Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel HLG CityPark Pelayo 2 stars

Pelayo, 1, Eixample, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#394 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1697 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge in the room was barely working, which made it impossible to get a cool, not to mention actually cold drink.

    Situated in the heart of Barcelona, this hotel gives tourists a wonderful opportunity to see all the important landmarks. The hotel has helpful staff, nice and cosy rooms (very clean and well-equipped). There is a metro station just around the corner, and La Rambla is within a short walking distance from the hotel. I highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a go-to for location. Far enough away from Ramblas tourist Barcelona, Metro stop convenient, and can get to neighborhood Barcelona. Price/value is better in offseason, room space limited but bathrooms big and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room and bed. The room should be only for 1 person, we were 2 and we couldn't move there. It was quite expensive for the room that we got.

    Excellent localization, clean rooms, nice staff, there are lockers to save your luggage that you can lock with keys.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little higher priced than I thought it should be, basically over $200 per night per room. But it is on vacation so it's worth it to me. The hallways were very dark, the motion sensor to turn the hallway lights on behind the elevators were slow to respond if they did at all... I almost tripped a few times in the dark of the hallways.

    Good location near attractions and points of interest. The young ladies at the desk were always very pleasant, smiling, friendly and helpful, even to us fast-paced tourists. The room was small but clean, the shower was great. I especially liked the balcony access out to the street. Nice place, would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Amazing Location. Near two major metro lines (one of tem just in front of the hotel) and at a walking distance of several attractions. The historic building gives a special touch to the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location- went on foot to visit everything; some further than others but easy to get to from there. Room was clean, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good but not that much variety- nevertheless, happy with it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is nice and clean but the price is too high for what it is offered. And breakfast is not included. Unfortunately this is a general problem in Barcelona. In any other city the same standard (with breakfast) would cost half the price.

    Very central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating and cooling controls seemed inoperative - the room got hot and stuffy at times, and with no way to reduce the temperature or open a window it became uncomfortable at times. Surprised to find no in-room tea and coffee making facility either.

    The corner location of the room was lovely, with excellent outlook.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendliness could improve.the window in the room couldn't open because there was a missing handle. I locked myself in the bathroom and since there wasn't any emergency button or rope inside I had to wait until my mother woke up so she managed to release me.

    The location is great and the price is good as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was too warm on the room and regulation of air condition / heating system didn't work... (February).

    Great position inside center of town, breakfast were good...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Other than the room being rather small for two people, there was nothing that I didn't like.

    The location of the hotel was ideal, just off Las Ramblas, and on the airport bus route. Although on main roads it was quiet at night, but with plenty of cafes and bars in the neighbourhood. The room was clean, if on the small side, and the bathroom had all that was needed. Staff friendly and multi-lingual.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we have stayed there 1 night only and arrived around midnight we did not expect a lot. We have booked the small room (which is really small) and left for an hour to have a dinner. When we came back the floor in the bathroom was full of ants. Literally there were hundreds of them... The receptionist immediately changed the room to a bigger one and the rest of the night was OK, but it's not what you expect after a travel, even for such a reasonable price. Also, the hairdryer was overheating every 1 minute and it took me half of an hour to dry my hair.

    Location is perfect, very central, we have arrived around midnight and there were still many restaurants and stores open. The receptionist was very supportive, changed the room immediately when we discovered a colony of ants in the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, tiny bathroom, no iron, ants everywhere and way too expensive for what it was. Bed was very uncomfortable

    Great staff, location was great and easy to get to. Cleaners came everyday

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can hear traffic from the street, but in that location it is expectable.

    Nice and helpful stuff. Great breakfast. Fantastic location - Metro is next to the hotel and bus from airport is also nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was too small, but it wasn’t annoying. The location is in the center, so there are too noises.

    The location of the hotel was the best thing. We had a triple room which had enough space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent, there are supermarkets open 24 hours nearby. You also have the tube very close to the hotel. The staff were excellent. I want to thank Rosalecia and Juliano who were really friendly and helped us a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was strategically placed in a way that it will flood your entire bathroom. There’s weird odor that came out of the bathroom. If you don’t close the bathroom door, the entire room will smell really weird.

    The app stated that the room was only 8 sq. meters. However, in reality, it was really, really big. The staff were very nice and accommodating. Near the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door keycard wasn’t working most of the time. It was a little annoying to go back to the front desk more than 4 different times and noone bothered to fix it. They said it was because we put the card next to the phone, but thats the oldest excuse in the book. It’s just cheap keys :)

    Amazing location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location and very cheap , didnt book the breakfast but theres so many different cafes within a few mins walk i dont think you need too . Did book the mini room but because of a problem we got upgraded to the larger room with a bigger bed , which to be honest is probably worth the extra money . Very noisy all night but that will be the same for all the city hotels located on a main road so take some ear plugs . All in all its a great little hotel thats right in the thick of it and i would definitely return .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really.

    A standard hotel, apart from our particular room (503) which is at the "point" of the building and offers panoramic views of the placa de espanya. Windows fully openable (which is always a bonus) and friendly, helpful staff on reception.....they even gave map directions to a local attraction we were trying to locate. Also - the bed was absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in took a little longer than expected (mind you I did book day of which affected them being able to find the booking).

    The price was really good for the location. Easy access to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like much. It smelled like mildew or something, no amenities like toothbrush or other things normally found in a hotel bathroom. Everyday we had to get our keys changed because they didn't work anymore. Room was small and cramped. There was a nice big balcony terrace thing but wet didn't use it because the sliding glass door was very hard to biel locked /closed. They didn't even fit the door properly I don't think as there was a bit of air seeping in at all times. Also, we got locked into the building because the receptionist was doing something. It said five minutes but we were there for quite some time trying to leave. We ended up missing our flight after that. We weren't very happy with this hotel especially since it got good reviews here. Disappointed bookings.com... Wouldn't stay here again except for location.

    Location was nice and close to many things

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some lacking amenities but i think its because its a boutique/budget hotel

    Almost perfect location. The metro station and the bus stops are almost at the hotel's doorsteps.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy on some nights (walls seemed really thin so could hear other guests returning to their rooms) room was small (although we weren’t in it much)

    Really good location, very close to la Rambla. Near metro links. Clean. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok for us.

    The room was discounted 50% so for us was a very good deal. The bed was a french-size, something inconvenient for big people, but not in our case, we are not big at all. But for the prize offered was fair enough. Everything very clean and tidy, I loved the ambiance perfume in the lobby. Stuff very nice and helpful. Maybe a bit hot in the night, so despite being November, we had to keep air-conditioned on, because windows were locked....something I do not prefer at all, but ok anyway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and quite noisy from the Rd below Had to ask constantly for things to be replenished at breakfast , then there was no rush ! Not one English news channel to watch as we were getting ready on a morning !

    Close to placa cataluna and las ramblas Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress and pillows were very hard. The hair dryer overheated after 30 seconds of use. The fridge was on but didnt cool anything. The hotel had an iron available but no ironing board

    The location is fantastic, only a 3 minute walk to Placa Catalunya and 15 minute walk to Casa Mila and Casa Batllo. Room was cleaned well everyday, the staff were friendly and spoke great English

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived way too early for the check in and I was so tired. I requested an early check in and I feel they didn't even try to do it. Me and my friends had to walk to the rambla and stay at a restaurant eating and drinking coffee until 2:00 pm

    The location of the hotel was good. The Rambla were less than 4 mins walk. Public transportation and taxi were close. Room were clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable. They even have luggage locker in case that you arrive before the check in time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skimpy breakfast unless you got there early, no fresh air in breakfast room, iron available but there was nowhere to iron a shirt,

    Central location, easy access to airport bus, short walk to the area around the Rambla & the the opera house, comfortable bed, welcoming & generous reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was very poor, a bit expensive on what they offer, no facilities, we asked for in room kettle and they said they can't provide it. Room was a bit small and the bed is not that comfortable. But overall I would say its ok

    Location of the place was amazing, its very clean and stuff are good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is extremely small.

    The hotel is in an incredible location (easy walking access to the Gothic quarter and other popular sites). If you are only using your room to sleep, this hotel will be perfect for you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that all the windows are closed (but it's possible to slove it), Breakfast just ok (not amazing)

    Great location. Amazing staff. Great rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a little table in Room to sit at.

    The noise we were told would be bad, was absolutely not so! We had good service and enjoyed stay. We would use your Hotel again! Thanks for the lovely Breakfasts, eggs bit too hard boiled.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no the bed sucked, we will probably only stay at American owned hotels in the future because they have king size beds. the tiny beds seem to be the norm in Spain though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do not book with breakfast, poor choice, for 10-12 euros you can get really good one in near restaurants. Also to mention you have to pay for luggage storage, there is like self storage, 1or2 euro per unit, depends how many pieces you have, two carry-on fit in one

    Very good location, few steps from Plaza Catalonia, La Ramblas, very helpful, accommodating and friendly staff, beds are very comfortable and cozy, had room with balcony, nice size since it was three of us, good wi-fi and AC.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so so and the towels were not very soft. The internet connection is given according to the number of days you are staying there and it was blocking some sites, I could not finish watching a movie.

    The location only

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, 5 min walk to Plaza Catalonia, lots of stores near by for shopping and food such as Bershka, Sephora and Starbucks. The view from our room was beautiful. The staff are all wonderful and kind. We will most certainly come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows do not open.

    The location could not have been better. The universitat metro stairs are about 30 meters from the entrance to the hotel. The building is a strange triangle shape but this adds character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is tiny and theres only one staff available at a time. Its fully self service. Theres no iron in the room and when i called the reception to send it to my room he said its all self service and i should pick it up and return it as soon as im done. Theres only shower gel available and no other toiletries. Its a no smoking hotel. Theres no airport shuttle bus and we ordered a taxi and the metre starts as soon as the taxi arrived and we were 2 mins late and it was already 9 euros on the metre!! Didnt try the breakfast. Theres limited tea present at the hotel. The staff is not that friendly. I asked for the hotel to upgrade us or give us a complimentary breakfast as it was my birthday and they said we already booked a queen size room and for breakfast we ahould pay the charges. That wasnt really nice.

    The location was the only good thing about the hotel. There are restaurants, shopping and supermarkets on walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much facilities in hotel, but not much needed either due to location in fairness.

    Right on the Metro and bus lines. Very close walk to center of city area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really identify anything that we didn't like, some things could have been better, however, to achieve these things you'd expect to pay more

    This Hotel is so central that within 10.0 minutes you can walk to most major inner city attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed has given me bad neck ache :( expensive.

    Great location! Just expensive for what it is. Though all hotels expensive. There was a really nice hotel beside it called the Jazz Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows don't open! This made it feel like a prison room. I chose the location based on the building, and location near university but couldn't even open the window. Also no ventilation in the bathroom.

    The workstaff was very friendly and helpful. Absolutely the best thing about the hotel besides location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meber of staff at the reception lied to make themselves look like they are making a good effort although they failed to accommodate for us in the first place and not let us know. Photos on site must be very good as rooms are extremely small, could find a much better 2 star in the area.

    Beds were comfortable and the hotel is situated close to La Ramblas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been much better with the opening times of the breakfast room quite late in the morning. Internet is good, but they could provide access to more than 3 devices per booking.

    The location of the hotel is excellent with great access to the centre of the city. The hotel is clean and comfortable with a great shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two things that would of made it a perfect stay for us was if the tv had more then one English Channel and Coffee in the room

    Valentina was very accommodating to everything we needed. The location is perfect to the metro and la rambla. The lockers to store our stuff because of a late flight was a plus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lack of English language, no one to help with your luggage. When u arrive earlier than your check in time they tell you go to basement put your luggages in the lickers. Kickers are like gym kickers and imagine u have to lift your heavy luggage and fit in the upper lucker if there is no lower ones. And they don't tell u u need 2 euro or a coin that they could offer u in the first place so u go down if u have one single Euro u are fine if u don't u have to go up again and then they will give a coin. We didn't had breakfast deal with them but if u want they charge u 9 euro and the funny thing we even didn't ask where is breakfast area but and the check out someone had breakfast in our account. That was a mystery. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place to any of my friends. I paid 800 euros for three nights it wasn't worth it at all. Next time I will go with better hotels for sure.

    Location. It was close to cafes and walking distance to Cataluña are

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room was a bit small , but for us it was cozy & perfect for what we needed.

    this is a perfect little hotel , you are so close to so many fantastic cafe's & shops that are hidden just off of the rambla . this was perfect for us , we would certainly stay here again - WONDERFUL!! .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not good, windows in the room don't open, too expensive for a 2 star hotel (understandable for the location but I think still too much)

    Good staff, perfect location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions on how to use the T.V set and how to get the English channels. At breakfast there were no croissants. I had to pay an extra €9 for breakfast when I was under the impression that that was included on the total bill.

    The bed was great and very comfortable. The sheets especially were very luxurious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel was in a great location with the metro outside hotel. The breakfast was really good, served from 7.30am till 10am. The staff are very helpful and friendly. we would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con the reception said this was due to it being winter months. The room was really warm we needed the window open but then the noise disturbed our sleep.

    The location was great with the metro station 1 minute away from the hotel. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con did not work so was pretty hot at night time and the window didnt open in the room.

    Excellent location. Get out at stop Unvierstate on the Tram line and the hotel is literally infront of you when you come out of the subway!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being in the city center, my room was noisy because of the night traffic. The breakfast was poor compared to the price paid.

    Friendly and helpful staff and comfortable bed. The location is write in the center and 10 meters away to a metro station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were rude and unhelpful. The room was incredibly hot and despite asking if they could help with this and them advising they would sort it, nothing happened. The breakfast was definitely not worth the 9 euro price tag, the coffee machine didn't work and the food was stale. Definitely wouldn't stay here again.

    Location was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although its on the main street It was a bit difficult to find it at the begining ... Then its getting easier coz its very close to cataloniya square

    The location and service were great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great, on edge of tourist area but easy access to neighborhood flavor, have my own little ecosystem now. Price in low (winter) season is very reasonable for central location. Bathroom is very modern and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a room on the 5th floor but as the Airconditioning system was switched off for winter...although I was okay with opening the windows, the traffic below was too noisy for me.

    The receptionist was very helpful all round...she wrote a note in Spanish for me to hand to the Pharmacy few doors away; to buy medication for cough and fever.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The centralized aircon was off so it was a bit hot when we arrived. We just opened the window but unfortunately, we could hear all the noises in the streets though we were on the 3rd floor

    The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the location is good...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were with our 4 yr old, and there was no heating at all in the room we've got. There was only 1 personnel in the whole hotel, she was very kind but wasn't able to help us because could not leave the desk. Finally we've got another room, I had to assemble the third bed, but the check-in and parking (which is 1 km away from the hotel) took around 2 hours.

    The hotel is close to Placa Universitat and Placa Catalunya, the rooms were clean and neat, the breakfast was plentiful. The personnel were very kind and spoke English.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was sinked and I was proposed to be moved into nearest hotel in two blocks far. But when I seated into taxi (i appreciate it was booked by the hotel) taxi took me away into another city, under the Barcelona, so my plans for the evening in the center was broken. So discuss such pints before sitting into cab!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good. Excellent value. A must stay.

    Lovely comfortable bed. Excellent location. Bathroom very clean with powerful shower and very hot water. We will book the hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little high price compared to its room conditions / whole hotels of Barcelona are expensive.

    We had to take a night bus for our early morning flight. Very close to the bus station and some main attractions. And, I needed to print out my boarding pass, a staff helped me very kindly! Thanks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are small, breakfast is repetitive with limited options (same menu for 4 days in a row!!), no cloak room (if you want to leave your luggage you have to pay 2 Euros for a locker!), no amenities for a business traveler.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no mirror in the room besides the one in the bathroom

    staff was very nice and helpfull i was very pleased with everything, beds are comfortabe and internet work realy good in the room,location is the best.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds and pillows, clean bathroom, very helpful staff and located in the heart of Barcelona. Provided a baby cot already assembled which was a great help to us. Lockers provided to leave luggage after checking out was a welcome option, very safe.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photographs of the rooms are deceiving, in my childrens room there was no space to walk around the bed. Their shower was infested with mold, I could only inset 5, have more pictures, all they did was spray some chlorine that stank the whole room and we were provided with 1 bar of soap for stay. The a/c in that room did not work at all for the 2 day stay all we where given was small fan. Upon arrival at around 11:00 am we were told to store our luggage and walk till 2:00 pm, the rooms were not ready till almost 5:00 pm not at 2:00 pm like they are supposed to. The luggage had to be placed in the basement lockers at an additional cost for 4 lockers and 4 trips in the tiny elevator, same number of trips to go up to the rooms on the 4th floor. Our room was a little larger and cleaner yet the ac did not work very well. I was under the impression that we paid for a single full and a double and got 2 singles when reported to the staff they told us we got what we paid for. The staff in the front desk with one exception was unfriendly, uninformed and neglectful to our complaints. Seriously considering requesting my credit card to refund the money for my childrens moldy bathroom and hot room which may have affected them physically and emotionally. DO NOT STAY HERE! After our cruise we stayed 4 days around the corner at Hotel Regina for less money, larger rooms and it was impeccably clean and well administered and included breakfast to boot. Booked through Booking.com.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was double booked on second night. Staff blocked our key cards and almost let another guest into our room where all our stuff was while we were out.

    Fair location, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to check in at 2:15, with check in time listed at 2. We were told the room wasn't ready. They didn't apologize. They told us it would be ready in 20-30 minutes. We inquired if another room was ready by they said they didn't have any other rooms with a double bed. They told us to wait in their "lounge," which is really just a room in the basement that has a tv, but no remote, and is quite hot. Again no apologies, no offering of water or anything to drink. At 3 PM they finally told us the room was ready, because they could see we were getting angry. We went upstairs to the room and the maid was still cleaning. Meanwhile, we saw a room next to ours that had a double bed and was empty. So they did have other rooms, despite what they told us. The room was ready a little after 3 pm. If they said check in was 3, it would have been fine. But if check in is at 2, I expect the room to be ready then. I would also expect an apology and perhaps to be offered a bottle of water while we waited, but none of this was delivered. Disappointing

    The hotel is well located and moderately comfortable. And the wifi worked.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly, according to their staff, the AC was broken. Even though it was promised to us the engineer is coming promptly to fix it, after 4 nights the AC was nowhere near "fixed". As it was 37C outside the rooms were boiling hot. Really uncomfortable and disappointing. Thumbs down for this. They SHOULD and COULD have tried much harder to fix the broken AC units.

    Decent location close to almost everything. Good breakfast although the breakfast lady could learn how to smile a little and greet their guests. She looked as if we bothered her and wanted us out of there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room. It was mini room. Not a good value for money. They charge 2 euros per luggage to store after you checked out.

    Location was good and hotel was clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This hotel is very unsafe!!! At 2:48am in the early morning/midnight, one stranger used the door card/key and opened our room while both myself and my husband were sleeping in bed (without clothes on)!!! I was waken up by the stranger and pushed him out of our room. Then we got up and got dressed then made complaint to the staff at the reception and found out that the person entered our room by mistake. The guest got drunk and said he stays in our room number but his door card/key cannot open our room for some reason (of course he cannot open because it is not his room!) the receptionist even didn't check his name before given him the door card/key to entre our room!! We required to see the manager and claim for that night's refund because we didn't sleep at all due to all of this horrible things happened!! We were so scared and even jumped from the bed waken up by a stranger in middle of the night!! I have never had this happened before - it was so horrible and scary!! the manager said she needs to speak to her boss on Monday before making any decisions. She offered us 3 days breakfast (we only had 2 breakfast anyway as the breakfast was not very nice to be honest) as she felt sorry for this happened. Then on our last day of stay before we departure, we asked her whether she spoken with her boss about the refund, she was saying that the breakfast was the compensation and she cannot give us any refund at all!! We were so annoyed because we didn't require for the breakfast and it was her who offered us breakfast because she felt sorry for us, now she is saying that it is the compensation! We argued with her for about 2 mins and then her boss finally refunded us for the night that the stranger came into our room midnight and we had a sleepless night!! - Very noisy, this hotel is in between of two main roads. - For 9 euros per person at have breakfast in this hotel is not worth it - we could eat a lot better outside in any coffee shop.

    The location is in centre of the city and just outside the underground Universitait , which is handy for travelling via underground. It is next to the main street La Ramble, where you can find a lot of shops, food and drinks, gifts shop, etc. The bed is very comfortable and pillows are comfy as well. We liked the big bathroom - Shower is powerful and stable temperate. Bath is great too. It has a mini fridge which is good for store food temperately.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working. I was told on check in that it was going to be fixed next day. The following day I asked receptionist was it going to be fixed. She said it was going to be a few weeks before it was fixed. When I was checking out the receptionist was on phone call which seemed like a personal phonecall. She did not want to get off the phone when I came up to check out. I wanted to explain to her about the bad experience I had. As a result of air conditioning not working the hotel was very warm and we got very little sleep over the 2 nights there. The girl continued talking on the phone so i had to email to explain about the bad experience. I was told that I wasn't charged the city tax on check in to make up for the airconditioning but my receipt said I was charged for it. I was also told that they didn't charge me for parking when in fact they did. Overall it was the worst place I've ever said and would not recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signal of the wi-fi is weak and a bit slow. I had to change room after the 1st night due to the air-con malfunction.

    Excellent location in the city centre, convenient for access to most of the tourist attraction by public transport. Staff are very helpful and can address all your request.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel although is in a good location central to everything is absolutely not worth the money. The ac was broken and after we brought it to their attention they told me try inserting the key and leaving it on. Well I did, I got on top of the chair and no air was coming in. The tech brought in 4 fans that really just kept the hot air in the room. I called other hotels in the area and they were all booked. Without saying we were upset and disappointed being our first time in Barcelona. We lost half of day due to the hotels incompetence and poor management. I say this because they lied to us and refused to give me my money back. I told them had I known I would have never book with them. Management never cared to acknowledge us face to face. She kept being incognito. While I looked for almost two hours for hotels I found out other guests complained of not having ac and were lied to by saying they were fixing it which is not true. We spoke to the tech who told us they had been waiting for the part from Italy for two weeks. It's clear this has been an ongoing issue and careless on their part. I really hope this place gets shut down. They are running a scam. The hall way from and down the elevator have no lights which is a negligence. The bathroom doesn't even have your usual toiletries as soap. No, no soap. You get the harshest toilet paper. One of the front desk girl was nice and understanding but she unfortunately she couldn't do anything. She was in agreement of what was happening but felt helpless. The cleaning lady felt bad but again felt helpless. She moved us to another room which was just as bad but bigger. Who cares about a suite when you can't sleep and relax with the heat. If we're paying for a service you expect to receive it and should be able to challenge it. We slept with half the window open because we were afraid of insects or birds to come in and the fans on.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel HLG CityPark Pelayo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: