a mile and a-half away from downtown's Plaza Zocodover, and riding on bus #71 on our way back to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Double check while booking about closed restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed Mon to Thurs last Sept and restaurant open . Same days this week no restaurant until Wed. This is a serious minus. We were not driving and had to taxi into town to eat. Absolutely nothing available not even a drink on the Monday we arrived. If we had been made aware of this as we were booking we certainly would have thought again. Also were asked to pay at check in.....is this normal? Haven't had to do that before.

    The wonderful view of Toledo and when it did open the ambience of the patio restaurant. Lovely helpful waiting staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous experience all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was spectacular! The staff were above and beyond accommodating including reception and restaurant staff. The adjacent bar was lively and fun. The decor was traditional Spanish style and authentic, feeling as though we have been transported back into time of old Spanish era. The setting was serene and overlooked all of Toledo. The only caveat for (some) might be that it is not located in an area within walking distance of downtown. But having stayed in the city center on our last trip we preferred staying at Cigarro Cervantes because of the fantastic view, the ease of which we parked our vehicle and the more tranquil setting. Absolutely 100% would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to enjoy the majestic beauty and the warm people of the city that is Toledo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Toledo was more than we expected - history culture and the food is good too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the balcony and the view. It was great to be out of the buzz of the old city but still near enough to walk there. It was also easy to get a taxi and the bus stop No 71 was just a 3 minute walk away! Also had a bar fridge in the room which is great in the summer - most big hotels have this but often the smaller ones don’t as we are experiencing now in Córdoba in 38deg heat!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast, lovely location and room was a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge in our room was very loud, we had to move it into the bathroom at night. The restaurant does not open very often so we had to go out for dinner on our first night which wasn't ideal after several hours of driving.

    Great breakfast, lovely location and room was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    The view of the city is the outstanding benefit of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the Sunday evening we were staying. It has a good reputation.

    The view of the city is the outstanding benefit of this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Secure private parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The views where fantastic , food was great and the beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative would be no elevator to the lower rooms although we later discovered a walk way to the parking lot that was a ramp

    The views where fantastic , food was great and the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Amazing city but the hills and cobbled streets very hard work. Wear sensible footwear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was very limited

    The hotel itself was in a lovely situation for views of the city. Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Restaurant was only open from Wednesdays so on our arrival Tuesday after travelling all day we had to go into town to find somewhere to it, which was rather a taxing walk, but a No.71 bus goes every hour to Zocodover Plaza the main area. Our trip also fell on the Corpus Christi festival which was an unexpected treat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    A lot less than expectations , a big let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weeds growing in the terrace.Grubby terrace.Bathroom tiles very dirty.Floor needs a really good clean.Only one young lady serving at breakfast,very poor selection,tea or coffee machines did not work,all guests had to wait for the sole waitress to serve drinks.

    The view from the terrace was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Great views of old Toledo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mildew spots on grouting in shower.

    The view of Toledo old city from our room and terrace. The 20 euro set meals were delicious and great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful, in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was early season and the bar only opened on our second night there. The staff in bar/patio area did not have the warm friendliness that the reception and restaurant staff had. Felt like we we’re a bit of a burden.

    It was a beautiful setting, the hotel was clean and the views of Toledo are amazing. As far as I could tell all rooms have a balcony facing the city so everyone gets a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Big room, beds were very comfortable, nice bathroom and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed cool to be of assistance to seemingly disinterested. Nice enough people and while I understand differences in hospitality standards between North America and Europe (I'm in the industry), I never once felt like a priority customer for anyone. The pool didn't reveal itself. I didn't ask, but walked the property pretty extensively and saw no signs. The genius drink has never happened for me. When I mentioned it, given the climb up the hill was a bit taxing, the gentleman looked confused and I let it go. Lots of ants on the private terrace and quite a few in the room including a couple in my bed. Old country houses are rarely hermetically sealed, but it could have been offputting to some. Almost no self service or budget restaurant options within a 10 minute walk. Plan ahead, as the restaurant is closed mon-wed in this season.

    Big room, beds were very comfortable, nice bathroom and the view was beautiful as advertised. Breakfast was fair for the price. Good AC for the summer. Ice cold beer at the cafe/bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, but disappointed at no restaurant or any tea/coffee/drink facilities at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I may have missed it but we were very disappointed to find that the restaurant was closed on a Sunday evening. There was no facility for coffee either in the room or anywhere else in the hotel. We did ask a waitress at the end of lunch for a coffee which she made and charged us for. However it was completely cold.

    Good rooms, pleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stop-over hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great out-of-town location with good parking. Nice hotel with private terraces overlooking the historic city. Ten minute walk to centre is better than trying find parking in town. Excellent breakfast. Hard to beat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice if you are driving to Toledo!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite hard to locate the entrance when we arrived, the entrance to the restaurant near the main road was closed in he morning, you have to drive up a bit to see the hotel entrance. Albeit short walk between hotel and city, it is quite steep so a consideration if there is elderly in your group.

    Free parking Really close to the old town, 10 mins walk with great view. Great view from the room, I can see the cathedral from the terrace. Room is very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location and would be wonderful in warmer weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were hard. Facilities are basic.

    Amazing view of toledo town. Would be lovely in nice weather as has a lovely terrace. Breakfast decent. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room, eat some place else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff did not see to care about the patrons. One waitress gave us fresh espresso, when asked the next day the other server seemed very upset with the request even though others had the freshly made coffee. Also, both mornings, there was a staff person who mopped the stairs, leaving them wet during breakfast hours. Why would they chose a heavy traffic time for that? The dinner leaves a lot to be desired. Do not eat dinner in hotel. It was not good. Extremely fatty duck and way over dressed salad--strange for these parts. Eat else where!

    Room was very comfortable with an incredible view. Bed was very good. HUGE bathtub and a very clean room. About a 20 minute walk into the old city of Toledo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Amazing place, great location, fantastic views of the walled city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!! No fault of the hotel! It rained for the whole 2 days!!

    The layout and ambience of this hotel far exceeded our expectations. The view from our window amazing. Value for money. Buffet breakfast superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location...could use some updated beds/pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in unit #12 and the beds were awful. Very hard and uncomfortable...even my husband who isn’t fussy had a sore back from sleeping on the bed. The bed pillows were useless—-didn’t have any support. Room was small for two people and we had to bring in a chair from the patio as there was only one in the room. Coffee at the breakfast buffet was always cold as was the “caliente leche”, but if you asked for a cafe con leche from a server and it was made in the machine away from the buffet, the coffee was excellent.

    The restaurant was excellent with attentive staff. Included breakfast was excellent, lots of variety, fresh fruit, cheeses, cold cuts, eggs, pastries, and buns etc..Staff were all helpful and courteous. View from patio was beautiful. Room was very clean as was the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. Travelers without car would have some problems though..

    Everything. I loved it. If you have a car, I will definitely recommend this place. Also, don't forget to have a dinner in the hotel restaurant. It was exceptional. Wish I could have stayed there longer..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall a great experience. Have stayed before and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The onsite restaurant served good food well prepared but just a little expensive.

    Great value hotel. Staff pleasant. Room very comfortable with lovely views over Toledo. Wifi good. Good breakfast included. Just outside town with excellent onsite parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Restaurant was not open which was the main reason we booked this hotel. This was not made clear in hotel details nor were we informed about this by email. Recommended alternative restaurant was very expensive, 70+ euros per head for meal. No others within easy walking distance. 2. Bed was the hardest I have ever slept ( or not slept)on. 3. Paint or varnish fumes in the room were very unpleasant. 4. Basic breakfast, no milk available for cereal. When I requested some, waitress completely filled cereal bowl with milk swamping cereal. Hawking and sniffling guest picked up and put down various cakes and croissants, making us reluctant to eat anything.

    We were able to walk into Toledo centre although the return was a strenuous uphill walk! Greeting by staff on arrival was good and he gave plenty of information about how to visit the city centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    The view of the city from the room is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the city from the room is amazing. The city can be easily accessed by foot with only a short 10 minute walk. We were created nicely by an enthusiastic receptionist which set the tone for the stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Despite its simple, basic amenities, it was a lovely stay with the picturesque view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old room amenities No kettles, cups or a couple of tea bags Fair walking distance from the old city

    Value for money View Restaurant Outdoor areas Quietness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    I didn't see the hotel at it's best, still enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked partly because I liked the look of the menu - but when I arrived I found the restaurant closed. No real surprise, It was the 1st sunday in January and I didn't see any other guests. I would have appreciated it if they had warned me in advance (txt, email) so I could check out other places to eat. Just managed to beat the snow storms to Madrid so didn't feel up to going out randomly.

    Nice views, floor wasn't too cold (usally designed to keep rooms cool) very nice and friendly staff. Balcony looked inviting (in warmer weather)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    Ok, but not brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok but needed some decorating. Bathroom looked better in the photos than in reality as it was slightly dated. Breakfast was disappointing.

    Able to walk into the town. Free parking at hotel. Small terrace. Under floor heating in bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    A day in Toledo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food or drink available until 8.30pm in restaurant they did have a busy bar attached to property but no beer on tap only bottles at 3€ and very small glass of wine also 3€

    Chalet type accomodation ,the excellent view of toledo city from our own private terrace,good parking,simple but tasty breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from town unless your a walker and then it's only 25mins away

    The food at the restaurant was fabulous and an appetizer was very tasty. The house red was quality and not expensive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful view!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was small but tasty so... Good.

    The view from its balcony was super!!!! I didn't had to go anywhere else to see the whole view of Toledo, it was right there in my balcony Also parking. Safe, big, and very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Good value and good location if you are reasonably fit to cope with the 10-15 minute walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child) with terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Service in the restaurant was well below average and should be better given that the hotel was basically empty. Watching the waitress tip the coffee urn up to extract the dregs for a cup of coffee for me was completely unacceptable yet amusing! To be fair the reception staff were helpful.

    Great location overlooking Toledo which afforded the opportunity for a little more space for a 4 year old to run around and have a swim than would otherwise be the case if staying in the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel and location , great food and all very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a Genius guest I was advised of a complimentary drink on arrival. I had to ask about it but was then to,d to help myself from the room bar. Which was fine but perhaps should have been made clear in checking in. Despite that, lovely hotel, attentive and helpful staff and ideally placed for a short walk into Toledo. I would go back.

    Lovely hotel, in great setting with vuews across to Toledo. Room had a lovely terrace, dining outside was wonderful at night with an excellent reasonably priced meal of the day and inexpensive wine list. Top class. For the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms with space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    all ok.

    Comfortable rooms with space. Balcony with the view of Toledo. Free parking onsite. I wish we could have stayed longer to experience the facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    A nice place to relax and enjoy the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property needs a lot of "tender loving care". We had chairs on the balcony that were broken and the pool lounge chairs were dirty. A couple of the light fixtures in our room had broken bulbs.

    The location was perfect and in walking distance to the old city. The property was spacious with lots of greenery. The food and the service were outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Elegant hotell and perfect situated while visiting the historical parts of Toledo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful place with big garden and poolarea. Out-door as well as in-door restaurant. Excellent food and nice but somehow untrained staff. Terrass with a view over Toledo old town from the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Great room with its own terrace with the best view of Toledo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a 20 minute walk to the middle of Toledo. Driving within Toledo’s walls is ghastly. If you don’t like walking don’t go.

    Great room with its own terrace with the best view of Toledo. The restaurant also has a spectacular view at night and the food was good and good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.2
    The room was in need of a total refurbishment tiling on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in need of a total refurbishment tiling on floor all broken walls dirty and bathroom dirty and very dated beds around swimming pool unusable so old and filthy breakfast was very poor no hot food and very limited not good value for money stayed in much better hostal hotels for half the price!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Walking distance to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Equipment/furniture/bathroom/balcony/windows looked a bit tired, need some maintenance & painting. Slippery bathtub. Walk-in shower option would be nice. Shortage of staff at breakfast.

    Walking distance to town. Taxi 7 Euros. Comfortable beds. Nice view from balcony. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Good value dinner (Menu 20 euros) in courtyard terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with a lot to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were welcoming and informative about getting to and around Toledo. The room was very comfortable with a lovely terrace giving a great view of the city. The city is just a 15 minute walk away so it's perfect for visiting Toledo without being in it. Dinner on the hotel terrace afforded more splendid views of Toledo - and the food and service were both excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing 3 star hotel in a lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an upgrade , our patio chairs needed replacing. The wifi connection was poor. The hotel reception staff are not welcoming & need to be a more enthusiastic, some customer service training is required here.

    We chose this hotel as it offered parking & easy to get to, we walked into the historic centre in about 25 minutes which we enjoyed. The hotel restaurant was excellent & would recommend it, the rooms with patios are a good size & comfortable. The bar area has fantastic views towards the historic centre. The restaurant staff were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    A definite must if you require a authentic Spanish hotel in Toledo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was our second stay at this wonderful hotel. The setting is superb. Dining Al Fresco on the terrace on a balmy Spanish evening with its view of the old city, illuminated and showing off its fantastic monumental buildings is without equal. Top this with the hotel's superb real value for money restaurant which offers a wide variety of top class quality meals and you have in my humble opinion, the No1 stay hotel in Toledo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Great views staff could be more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never offered 'Welcome drink'. Never offered any help with cases, on arrival 2 people stood on reception and watched my wife and I struggle down steps with our cases. There were many steps and no lift.

    Great views over Toledo from room and hotel in general. Handy bus to and from higher parts of city. Nice if chilly pool. Nice room with terrace and view. Ate evening 'Menu del Dia' which was excellent and lovely views from terrace, excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Location and free parking on the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small TV. Room we had would need a make over...especially the ceramic floor.

    Location and free parking on the property. The food was excellent and have a very good menu of the day for 20.00 euros! The view of Toledo from the room was fantastic. We also got to see sunrise!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    A little bit away from the old town, but still walkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the noise from the restaurant late in the evenings

    A little bit away from the old town, but still walkable distance (approximately 1 km away). As I understood, all the rooms have either balconies or terraces and provides amazing views to old Toledo. The sleeping quality was OK, but the hotel restaurant next door could be quieter. No complaints about the cleanness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Love to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child) with terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't think of any.

    Love the design of the hotel pretty romantic, Staffs are great and helpful(Both reception and restaurant staffs) and hotel located in the quiet spot not too far from Cathedral (by foot or car).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deck chairs need to be replaced by the pool!

    There was a large bed in a traditional looking room. Each room has a balcony where you can look out onto Toledo. There is also a great bar that stays open till the early hours of the morning on the weekend. The swimming pool was also lovely .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Requested a quiet room and had one with no one above so very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested a quiet room and had one with no one above so very peaceful. Very good 3 course dinner for just €20 per person. Private balcony over looking the beautiful city. Within walking distance of bridge leading into old part of city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful authentic property, with a absolutely fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful authentic property, with a absolutely fantastic view of the old city from the balcony; Only a few minutes away from the old town by car; such a beautiful place, a lot to explore, the citi of Toledo certainly surprised us! Wish we had more time to enjoy the experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with fantastic views of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to have been told there was a swimming pool but found it anyway.

    Compromise location just outside city but excellent facilities. Loved outside restaurant and a balcony from room. Staff very motivated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    All the rooms have an incredible view on the Old City of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some upgrade on the chairs on the pool would be great. A few of them had seen their better days.

    All the rooms have an incredible view on the Old City of Toledo. There is also a clean and quiet swimming pool. At evening you can have dinner under the moon - stars AND view on the old city. Dinner was always served under the attention of the incredible friendly staff with proper dressed tabels (table clothes - cotton napkins and candles) and accompanied by good food and fine wine.....What else?...Deff an A+ Our second stay in this hotel and more to come for sure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Loved the tranquil location outside the city walls, loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the tranquil location outside the city walls, loved the view of Toledo from the balcony. Pool was beautiful and a welcome retreat after sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    A simple little pretty gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty ashtray left on terrace from last guests, no tea or coffee in rooms, not close enough to walk into Toledo

    The view, the style, the simplicity, the gardens, the room, the helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Location fantastic - beautiful view of Toledo but we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Location fantastic - beautiful view of Toledo but we were given a room where the view was obscured by a roof- unless we were standing up on our balcony. There were other rooms with clear views- maybe they were occupied but I didn't see anyone there. Hotel seemed very quiet. Staff were really lovely when you saw them but very few staff around. Feel terrible saying this, as he was so lovely when he finally came off the phone but we waited a full 10mins for the guy on reception to come off his phone call to book us in. Not great after a long journey. Rooms not ready which was fine as we were early, but when asked for towels to use the pool while we waited- they did not have enough! Overall a lovely location, but beds small, staff scare if lovely so be prepared for some less than optimum hotel service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Whilst there were plenty of other hotels available in Toledo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst there were plenty of other hotels available in Toledo town itself, we made a specific decision to stay at the Cigarral de Caravantes instead and we were so pleased that we had. The hotel is across the river from the town but barely a 10 minute walk downhill to get there. Our room was perfect. We had room 36. We had a balcony overlooking Toledo which provided the most impressive views, particularly at sunrise. The pool was lovely and the whole place felt very tranquil.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    Misrepresenting facilities read on?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of staff. No facilities open. Arrived no where to get a drink coffee area closed bar closed. Went in the evening was told could not sit on terrace as it was for restaurant only, could sit inside if we wanted a drink from the bar ,the waitress said we had to wait restaurant came first with bad attitude. Reception guy came down explained to him we were residents but he agreed with waitress we were made to feel very uncomfortable. We did get a drink but made to feel we were in the way. We pointed out facilities on website that we booked ,but answer was no. We were made to feel very uncomfortable and very disappointed the facilities advertised were not available. The facilities advertised were not available misrepresented . Shame for such a nice hotel. Also unable to sit on balcony due to wasp nesting told reception and was given a tin of wasp spray obviously they were aware of the situation. Sum up could not sit on our balcony to have a drink because of wasps and could not use the bar terrace as it was for restaurant users. Very unhappy.

    Room comfortable and quite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location and facilities. Kind staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    It was one of perfect place in Spain. A very beautiful view from balcony and clean room. A staff, his name is Mr. Juan, tried to explain all the information about hotel, how to take a bus to tourist places and to park my car (if I drive myself), thanks again for his help. The food in the hotel is highly recommendable, room service is considered cheap and delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Overlooking beautiful Toledo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We were staying in the hills overlooking the old town. The view was magnificent. The hotel was not 5 star but it was great to stay at for all the reasons I have given. The value for the service was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Unbeatable View of an Ancient City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs an upgrade - especially the bath.

    Perfect view of Toledo - couldn't be better. Easy, free parking on site. Pool to escape the heat in. Large room. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent - especially the traditional Salmorejo which was the best we have had and served with flair.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    A short stay with a beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A choice of breads at breakfast would have been nice, some Serrano ham or cooked meats other than the ubiquitous York ham. A cooked option would have been well received, there was not even an offer of a poached egg. I hadn't realised there was no lift so climbing stairs to our room and down to the dining room was difficult for me as I have a disability. Staff were efficient and, on the whole, friendly, but one member of reception staff did not even look up or speak, as she dealt with us. Unfortunately, i did not get her name.

    lunch was very good. Some items were a little out of the ordinary, which we like. The hotel is well situated out of town for a magnificent view. The dining room was well appointed. The design of the hotel was a good mix of traditional and modern. Excellent aircon. Good wifi in room. Easy onsite parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Stunning location & Charming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child) with terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The holiday was too short

    The view was incredible . Day and night it's just stunningly beautiful Staff were so helpful as we had a vomiting 12 year old . They brought camomile tea , kindness and care

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    SPECTACULAR setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were in wasn't good,but second room was great. If you are in room 21, check the airconditioning and the ants.

    The views and setting are fantastic. The room is spacious, comfortable, great balcony, affording view and extra sitting space. Pool is a welcome respite in hot afternoon. The first room we were in-21- had faulty airconditioning and a bad ant infestation, but management eventually changed our room which was great. The walk into town is pleasant and gives great views and a dramatic entrance to Toledo. Visit the fantastic bar about half way to the bridge. A good alternative to staying in Tourist central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic view of Toledo would go again just for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cafeteria only served drinks, unable to buy food at the hotel unless you had specific breakfast, lunch and 3 course evening meal. It would have been good to have a snack. Bedroom needed upgrading, curtains do not match headboard, general overhaul needed.

    Excellent views and terrace, very private with seating outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    All the delights of Toledo without the noise and bustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints: friendly staff, onsite parking and comfy rooms

    A perfect location for those seeking to visit Toledo without staying in the busy city centre. Comfy, no-frills rooms - ours had a spacious terrace and a beautiful view over the city. The restaurant is also well worth trying if you fancy a leisurely lunch outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Every thing expected and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the booking .com website it said the reception stays open untill 8:30 pm. NOT TRUE !! The reception is open 24hrs.

    Old Hotel in style with big room , a view of Toledo out the window, yet modern in every aspect. The bathroom was huge with all modern sink, shower,toilet,and fluffy towels. The breakfast had something for all tastes.I had dinner at the hotel and glad I did. it was excellent. This is my favorite type of hotel in that it is old and beautiful with modern amenities. Again with a view you will never forget just outside your window. It is not in the city but outside across the river. Because of this,plenty of parking onsite,yet only a 10 min walk to the old city gates.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    We loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just average

    Inexpensive good wine served with a smile. The city view was incredible and the walk to the old city was very doable. Taxi ride back to hotel was under $7.00. Staying outside the city walls was a good decision! Bar menu as alternative to dinner was a plus for us. The grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location, a good deal, fantastic view to the old City of Toledo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small (narrow). Supposedly one has two suitcases, it is difficult to walk in the room. We had only two trolleys (like overhead luggage) and one travel bag, and there was only a narrow walking passage left in the room. The adjacant balconies, if occupied don't give you privacy. If one takes a room downstairs with a little terrace (instead of balcony) the guests from the upstairs balconies can look right on to it. So, no privacy on the balconies or on the terraces attached to the rooms. Good and well functioning bathroom, but no place or space (shelv or table) to put toiletry bags and articles. Good mirror, but no enlargement mirror for shaving or makeup.

    Very friendly reception and professional personnel for dinner. Good, medium priced menu with good quality food. Good service all in all. Very nice terraces and garden, nice little swimming pool as well. We could use our small balcony with a fantastic view to the old city of Toledo without being disturbed, because luckily there was no occupancy in the rooms right and left from ours.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Would revisit if in Toledo again! However in this town there is an abundance of hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant food at dinner time was Poor. Rating out of 10. We would give it 3. After that experience we would not waste our money on Breakfast.

    We received what we expected for the price we paid. Comfortable accommodation. A rustic Spanish Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel for a stay in Toledo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we were very satisfied, thank you.

    We asked for a quiet room and we were given one. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style Continental, with a good selection. We found the location handy if we wanted walk into the centre. There is a bus stop 100 metres away, the bus goes to Zocodover Square right in the centre. We have stayed here before, and would return if we visit Toledo again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    My stay was excellent and I would not hesitate to use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the location of the hotel was perfect because it was in a semi rural position which meant it was quiet and it had fantastic views of the old town but it was still only a ten minute walk to the attractions. The tourist bus also stopped a very short walk away. Dinner at the hotel was good and reasonably priced and there was also a snack menu available. The staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Spectacular terrace view of Toledo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The most amazing room with views towards Toledo. Bed was extremely comfortable. Lots of parking at hotel and with easy walking distance to centre. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general (with the exception of the aforementioned waiter), the staff were really quite cold, which didn't fit at all with the surroundings and the rustic vibe of the place. The mini-fridge in the room, although nice, had to be switched off because it made so much noise. We were disappointed with the dinner options (we just wanted something light), and the dining room which was quite stuffy and formal. I think this could be a really really fantastic place to stay if a little more work was put into making it more welcoming and homely - to be a bit more like a casa rural, hostal...

    We loved our room: the beds were very comfortable and the views were just fantastic. We also enjoyed the walk down to the old city from the hotel. The location in general was ideal - away from the bustle and near enough to the city and to nature. The waiter who was around sometimes was very lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money, very Spanish decor, would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are both OAP¨S and found the walk to the centre too tasking, also hilly, however the taxis were cheap and plentiful. Would have liked a cafeteria for at least partial day use for snacks etc.

    Rustic appearance of hotel, lovely views of Toledo from terraces. Beds very big and comfortable. Good food, and reasonably priced drinks.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cigarral de Caravantes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: