Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Comillas 4 stars

Paseo Solatorre, 1, 39520 Comillas, Spain

#9 of 14 hotels in Comillas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Old style hotel with lots of dark wood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an older "grand" style hotel, which we found at the last minute when our plans changed. It was close enough to the fun parts of town to walk around and it was a good jump off point for longer hikes along the coast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location for exploring Comillas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but not great.

    This was a lovely hotel very near to the main attractions in Comillas so great for exploring this little gem of a town. It was very clean and loved the quaint touches. If you have a car, it has private parking outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The location was perfect for us - we were doing the Camino...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect for us - we were doing the Camino and it was on our route, excellent for starting in the morning. Convenient to town also and beautiful setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting and with friendly friendly, helpful staff. Very close to the centre of Comillas and a nice base or exploring Los Picos de Europa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great Location, close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower over the bath, I've never liked this arrangement !

    The Location was perfect, Check in was good, ample parking. Good bed and a very hot shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    The rooms are very comfortable and recently refurnished...
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI was very slow, basically useless.

    The rooms are very comfortable and recently refurnished apparently. The location was good, close to the city center as well as the Capricho Gaudí but a bit far from the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location as there are so many touristic places and cool beaches nearby, receptionists were really helpful too and I would like to point out the full English breakfast we got, highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay would definitely stay here again if in Comillas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very average we only had it on one day and decided to go in to town after that.

    The hotel was in a great location, quiet and with easy access to the main centre and coast. Rooms were large and comfortable, the bathroom was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant, clean and comfortable country style hotel in its own grounds facing onto a pleasant park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    V nice, clean and comfortable country style hotel in its own grounds facing onto a pleasant park. Excellent evening meal with unusual, scrummy cheese ice cream. Secure overnight storage for our bikes provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money, but not one of my favorite places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given that the weather was grey and rainy when we were there, the predominantly grey color of the room didn't really cheer us up. The pillows were too hard and there was no option to have different ones.

    The welcome was very good and the bathroom was very clean and had a good size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful accomdation, though a nice communal lounge space to meet other guests would be nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in the large apartment we had needed updating..

    All great exceot the bed,if you want a really good one which I need these days. Aoartment had kitchen, clothes washing machine, fabulous space, but room we first given was small and grey, SO ASK FOR BIGGER ROOM. € 18 guest menu is great value, and included cooked bacon egg breakfast is a winner too. Staff very friendly.... loved them all. We didn't want to leave, Brian and Shirley, NEW ZEALAND,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    a lovely hotel in its own grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    This is a large hotel well laid out in its own grounds on the outskirts of the small fishing town of Commillas . Parking is free and plentiful , or for a fee the hotel has a large secure underground car park , perfect for my motorcycle . The room was well decorated and spotlessly clean with a well equipped bathroom . Hotel staff were polite and very helpful , even showing me the town and harbour layout so I could go for a wander about . The breakfast was excellent and cooked bacon and eggs for me as well as the usual continental type of fayre . A great place to stay , and not too far from the ferry ports .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    functional place to stay in a nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very small room, uncomfortable bed and heating that was either blowing hot air or not on at all.

    The price and the convenient location/ parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel overlooking the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location just on the edge of town but within easy walking distance. The staff were very welcoming and check in was quick and efficient. Our room overlooked a courtyard and was furnished with antique style furniture. Breakfast was cooked to order, plus a s lection of cold items and pastries.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    A good clean convienient location hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking.

    We have stayed here before and found everything to be to our liking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff were fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fabulous. On our last morning we needed to leave extra early, and they made sure we had breakfast before we left. Really lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful and relaxing Excellent location and good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    On the way out of town but very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the way out of town but very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great location close to Comillas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Great location close to Comillas..five minutes walk into town. Very clean room with nice facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Well placed for visiting the interesting little town of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well placed for visiting the interesting little town of Comillas with its amazing architecture. Smart hotel, and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in good locstion
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and staff so helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    A great stopping point on our journey through Northern Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Service and the Staff were great as was the Dinner and Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    Bathroom extract fan broken
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom extract fan broken No curtains, shutters a pain No restaurant till 8:30 and only if you book Breakfast VERY basic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Pool, air conditioning and plenty of parking onsite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard.

    Pool, air conditioning and plenty of parking onsite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant! Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot complain about anything

    Very friendly staff and excellent rooms. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Staff speak good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff speak good English. Location is great. Short walk to the town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    Too noisy: water pipes, customers in aisle, air conditioning...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy: water pipes, customers in aisle, air conditioning machine. Terrible plugs scarcity. Old furniture and decoration.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff very helpful, bed lovely and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room a little sombre with dark wood everywhere. However, still perfectly acceptable and comfortable. I'd say in the UK this would achieve 3 not 4 stars,, but don't let that put you off.

    Staff very helpful, bed lovely and comfortable. Shower excellent and secure motorcycle parking. Breakfast included in rate.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little small for three people. Price could have been better as we then stayed in another nearby coastal town for cheaper, getting a bigger room and more amenities

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower was a bit splashy so I had a little bit of mopping up to do each time I used it but it really was no problem. I would have preferred an upstairs room so that I would have a little balcony but again, not really a problem.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with a very good selection of food, drinks, fruit and hot dishes available each morning and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The pool was very clean and a very good size.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    5.0
    Very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very poor facilities. No real bar, dining room in the basement. Very poor sound proofing , could hear every word from next room and overhead.

    Very pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    7.5
    Buena ubicación, trato cordial profesional, buen nivel y...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    La habitación era más bien pequeña y la ventana daba a la calle, que tiene bastante tráfico, así que era un poco ruidosa por la mañana.

    Buena ubicación, trato cordial profesional, buen nivel y relación calidad/precio

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    6.3
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiny room. They might be trading off their "four star" classification for extra €s. It didn't feel like a four star experience.

    Nice staff. Laid back feel for such a "resorty" looking place.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    The young man on reception was very helpful and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room though comfortable was rather dark.

    The young man on reception was very helpful and the location was good.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    returned here for second year a very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of interest in getting problem with safe sorted out

    returned here for second year a very good hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent, friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent, friendly, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Location was perfect for access to the town centre and base...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect for access to the town centre and base for touring area of Spain

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was more a three star hotel than a four star. Not good value for money.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.5
    The pool is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The pool is awesome. I loved it..... Nice staff, location brilliant! Good breakfast Great stay here ....

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.5
    The quaint old hotel was located close to downtown Comillas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The quaint old hotel was located close to downtown Comillas. The furnishings were old but comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: