Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Apartamentos Ciudad de Lugo 3 stars

Carril das Hortas, 29, 27002 Lugo, Spain

#5 of 18 hotels in Lugo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Good base for exploring the old town of Lugo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the whole the apartment was clean, but the kitchen was rather grubby. If I had needed to use it, I would have had to give the utensils a thorough wash first.

    Warm welcome from Christina, the very helpful receptionist. The apartment was very spacious. The hotel is a very short walk from the old town, so a really excellent base for exploring. Appreciated being able to securely park our car in the small underground garage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location to do what we went for the roman walls and inner city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really it was what we expected.l

    We stayed two nights and had a mini apartment.it had a sitting area and kitchen shower room bedroom. Literally 5minute walk to roman wall. Don't book parking unless you have a small car. Our hire car w s s to wide but loads of room to park at front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great little place to stay near the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The apartment was well equipped, spacious and well located. There was a friendly welcome from the receptionist who was happy to help with information. Breakfast was available to buy and there was a good choice which included fruit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic accommodation for a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked the fact that our accommodation was two rooms, which allowed my son and I to sleep in separate rooms. It was wonderful and we were both happy. The reception lady was great too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    A great place to stay and take a rest day on the Camino Primitivo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no cloth for drying dishes and very few kitchen utiensils. I got the feeling they really didn’t want us to cook.

    The location was excellent and the space was ample. It was great to be able to cook for ourselves.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    You can get a coffee from the downstairs cafe and take it to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill to go into town (which was not an issue for us but could be for others). It’s a 5 min walk though.

    You can get a coffee from the downstairs cafe and take it to your room - almost like breakfast in bed for fraction of the price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    It was close (5 mins walk) to the historic center of Lugo.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The access to the parking garage is through a cargo lift. Both the lift and the garage are wholly inadequate for large vehicles (SUVs and such like).

    It was close (5 mins walk) to the historic center of Lugo. Apartments are adequately sized and clean. Very decent views if staying on the higher floors.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Condom wrapper left in a cupboard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Empty condom wrapper left in the cupboard, what looked like semen stained on the couch. Constantly loud noises from above. I am not a snob and prior to this had spent 23 days in a camper van travelling Portugal. We wish we had stayed in the van that night too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and good onsite, garage parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle in the kitchen.

    A well located apartment/hotel block with the parking via a car lift into the garage! All easily done. Only a 5 min walk to the gorgeous old town surrounded by the 2-3rd century Roman Unesco heritage wall. Lots to see but we didn't have enough time. Apartment was very reasonably priced and had 2 bedrooms, kitchenette, TV and everything you needed. Would recommend this for a short or long stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite difficult to navigate to. Seriously steep roads! Attached restaurant food adequate but not great. Shame because breakfast was good Staff on arrival pleasant but not so great on departure. One person can't do everything and it clearly affects their demenure with customers

    Great size apartment/room with everything we could possible need Good breakfast included Great base to explore Lugo old town from Secure underground garage for motorbike

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location near old city walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa has seen better days.

    Great location near old city walls. Good breakfast. Safe free motorbike parking directly outside entrance of hotel. Huge room and seperate sitting room with fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Room comfortable and clean but essential inclusions were completely missing - false advertising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was supposed to be a kitchen but there wasn't! We had asked for a room with a view but when we asked where the kitchen was, we're told rooms with views did not have kitchens!!! This would have been nice to know in advance, and at the booking stage, not after we moved in! We needed to do washing as we are on a long trip but there was no washing machine in the apartment OR even in the building. This is not good for an apartment hotel. Laundry service was not readily available and if it was we were told it would take three days (too long for our stay!). After doing washing in the bathroom, there was nowhere at all to hang clothes to dry although we were told we had a terrace - but we did not have a terrace!. Did not have an iron or other things mentioned in room inclusions either. Most importantly, we did not have ANY INTERNET at all and we needed it! Staff knew internet didn't work in our room but did not tell us even when we queried. We do not like it when properties falsely advertise! All these things should be removed from room description immediately. If you are going to stay here people, make sure you check the small print!

    Lovely reception by Christina, a very friendly and helpful person.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area just outside walls not as cleaned up as inside city walls, so there is more graffiti and it looks more sad. But no problem still safe and nice!

    Great value, clean, very close to town walls. Car park is fun, you descend on an elevator that fits your car. Easy to walk to historic city and roman walls even with small kids, but then come back to a place with easy parking. Also a great small playground very close to hotel doors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Basic apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with updating. Radiator in bathroom was rusty. Water from shower went every where. Difficult to find the building.

    Good general standards of cleanliness. Had the option of self catering but only used as a stopover and would have found facilities basic if staying longer. Modern bright bar/cafe area. Secure parking available for extra cost- the car lift was a new experience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous location, hard beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds were like cement and the pillows similar. (and that's coming from a family that does a lot of backpacking and sleeping on the ground). Parking is very challenging (but seems to be that way everywhere in Lugo).

    The location was excellent because it was very close to one of the entrances to the Roman Wall. We stayed (2 adults and 2 children) in a 2 bedroom apartment that had a refrigerator, which was nice for storing snacks and drinks. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.1
    Good choice for the space
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar could not provide some of the menu items when asked.

    Nice to have large and separate sleeping and seating areas. The fridge was handy too. Everything worked. Just a short uphill walk to the old and new city. Indoor parking. Fun bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed quite early

    Location was excellent, just a few minutes walk to the walled city. Lots of places to park close by so I was not charged for a garage place even though I had booked one. Staff were friendly and chatty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Good value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Décor and fittings ok but tired. No kettle in kitchen (had seen on others comments so had a travel one with us). Parking (as noted by many) a challenge if in more than a small car; my mid-size just made it but literally an inch either side in the lift. Finding the way to the hotel had my sat-nav a bit confused so looking on a map before you approach is good - you'll get caught in the one way system.

    Lots of space in the apartment. Good location for getting into town. Friendly staff and (mostly) English-spoken. For what the room cost it was good value. Café downstairs good for some food (not a restaurant, but what they did was tasty).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    travelling through spain
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi-fi was very poor and i could only get it when plugged in direct at reception.

    spacious property just on the edge of the old town.enjoyed walking walls.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Adequate with plenty of space but lacked detail
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of equipment in thecApartment

    Location to walled city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very small. Beds uncomfortable. Shower kept coming off wall.

    Great location good size. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Lower than desirable bedding and furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. BED and couch very low Grade

    Parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Room size was very nice, roomy and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was the smallest of small. Very difficult to move the car around to leave.

    Room size was very nice, roomy and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great staff, very clean, perfect got exactly what we paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, very clean, perfect got exactly what we paid for

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Room smell and outside noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smell and outside noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect apartament for spending some days in Lugo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect apartament for spending some days in Lugo. Near to the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Great place for a quick tour of Lugo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two room suite: bed room and front room. Great location, great staff. Really enjoyed he city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Very big room, with a separate lounge/dinning area from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very big room, with a separate lounge/dinning area from the bedroom. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Wifi did not work in the room and was intermittent in the...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connectivity

    Wifi did not work in the room and was intermittent in the lobby. While walking the Camino Wifi reliability is essential to me

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    We had a good experience staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit hard to find.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Lugo in very Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Car park and close to city walls

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Great location .. very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    within walking distance of the Old City and Roman Wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pizza was not that good from the cafe downstairs

    within walking distance of the Old City and Roman Wall. Excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    When we go back to Lugo, we won't look for anything else. We'll go to ciudad de lugo apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking: the entrance is by a car lift and it's very difficult to park there.

    The kindness of the staff and the easy life there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    huge space with kitchen facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    huge space with kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice, clean and confortable apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A micro or basic cooking facilities would be great.

    Nice, clean and confortable apartment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Agradable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage dificultoso

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.1
    Great location with private parking and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sitting Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noise at night coming from other apartments and the water system is very loud .

    Great location with private parking and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    An excellent and quiet location;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The kitchen possesses the basic things, so in general is fine, but some additional facilities, e.g., a cutting board and an electric kettle would be helpful to make the guest feel even more relaxed.

    An excellent and quiet location; a comfortable and nice apartment; a good speed internet connection; a free parking area in front of the hotel; a very friendly and nice reception staff; cleaning and changing towels every day.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    Great location, only 300 meters from the Roman walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, only 300 meters from the Roman walls. Affordable garage parking. A tip: look for a building with a huge TURISTICOS sign on it (see the photos).

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    A very large clean apartment [in a hotel type set up].
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The private car park involves a car lift and is difficult to negotiate; parking in the road may be a possible alternative [okay in September anyway]

    A very large clean apartment [in a hotel type set up]. Very conveniently situated just outside the Roman walls of the old town [10 minutes walk to centre] and also near a large supermarket, bakers etc.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.1
    near to the central city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kitchen equipment rather poor (no watercooker f.i., only two small pots, one cover). I wouldn't go into the garage (underground, entrence with elevator) if i had a Mercedes, but not even with a Smart! Wifi doesn't work most of the time

    near to the central city

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We tell the reception we had found a sanity towel used in one of the door, and used socks left behinde from someone else. The answer was silence she didn't say sorry. Just this your bill.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    7.1
    We found some really cozy cafes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It certainly was not intended that the apartment's kitchen should be used, very little equipment.

    We found some really cozy cafes. And I love running around the muralla-wall. The apartment was located at a suitable distance from city center.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.9
    The kitchen facilites are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One of the beds was in the kitchen area, and 120€ is on the expensive side.

    The kitchen facilites are excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    9.2
    Close to city walls, in a quiet street, it is a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to city walls, in a quiet street, it is a great accomodation full equiped.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.5
    The size of the apartments and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Directions to locate premises was confusing.

    The size of the apartments and location.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, great apartment, great breakfast, great wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    TV had no DVD player and could not connect HDMI, Kitchen could be better equipped

    Friendly staff, great apartment, great breakfast, great wifi

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.5
    Was well ventilated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The noise at night from other apartments

    Was well ventilated

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    Walking the wall, exploring old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing much to do in the city

    Walking the wall, exploring old town

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Interesting city and good menu del dia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor self catering equipment

    Interesting city and good menu del dia.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.5
    I liked having a lounge as well as a bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I liked having a lounge as well as a bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, large room with good bathroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All fine

    Friendly staff, large room with good bathroom and kitchenette. In quiet location, good buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.5
    Size of apartment good, location close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    looking a little tired

    Size of apartment good, location close to town

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.2
    The two beds in the master room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The two beds in the master room

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Apartamentos Ciudad de Lugo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: