Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Columbus 4 stars

Lleida, 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain

#21 of 24 hotels in Platja d'Aro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 748 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    Place, sea view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, may be good 10 years ago; smell, like in antique shop; safe was broken in the room, it doesn't suit 4 stars hotel standard, breakfast was poor.

    Place, sea view from the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Not a real 4 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel which is more of a 3 star hotel really. Had two rooms for our family both were old. The whole hotel needs a full refurbishment!

    Hotel's location was superb!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    A well placed Hotel for beach lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really say i did not like anything

    Close to the beach and only a 5 minute walk from the main street, where a nice evening meal and some drinks for reasonable rates. Friendly staff made for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff was extremely nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was far below what I'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The water temperature of the shower was jumping from very hot to cold and hot again (without touching anything). There were almost no electricity plugs in the room.

    Staff was extremely nice. The amenities (swimming pool, bar...) are also good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Had a nice terrace, 1 min walk away from beach, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn’t effective, mini fridge barely cooled items, room safe was broken

    Had a nice terrace, 1 min walk away from beach, staff were polite & friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Recommend this hotel for couple, would go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested double bed as we are a couple but unfortunately got twin bed put together and it was a bit hard to sleep as couple, because the bed had wheels and sometimes it moves. Also the bed was not made for tall people, my boyfriend is 187cm and his feet was hanging on the edge. The AC on the day time was not so cold and the towels for shower was tiny. The wifi was very slow, it barely worked.

    The area of the hotel like how the pool was in the back side with the trees, it was more like pool surround by nature ND we love it and it felt so relax lying at the pool. The room were super nice and we got the balcony even if we had a room without one. Love that they had tennis and biliard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Colombus......past its sell-by date......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner was only evening meal choice......I had read that when booking. What I was not prepared for was the poor choice of main courses and poor quality of the food available. Breakfast was included in the price, was served in the same room and was a morning continuation of the food quality experienced the night before.

    Hotel clean. Perking available. Near beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    What you pay is what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really old Mattresses are worn out, really hurts the back Breakfast is basic

    Location is perfect, if this is the main goal of your stay => perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Good but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old, there were problems with the electronic front door and the key card for the room. Only one blanket to share over twin beds.

    Staff were very friendly and tried hard to solve our problems. Pool looked lovely but it was raining. Breakfast was the best thing here! Good beachfront location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    You have to hire the safe per day, for 4 euros.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to hire the safe per day, for 4 euros. And after paying the amount that I did I'd expect it should be free to keep my belongings safe. The building itself looks very dated in comparison to it's pictures online. This is false. There was no room service and I had to leave the hotel to get s cup of milk for tea as the staff said they couldn't give me milk, despite the fact that they were having dinner service. I booked the room for my mum coming to visit me and she was dissapeared as was I. Whole hotel is stuck in the 70's and needs some work and things like service for the paying customers should be thought about better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a very low end 4 star, it needs updating and a lot of TLC and is way over priced for what you get. Some areas are shabby. During the day/evening the only tea or coffee available is at a cafe next to the hotel which you have to go and get as there is nothing available on site. Most of the swimming pool is in the shade most of the day. The breakfast choice is limited and what there is, is not very good. The buffet dinner was not very appetizing.

    The reception staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    We didn't liked, we don't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lacking basic maintenance in general, cleaning in the restaurant where breakfast is served is poor, to play snooker or other games it's necessary to pay..!! No gyn available..!! The hotel is too expensive for what is offering, can't be really 4 stars..!!

    Location is very good, very convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Basic hotel but fantastic beach access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic in terms of furnishing and decor, and didn't get that cool, even with AC.

    The hotel overlooks the beach, and has a well-maintained pool. It's a very well maintained beach, with outdoor showers every 100 meters or so, tons of restaurants and bars in walking distance and a nice stone path for running along the beach. Breakfast was also enjoyable in the hotel restaurant with a long wall of windows overseeing the ocean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, they need one improvement - to become vegan-friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. If you are vegan you have a problem to find a good lunch or dinner in Platja D'Aro, also in Columbus. To find vegan or even vegetarian food was extremely difficult.

    Perfect location. The beach is just one minute walk. The staff were extremely helpful when my bag was stollen in other restaurant (be Sherlock Holmes on vacation; look around ) . If you are vegan or loves fruits, you can have a lot of fruits on breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Location of the hotel, next to the beautiful sandy beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets were smelly. Although cleaning ladies were really trying, it seems that there is shortage of cleaning staff. On the other hand, number of receptionists who barely speak English was overwhelming, but they also gave their best.

    Location of the hotel, next to the beautiful sandy beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location but late check-in time and room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't check into the hotel room until 3:30 because the rooms were not ready.Check in time is usually 12:00 to 1:00 at other hotels. I couldn't leave my belongings or shower before 3:30 so I missed a whole morning. Room service was done also at 3:30 the following day so when we came back from the beach to take a shower the room had not been cleaned yet.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Really impressed, coming back next year
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe,Couldn't get hot water out the tap ant best it was warm, but it didn't matter as 30 degrees

    Location fantastic, breakfast really impressed, pool deeper than most and a good size I have 7 MTR long vehicle 3 Mtr high and parked securely no problem

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty average. The hotel looks tired on the outside.

    We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the beach. Our room had been renovated, it was small but perfectly formed. There are restaurants and supermarkets nearby. The staff were friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water by the pool was really cold.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.2
    Sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photoshop of the pictures on the site

    Sea view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was not wheelchair accessible as advertised and I wasn't able to get into my room.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Spacious, clean and well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, clean and well run. The music in the evenings was a wonderful surprise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    bed was fine, AC was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very old,

    bed was fine, AC was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast very nice, staff friendly and helpful, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy in the evening if you keep window open

    Breakfast very nice, staff friendly and helpful, location and swimming pool enjoyable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad bed

    perfect location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    nice place to stay at the costa brava for some days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you could hear everything from other rooms

    nice place to stay at the costa brava for some days!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Charme antique;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little modernisation here and there could help

    Charme antique; vintage charm, space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    It was an amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    It has a nice breakfast and dinner and is in a really nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we've checked-in the room wasn't clean but on next day it was cleaned.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.8
    We do not believe that this can be a 4 star- think it may need a couple of stars knocking off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of room very disappointing, very dated, curtains hanging off rails, lamp shades dirty and old.

    The view of the sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    bon endroit personnel correct on reviendra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La vue

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    worth going!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great value worth going. easy Access to the beach, pool is just perfect and location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice family hotel.'
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Location and it's a nice friendly hotel. Receptionist was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay in Columbus Hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I Don't know.

    Staff was very helpfull, very friendly. bed very comfy, will recommend without any hesitation, will come again. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Very close to the beach, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the old rooms, bed not comfy.

    Very close to the beach, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing and so as the view!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.0
    great location and pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    birds hanging out on the roof were making unbelievable noise, pool area a bit outdated.

    location and pool area was great, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with no balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location and staff in reception is just great (greetings to Abel!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    4.6
    The room we were staying in had new fixtures and fittings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel's pictures are misleading, as well as star rating, feels more like a big 3*. It is old and smelly. The rooms are tiny. There are no shampoo, bodywash or simple cotton pads in the room. No safe. Conditioning system is old and very loud. No staff to help with the luggage. Very expensive compare to other hotels

    The room we were staying in had new fixtures and fittings.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing really, parking was not included but had to pay extra for it.

    Breakfast was great! Live concert in the evening gives a special holiday feeling. The swimming pool is a big plus if you decide not to get salty :)

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    5.0
    The location is fantastic, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had booked a larger room so that a child's bed could fit, we however got the standard room and with the extra bed we could hardly get into the room. At check in they said, yes it is too bad but we are fully booked. We did not get the difference returned.

    The location is fantastic, right on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.1
    Pool area lovely , patio area could be utilised so much more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not as nice as it looks in the pics online, rooms very basic, decor old fashioned, but we're clean and functional.

    Pool area lovely , patio area could be utilised so much more though. Baths in rooms were great .....loads of hot water really fast!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    if your room is on pool side u wont get any sleep before midnight. there is party (disco or concert) outside every night and it is so loud that u can not even watch tv in your room. other then that it is great hotel.

    Everything was great. on the beach, close to shopping. great breakfast and pretty good selection of dinner choices.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    6.3
    Position for beach was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On arrival the receptionist said there was parking space available and began to tell us where to park. She was interrupted by someone more senior who said there was no space left, it was all reserved. The receptionist was quite surprised by this. Reservation of spaces is not available according to the website. We had to park in a large public car park 10 minutes walk. We could see that there were spaces in the hotel parking all the time we were there.The Wi-fi did not work at all.

    Position for beach was very good. Nice room with lovely view from balcony. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel is very old, one of our rooms hadn't been updated since the 70's, floor and bathroom were very old. Other two rooms were more recent, but still needed urgent updating. Hotel on Sunday understaffed, took a long time to check out

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.3
    The location and sea view were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no working air conditioning. Very poor food in the evening accompanied with poor service.

    The location and sea view were superb. The pool and gardens were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    staff very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff very helpfull. location could not be better. value for money and bonus night time entertainment

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Todo en general la tranquilidad y la atencion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Todo en general la tranquilidad y la atencion

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.8
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old to have this value not clean balcony electric plug was not working

    Location was good

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.5
    Terrible shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible shower.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: