Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Colón Hotel Barcelona 4 stars

Avinguda Catedral, 7, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#52 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1113 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again when I return to Barcelona. Excellent hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need a little updating, they are looking a little tired, but still okay. The beds are not as comfortable as we would have liked.

    The hotel is very clean and the location is outstanding! Our room was the perfect combination of two twin beds for our boys and a queen or king (can't remember what size it was), for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is too shallow, abou knee high, which was a big disappointment as it was super hot.

    The location is amazing! Rooms super clean and comfy. Terrace on the rooftop is gorgeous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and over priced. Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Utterly disappointing stay. The photos and room description were nothing like the room we were allocated. We would never have chosen to stay if the photos had been accurate. The hotel was full so there was no possibility of changing rooms. I feel the hotel was misrepresented. Breakfast was basic in a horrible dark dining room. Which is so disappointing considering the wonderful location the hotel is in.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff and location were really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and location were really nice. The breakfast area was average. The coffee was excellent. But the fruit were not fresh enough. Overall it was a great experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    The location is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with cathedral view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, i think there are better options... the hotel is ok, but doesnt compare with other 4 stars. The voew is incredible, but only of you get the cathedral view rooms, which are expensive

    The location is amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Design Double Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t have a swimming pool on the roof. And the promised view on the cathedral was in reality the view on the tree with partial view of the top of the cathedral.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded Expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Remodeled rooms and bathrooms are outstanding - beautiful, comfortable and convenient. I cannot comment on rooms that have not been remodeled. Great breakfast in a cozy room downstairs. Perfect location for exploring the Gothic Quarter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was great, very convenient for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Double Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Location was great, very convenient for exploring the city. But the view from the rooftop terrace really takes your breath away. Also the cathedral-facing rooms has beautiful views. Staff was very friendly and attentive, room was comfortable and clean. All around perfect experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Location only good thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was just ok. At $400/night one would expect a decent outlook from the window. Instead a building with lots of pipes etc. we found the staff very unfriendly. They seemed so intent on trying to be professional that they lost the ability to be personable. With exception of the young waitress serving in the rooftop bar The food we were served up there was cold and over cooked and again very pricey The wine was very average. All in all I wouldn’t recommend this hotel

    The location was excellent. The rooftop bar was great with views of the cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable beds and clean bathroom and a very convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of much I didn't like.

    Comfortable beds and clean bathroom and a very convenient location close to many of the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    We really liked the hotel, great location and the terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really liked the hotel, great location and the terrace has an amazing view. Our family room was excellent, the staff were helpful and obliging, I would happily recommend and return to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The customer service was excellent, we felt like the staff went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable, they allowed us to check in very early at 11am and use shower and pool after we had checked out as we didn't need to be at the airport until late evening, the room had great views of the cathedral, the bed was the most comfortable of our 4 week trip along with the renovated bathroom we really couldn't fault anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    The location could not be beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with cathedral view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was algea growing in the Nespresso water tank.

    The location could not be beat. We were here in the beginning of June on a Saturday so there were festivities in the plaza. Like most European hotels it is older but kept up well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, responsive staff, good comprehensive breakfast but bit pricey at 20 euros. Great rooftop bar with beautiful views of the Barcelona cathedral across the square. Nice to be in a hotel on an open piazza. Great restaurants and tapas bars in walking distance. Walking distance to La Rambla and a bit further to the beach. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Had a great time and would definitely book there again on our next stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish we would have received one of the remodeled rooms. Breakfast is expensive, in my opinion. We didn't eat there, as there were plenty of places to eat in the Gothic Quarter.

    The location was excellent, right on the Barcelona Cathedral plaza, in the middle of all the action. Walking distance almost everything, Including Las Ramblas. The hop-on hop off bus stops right in front, if you are interested in doing that. The location was he best part. It seems that a lot of the rooms have been remodeled, as we past a few in the hall and were able to peek inside. They look very nice. We didn't get a remodeled room, but it was very nice nonetheless. A good fit for a family of 4. The staff was superb. Did i mention the location?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Best location ever, take the room with cathedral view, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with cathedral view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist are cold even in summer, they need more motivation and chemistry with Costumers, don’t feel like you are at home, which is very important.

    Best location ever, take the room with cathedral view, it will totally improve your stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa services (facial, massage) are located next to the lift mechanisms in the roof. The noise level (banging, clanging) is very loud and distracting and anything but relaxing despite the very best efforts of the woman who delivered the spa service.

    Excellent location and very comfortable room. Staff were efficient. We would stay here again and we recommend this hotel very highly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel good, taxis ride to ship very poor! !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Design Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found that the taxis that took us to the cruise ship overcharged us by driving in a direction which was not a direct route to the ship. The fare was excessive and dishonest, believe that the hotel should warn the customers about this scam or get taxied that the hotel can trust for the guest. This was a bad experience!!! Thank you, John Montesi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Design Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast scrambled eggs were under cooked, on the soupy side in my estimation. Am I betraying cultural ignorance? Is this the way you like them?

    Location was simply wonderful. So handy to the very heart of the old city. Stepping out the front door into the cathedral plaza to find a traditional circle dance in progress by a very well coordinated group of young persons was fascinating. What was even better was that within a few moments spontaneous circles, mostly of persons well into their years, began to break out all around the plaza. A great confirmation of the authenticity to the initial group's continuing performance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    over all it was OK, but could have been alot better of the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Design Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the queen size bed was actually two twins together which was not comfortable at all. Also there was a smell that was un-explainable!

    the hotel location was excellent!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Such an amazing location near the cathedral!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an amazing location near the cathedral! So close to the gothic quarter which was awesome restaurants and shopping and is just fun to wander through! So glad we booked this hotel! We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled a little like sewage- better ventilation / air fresheners required

    Location was unbeatable. Rooftop terrace was fab. WiFi available everywhere. Rooms lovely - great value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay in an elegant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa and pool can be improved.

    The ambiance of the Hotel was so comfortable and warm. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Staying at the Colon Hotel made the trip to Barcelona a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a great area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been more comforable. Need ramp up the stairs

    The towels were very clean and soft. The staff was excellent. The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    The newly decorated rooms are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newly decorated rooms are fantastic. Gin and tonics on the 7th floor overlooking the cathedral was amazing. Also I cannot fault the staff. Great position too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel in fantastic location Just a few minutes walk from the drop off point of the airport bus Great welcome - My children had arranged a surprise birthday cake for me. The hotel gave us a nice bottle of Cava to celebrate which we enjoyed on the roof top terrace over looking the cathedral

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The shower and hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only booked the hotel because it showed a picture of a room with a view of the cathedral. On getting into the room we had a view of a dodgy apartment building on the back side. On reading what I had booked again it says " most of our rooms have cathedral views" and on checking the hotel floor plan thats true just 2 have the backside view, this is misleading marketing and those with the gross view should be sold separately and much cheaper!

    The shower and hotel location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    The location was absolutely fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with cathedral view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like to sleep with the window/door open and you have a cathedral view room, the sounds from outside will keep you awake. I’m not sure if it was the time of the year but our air conditiing didn’t seem to work. Having said that, we also didn’t contact the front desk to find out.

    The location was absolutely fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Traditional comfortable hotel stay in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with cathedral view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the cathedral bells rang constantly throughout the night and as a light sleeper It was impossible to sleep as our room was at the front.

    The view from our room was amazing.the bed was comfortable with high quality cotton linen.lovely old fashioned decor-staff friendly. The hotel was peaceful despite its city location. There was a coffee machine in the room and breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Superior Room with Cathedral view and Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Hotel is perfect. The staff are extremely friendly, polite and cooperative. The restaurant and the Bar are excellent. The position of the hotel is excellent. Should I visit Barcelona again I’ll choose this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing couples get away to Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints on anything!

    Amazing location and staff could not have been more helpful. Hotel was central to the gothic part of Barcelona. Bags of atmosphere here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Memorable - for all the right reasons!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We got a deal on the rooms so can’t even complain about cost!

    Room very comfortable and service friendly and helpful. The location is stunning right opposite the cathedral (which also means you can’t get lost as there are signposts to the cathedral everywhere!). What a view from the roof terrace! Breakfast buffet great - even the hot food which can be iffy in a lot of hotels. Chocolate croissants fresh and delicious. 3 of us ordered eggs cooked differently and they all came just how we wanted. Even some gluten-free cookies for party member with allergy. We spent a lot of time in the bar and staff looked after us so well. Bar food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely City, hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too soft for our tastes. Our room, whilst recently decorated, was still a little dated.

    Good sized standard rooms. Location ideal. Roof terrace amazing !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast I thought it was poor . I think you shouldn't sell the lower floor rooms as " cathedral view room" because you cannot see anything due to the trees.

    Location, roof terrace, hotel staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel in fabulous location albeit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entered hotel and had to carry out suitcase up a flight of stairs, no one came to help. It was late at night and although the staff were friendly, no one helped us to our room. When we got to our room the strong smell of fresh paint was overwhelming. The window had been left open to obviously try and get rid of the smell. I called down to say I was not prepared to stay in the room and could they move us. After a ldrawn out discussion they agreed to move us to another room but it would mean moving again the next day. I agreed although not at all happy as unable to h pack or get settled and we were only staying 2 nights! I was disappointed that they had even expected us to stay in the original room and not even thought to mention the paint smell. I feel this was very poor customer service from a hotel which I felt was expensive, verging on overpriced. The next morning we went down to breakfast. Not a particularly warm welcome, no explanation as to how breakfast worked and a bill plonked on our table whilst we were getting our food from the buffet. Breakfast was included and I had to argue this with the waiter, finally after making a phone call, he removed the bill! Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Hot milk and hot water was lukewarm as I saw waiter frequently topping up with cold milk and water so the urn didn't have chance to heat up! The water wasn't hot enough to brew a teabag. On the second day I asked for hot water and as usual I had to explain again and again why I wanted it but finally I got to make a decent cup of tea! On our second morning a family came in and were seated and were offered omelettes poached eggs etc and told to help themselves to the buffet. We were not told any of this when we were first at breakfast!! V annoying that we had missed out on these other breakfast items. Lastly, the pillows were all feather which my daughter is allergic to so I called down to ask for alternatives.

    Location was perfect. Views from rooftop terrace stunning. Directly opposite cathedral which is breathtaking. A walk away from taxi rank and open top bus stop. Within walking distance of many popular sights, such as Las Ramblas. It was just me and my 12 year old daughter and we felt very safe and secure at the hotel and the surrounding area. Lovely restaurants a minute away from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Location is superb, designer rooms are great and new,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is superb, designer rooms are great and new, although you should not share them with someone who you are not very close with. Other rooms are nice, but a bit older. Staff is kind and very helpful. Superb view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    would stay again, but wouldn’t pay the extra for a room with no view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a cathedral view room. However, the room was on the 1st floor and the window looking out on to the square was blinded by a large tree. You could hear the cathedral but you certainly couldn’t see it.

    Location is fantastic and the breakfast buffet was worth the extra paid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel at superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Design Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps that I found it slightly on the expensive side.

    Location is superb. Staff was very polite. The spa, with the outside baths including a view of the cathedral, was really rice. Even though it was pouring with rain, the outside baths were nice and warm. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean (and nicely cleaned during our stay). We just had a great stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed my stay in this hotel . It was clean and comfortable,in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from our room and there was dust on the Nespresso machine and side telephone . Room was a little dated but comfortable.

    Location, cleanliness and staff were great .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Not what I was shown and paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room from pictures shown but given a far inferior room not shown on the website or on our booking confirmation. Used to hotels giving you different types of room but we were shoved up to fifth floor which was clearly a dumping ground as all other floors had been refurbished and upgraded. My fault I didn't complain until late in the trip but only realised when on last day I walked down the stairs instead of lift and saw the huge gulf in accommodation. Hotels always try it on but they should at least supply the room they show on the completed booking form, some might call that fraud as imagine you ordered something off the internet, they send something completely different and then state product was only an example and we reserve the right to give you something else! Staff were ok about it and gave 10% discount but that's not what I wanted, particularly as they said I should have complained at the beginning of the stay (bit difficult as didn't see other rooms until much later)

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Old dusty hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is old, dusty, A/C was not working, the "old" smell unacceptable, very noisy rooms to the cathedral

    location perfect for sightseeing, if you can sleep in a noisy and too warm room, needs renovation badly, it is NOT up to modern standards...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the lift and very dark and noisy. We asked for a quiet room so got one at the back but the lift noise was very annoying.

    Decor, staff and location were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.5
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a little dated, and the guests were generally older than us. The breakfast was very expensive, and cheaper elsewhere

    The location was perfect and the staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    The room was very nice and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa facilities were not up to our expectations. It was advertised that the outdoor pool would be heated - it was not so we could not really use it. Also, only one of the saunas was available when we tried to use the spa facilities, the other saunas and the hammam were not operating.

    The room was very nice and clean! We asked to be changed from the one we originally booked (a design room) as it had twin beds and we wanted a double one. Even though they gave us a classic room (which was not renovated) they immediately accepted out request. The classic room was also nice and very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Our Barcelona address.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi can be improved as it was very slow in the rooms.

    Very good experience, specially if you get a room with Cathedral view. Perfect central location hence all the popular places are within walking distance. Breakfast buffet is the richest I've seen and very good quality. Rooms are in good shape and clean. Hotel staff extremely friendly and help full.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with great view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better service during the breakfasts - cleaning the tables during breakfast.

    Great hotel with great view and location. Large room with great facilities - Nespresso in the room, minibar, safe big enough for laptops, toiletries, bathrobes, slippers etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful and went beyond what they needed to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and went beyond what they needed to do. Let us check in early, gave us a free upgrade, free use of the spa facilities and let us borrow and adapter which we forgot to bring with us!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    A perfect location and beautiful hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel Colon Barcelona is magnificent. The location is so convenient and beautiful. the view over the Cathedral is so calming. We were placed in a room overlooking the Cathedral and when we opened the balcony doors we could listen to the street musicians who were very good indeed. The spa was such a great extra and even though cold outside, we could sit in hot tub and look out at the views. The staff were really friendly and accomodating. I would definitely stay here again. It is also a quick and easy ride to and from the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    A great spot in central Barcelona but not for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Classic Room with Terrace and Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with another (5 star) hotel we had stayed in on our arrival 6 weeks before in Barcelona for Christmas, the reception was offhanded and chilly. As I said in the review of that hotel, in our country this would have been considered incredibly rude. If I am paying good money to stay in your hotel, the least you can do is focus your attention on me when checking me in! It appears to happen with older members of the staff. Our room was rather dated though very clean. There appeared to be no soundproofing between rooms and we had foolishly thought that perhaps the bells wouldn't toll quite so much during the nights! They tolled erratically and every 1/4 hour with 16 bells at midnight - go figure! Our room was 27deg,far too hot - they sent up a maintenance man who said turn it down to what you want and you can't run it with the heated towel rail on. We tried this and in all the days we were there it never dropped from 27deg so we gave up and opened the door on the terrace to cool the room until we went to bed at night! Not really satisfactory. We didn't have the breakfast, though we did all through our travels in Spain and Portugal for 6 weeks - they were superb and offered to us at very good rates if we hadn't booked them in the original reservation. This hotel was not even prepared to consider a slightly better offer than the 30Euros each advertised! We had delightful breakfasts at nearby cafes and restaurants. A shame really.

    The view of the Cathedral from our terrace was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately off season renovations made our room noisy.However I wouldn't put anybody off staying there

    Location was ideal central and not too hectic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location in the Gothic Quarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast not well organised, ran out of various things and had to wait for them to be replenished although quality good

    Excellent location in the Gothic Quarter. Staff friendly and bar and tapas enjoyable. Pianist in the evenings added to the atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Class in excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were too firm for me. Having said that they were of high quality as was the bed linen and pillows.

    The simple but elegant atmosphere of The Colon is a treat. We stayed 3 nights in an outstanding hotel in the best location. In the evening we listened to the pianist playing the perfect background music, whilst enjoying wine and tapas in the small but personal (lounge) bar area. The service (bar and food) was perfect, the staff were attentive but not intrusive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.0
    Our stay was very pleasant but would not return to celebrate the New Year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed not to be served at your bar after returning to the hotel following a meal out with my family who had joined us to celebrate New Year. It was a little after midnight and were refused a drink saying the bar had closed!

    The position is second to none.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only down point was a loud drilling sound upstairs on one of the days of our stay

    This was my fifth visit to the same hotel. the facilities and staff are excellent and will visit again next year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice place but breakfast overpriced and breakfast staff aloof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction in adjacent room was super noisy so it was hard to rest. Staff did intervene when we complained and noise stopped at 6pm

    We were able to check in early.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again once the renovations are completed.
    • Couple
    • Design Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very noisy from about nine in the morning to 6:30 at night due to renovations on the third floor.

    The hotel is in a terrific location. It has a nice bar and David at the front desk was very helpful and sent us to some great restaurants. Also, our room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Classic Room with Terrace and Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Voice from out side was little noisy especially in the night because my room faced the square of Catedral.

    Location is one of best in Barcelona Room is nice, spacious and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.3
    Poor comfort but good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable and the room air conditioner did not work. The manager at the desk said that the air conditioner was not available in November. I told him that our room was too warm and there was too much noise outside to keep the balcony doors open. He acted like he didn't care.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    A great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Design Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price breakfast should have been included not extra $$.

    I loved the room it was very spacious and had recently been renovated. The view from the roof was beautiful. Location was convenient. Almost directly across from Barcelona Cathedral. The plaza in front of cathedral was a great place to just sit and watch. One day there was a small orchestra with people doing a folk dance another night we saw three guys sing opera.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Design Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant one lunch time made us ill. A bit pricey.

    Brilliant location. Excellent hotel staff, made us feel very welcome. Nice big room, good facilities. Will definitely revisit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Stay at The Colon Hotel if you want to have cafe's, restaurants, shops etc. on your doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Classic Room with Terrace and Cathedral View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    Perfect location on a mall overlooking the Barcelona Cathedral. Very close to cafes, restaurants, shops and the sights of Barcelona. Good buffet breakfast served each day and hotel staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    The Hotel Colon is a great place to stay to see most of the main tourist spots in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Design Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked an included breakfast for the price we paid for our room. Charging 27€ for breakfast is ridiculous.

    Location, location, location. We were right in the heart of the city and within an easy walk or short metro ride to everything we wanted to see. Our room was large, airy, and super comfortable. Even with the Catalan protests and short staff, we were well taken care of.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Fair; wouldn't stay there again. Not value for money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Design Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Technician came to fix TV transmission - left not knowing what do to

    Poor unstable internet; BBC News stopped broadcasting - no CNN; mediocre housekeeping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Would stay again. Excellent city centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Design Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed in room was very very uncomfortable, woke up with aches and pains. On first morning informed reception and was told all the mattresses were the same, they had a topper put on it which did not have any effect. By third morning actually got to see the manager who put us in a refurbished room on 2nd floor and beds were superb.

    The hotel is in a good central location and quite easy to reach from the aerobus. Our initial room on the 5th floor did not have a spectacular view but had a fantastic large balcony. The manager sorted out our room problem and was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, clean, comfortable and perfect location. Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Design Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the beautiful open courtyard was being constructed with walls for an upcoming book-fair. This blocked the view of the Cathedral while sitting in the outdoor tables and caused more traffic/confusion with the tourists outside.

    Excellent staff and super helpful Concierge, Raquel! Great recommendations for dinner and a special thank you for the bottle of wine & fruit basket to celebrate my husband's birthday!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Awesome oldworld Spanish experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Classic Room with Terrace and Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the terrace room, overlooking the Cathedral - it was magnificent. The terrace was huge and we had friends over, it was a magical night. Also very romantic and close to everything. Totally recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Amazing view of the gothic cathedral and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view of the gothic cathedral and city. Staff was impressively patient, kind and helpful. Especially with the tourists. Perfect location in respect to historic area. Can't waIt to go back!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, highly recommended. We'll stay here again when we return to Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Classic Room with Terrace and Cathedral View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings in the rooms were all very nice but a bit dated. The shower wasn't it separated from the rest of the bathroom by a curtain or door, making most of the room wet when you shower. Not the first time I've seen it, but it's annoying nonetheless.

    Great location central to most major attractions. View from the terrace was absolutely breathtaking, especially at night. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very nice classic hotel. Staff was courteous and polite. If you are a light sleeper the square doesn't get quiet till 1to 2 in morning. Fitness Center could have been better equipped

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    probably would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The standard double room is not for more than 2 people which was not clear when we booked. There was only one full bed - we had to get other rooms for our kids which cost a fortune because they said we could only have 2 per room. This was not true they DID have bigger rooms which were not offered to us. This makes it very difficult when you have kids- they were down the hall. The man that check us in screamed at us. very rude. I speak the language so it is not that I did not understand. Floors 1-3 were updated floors 4 (where we stayed) was not smelled like mildew

    The location was great! Outside terrace and pool was great. Housekeeping people were nice and concierge people were wonderful. All of the front desk people were great with the exception of the man that checked us in. He was very rude and yelled at us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    The perfect place to stay in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found this hotel by chance on Booking.com. It is an absolute gem located in the Gothic quarter of Barcelona. The location is perfect - you walk out the front door and onto the plaza in front of the Catedral where there is a never-ending supply of entertainment and activity. The Catedral itself is stunning as was the Gaudi museum just next door. There are a hundred different sights, shops, ice-cream servers, bakers and restaurants around the hotel , as well as the Las Ramblas within a few minutes walk. The hotel itself has all the modern conveniences, whilst still retaining a classic style. The rooms were roomy, air-conditioned and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved this hotel and its surroundings, and will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff and in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive. In spite of paying £250 -£275 per night for the room, breakfast was not included. It costs 18.50 euros per person! The Hotel street restaurant was very noisy and not conducive for dinning or for drinks.

    Location - perfect for every activities. Staff were friendly. Rooms were exceptionally clean. Concierge service was outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Special Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Room with Cathedral view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly. Room was airy, clean and had a great view of the Cathedral. Location was very central. Nothing we too much trouble for the Hotel team. Would recommend and visit again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Good location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad noise insulation as we had very loud neighbours and could hear everything

    Location is amazing, right in the centre Clean rooms with lots of amenities Very helpful guest relations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room had been remodeled and was beautiful. Great location with restaurants close. Incredible views if you face the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Colón Hotel Barcelona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: