Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Comercio 1 stars

Gonzalez Besada, 3, 36001 Pontevedra, Spain

#17 of 22 hotels in Pontevedra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1134 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok I should try to speak Spanish, but for just two weeks. I think it was geared for Spanish speaking....cyclists... I felt a bit of a nuisance...not knowing the lingo

    Eh....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except dinner was to be served at 8.30pm, which was too late for pilgrims.

    Very nice and clean hotel with a helpful receptionist. Nice breakfast at 7am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated (and pink) but served a purpose. Couldn’t close the bathroom door without it slamming. Paint on the walls cracked with some missing fixtures

    Central location, short walk from busy plaza with restaurants & shops. Comfortable beds with clean linens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other hotel guests partied very loudly all night long until 3 or 4 in the morning. Sound travelled through the walls like they were paper. We had almost no sleep. People also went up and down the halls yelling loudly all night. It was the worst hotel stay we have ever had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    - thin walls and door to the room - quite old-school equipment, especially the bathroom

    - view from the window - at the theater on the opposite side of the street - close to the historical centre of Pontevedra - restaurant at the ground floor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed at! During the Camino Portugues I wanted some change for my birthday so I decided to book a room instead of sleeping in an Albergue. I wish I didn't have that idea. The hotel itself is very old, smells like pee, and the corridors are dark. My room was above the kitchen so there were weird noises and smells and the window looked down to this nasty dark corner. All the furniture was very old and the wifi in the room didn't worked. The worst part: an hour after going to sleep I woke up because something was crawling on my back. IT WAS A BEDBUG! I jumped out of the bed and there were about 8 bedbugs running around on the sheet full of my blood. I caught one, called the man at the front desk (ho doesn't speak any English, but It wasn't surprising anymore, because non of the people there does), I showed them the bugs and his solution was to give me an other room, which I obviously didn't want. I threw my clothes away and left the room as soon as possible. Since I couldn't find an other place to stay at at 3:00 at night I sat on a sofa next to the front desk until 8:00 in the morning when the first cafes opened. After all of this I did NOT receive any compensation. Worst birthday ever! I could've spent the night in an Alberque for 5-10 euros and get a goodnight sleep. Stay away for your own good!!!

    Absolutely NOTHING!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Rude/grumpy staff, mold on shower curtain, bath that leaked onto the floor, hairs on the bathroom floor that weren't mine, water damage to bathroom door from constantly wet/leaking floor and cigarette burn marks on the bed cover

    The sheets were clean - after the rest I didn't expect that!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks like they are overwhelmed and the rooms aren't clean. Especially the bathroom - hair and stains all over. We wouldn't come back.

    Very close to the centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor, lighting in rooms was poor, is no air con. Needs an upgrade.

    It's a central location with a large bar/restaurant, and it's cheap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on the website did not portray our room which was old and in need of upgrades. The bathroom sink was cracked in 2 places and the toilet tank was also cracked

    The hotel was centrally located and close to old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything the room was old tatty no air conditioning so red hot at night, bathroom did not appear clean shower was old outdated bed looked dirty and we were bitten to death by bed bugs bites all over us next morning worse hotel we have been in for the money and when we were leaving in the morning they tried to charge us again when we had paid the day before, would not use again

    the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were bitten by bed bugs in this hotel. so we dont recomend staying in this hotel. hotel even didnt react to this complaint. we were really disapointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the sheet was not clean enough and the walls are really thins, you can hear people's from other room easily.

    Good location, close to the central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was dated. The bathroom sink was cracked though everything functioned. The bathroom ceiling tiles would not be allowed in UK buildings. No air con and it was really hot when we were there. (21-22 June 2017)

    Room was big. Location right in town. Staff were all friendly and pleasant. Lift to all floors. On site café/bar. Breakfast reasonable cost. Could park outside to drop bags. Then took car to 24 hour underground car park less than 2 mins away. Cost 6 euros for 24 hours.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must park at parking Central. Underground. But you can get a special deal of €6 if you go to the attended desk

    2 minutes walk to the old town. Cafe moderno just en route to old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am sure not everyone will share my experiences staying here for 3 nights, but for what it’s worth here it is: No one on reception so had to go next door to the bar, who summoned the reception man who eventually appeared out of the lift. Midway thru check in process in walks a guy off the street, butts in, and there starts an extrapolated and animated discussion with reception man, ending finally in an exchange of cash. I mean, who’s doing business and who came first!? Half an hr later i was in my allotted room to discover the WC would not flush (this was “fixed” the next day by the WC flushing non-stop 24x7. Day 3 it was back to non-flush mode). The attached bar/restaurant is funtional and frequented by locals and guests, and the menu del dias are good, but the blurb about specialising in Galician dishes is a bit of a stretch of the truth as only on Thursdays do they do this. The assertion that they have a 24x7 front desk is also stretching the truth as i only thrice saw someone at the desk (apart from me checking in/out, and again had to be summoned by the bartender). The hotel seemed quiet enough (apart from continually flushing WC!) but the whole place felt tired, worn out, unloved and a bit dingy and very very brown almost everywhere. Even the ceiling of ‘reception’ is brown (how inviting is that?). Apart from WC probs the bathroom (with cracked sink) was just passable as was the maid service. The whole place needs a massive dose of TLC, complete makeover, and ripping out the tired broken down facilities and a good cleaning/painting. Definitely not worth the 30€/night. In Galicia, 30€ should buy one a decent fully functional and pleasant room. Patchy wifi at times.

    Decent bar and upstairs restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of bar staff towards females was appalling In the morning we attended breakfast and got half what a male cycling club members were sevrved We were thrown cold crossaints while they got theirs toasted with jams and well presented We were made to feel like an inconvience They attempted to charge for a refill of coffee

    Good location Reasonably comfortable. But oldstyle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor, breakfast was croissants and dry bread, had to ask for a bit of jam, maybe because it was Easter Sunday, man serving us was very nice in fairness

    On the Camino way, in the city, rooms basic but did the trick,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and ceiling were thin. Could hear others throughout the night. Someone was either buffingor sanding a floor above me at 03:00. I was on 6th floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First rooms doesn't look like on the pictures from Booking.com. Everything is old in this hotel, like it was made 50 years ago. Room and bathroom clean but pillow and bed cover dirty with big blemish...

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Metal blind wouldn't go down, so not dark. Not helpful or approachable as bar was more important. Toilet ran all night and tried to get attention at desk but too busy in bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Yes, the rooms and hotel are quite outdated and can use an upgrade, but they don't bother, really: you get what you pay for which is a clean, comfy, no thrills room. And in all honesty, it is quite charming to sleep in a room that has not been changed since the 80s. Booked a single room initially, but without asking being upgraded to a twin room. Staff is no nonsense, but friendly. Breakfast in the restaurant is simple, but good. The location is in the heart of the centre, close to all shops. The local train and bus station is within walking distance (10-15 minutes). Will def come back next time!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and could do with updating also hotel is very noisy.

    Good location for camino and great location for city centre close to all shops bars and restaurants. Good value for money and staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning..room could have been cleaner

    Stayed here as all allergies full in town. Hotel is old and bedroom was OK had basic facilities but air conditioning did not work properly in room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the bathroom taps did not work.

    Central location, staff were friendly and the rooms were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being trapped in the lift for 50 minutes, then after being released receiving no apology or explanation.

    It was convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had issues with locking and unlocking room doors. Didn't feel comfortably safe

    Nice room. friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good price for money and staff really friendly. Located in Central of the city and on the way to Camino. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room...breakfast and noisey

    Hot water Price reasonable for young person traveling the Camino

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Antiguo

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room, nice bar, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were dingy. Shower curtain was moldy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    tired old bedrooms

    just okay . basic old fashioned but did the job

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noicy and a little dated decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    A1

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handy to Portuguese Camino

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen just below, so there were cooking odours - but never a real problem

    Great location, central in Pontevedra

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Date Bathroom

    Good location , friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in room was terrible. Small window looked out on an atrium, making room extremely dark.

    Good location, and they did have a elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without suficient staff. The staff need to take more attention. Very high price for the quality of this hotel. I will not be back.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud prolonged noise especially from paper thin walls banging doors elevator and other guest use of bath rooms.

    Fantastic Paella food in restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place to stay for a Night when walking the camino , clean and good bathroom, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit upgrading

    Clean room and pleasant staff, hotel was within rasy reach of the Camino.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's, my first low rating.....Room 603 - bed bugs! We evacuate at 5 AM.

    Localization. Fine old design.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything like the way they attended me

    I really enjoyed the place because everything facilities are good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel ever!

    Nichts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and smell of cigarettes

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy. Though we may have been unlucky with our neighbours

    Great location and good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather noisy early in the night but this did stlle down by 10.39pm

    Great location and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    11

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    UNFRIENDLY STAFF

    VERY LITTLE EXCEPT LOCATION

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suspect that the linen was not changed for us..... very disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms.

    Good location and clean place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the place is a little old. Make sure they understand that a double bed is NOT a twin bed

    not far from city center. Not expensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs renovation but was clean.

    Quite close to the city centre, checking in has been quite fast, room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location for old town & the Camino

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing could have been better, we really enjoyed our stay.

    Staff was very obliging, & room was very comfortable. Good coffee & toast at breakfast - essential for us walking the Camino.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The most comfortable part of Commercio is the in-house coffee shop - it was extremely nice to be able to get something to eat and drink as early or late as required and also very handy to have been able to settle our bill early in the morning

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Desk clerk in the morning entered my credit card payment in CAD even though I'd specifically told him I wanted to pay in Euros, then didn't want to reverse the charge so I could pay again as I'd wanted. His claim that he couldn't reverse the transaction was rubbish, of course, but I had to hurry to leave, so didn't follow through with the manager. Need to ensure you hold on to the credit card terminal until you can make that selection yourself. I learned a lesson, but was still not impressed by the clerk's refusal to redo the transaction, which is not difficult at all.

    Location is good, right around the corner from the old town centre. Room adequately comfortable but quite noisy all night, inside and outside.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There wasn't a lot of communication with the staff when we first checked in. We didn't get a map of the city, know what time the reception closed, or have any idea of what time the check out was. To be fair, the staff answered all our questions every time we approached the bar/restaurant area, and ended up being pretty accommodating, but it was initially confusing. The bathroom was spacious, but the toilet didn't particularly flush well. Our room wasn't particularly large, but it was comfortable enough for a night.

    The location was perfect, as we were both close to the historical district and to the newer area (where the bus and train stations are located). They have a 24hr reception, and they let us check out at a later time. The downstairs restaurant/bar was very convenient, and made the place seemed livelier.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was very outdated.

    Carlos on Reception is very friendly and welcoming! The location was good and everything was clean and functioned.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location staff kindness bar on the ground floor free parking next to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very very noisy. Could hear walking in floor above, toilets flushing, doors slamming

    The room was clean

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great for Camino

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small room, thick walls

    Good WiFi, clean room

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No desk available

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mucho calor en la habitación, era imposible dormir. El baño no estaba limpio.

    Muy buena ubicacion

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little old hotel.. but it's ok

    The location/ Friendly staff Pontevedra is really nice city!

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Suitable for my stop over on Camino

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Altough they offered free wifi there were no possible wifi connection. The room was really small and dark and smelly. The toilet didn't work.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were so lovely. Garden and pool amazing. Only 5min quick walk. Will stay again. Thank you so much.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a large hotel in the centre of Pontevedra. I had a very quiet night. Good breakfast too. This hotel maintains good standards.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Comercio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: