Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Castillo Beach Resort 4 stars

Avenida del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta De Fuste, Spain

#33 of 150 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1366 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    A lovely couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It did have a problem with the shower, water leaking under door going into the hallway. Badly designed and could be dangerous as the water leaked onto slippery tiles so coming out of the shower was difficult. Food in the buffet was ok, a vast amount of choice, but not very hot.

    We had an apartment, it was lovely two balconies one overlooking the sea the other over the gardens. Very clean and comfy. Beds really comfortable, pools lovely. Would certainly go again however, on a self catering basis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Convenient hotel for late airport arrival but do not bother with the evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no chopping board or washing up equipment. the corkscrew was almost falling apart. The food in the restaurant was rather poor and the coffee was really awful!

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was really quiet and well located near all of the facilities that we wanted to use.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    2.9
    Never again! I would not return to Barcello - I wished I had picked the large Hotels like Elba..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where do I start? On arrival the price changed for an additional £50 from my initial booking some 4 months before. We paid for a premium bungalow which was booked as £444 for 4 nights but costs us £490 on arrival. We were then not even escorted in the dark to our villa, just given a map and told to go find it? This was an unacceptable service for quality check-in. The villa we had was very old and stunk of cigarettes and mold, it was in a terrible state - not as the picture advertised which was a two storey 'new' looking bungalow where other people stay upstairs.. we were ground level. The bedroom air conditioning unit leaked water into the light which was underneath it and covered in rust.. so clearly done it for a long time so we didn't dare use it, plus it was far too noisy to sleep with anyway. Paint was pealing off the walls as the plaster was damp and cracking. The sofa was stained along with the curtains in both rooms which stunk of fags and damp. The bathtub/shower had rust in it. We were positioned in a villa near the Pool - 3107 - and we were shocked when we went to the pool bar to get a drink and snack, to be told that they dont take cash? You have to have either resort credits or credit card? How crazy - they seem to cater only for the all inclusive customer but not the general visitors who dont wish to have all inclusive? Stupid Policy. Even though I had emailed ahead twice since my booking 4 months prior and asked for a late check out which is advertised for either 2pm @25eros or a 6pm @50euros - I was replied to and told I had to see the reception the evening before we were leaving.. I did this and on asking they advised that the latest we could check out was 2pm.. the room was needed for cleaning? We explained I have emailed twice but still no joy.. we had a late flight so had 6 hours to kill in town.. i found this very unacceptable as the resort was not busy..

    Location was good, but then this is not a Huge resort so anywhere would be close to the town and beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Amazing holiday with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location of the hotel is very closed to the beach, to the restaurant and to the pools. The staff was very friendly and kind, the check in and out were easy, fast and without any problem. The foods were perfect, tastefull and the sortiment of the dishes was enormous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    A lovely family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool on the site we were staying on. Had to go off our accommodation complex to another to get to the pool. Kids pool with the play area was only available if the kids attended kids club, which my kids don't like to do. Food was warm and on one occasion the chicken was raw.

    Accommodation was lovely, beds were so comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of food choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    nice staff, poorly maintained, very disappointing for 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    General maintenance of the resort is very poor, we had to move apartments as the one we were allocated was very tired, dusty poorly maintained especially the bathroom. (zone beginning with #3) our second apartment was a much better quality a newer (zone beginning with#2), and although it was cleaned each day we had a quilt that had a large rip in it and a number of smaller holes, some towels we had also had holes in, very dusty under the bed. roof terrace furniture was dirty and dusty. The swimming pools had lots of tiles missing and broken tiles around the pool areas too which is hazardous this is unacceptable. the pool areas were very noisy as music is played the whole time and the jet2 / resort entertainment team are very intrusive with activities around the pool most of the day this is not conducive to relaxing around the pools. Very disappointing that we were not allowed to get a glass of water from the water fountain the restaurant as this was only available to all inclusive guests and we were half board, we were not asking for bottled water it came from a machine absolutely ridiculous as we were buying wine or other drinks each evening. Had organised flowers and cava for our arrival as it was our anniversary this did not happen, although we were given a bottle of cava when we moved apartments as an apology of our initial experience. We were charged for a safe in our room, approx €3 per day. A lot of what I have mentioned is not what I would expect for a resort quoting 4 stars, but a lot of this is easily fixed with a robust maintenance plan.

    The staff were professional, polite and quick to respond to issues, good choice of food in the buffet restaurant. breakfasts were great. Liked that when were not dining in the evening we could swap our dinner for lunch instead a nice idea. Good dinning experience in the restaurant , Camarote, we went there twice. The beds are very comfortable. spacious apartment with nice roof terraces with a table and chairs plus two loungers. (Rooms beginning with #2) plenty of good quality toiletries in the bathroom. You can get pool towels from reception with a returnable deposit, €10 each.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything see above

    Basic room on a 4 star but expensive No complimentary water tea coffee etc. Had we known this i would have brought some as i travelled from lanzarote on a motorbike. Building work started at 0800 in next appt. Cleaners and gardeners started at 0700. Had to walk 1k to nearest bar for morning cuppa as pool bars not open till 1030 Not impressed at all. Really disappointing . Expected a lot better. Only really 2 star level

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Chilled out holiday experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No tea towels in bungalow, which are meant to be for self catering

    Overall great experience, everything you need right there. Helpful, quiet enough at night time, Air conditioned rooms, massive beachside terrace and bungalow, Added bonus, the spa is excellent and the gym for a resort gym quite good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    The best hotel from Caleta de Fuste!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was top quality!!!

    Everything was just Amazing!!! Start from reception, cleaning, kitchen, waiters staff ... all off them are professionals!!!! The best hotel from Caleta de Fuste!!! Thank you very much!!! Regards Igor Moisei.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    more detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    points missed by survey 15 minutes to the airport three pools all clean and friendly the jet club, very based around French visitors, music, and activities loud than expected a resort where everything is close at hand and visitors tend to come for a quiet relaxing break. Food , went for breakfast has something for everyone, and is of a very high quality. perfect...will be booking again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    pay 4 stars and you get 2 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    • the photos on booking are misleading; be careful what you book; avoid bungalow • the worst part was the bungalow; we paid for 4 stars and got 2 stars; the bungalow is very old and need urgent refurbishment; it smells old; the bathroom is full of insects; everything seems to fall apart; we asked for an upgrade but they said there are no available rooms • the resort expects you to do the dishes but they do not provide you with sponges and dishwashing liquid. asking the reception why the cleaning crew is not doing the dishes, they replied you should do it by yourself and you should buy the tools stuff • paying 3 euros a day for a safe is outrageous • the general feeling with the reception is that they do not care as they have people coming constantly due to contracts to big agencies. • the resort is on the beach, but it is in fact a public beach, no sunbeds belonging to the hotel. the beach is manmade and the sand is not that thin, being very rough.

    • the resort itself has a good location, on the beach sheltered from the wind, next to the port, it is nice having lots of plants, a number of pools and restaurants. • the food is good and the theater is also nice, including the entertainment for children • a small supermarket is also available in the location • for my husband's birthday they brought in the room champaign and chocolate and that was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to find something to be complacent about it would be the terraced areas as they are open and anyone can access them (it’s secure but you never know if you leave your doors open) but there is a privacy wall so no one can see you sunbathing... I think

    Very close to the airport! So minimum travel. Right next to the beach. It literally took under 1 minute from apartment to the beach which was amazing! There’s a supermarket onsite with all your needs! Staff are friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, very family friendly hotel and resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was looking a bit tired and was in need of a make over. We had a problem with ants around the property and some getting inside. Although self catering, the kitchen area was small and not that easy to use although it did have a couple of hobs and a microwave oven

    Very good location for beach and the town. Nice complex with a ‘village’ like feel to it. Very good for families. The accommodation had a nice patio area which was great for relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Great Location, Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cock Roach infested rooms, no smoke alarms in rooms, property had exposed electrical power cables, smelly rooms, lots of hidden charges, not enough dining tables.

    Great Location, Spacious rooms.Good food and Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    August
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a double bed instead of two singles although they were very comfy. Internet was hit and miss.

    Food was fantastic, great variety. Staff very friendly. Entertainers we're great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.8
    THE WORST HOTEL WE EVER BEEN-NEVER SEEN SO DIRTY KIDS POOL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    first the room, outdated, the sofa bed really old and in bad condition, bathroom not very clean-after 3days toilet got blocked and came back into the bath, kitchen furniture in bad condition-falling apart, MOST HORRIBLE WAS THE KIDS SWIMMING POOL-DIRTY WITH SALT WATER, never ever seen anything like that, i told the memeber of staff that pool is dirty with leafs from yesterday still there, they just ignore me saying nothing he can do, getting food is like a fight-so many people waiting for food in long queues, ALL inclusive doesnt make sense- bar outside the pool close at 5:30 and to get a drink from main bar 15min walk both ways, so we end up buing beer and whiskey in local shop

    the food was not too bad, but restaurant was always so busy that was taking a long time to get food, near beach got nice view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great relaxing break, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sunbeds are all lined up next to each other by the pool and people left towels on sunbeds for most of the day and then didnt turn up to use them until later on in the afternoon which is not good as there weren't enough sunbeds for everybody to use!

    Very relaxing - good location. Perfect for relaxing and enjoying the actitivities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Beach, breakfast, location, weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Giant cockroaches visited us during nights :(( Hopefully we didn't take them home inside our luggage. I did not like the misalignment between booking.com and the hotel. I booked it for 3 people but it was prepared for 2 persons so we had to wait and debate a lot during the night to get the 3 beds prepared. The reception staff told us this is always a problem so please fix and solve it!

    Beach, breakfast, location, weather. Facilitators for kids and adults at the pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Fab location, great resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room checks needed, we had to request a new toilet seat and shower head. This was resolved incredibly quickly though. Rooms need cleaning better.

    Fab breakfast, great staff, housekeeping needs to be better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable for me and my friend - location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lack of storage space, drawers, hooks, shelves and mirrors. All inclusive have to pay for top shelf brands. Restaurant layout is a nightmare, needs coordinating better - straight lines rather than islands.

    The beds were very comfortable and the property spacious for the two of us. The entertainment was really enjoyable and the team worked hard to keep everyone happy - they succeeded.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    June 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a little cold, our bathroom was full of ants each morning. The cost of sunloungers on the hotel beach was very high

    Hotel was really well presented and staff were very helpful. Overall a good stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Location is excellent and the food is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks for all inclusive was poor, no branded alcohol. The entertainment was ok in the evening. This is our 3rd visit here. Tip- The hotel should promote their facilities more. There is a kids club availabe free to all barcelo children. I only caneed across this when padding.

    Location is excellent and the food is very good. The kids club is brilliant for children with great activities everyday. I would recommend that the club sign children out when leaving, parents only sign them in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    You couldn't fault the property, the food was excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It was quite a walk to the theatre from the restaurant - too far for someone with mobility problems. To have a bar situated near the restaurant where you could sit quietly with a drink or cup of coffee after a meal would have made the whole holiday experience easier. It seems a great place to take children and the facilities for children seemed great but we would have been suited to an adults only hotel.

    You couldn't fault the property, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly, but we found the entertainment not good, it was aimed mainly for families.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality of room fittings, rusted and worn out Airco not cooling at all Electricity in bad shape, fuses switching off continuously

    Location Big size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a Superior apartment, what was the difference to a non superior (???) I requested a sea view, which was behind the property

    Staff were very friendly and the entertainment team were good around the pool area with adults and Children, It was my birthday and they left a gift of Chocolates & a bottle of Fizz (nice touch)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely break, I really enjoyed our stay, Staff were fantastic! Would definitely return ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought the children's activities area could be better, was quite dated and people were able to smoke there which stank the area out unfortunately. We paid for breakfast the first morning it was nice but thought it may be better, we ate at the harbour or in the apartment for the rest of the holiday. Nothing to do with the Resort! Don't book airport transfers with Holiday Taxis. The driver was late for departure and Very rude when he finally arrived. I paid £47 for a private transfer could of used taxis for 15 Euro each way - Resort is only 15/20 mins from the airport.

    Our accommodation was amazing! We booked via Booking.com and ended up on the Royal level. The resort was very clean. All the staff were welcoming, very friendly, helpful and available around the clock. We had a problem with our AC 11pm, maintenance tried to repair it but could not be fixed that evening. It was working by the next day and I was called to check everything was okay the following day. The resort is beautiful and the harbour great for food and activities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of child care

    Musty smell in bedroom faulty spotlight that shocked my husband. And my child was unsupervised during mini disco night time kids club activities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were very upset about tennis racquets and balls are old! You pay Euro 8 per hr for tennis court + Euro 2 for tennis racquet. They need to change into a proper tennis racquets and balls!

    Nice and cozy place. Most of all we like it, white sand beach on the side...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Good size wardrobe space,comfortable beds,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abit small for the 4 of us,need some more getting ready facility’s such as a dressing table and mirrors.didnt need kitchen area as all inclusive.Nothing that spoilt holiday,had the best time.

    Good size wardrobe space,comfortable beds,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place, clean, modern and beds were so comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror in the room but that really is it!

    Amazing place, clean, modern and beds were so comfortable the best I’ve slept in. Quite location no news disturbances, we were lucky to stay in the royal level room with hot tub, simply perfect. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay at a barcelo hotel again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay at your holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think a bigger towel might be better for the shower, not a hand towel

    We found the room very comfortable and the bed was comfy. The shower was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach sand is full of broken shells and rough small pebbles, hard to walk on in certain areas. Needed a young children’s activity club .

    Staff friendly. Rooms and outdoor areas very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Good facilities and family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame on Management for not allowing even free Drnking water with Dinner with half board! That was Ridiculous!

    Location, facilities, cleanliness, breakfast. Free parking and it’s spread out on a huge stretch of area. Lots of restaurants and shops around the place. Friendly staff. Very nice to walk around and very safe. Good kids entertainment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Plenty of good things but to make it amazing theres definitely work needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would have liked it if there was better selection of food for vegetarians as there was not too much choice over the week and eating the same thing can tend to get boring. Having more choice for evening entertainment have also been good especially for kids but it was usually the same thing every night.

    I enjoyed the location and the price for the booking, there was also plenty to do within walking distance. So we were able to find good excursions with good value for money. Local shops and places to eat were also walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was very salty, I was concidering coming back with my children but the pool is the only thing stopping me

    Very friendly welcome and the entertainment staff were absolutely amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    If only they had shown some care, I could have become a Barcelo life-time fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was my first time at a Barcelo resort and it looks like it will be the last. I had to move three times on my first day - first room had sewage problem and it was hard to get another room allocated. I eventually did but didn't get an apology from reception staff about the inconvenience - only to be allocated a room on a round about next to clubs with loud music till past midnight which became evident at 8pm so I was moved again - I only came for 4 days, but spent the first day packing and unpacking! I don't think my profile and preferences match the rooms I was allocated and I would have happily upgraded and paid more, but no-one asked or offered....No-one checked throughout my stay whether everything was OK. There are many pools, but with the exception of the Spa for which you have to pay there are no adult only pools or quiet areas. Could one of the many pools not just be allocated to adults or at least be quiet? Friendliness of reception staff was very hit and miss - some were very friendly and brilliant (predominantly the Spanish ones) - others were really poor and not customer friendly - to some extent resenting their job and the customers. They changed my sheets on the 2nd day, which I was impressed by - only to find that they had also taken my white PJs with the sheets by mistake - which couldn't be located or wouldn't be refunded. The bedmattrasses however are so soft you'll find it hard to sleep and the pillows will smell of greasy hair and frequent use by previous guests. All three of my rooms smelled of smoke too - which as a non-smoker wasn't ideal. I did love the El Faro bar. The cocktails are good, the music is great and views are lovely - but you do feel lost up there as are there hardly any customers up there ever. Staff said only in the summer there may be more than 5 people..... Most evenings there were only 2-3 people up there.

    The spa and treatments. Close to airport. Very quiet at night - as long as you are in the right area! The ease of booking rental cars from portal in hotel lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room was very chaotic at times. Staff not quick in clearing or resetting tables. Food ha inv been dropped on floor left not swept up, an accident waiting to happen. Cutlery not always 100% clean especially the knives. Maids trying to get jnto clean your rooms before 9am.

    Enjoyed the accommodation, location, good buffet selection at breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Great facilities and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did submit a request a couple of months ahead of our stay to have family members close by but this request was not considered until the day of arrival which was too late and it meant that our family were a good distance from us. Also, there were limited utensils in the kitchen and the cups were tiny.

    Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. For a family with young children, the resort provided excellent facilities...heated swimming pool, kids club, on-site restaurant and mini golf.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice for a short break & good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm not sure all apartments are the same, however ours was extremely open plan & by this I mean including the bathroom!! It wouldn't suit all parties. The bedroom led onto the lounge which led onto the kitchenette & bathroom basin - there was a door sheltering the shower & another for the loo but everything else is in one big rectangle. It offered no privacy. Evening drinks are only available at the theatre which is loud & the entertainment won't be for everydody! It is also quite a walk from some of the rooms.

    A very clean resort within lovely grounds. The staff were friendly. The buffet was very good indeed & plentiful. We felt the all inclusive deal was good value for money - all drinks & food were included at the buffet, pool bars & theatre. Towels are provided for a 10 euro deposit & the pools are clean. Sunbeds are comfortable. The Spa is nice at a cost of 20 euros a day to all inclusive guests. The beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good sized accommodation which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room resembled a works canteen. Obtaining food from the buffet was more a battle than a pleasure.

    Great location and good sized accommodation which was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    The Bed was very comfy and Clean, The Shower overflowed on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed was very comfy and Clean, The Shower overflowed on to the floor every time we used it.There was no Wifi in the Appartment.The receptionist in the Restaurant was excellent as I am Caoeliac I was Looked after very well. Unfortunately on the last evening at Dinner the waiter did not ask us if we wanted a drink so I helped myself to water from the Restaurant machine and was told by a senior Manager we were not allowed to have this water as we were only Half Board, This was absolutely embarrassing in front of other Guest's. My Husband is Teetotal and because of my health issues I was not Drinking Wine. All for a 2 euro bottle of water which we paid every evening. We were not aware that we were not allowed this free water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Spacious Apartment in Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Provide washing up facilities (tea towel etc) in room. Plastic protector sheet on bed was so uncomfy and made you sweat. Evening entertainment in the Theatre was rubbish on the one night we went - didn't go back.

    Great Location for beach, bars, loads of restaurants. Harbour very pretty and pool area lovely. Loads of space and plenty of sunbeds available - though we went out of school hols. Lovely spaceous apartment, nice patio area. Air con very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Good 3 star stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self catering bungalows could be modernised a bit.

    General areas immaculate. A la Carte restaurant, cocktail bar and marina area very nice. Rooms cleaned and towels changed every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Very expensive - 4 star price - 2-3 star quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    One older lady, with gray hair working on reception, when we are arriving. The houses,bungalow have not ready 3pm o'clock. We are paid for Superior bungalow and it had not ready - for she on reception does not matter what we would like. She sayd every bungalow is similar. She was tired, she was very busy. Have not information how many we are need wait for Superior bungalow. Spain for my best on the world and 4th better country on the world. It was below the European and the Spanish average, below Spanish standard. We have received bungalow and the door on bungalow could hardly be closed. It did not work properly. The kitchen facilities are minimal, very basic. I recommend it to management. https://www.booking.com/hotel/es/parque-igramar.hu.html?aid=304142;label=gen173nr-1FCAEoggJCAlhYSDNYBGhQiAEBmAEuwgEKd2luZG93cyAxMMgBD9gBAegBAfgBC5ICAXmoAgM;sid=fb9bacc3f1aa11eec01ac519159bf642 It's just 3 star and everything is equipped with a kitchen. It si full kitchen. Worth checking out. This hotel is very expensive and there is no Thalasso wellness in the price. Welnness center is 20 euro/day/person. It is to much. Fitness centrum is 5 euro/day/person. Have not outside pool with heating water and hotel is Barcelo and 4 star. Last year we had 3 star hotel on best are on Canay Island last year and we had everything. Nice garden, similar good food, heated outside pool, ocean view and good price. https://www.booking.com/hotel/es/ifa-continental.hu.html?aid=304142;label=gen173nr-1FCAEoggJCAlhYSDNYBGhQiAEBmAEuwgEKd2luZG93cyAxMMgBD9gBAegBAfgBC5ICAXmoAgM;sid=fb9bacc3f1aa11eec01ac519159bf642 Cleaning staff talking party aroused every morning. I was very disappointed in Barceló. I do not recommend this hotel group.

    the houses in the well-kept, very nice garden

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Cockroach coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The hidden cost of the safe (€3 per day), while small, was petty. It was also essential. A pair of scissors disappeared from the toilet bag after the cleaners had been in, so we learnt to leave nothing of value out. We got used to the cockroaches in the bungalow, but the one in my coffee at breakfast was a (slightly crunchy) surprise. What was it doing there? Not the backstroke. I showed the manager. He said "sorry". I used the other coffee machine for the rest of the stay.

    The design of the bungalow was fine, though the settee could be comfier. The island was fun to explore, especially the natural arch at Ajuy, Los Molinos' restaurant near the beach, (with muscovy ducks wandering through),climbing into Gairia Volcano (take walking poles), Penitas Ravine south of Betancuria, and climbing up Morros Velosa. We were lucky with the wind - I'm told that high winds make hiking harder.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    excellent location , very relaxing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    we had an issue with the drainage over a couple of days, from toilet blocked ,toilet bubbling, gurgulin noises coming from the kitchen sink and bathroom basin and a discharge from the bath over flow, although these issues were dealt within a reasonable time, it was three visits to receiption and then to be told we were putting to much paper down the toilet when we clearly were not and there was a underlining issue with the drainage from that bungalow.

    location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice family place. Wouldn't recommend if you don't have kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a family resort it was absurd they charged to rent a highchair for our bungalow as they already charged a deposit fee. They also charge a fee if you want to use the safe in the room. Both of these are exploitative and cheapen the resort as they make you feel like you're in a motel.

    Nice pools, family friendly, great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay and the complex is lovely but some things could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bungalow was slightly damp, you have to pay to use the safe in your room (ridiculous in a 4* hotel!), some items at breakfast were sour (juice, Bircher muesli, tomato salsa). Guest experience manager was very unhelpful when we requested late check out of just an extra half an hour.

    Very comfortable bed, good selection of food at breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first ‘superior bungalow’ was very foisty and we saw numerous cockroaches in the bedroom which lead to us moving to another bungalow. The pools were freezing cold and salt water, our flight was cancelled due to the weather so we moved to a hotel called Elba Carlota. Amazing hotel with a warm pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Location on the sea front is good, lovely walk along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Swimming pool - sun loungers packed very close together. Music around the pool competed with music from very close by bar. The spa a little disappointing, probably as the day I went to the spa the weather was bad and it was a ladies offer day, it was very crowded. This was not helped by the stream room not working and on arrival the indoor pool was given over to a noisy aquaaerobics class. The hotel is a large complex geared towards families with lots of children, so not so good for the single traveller.

    Location on the sea front is good, lovely walk along the coastal paths. Food was good. The apartment complex is very spacious and the balcony got a lot of sun. The apartments are very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great accommodation apart from comment about mirrors
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DEFINITELY need mirrors in the bedrooms for dressing/ drying hair, only one Mirror which steamed up in the bathroom so we all had to wait to makeup/dry hair

    We had adjoining room which was great for a group of friends

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    The food was very good and varied .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was very good and varied . Rooms and beds were vert comfortable. Staff were very friendly and approachable. The property is located overlooking the beach and the sea. The one evening show we saw was very good. We only stayed one night after our flight home was cancelled .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.0
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bungalows are very damp with plaster blown on the walls and salt coming through, the smell was overpowering making it very unpleasant to sleep. We did make a complaint and they did move us, although the second bungalow was not as bad it was still damp and made for an unpleasant stay.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Extremely good location, you are basically a 2min walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only minor thing I can complain about is the food at the restaurant. If you stay for a week, it can get a little tiresome to find something new to try. The facilities could try to introduce a more varied menu, different themes for each day.

    Extremely good location, you are basically a 2min walk from a sandy beach. The hotel area is massive, so it feels like a mini community and if you want, you don't need to ever leave the hotel-area. They even have a mini-supermarket where you can buy essentials (water, snacks, alcohol, fruits etc.) that you need during the times the bars/restaurant is closed. We went for quite a lot of walks and the scenery is beautiful, and for children there is at least 5 playgrounds within 10min walk. You do get a map at the reception, but like I said, the place is massive and it looks quite similar everywhere, so it's easy to get lost!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    A quality resort providing excellent facilities and options. We had a most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reception staff could be more friendly in their engagement with guests. While being very efficient a few more smiles and small talk would give a warmer welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Great resort, but check that upgrades do actually give you better accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst being an excellent place to stay, there is a unfortunately a flawed system for upgrades in operation that you need to careful of. Being busy, you can see that there is a need to free-up higher occupancy bungalows from couples to give to families, and so upgrades are awarded, based on price. Unfortunately, our experience was that variation in position and appointment is not fully taken account of in this upgrade process (or prices). Our (unsolicited) upgrade was to a ground level studio that was smaller than the originally booked property, and being by a thoroughfare meant that all shutter doors and windows had to remain closed, and that the small terrace was unusable. Given that there were many superior bungalows that appeared larger, with separate rooms, not overlooked, etc. it was difficult to see the upgrade path here. We complained and Barcelo responded well. After the first night, a different upstairs studio was provided for the remaining two nights that was far better than the first: not overlooked, a separate bedroom (yet still a studio), and a private terrace with a sea view. Was it better than we would originally have received? Hard to tell, as there seems to be a large variability within each price band. On checkout, we asked to see inside a superior bungalow, and this did indeed turn out to be just as good, if not better than the studio we ended up with. We'd constructively suggest that Barcelo refine the accommodation pricing, which would help to make an upgrade an upgrade. Until then, potential guests should carefully compare (i.e. go and look round) actual upgrade accommodation and the accommodation they would originally have received before agreeing to an upgrade.

    This is a very good resort, and you should certainly stay here. The restaurant was excellent, the rooms and grounds very clean, properties convenient either for the beach or the town (not both), and the staff very professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Mattress very comfortable, bedding extra nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self catering option but the kitchenette was very basic and there was no washing up liquid, cloths or tea towel. Asked at reception and they said most people were all inclusive and we'd have to buy our own. Also had to pay extra for beach towels and the safe was 3euros/day.

    Mattress very comfortable, bedding extra nice. TV good. Excellent a la carte restaurant on site.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Overall excellent stay with added bonus of being offered upgraded accommodation on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many people particularly at eating times (we had breakfast only)

    I would say this is more of a family orientated resort rather than for adults/couples only

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose this place for my wife's birthday. 1) we rented an expensive apartment but there were no washing dishes facilities. 2) we found the communal areas such as reception, and buffet restaurant, a very long walk from rooms, not convenient on a wet day, cold day, windy day. 3) we found the dining experience very poor, the buffet breakfast and dinner resembled a very large school dining room. A lot a people milling around, a lot of noise/ chaos and very often there were no free tables to sit at, it was difficult to locate glasses and cutlery etc. It would have been nice to have an Adults only bar/ restaurant area.

    Pleasant room, efficient, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff good, breakfast very good, location in town good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our bungalow was near one of the swimming pools and there was music playing for most of the day so it was intrusive if you wanted to just relax or read a book!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.6
    Had to wait until 16.00h to get into room The complex needs refurbishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Could have changed the bed clothes in the 10 days we were there could have cleaned the floor, could have fixed the toilet seat etc..

    Never had breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were challenged in the restaurant because we were not on all inclusive but had helped ourselves to water from the drinks dispenser. We then had to pay for bottled water which seems wrong. The system was not explained to us when we entered the restaurant.

    The location is excellent. Good choice of food at the buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing and impersonable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service and ironing facilities . Hairdryer was burning out and dangerous. The one member of staff , Male, was lacking any basic manners. This is a shame as the other girls on the counter were all very pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think this property should have a heated pool for the winter months

    fantastic stay at this property got a free upgrade to a sea view room the most comfortable beds and pillows we have ever had away from home

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    winter getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the swimming pools are not heated and the water is a bit cold .

    I stayed at Barcelo Castilio Beach Resort the last week of January and it was pure amazing! Great location, great food, fresh and varied every day. Very friendly staff. the swimming pools are gorgeous (just the water was a bit cold) and the animators team were enthusiastic. I stayed in a Royal Level apartment, renovated, modern and very comfortable with great view, just on the beach! i highly recommend Barcelo Castilio Beach Resort, it is just fantastic!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious relaxing environment with maximum comfort with helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to come home!

    We stayed in suit 4019- (hot tub on patio and sea views )👍👍 the best hotel iv stayed in for years- Royal level well worth the upgrade- beautiful 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing, modern resort with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We had a great experience at the resort! We had a friendly welcome and were told that we had a free upgrade to a suite with its own terrace and a jacuzzi in the ‘royal level’ part of the resort, which we couldn’t believe! Our room was lovely, the bed was massive and really comfy, there was lots of wardrobe space and everything was really modern. Our terrace looked out over the sea and had sun loungers and a table and chairs, and we loved our jacuzzi! We spend lots of time on our terrace. All the staff were really friendly and warm, from the reception team to the lifeguards round the pools, the restaurant staff and the cleaners. The pool area was amazing too, with lots of sun loungers and gorgeous pools (although it wasn’t warm enough to get in!) and views out to the sea. There was a wide selection of food for both breakfast and dinner and it was all really tasty. The location of the resort was perfect too. I couldn’t fault anything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Bed is great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate self catering equipment - decent knife, cutting board, colander etc etc Uncomfortable couch that does duty as extra bed in living room, if needed - so only one comfortable chair. UK tv available but weak signal when weather a bit stormy - German/Spanish TV unaffected. Wifi also seemed to be weather affected.. Still a really good place to stay though

    Bed is great ..really comfortable Apartment is cleaned every day. Staff v helpful and friendly. Good position re local bars, restaurants, beach etc. Wifi now in apartments - before only in Reception

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay again in Resort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic facilities,lacking in tea towels ,dishcloth ,dish washer,washing machine,very tired exterior paintwork,minimum amount of cleaning,very poor TV signal( 5 x English channels when working.The value for the cost of the week was poor.

    Good size room and bathroom,roomy balcony

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in suite. Laundry policy not carried through ie towels were changed every day even tho not left on floor. Lack of drawer space.

    Food excellent. Bed really comfy. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.6
    Overall not employable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The situation of room .the food .the fact of having to pay to change towels .the lack of hot water .the pool restraunt .acually quite disappointing overall and weather also lousy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    2.5
    Disgrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid almost 800 euro for what we seen online. Didn't get that. Also we were upgraded when we didn't ask to be. I was shocked to see what te were upgrading us to. Disgrace! Never again and I will be letting ppl know about this and writing it all over the Internet. Our shower didn't work. And kept flooding which I got pictures of. And there were ppl coming into our room with keys taking stuff and then leaving stuff back, turning off out electrician so we had to dump food on two occasions. Ice cream and the likes. We didn't feel safe at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Had a great time enhanced by the care and attention of the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The entertainment area needs attention, reminded me of an old English holiday camp rather than an entertainment theatre. Good performers were spoiled by poor choreography and direction. A short walk to Pieros for entertainment is well worth it!

    We had an excellent stay from the moment we arrived, very pleasant efficient staff from the off, reception,restaurant and housekeeping all do their best to please, a credit to the Resort. The Restaurant was always busy but good selection of foods.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arrived check-in was delay after delay. Then we told we were upgraded to studio, but we had already paid for a superior bungalow. The bungalow was not available for over two night , so we accepted the studio in the short -term. The studio was damp and smelt of must- v dark and just horrible. We left feeling very disappointed with the experience .

    Location to beach was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Great - thoroughly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - perfect for me in every way.

    Everything. Comfortable bed, quiet location, pools, restaurant on site, cleanliness, light and airy, sunbeds on patio etc etc etc. I had decamped from a ghastly place that I had left 4 days early, so Barceló was a great relief.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Barceló Castillo Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: