Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa 4 stars

Playa Migjorn, 07860 Playa Migjorn, Spain

Review score

Based on 490 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Probably ok with a family for all inclusive but if you want fine wines and luxury this is not hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst beds ever. Like sleeping on a board. Sheets awful and thin. The bath had a big rust mark on. You could hear the next door toilet flush

    The breakfast was good though the coffee horrible

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and hotel amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was too crowded. Check out had a huge line and a lot of confusion.

    Great location and hotel amenities. My room had an amazing view to the ocean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    With a bit of luck, we ended up in this hotel looking for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found our room a bit small and cramped, not even space to put our bags.

    With a bit of luck, we ended up in this hotel looking for one near the beach and honestly, couldn't had asked for a better option in this respect. Right next to a nice beach (not the prettiest of the island but really nice still) , and lots of comforts for adults and children. The staff was super friendly and buffet breakfast/dinner was plentiful and very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay again, not advertised correctly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would rate it as a 2 star at best, absolutely not the rating it is advertised as. The rooms are dated and old looking, smell of mould and fusty. Beds are rock hard like camping beds and the sheets and pillows are not nice to sleep in, they feel old, thin and scratchy. One measly pillow per person that was lumpy and half empty of fluff.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    The room are large although a rennovation is needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free internet connection was very slow. Even the one given when yoy pay is slow. Also there where only two electricity sockets at the room near the bed and no electricity socket at the desk.

    The room are large although a rennovation is needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall a very positive experience and very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area needs some attention. A lot of the sun beds were dirty and overall it felt that the area around the swimming pools had not been well looked after over the summer.

    Beds were very comfortable and the selection at breakfast was amazing. Super friendly staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach outside was disappointing after all the pictures seen around of formentera

    Breakfast was great The natural beauty and serenity of the island is very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    It's a big and well organised hotel next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach next to the hotel was quite small and disappointing with lots of rocks.

    It's a big and well organised hotel next to the beach. The stay was really relaxing. The pool is beautiful and clean, they rent bicycles and towels free of charge . There is a bus stop next to the hotel of public transport. The view from our room was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    One of the most relaxing locations we have ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    The quiet location and board walks along the sea front to cafes and restaurants. The sunsets which we could see from our balcony were amazing. We stayed bed and breakfast and breakfast was a huge choice and excellent quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is good for 5 days. There are a lot of organized groups that fill the hotel.

    My younger son enjoyed the happy animations. The crowd attending was mostly families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All services are paying, including normal wifi, sunbeds and umbrellas plus de usual extras. the food is not up to the level of a four stars hotel, notably the breakfast in the beach club. A big negative is the orange juice they mix or should be frozen. difficult to regulate the air conditioning (too strong).

    The hotel is reasonably clean, updated and properly furbished for a coast, feet on the beach property. All services are paying, including normal wifi, sunbeds and umbrellas plus de usual extras. the food is not up to the level of a four stars hotel, notably the breakfast in the beach club. Staff was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    very confortable - good position to reach all the best beaches - arenals is 10min drive is super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the beach on the hotel - too small

    the bed was extra confotable - we were upgraded to a better room on arrival which was a bonus the breakfast was excellent a big choice and nicely presented..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.3
    great location but way overpriced. still had a fantastic vacation as the beach is right there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    way over priced. the rooms are small so no room to swing a cat with two people and luggage. the location is great for the beach but taxis to get anywhere are a lot. But theres always the bus right outside which actually works well. the sunloungers and umbrellas on the beach are NOT INCLUDED which I found weird. It works out to about 50euros minimum a day. So I went to the shop and bought a beach umbrella - much better option and could go to any of the beaches!

    the location - its right on the beach - except the beach out front is not the best beach - turn left and walk 5 mins and thats the better beach. The breakfasts are a good selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    We had a nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    1 When we arrived, linens on the bed had some stains, but we had called the reception and a housemaid has changed them pretty quick. 2 English language skills of all the staff, except receptionists, are quite poor 3 Lock on the room door was not working properly: the door could be being opened by the wind, when we were opening the balcony. 4 Internet speed was not fast enough. 5 Additional fee for the safe in the room. 6 No free weights in the gym. 7 Existence of the deposit for the pool towels. 8 No free drinking water in the room on every day - only welcome. What if we would book every day of our stay separately, would we get welcome drinks and fruits everyday?:)

    1 Me and my wife had loved the buffet - the food was very delicious and diverse 2 Good location, very close to the sea 3 Existence of a car rental service right near the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Let down by rude, immature, arrogant manager Miguel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor customer service from Miguel. Very rude and too immature to be a in a managerial position. Paid circa £2000 to hotel for 4 night stay. Had to pay extra for a safe which is cheeky. The fee for the safe was debited from my account and he tried to say it hadn't gone through even though it appeared as a debit on my bank statement. We finally resolved the matter but then after I had left he used my card to take money which was not due and without my permission.

    South Beach Club - very friendly staff and great Gazpacho !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    WOULD GO BACK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only real complaint was that the booking was breakfast only and nobody at the hotel told us that we could "UPGRADE" to half board, we only found this out two days before we left. This could have saved us about 350€

    Huge choice of food Ample sun beds around the pool NEVER a problem to find an empty pair

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    3.3
    The South Beach Bar was the only nice part of the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 star. At the most a very high standard of a 3 star! Property is very tired and shabby looking. Staff have poor English so hard to communicate. Everything is completely over priced! The bathroom had a smell all week and room was very basic! Breakfast room/restaurant didn't have air con on most mornings so very hot. Not a great choice from breakfast too. My husbands fruit was gone off/mouldy one morning. Gym was very poor. Personally they need to improve everything from staff to facilities here.

    The South Beach Bar was the only nice part of the resort. Staff friendly and food is very good there!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice, but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is too big, it felt industrial with the price of a boutique hotel. We made a reservation for two people + a child but there was only one big bed that the three of us had to share. Normally, I would mind this but considering the price we paid for the room, it is unacceptable.

    The location is just perfect, right in the best beaches of Formentera.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Absolutely everything. The staff and efficient and friendly. Facilities had everything even a in house hairdresser. The pool area was brilliant. Can not fault this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    breakfast buffet - fantastic :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the place where is the hotel situated...is a little bit complicated without some car , and the beach before the hotel is not one from the beautiful one

    breakfast buffet - fantastic :-) staff was very friendly hotel and room was so clean when we come back to formentera , we choose this hotel again! :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    not to repeat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I payed for a room with a See view and they gave me a room with partial see view. they put the blame on the booking. Never saw to pay for the safe fox in the room Missing some brand clothes from the room, we complain about that. nothing was done.

    the staff in the breakfast room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Old facilities, more for families than for young adults, not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities, more for families than for young adults, not trendy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast, swimming pool,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic sheet under cotton one.

    Breakfast, swimming pool,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi doesn’t work good enough. Either you need to pay for it which to me seems strange for the hotel of such level.

    Amazing staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The location is great, beautiful beach and all the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, beautiful beach and all the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Having the hair salon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast/ Poor quality of the food

    Having the hair salon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    3.8
    Cannot recommend this hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    small rooms , noisy hotel , kitchen deliveries and collections disturbing sleep , uncomfortable bed , mattress and pillows .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice breakfast with variety
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Price per night very high

    Very nice breakfast with variety

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is very nice and it was a very confortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very nice and it was a very confortable stay. I think its a good option to rest or travel with family and kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    I was very pleased with my deluxe bedroom, with lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was very pleased with my deluxe bedroom, with lovely balcony view out to the sea, and staff at desk were helpful when I had any questions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    beautiful island, lovely beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bathroom too small, balcony too small, cleaning poor, spa was very dirty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and delicious breakfast, beautiful beach next to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.7
    Good, but not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise in the morning. Breakfast closes too early. On holiday I would like to sleep more :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast buffet was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Animation every night until midnight music loud

    Breakfast buffet was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    10
    Fantastic hotel located at a beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic hotel located at a beautiful beach. Breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations, friendly staff and animators who encouraged guests to participate in activities. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff was tiptop and very helpfull, correct and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was tiptop and very helpfull, correct and pleasant The rooms was very confortable and fresh, with a nice terrace The swimming pool very nice, clean and pleasant You need a car if you want to go out at night but it's very easy to rent a car at the hôtel Everything was perfect and we will return at this hôtel the next time we go to Formentera

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    3.8
    Had to pay extra for wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to pay extra for wifi...had to pay extra for the lock to use the safe in the room....I wanted to leave one day early and they were not helpful explaining the relationship between booking.com and the hotel....the place is terrible....would never go back....

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    4.6
    Good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A all inclusive hotel with to much feeling of charter. Really thin walls between the rooms, so you could not even talk late before someone knocked on the wall on the other rooms. You could also hear people in the hall way quite clear. Unfriendly staff on the beach bar which was not solution oriented regarding sunbeds in front of the hotel. You felt like they wanted to get more money out of you in any situation possible.

    Good beds. Good view from balcony. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness of staff, cleaning, location right next to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite a lot of noise when guests start to wake and open wardrobes. Unfortunately if you pick the wrong time to visit there can be quite a string smell from the unesco protected sea weed, but Formentera has a lot of beautiful beaches so please don't let that one issue put you off. Go exploring.

    Friendliness of staff, cleaning, location right next to a beautiful beach

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff & helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    4.6
    Didn't like anything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed bugs, no iron, dirty sheets

    Didn't like anything about this hotel. Very disappointed. They can not call them selfs for a 4* hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.6
    location and the staff was very nice and very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location and the staff was very nice and very helpful, anything you needed was right there. near some of the most beautiful beaches

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very expensive,only one kind of beer i.e. Estrella Dam!

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    8.8
    The wifi should be offered for free at least in the lobby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi should be offered for free at least in the lobby and common areas.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    3.3
    The Service hair stylist and make-up was very bad, and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Service hair stylist and make-up was very bad, and they are not polite with us, Turbid than our mood.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Insotel Hotel Formentera Playa traveller photo gallery