Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ciutat Vella 3 stars

Tallers, 66, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#164 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1882 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Ciutat Vella's superb location and friendly staff made of six night stay exceptionally pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathtub/shower needed a non-slippage mat to prevent slipping.

    Location was superb! Morning breakfast was satisfying and coffee excellent. Friendly and helpful staff made our stay pleasant and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    2.5
    Horrible experience with my elderly mother should be 0 not 2.5 but can’t make this rate lower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has a very dangerous entrance where my elderly mother had a nasty fall coming back in with our pizza. Initially the desk clerk was very apologetic, admitting that yes it was a safety hazard when he came over to administer basic first aid. We asked him about our ruined takeaway early pizza dinner (only worth $8 Euro) as we felt as good customer service towards my elderly mother who had suffered a nasty shock, and myself from seeing her hurt, would be him at the very least offering to replace the pizza. This is where he turned nasty and said that no he wouldn’t be replacing our dinner because it was our fault and not the hotels. As we proceeded to try and get him to see reason and show some compassion he all of a sudden “couldn’t understand English” Yeah right!!!! I am far from impressed with the arrogance and lack of compassion of this desk clerk in his handling of this situation. My elderly mother was lucky that she didn’t break any bones. Under no circumstances would I ever return to this horrible hotel and I would advise anyone to steer well clear.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Worthwhile.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no central ceiling lighting - so parts of the room were in darkness, specifically the safe was on the floor and in darkness- so I couldn't use it.

    Not applicable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location is the key ingredient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was a bit lacklustre, but well stocked.

    Fantastic location, right next to La Rambla. Lots of entertainment, bats, tourist attractions, shopping and restaurants close by. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in great location. Watch for the noise if room overlooks the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location meant there was a lot of noise outside all night. From people to large trucks doing deliveries and bin truck emptying the large bins on the street. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel Asked for extra pillows and were told there were none !!

    Location was great. Nice hotel with many bars etc nearby. Easy to walk to the rambles and place de catalunya . Old town was a short walk so great to get around and meet for any tours.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location, just off La Rambla and with so many lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, just off La Rambla and with so many lovely eateries near by. Also very close to Plaça de Catalunya which is great for the bus to the airport and other bus stops. The room was very clean, very comfortable and spacious. The air conditioning worked marvellously for my whole stay. Wouldn’t have wanted to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is teally close to metro stations and bus stops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the rooms is not good enough.

    The hotel is teally close to metro stations and bus stops that it makes our voyage easier. The staff is really friendly and they are helpful. The breakfast is more than we expected. All cleaning facilities are done carefully.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Basic but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe was open plan,more like just a rail to hang clothes on,no drawers. No bedside tables. Lighting was very poor, room was dark late on afternoon.Walls paper thin,could hear people talking and doors slamming well into 3am in the morning.

    Basic but comfortable.Bed was fine,and large tv on wall opposite.Roof top jacuzzi was an added bonus,with sun beds and the view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing missing was a bar fridge. Being a hot summer we would of lked a bar fridge to kerp some cold water.

    Fantastic location. Few metres up had a cute cafe which was nice for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, firm but comfortable beds - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    You can't judge a book by its cover, as the old saying goes. The small entrance to the Ciutat Vella Hotel on a narrow street in the Gothic section of Barcelona was deceiving - once inside, the Manager Albert was very helpful, they served a nice breakfast (included) in the morning, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable! The hotel is a block and a half off the famous La Ramblas pedestrian street through the center of Barcelona and one block from the wonderful Metro subway system. Great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot breakfast didnt look very appertising.

    Great location just of la rambla, clean and comfortable. And really enjoyed the rooftop relax arwa with hot tub and sun beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed ourselves in Barcelona (was there 4 nights)....lots to see and the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not care for the eggs (runny) nor the bacon....cereal and toast was fine and the pastries. The only cleaned fresh fruit was watermelon (was good). The oranges and apples looked a little too ripe for us (and did not want to clean them).

    The room was clean (would be nice to have a space (cabinet) to put some clothes (other than to hang them). Did not use the hot tub (we were too busy)....but looked nice. The elevator squeeked....but worked fine. The help was friendly and helped with directions. They did have a book exchange which was nice. Great location....close to everything and was walkable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel close to all the city has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a lively neighborhood, and as such there is some noise at night from people sitting in bars across the street.

    A very nice hotel in a very good location for walking all through the old city center of Barcelona. La Rambla is only a 300m walk through a nice street. Big bathroom with a nice shower. Helpful staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not appreciate having booked a double room with a balcony as per the photographs on the hotel site to be told on arrival that we had a room that looked into an internal space. Then we were offered another internal room with a minute deck that was also useless We were finally offered the correct room

    The house maids did an excellent job servicing our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend and will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly and helpsome staff. This hotel was perfect for our big family with a location which brought us quickly to the heart of Barcelona!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but clean. Could have been more towels. Bed was uncomfortable. No hotel bar. Terrace on top floor is tiny so didn’t use it. Staff hadn’t good English we tried to ask questions and they didn’t understand.

    Room was small but clean. Could have been more towels. Bed was uncomfortable. No hotel bar. Terrace on top floor is tiny so didn’t use it. Staff hadn’t good English we tried to ask questions and they didn’t understand.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location but very average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not like the other 3 star hotels we’ve stayed in. Felt more like a 2 star hostel. The shower had a shower curtain, the floor was concrete, there were no windows on the external part of the building to open for a breeze, the bed was very average, and the light from the hallway outside was on 24/7 and shone into the room in the door gaps all night. Would stay elsewhere next time in a similar location

    Good location. Walking distance to La Rambla & restaurants, cafes & shops

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    The boys at reception were very helpfull, hotel is at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative point is that there is no refrigerator in the room!

    The boys at reception were very helpfull, hotel is at the best location in town at the center, near rablas etc, every day they clean our room and the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    The location was great and the bed was firm which was good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls and noisy at night time as there is a bar right opposite the hotel.

    The location was great and the bed was firm which was good for my aching back! Rooms were also clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were two single beds put together to form a double, not really comfy during the night because they kept getting separated between me and my partner. Also, no frigo bar in the room

    The location was excellent, the view from our balcony was pretty cool. The staff at reception are super friendly welcoming and very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Our stay helped to make our first visit to Barcelona an enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sounds from the next room at times could be heard through the adjoining door

    Great room for the cost. Clean and the staff was very helpful. Breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    A welcoming and comfortable stay in the heart of the old city, close to most of the main attractio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle or small fridge in room would be a useful addition

    Wonderful helpful staff, great location with excellent transport links to all the main attractions, a real taste of Barcelona life in a lively, vibrant district.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    Nightmare!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com advertised this property as quiet town view. The street outside was full of drunk, drugged up, skateboarding youngsters all night (I stayed Tues and wed night) wasn’t even a weekend. Nightmare...didn’t sleep at all !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great - definitely would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked to have a fridge to store water/meds etc and kettle for tea coffee. Learning in Europe to take a small flask with us so we can take hot water up to room and manage tea/coffee ourselves

    Great location, comfy room looking out over the street - great boutique hotel. Staff on the desk so helpful. Quiet even though in the middle of the city. Breakfast very adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Simple Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Simple excellence is how I would sum this up this city centre hotel. It is not plush nor is it expensive. It has all that you need for a city break and is 5mins from Las Rambla which is at the end of the street. The room we had was in the rear of the hotel had a great bed, was very quiet, and was spotlessly clean. The staff were helpful and gracious and we will be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel to stay at in Barcelona!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it was a little pricey, we liked everything!

    The accommodations were excellent, as well as the location. It is very close to Las Ramblas and located in the very center of shops and restaurants. We had a cute balcony from which to watch the world go by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there for 2 nights and would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoyed my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist girl was extremly helpful. She saw I am travelling alone so She showed me a map and planned a complete tour for me based on my interests and the time I could spend on it. The hotel is really closed to Las Ramblas what means the tapas and wine house and the beach is really close. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Fab location and lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel location was perfect! We couldn't believe just how close we were to the centre of town and walked more a less everywhere. Which saved us spending money on the metro everyday. We also really enjoyed the terrace, it was nice to sit out late at night and watch the sunset. The staff were all really friendly and always happy to help!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing,excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    For a three star hotel, this exceeded expectations. Staff on reception could not have been more helpful. Came across three members of staff across shifts and all were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    very clean, staff very helpful and nice would have like press with drawers to put clothes in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have like a few comfy seats in the foyer area of the hotel and the idea of eating breakfast in reception area was not very appealing. there was nowhere to relax apart from breakfast area!

    got room at back of hotel was very quiet, had good night's sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    A good place, but be sure to get a quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our first room was on the first floor (2nd to Americans) and faced the street. The bar across the street was loud until about 2 am and then delivery trucks began about 4 am. It was really impossible to sleep.

    The hotel was fine. It's in the Gothic area which is convenient, but at night it was extremely noisy and we asked for our room to be changed. The room was nice, basic and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel, good price and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Didn't have breakfast as we were only there one night and was leaving early next morning. There was a coffee machine there which was free from 4pm to mid evening. Room was really nice and comfortable.The reception staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in a busy street surrounded by bars and restaurants which was really handy. We were only 5 mins away from the busy main Streets with so many fantastic shops and restaurants. All in a fantastic hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a budget priced hotel in a fantastic city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Top location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice from the street during night. Fried eggs server for the breakfest tasted not like eggs.

    Top location. Comfortable bad. Nice whirlpool on the roof.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Location near to metro you can take train from and to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in Very very very crowded small street with groups of high and drunks students and I could’t sleep because of the noises they makes until 5 or 6 Am. Actually I read about the noises in comments but I thought I can ignore it but believe me you can not.

    Location near to metro you can take train from and to Airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bare bones. Bad lighting. No adapters for plugs. One table and one “bench” in hallway on top of safe which didn’t work more than twice. One of the elevators “missed the floor” by stopping 2-8” below what would have been level. Once it wouldn’t open. (They did put a note on it the second day.) And don’t take breakfast with the room. Free coffee in lobby. There are a couple of places that open at 8 am very close by. Hard to get eggs for breakfast anywhere close. Centric had a small offering. The day staff was very friendly and helpful. Night guy was argumentative and on alone so couldn’t help with anything. For a pittance, they could really upgrade the rooms! A shame.

    Location was fabulous. Rooftop view and jacuzzi good. No towels though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    so happy I found this hotel thru Booking.com. it was one of their genius recommendations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not that we did not like it, but it could have used a bedside table beside each bed. Just lacked places on where to put your things you need handy.

    My second visit to Barcelona in two years. First time at this hotel. The staff were super great, friendly, and helped us out on all requests. Location amazing, staff showed us great restaurants and we found a restaurant served gluten free foods for my room mate. We did not participate in their meal plan because of food allergies though. Bed was very comfortable and we were one of the lucky ones to receive our own patio. Would highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Comfortable, clean, cosy room, very clean bathroom. Beautiful view to the city from the terrace on the top of the building. Nice and polite stuff. Close to Catalunya square. Easy reach to main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff were excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We travel extensively. In our opinion this is a "cheap" low-cost hotel fit-out. I expect to return to Barcelona for business and I will not stay here again. For example, it's disappointing in a relatively new hotel that you the bedroom lights are so poor you need to turn on a torch to unpack your bag when you arrive. Sound-proofing between rooms was non-existent.

    Staff were excellent. The roof-top pool was exactly as advertised. But don't plan to have a swim after dinner because it's closed. We found a couple of excellent restaurants nearby. The location worked very well for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    I would not recommend this hotel to any travelers. Outrageous pricing for sparse accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were HARD and caused back pain. Lighting was poor. Air conditioner did not cool sufficiently, elevators are way too small, continental breakfast was sparse. Male manager standing around at front desk seemed put off that I requested water. The woman at front desk (Mariana) immediately refilled my water bottle and was very gracious despite that she was multi-tasking and very busy.

    Mariana at front desk was very attentive and gracious despite that she was multi-tasking and very busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    We had a pleasent stay with good service in Ciutat Wella and with good breakfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guest next door on our last night. He was not well and and very noisy!!

    The young lady Sandra in the afternoon/evening reception gave my wife and me the most fantastic introduction to Barcelona and what to see over next days. She was smiling, informative and very service minded. BRAVO - BRAVO Sandra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A small boutique hotel with very friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small boutique hotel with very friendly and helpful staff; the terrace provides a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of the area; excellent location. Air conditioning and shutters close off some of the street noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was ok. Look for something better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at 11:30 pm and neighborhood was scary. Lots of graffiti and freaky people on streets. Had a hard time finding a normal bar/restaurant.

    Location was close to Metro if you plan to use it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Don’t visit with a baby! Fine for young couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, no room to walk or clean once the baby bed and luggage is in, no water kettle, no fridge, no iron or ironing board.

    Location, staff, stroller-compatible elevators, pay upon checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for both leisure and business
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really isn't anything i could diss about this place x

    Everything was great here..staff particularly Sandra were lovely and helpful. Great location. Hotel comfortable..beds firm..how i like it! Very clean and we were lucky enough to have a terrace. Would definitely stay again x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent would stay there again if I visited Barcelona excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in room was inadequate

    The front of house staff were amazing! So helpful and friendly especially Albert who spent ages advising us how to get to places and where to go. Excellent location just off Las Ramblas and 5 min walk from central square where you get the Aerobus, metro and hop on hop off buses. Room was on tøp at the back we did not hear a thing at night very peaceful .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to mention

    We return to this hotel - location is awesome and so is the staff. Easy to get to from the airport. Metro and hop on hop off bus route as well as many other important visiting location in close vicinity. So are other public transport facilities and off course La Rambla.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.5
    The personnal at the reception and where the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was bad ,no air climatise the phone dind,t work the light was bad and no furniture

    The personnal at the reception and where the hotel was situate near the bus ,metro ect ect ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds and the pillows were quite uncomfortable. The breakfast could be better. The view from the window was poor, looking at the nearby houses and roofs. I guess that rooms directed to the street have a better view and also balconies, so it's worth asking in advance.

    The location is great! The hotel is located in the city center, close to Plaza Catalunya and Rambla street, but on a quiet street with almost no traffic. The metro station Universitat is also very close. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and designed nicely .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    We would stay again but request a room at the back of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only complaint was that our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking a square with a number of bars that were very noisy until the early hours.

    Excellent location with easy access from the airport and to the major attractions of Barcelona. the room was functional and very clean. Many bars, restaurants and shops close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Refuse rooms on the street side if you want to have a calm night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our last day-night in BCN, as in the previous hotel, they were full from this day and we had to book another. As I can say this was far the less comfortable night I had during my stay in the Catalan capital. In every hotel, there are good rooms and bad rooms. Good ones are usually upper floors, far from street level, far from the elevator, not right above the hotel bar and looking back (not on the street side). The opposite hold for bad rooms. We got a bad room: first floor above the entrance, looking on the street. The noise from it was terrible, even with windows properly shut and earplugs, we could hear the people shouting all night, as there are many pubs, clubs nearby and one famous just next to the facility. I understand, that the hotel itself cannot do nothing about it, what I do not understand, why the guest are not warned when booking and why these kind of rooms are sold for the same price as those much more quite. This is absolutely unacceptable that you pay for a room and than you have a terrible night. Another thing - breakfast. The amount is ok, however the quality was disappointing: there were a few type of hams of doubtful quality, the sausages were like from some weird material and the scrambled eggs were everything but not eggs. They were some artificial foam without a taste only reminding what eggs taste. Please, use proper eggs not powder when preparing eggs... The third thing was the quality of he wifi in the room. 1/10. very low signal, I could sometimes connect with my phone, but no luck with my laptop, so I had to move into the reception room, and get some work done there. So, in summary. Having had a more quiet room, good wifi and a little better breakfast, I could have given this hotel 8+. Now, it is some hardly 7+.

    - The hotel has a good location - Clean and spacious rooms - plenty of food during breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are uncomfortable, and available only two single beds.

    Very good location. Breakfast is good, and very good coffe. Tea and coffee available 16-20.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Wverything from location to friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Location is just awesome. Love love live👍👍😊😊

    Wverything from location to friendly staff. Especially Fernando, he is awesome. He reserved me an adaptor which was very mice of him. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my family, friends and patients when they go to Barcelona.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Best bang for the buck in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds (like many hotels), breakfast was ok I guess

    Excellent location, good price, roof top jacuzzi, friendly staff, walking distance to best parts of Barca

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, superb staff simple improvements would make this hotel fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What we didn't find comfortable were the curtains. There are only the big thick ones and if you want to pull the curtains open then you have no privacy at all. A simple mesh curtains will solve this. Also the breakfast was OK, it will be good to have some more fresh fruit and perhaps tomatoes and cucumbers to make it a good breakfast.

    Fantastic location and the staff are really an asset to the hotel. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. You are really in the heart of Barcelona and close to everything including the aerobus for the airport. Will stay again if needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    We highly recommend this hotel. Perfect location, rooms and staff members. Well done.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were impressed with the hospitality of all staff members. Our daughter became ill during our stay and they helped us with a doctor and the hospital.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    the staff is great, the position is perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed is far from being comfortable. The mattress was really old and not comfortable. Rooms are not quite at all. You can hear anything your neighbors say or do as if they were in your room with you.

    the staff is great, the position is perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    next time no conneting room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked quite room but its imposible in connecting rooms. I wish to get a standart room without connecting door.

    Location was perfect,breakfast was good and staff are helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    The location was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The living space in the room was so limited and lack of a refrigerator was somewhat more important than I thought it would be.

    The location was excellent. So close to the metro station in Pl. Catalunya... The staff was so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    great small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel for the price and service. Location and rooms. Perfect!! We had a room at the front with small balcony on 5th floor. Wonderful

    No fridge in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    A trip to cherish in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best thing about the property was the staff and they gave me a room with good view because I asked for it initially during booking. Secondly, free evening coffee was another great thing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    We loved our 4 night stay here. In the heart of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no slippers or bath robes available. You will do just fine without them, but they would have been a nice addition to their excellent service. Also, the walls (or the door between our rooms) were paper thin, you could hear everything from the next room.

    This hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona. It's close to the most important landmarks of the city, the Metro and the Bus stations are pretty close. The room was large enough for us, it was clean and we loved the rooftop Jacuzzi. Make sure to bring your bath suit! The room service was exquisite, the room was cleaned everyday and we got fresh towels daily. We had a pleasant 4 night stay here, we would return if we can in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are decent but not the best. Avoid staying in the first floor due to its proximity to the common area. Overall it is a good place if you are planning on staying there for one night or two.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    An amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Maybe the city tax is paid when checking-in not when checking out.

    Room was amazing with a large private terrace. Breakfast was quite abundant giving it's a 3 star hotel. Complementary coffee machine near the reception area is great. Reception staff are amazing. Very helpful and always smiling. Rooms are very clean and smells fresh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Really nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Let me start with the bad things: noisy rooms upfront to the street. The problem: the Windows are not soundproof. Next: unfortunately we had a room with a connection door to another room: not soundproof. Finally: still that old-style "two beds" standard double room instead of a King Size Bed. Do not expect to be able to cuddle at night time. Conclusion: take a room with a window to the Patio and ask for a room without a connection door and you mitigate already two issues. We can recommend this hotel for sure and would come back.

    There are plenty of pros: best price benefit ratio we were able to discover in the New Year period 2017/2018. The location itself: amazing: 200m distance to Placa Catalunya. In the middle of Barcelona we stayed for 3 nights for less than 350 Euro. It mitigates already the noisy environment. But to be continued: strongest WIFI ever. Even in four and five star hotels I had much more problems or slower connectivity than at this place. The beds, beside of the split: comfortable and convenient. The rooms quite large and always clean! The ambiance, well - normal to put it that way, nothing special. The staff: absolutely friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely great location, very close to everything and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite nosy as the sounds from the street carry into the hotel. Maybe some thicker windows would help

    Absolutely great location, very close to everything and lovely staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Nice hotel for visiting Barcelona, very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect for this money

    Nice hotel, friendly and helpful personnel, clean room, space enough for 2 people, very good location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Excellent ,recommend to anyone who is going to Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a Main Street so slightly noisy but didn't notice too much apart from the bin wagons in the morning

    Location was near las ramblas , down quaint Barcelona street, lovely quirky boutique hotel ,roof terrace was lovely though didn't try the jacuzzi but will next time ,friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel. Clean, comfortable, excellent staff. Would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Walls are very thin and we could hear the neighbours really clearly. Bed was a bit hard for me but to be fair this is a very personal thing. Decoration could do with freshening up as there were bits of skirting board missing and some patching on the walls had not been painted.

    Breakfast was lovely. Lots of choice and everything was fresh. Room was spotlessly clean. Staff were absolutely fantastic. So friendly and nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Clean, easy to find, comfortable and practical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they turn off the air con during the autumn/winter period as we were unable to get it working & could only get heat to dispense from it, which was a little frustrating as it was still around 12 degrees whilst we were trying to sleep, so being from England, we still found it pretty warm whereas the locals found it freezing, which was a little discomforting as we find it hard to sleep when we’re too hot. If booking through Booking.com - they don’t tell you about the extra charges or the preauthorisation charge before you arrive so it was a little surprising when they state you don’t have to pay anything until you get to the hotel, when in fact, you actually get charged the price of one nights stay about 6 days before you travel and then they refund you this charge after you have paid for the full amount when you leave. However, there is a chat available to the hotel, as I was a little concerned by this, and the person I spoke to let me take the preauthorisation charge off of my total bill when we left, however I don’t think they’re supposed to do that as the receptionist seemed a little annoyed that someone had let us do that. You also get charged a 5€ city tax each night which is added on to your bill when you leave, which again, they don’t tell you about until your ready to pay.

    The rooms were a good size for what we needed, the shower was easy to use & very powerful compared to what we’d experienced in other 3 star hotels. The lady that was on reception when we checked in was lovely & very helpful, she gave us maps of the area & circled where the hotel was on it and the tourist attractions around the city. The breakfast had a good variety & was all you can eat so perfect for fuelling up for the day. Easy to find, right in the heart of the city and quite close to many local tourist attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or kettle. 9€ for breakfast seemed a bit much so went to maccas instead for their very nice coffee.

    Large room with everything we required. Big bathroom. Would have liked a fridge and a kettle, but I understand the kettle thing isn't really Spanish. Very close to La Rambla but not the noise, and very easy walk to catch the airport bus. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Good localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extrem hot in the rooms because of no effective aircondition. very small rooms. Broken shower. Very noisy street at night.

    Good localisation. Free coffee in the afternoon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    May be convenient for the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor noise insulation. There was a locked door between my room and next door - I could hear everything, very clearly. Not quite something one would expect, though.

    Very kind staff. Spacious room, comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Good place in vert central location with rooftop jacuzzi.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is perfect, nearby plaza de Catalunya and the metro stop University. Many cafes and bars are nearby. Breakfast for 9 Eur per person was good (warm food - sausages, omlette, bacon) included. However the best feature is jacuzzi on the roof-top terrace - nice place to hang out above the roofs of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    We were robbed of our belongings (handbag, backpack,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We were robbed of our belongings (handbag, backpack, passports, cash money, credit cards, camera, laptop, action camera, power-bank) on Oct. 21st, 2017 by the thieves who intentionally punctured our car tire. We reached our hotel and the receptionists, Albert, helped us to call our rental car company since we are unable to speak Spanish or French. We were desperate, lost and helpless. Thanks to Albert for his kind help and also asking me to calm down as my wife and I were in panic mode. In the evening, Sandra was so helpful, kind and caring to assist us in calling our rental car company again. She also offered to make us a sandwich. She also advises us what to. She continue to make sure we are ok the following morning. Thanks for her help we begin to more relaxed and comfortable. Then Joachim (another receptionist) help us to get to the US Consulate General office and also help us to get a replacement rental. Also not forgetting Franck who also assisted us. Sandra, Joachim, Albert and Frank of Hotel Ciutat Vella, we like to thank you sincerely from our heart. Without your kind assistance, we do not know what to do. Bravo to all of you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More lighting in the room. Found it quite dingy. Needs a light over the full length mirror.

    Location was great. Walked everywhere, didn't need to use metro. The sun terrace was definitely a sun trap. Nice and peaceful up there too.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ciutat Vella traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: