Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel GR92 2 stars

C/ Fátima, 2 - Plaça Lladoner, 17257 Torroella de Montgrí, Spain

#9 of 10 hotels in Torroella de Montgrí

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 636 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable and very convinient hotel in a lovely village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise in the morning one day. I don't know if it was the guests or people living next to the hotel.

    The area is really quiet and beautiful. Hotel and the room were clean. No problems to find the location. It takes 10 minuts to drive to the seaside(Estartit). There was a free car park provided on site. Nice swimming pool I didn't have a chance to use unfortunately. The facilities were great. There was a kettle to make teas downstairs, and a microwave in a small dining room available. We had a hairdryer in the bathroom provided, which was a big point for us girls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Great accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is that they don't have a reception,as y have to check in in a. Different hotel... But that's a 5 min walk away

    Great accomodation...there isnt a recepción,as you hace yo check in in a different hotel...I'm very happy with my stay!+ thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Budget accommodation, good location, building seems aged.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It might be more accurate to call this an aparthotel, rather than a hotel, as there isn't any front office at all. The check-in system is cumbersome, as I first needed to go to the Hotel Palau del Mirador (150-200m down the road) and check in there. I was given a sheet of instructions on how to obtain my keys once I get to GR92. The hotel seems a bit aged, the decor very 70s, with the bathrooms possibly dating from that time too. Facilities were minimal, but on the other hand, that is what I had paid for. There is no breakfast, mini-bar, or safe.

    This was budget accommodation and, as such, I wasn't expecting too much. The location is fine, 2 mins from the bus station and looking down the main road. There was a vending machine at the entrance, selling snacks, chocolate bars and drinks. The bed was comfortable. Each room had a terrace, half the rooms overlooking the main road and the other half at the back of the hotel. The view from the back rooms was lovely, as the massif and the tower dominated the vista.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.0
    Great value for money but take your own mattress!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed! Many years old and very “sad!” Needs a new mattress!!!

    Excellent value for money .........Clean, tidy, good car parking and easy to find! Great price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    I don't want to say it's wonderful... but it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    What was not a problem for me, but was a problem for other travelers, especially those who are not familiar with the area or the town of Torroella or the 'language', Catalan being the main language, (yes everyone can speak Castellano, but they speak Catalan).. when someone arrives late at night, exhausted from a long flight and gets to the GR92 front door and the message on the door says, 'check-in is at the Mirador' with a strange map explaining how to get there by walking... that is a problem. I had to help more than one person I ran into on the steps as I was leaving and they were asking, 'how do we get in?' That is the major shortcoming.. not for me... I grew up coming to this region since I was 14 years of age, but for 'foreigners' yes... it is a bit of a problem and for one American man who arrived from the airport by taxi, late at night and explained to me that he was both, 'very tired and drunk'.. almost an impossibility. Also there is no mention in any of the information about the hotel that there is absolutely NO FOOD or DRINK on the premises. So people arriving late cannot even buy a bottle of water from a machine or a coca-cola or a packet of potato chips or nuts. The other small issue is probably, when it rains, even in typically warm seasons.. it is cold. The room was VERY cold on the nights it rained and I couldn't get it much warmer, even after figuring out the 'air-conditioner' above the door doubled as a heater.. but only really heated the entry hall by the bathroom. For those who come in summer, the rooms are airy and clean, but quite Sparan. If you are expecting some great comforts... don't. The television is strictly in Spanish and Catalan.

    What I liked are all the things that will make the place 'too popular' and effect my being able to book a room there in the future. It is in an impossibly perfect position to enjoy the local Costa Brava region from Begur to Pals to L'Estartit, and up the coast to the Bay of Rosas and the rest of interior El Ampurdan should you wish. It is great value for money. The staff (the only one I saw) was the Morrocan cleaning lady who had the soul and patience of an angel as I never left my room before noon on any day, enjoying the view from my balcony. Also, as there is no 'breakfast' during the week, it is perfectly situated to enjoy coffee at 'Bar La Parada' directly across the roundabout - a proper local Catalan working man's bar with GREAT coffee in the morning for a Euro and a bit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.0
    Bitten to shreds.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we recieved several flea bites after staying at Hotel GR92 for two nights. The bathroom ceiling was leaking and the property overall did not seem clean.

    the swimming pool was a nice was a nice way to cool off from all the extensive bites that left us bleeding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Toilet very dirty although had a paper over it suggesting it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty toilet.

    Toilet very dirty although had a paper over it suggesting it had been cleaned! Everything else very clean. It was a very hot night so we had the door open and the traffic noise prevented us from sleeping too well. Swimming pool was fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    2.5
    Sleep in a bus shelter and burn a €100 note
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is basically a ghost hotel. It clearly belongs to the chain which own a posh hotel round the corner and this is their down market option (though the prices scarcely refelct this). There is no recpetion and, despite seeing members of staff, no one seems authorised to help you with check ins etc. It also means that there is no one to complain to when a crazy South American woman in the room next door starts screeming down the phone to her mother from 3:45 am. No air-con, so you have to leave the window open, so you can hear every shriek and cackle. The wifi comes and goes; the bathroom was awful; the terrace looked like a Syrian bomb site. Altogether as anonymous, soulless and dehumanizing as its name suggests!

    I didn't have time to try the swimming pool but it looked to be the hotel's only saving grace. The Castel Montgri is well worth a visit - but not a good enough reason to risk your health here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    4.6
    No air-conditioning, no breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning, no breakfast included despite claims on booking .com. Elevator sounds terrible, but at least it didn't break down.

    The balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Professor, University of Haifa. The glass balcony door wasn't locked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The glass balcony door wasn't locked. I worried that something would get stolen

    Really, nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    2.5
    Room smells like smoking area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smells like smoking area. Administration very unpolite. The worst hotel I ever stayed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, secure parking, walking distance to the facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Location for me was great just out of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location for me was great just out of the city centre. but close enough only a 5 minutes walk would go back anytime

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Hard beds & cold room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds & cold room. Freezing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Reception in another hotel was a little strange.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception in another hotel was a little strange.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    It was ok not the best I have been in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no coffee/tea making facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice bad and big parking space for free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to elevator and we heard all movments up and down.

    Nice bad and big parking space for free

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Swimming pool, free parking, clean and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool, free parking, clean and quiet room. Excellent value for money and perfect for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Under whelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not like the pictures online, not staffed, no reception area etc, no coffee or tea making facilities in rooms.

    The pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    It was fine. The swimming pool was lovely plus the surrounding area to relax. Well maintained garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise started a bit early!

    No breakfast available. Beds very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.7
    The interior is outdated but the bed was comfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior is outdated but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. So in the end it's fairly good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shelves or hooks in bathroom

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.5
    Great value for money. Very near from Peratallada and much cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is not in site, you need to go somewhere else (only 3 min by car) to do the check in.

    Spacious and comfy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.3
    GR92
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've been cheaper price!?

    The staff was very helpful and the huge maps in the lobby were a bonus!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, very welcome outdoor swimming pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, very welcome outdoor swimming pool, nice clean room with balcony and a view to a hilltop fort, lovely town in a beautiful part of the country. It's easy to find as on the main road, but quiet. I was only passing through but would definitely go back for longer and stay here to explore the area.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    The room balcony, overlooking the town;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shelves to keep toiletries in the bathroom or hooks on the door to hang clothes I.was given a plug for the bath when I requested it.

    The room balcony, overlooking the town; the short walk into town; the swimming pool and, above all the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    cheap, clean, good size room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no staff on site, check in 500m away,dated, thin walls so noisy from other guests from them talking to showering

    cheap, clean, good size room

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel was nearly closed up for season

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.3
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Road proximity

    Pool

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.0
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a thing

    The location. The warm accommodating attitude of the dog-friendly staff, always ready to help. Thank you Fina and Inma!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    5.4
    Bon wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Matalàs i coixins excessivament tous

    Bon wifi. Molt aprop del centre

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: