Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Complejo Rural Huerta Grande

Carretera Nacional 340, Km 96, Pelayo, 11390 Algeciras, Spain

#4 of 20 hotels in Algeciras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing that affected the enjoyment of our holiday, but maybe some better information regarding recycling facilities on site would be of benefit

    Very quiet location, chalets are in a forest area. There is no road noise, just birds and toads / frogs. Great location for hikes, including direct from Huerta Grande. On clear days, views to Gibraltar to one side and Morocco on the other. Tarifa is only around 10km away and good for supermarkets and some great places to eat. Old part of town is lovely with narrow streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The barking dogs in the neighbourhood

    The lush environment - The privacy of the cabin with its terrace - The location between prime birding sites along the Strait of Gibraltar and the Alcornocales

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Villa (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hilariously bad response from the manager to my calm complaint - incredibly defensive, interrupting, condescending, dismissive. I pointed out one of the showers was very mouldy. Response was that mould grows in a day and I didn't understand how humid it is there (this was early April, it wasn't particularly humid). The shower backed up and flooded the bathroom every time we used it. Response was that Huerta Grande doesn't own the house but it's on a concession, so what can she do about this? Dig up the shower? I suggested it should have said on Booking.com that the pool is seasonal, or closed (it was very green, locked). Response was that it would only take 3 days to get the pool ready/ open. Which didn't acknowledge that we had reasonably expected the pool to be open unless informed otherwise. We stayed at The Spy House. It's large and basic. Cheap if you have lots of people staying. Probably better options near Tarifa or Algeciras if you're just a family. When booking we were offered a discount on the usual price (for up to 12) as we were only 5 and didn't use all the bedrooms.

    Quiet location Spacious house Good communication pre-arrival

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation is bit basic. Would have expected more for the price.

    In country area, good for walking. The lady who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn't get to the 'cabañas'. Not so much food in the shops in the village El Pelayo, so it's better to have everything with you. And dogs in the village!!

    The place was exactly as it was described: wooden houses with a kitchen in an aseome forest in the mountains. Excellent for trekking among green meadows, birtdswatching and feeling yourself between Europe and Africa (amazing views).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great recycycling facilities misused by guests mixing waste with recyclables.

    Really nice and helpful staff. Tourist information on site. Beautiful location and surroundings. Frogs singing at night. Nice towns nearby - good for tapas and for markets (fresh vegetables). Cosy huts with good cooking facilities. Can see Africa from the site on a clear day. Great recycling facilities for compost/plastic/paper and glass.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was the conditions that the dog in the Bonsai Centre on the property was living in. He was chained up 24 hours a day unless the bonsai gardner happened to pop round. Needless to say, the poor dog was barking throughout the day and trying to break free. It was very upsetting to witness and was the only blemish to any otherwise wonderful long weekend. I sincerely hope a happy solution is found for the poor dog.

    My children and I loved every minute we were there. It was quiet and there was lots to keep us busy. The staff were lovely and the Ornipark next door was a wonderful extra. My children were particularly delighted with the 2 dogs and the 3 cats that were our almost constant companions:) I will recommend the eco-resort to my friends and hope to be back soon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    can't put toilet paper down the toilet! No plug in bathroom sink basin - there needs to be an international campaign to stop this.

    friendly staff - offered great advice on where to go migration birding, based on wind direction. Also let us borrow chairs for 5 days!Nice to hear Tawny owls at night. Quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cabins are very basic and the kitchen area small. The bathroom and toilet facilities need to be improved or updated (the shower did not drain properly and it was difficult to regulate the water temperature - it came out boiling hot), and toilet paper must be put in a bin, which isn't ideal.

    The location is excellent for visiting Gibraltar and Tarifa. The cabins are situated in a forest, which because of the shade all day, makes them cool even in 40º. It is very pleasant to sit out and eat meals on the porch. We didn't see any mosquitoes. The pool was very clean and a nice welcome in the afternoon to cool down. The beds were comfortable and the cabin clean. One of the cats adopted us while we were there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was great!

    I stayed for 10 wonderful days with two kids, who were always happy and busy to be exploring the river, hiking, or relaxing with the friendly dogs. The location is excellent, very quiet and out of the way, but there is plenty to do, from hiking, kayaking and sightseeing. My kids really loved the dolphin tour in Tarifa. The staff is very friendly and can help you with directions or booking. Great, large grocery stores less than 10 minutes away. It was also very cool in July, no need for AC. We can't wait to return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in seemed a bit random and we were left to our own devices which threw us a bit. Lovely shower in room all singing and dancing but not hooked up to anything so what's the point, just runs as normal shower. The bar area doesn't stay open late and is more of a cafe.

    The area surrounding Huerta grande and the area that it is in is fantastic, it is a beautiful place immersed in nature. There are plenty of walks to do very close by and plenty of opportunities to be involved with the wildlife. The visitor centre is ran by an amazing enthusiastic woman who speaks great English and can give you information on anything you want to know. The cabin we stayed in was lovely, very cosy. Always in the shade so nice and cool even on a night, comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. Pool area is very nice And clean and great views of overhead eagles and vultures! Two big lazy dogs about and a few friendly cats! Great fun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bike rental would be usefull escpecially on such place. Shower was not fully operating and kitchen appliances could be renewed.

    It was like living in a forest. Close to the nature. Area full of surprises to be discovered (like big model of Gibraltar Bay hidden in a park or vulture seen somewhere between trees). If you like to escape from city noise - it is the best place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not complaining but felt the place was just a little da and could benefit from some loving care. But it is winter and it certainly represented good value for miney

    A great place for some RNR whilst travelling. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have nothing else to complain about, complain about the weather. Or the wifi signal. :D

    It was a perfect stay. From the chats with the staff to the cat we adopted and the cool 3D-map of the Estrecho. The cabin was equipped with everything you might need, geez, there was even a massage shower! Can't wait to come back! Just switch off the rain for us this time, will you?

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No near place for food. Lovely on-site seating area but only drinks served.

    Gorgeous setting for forest walks and feeling at one with nature. Dogs loved it and kids felt like explorers. Easy drive to Tarifa for beach and bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only has wifi at reception, but means your not glued to the phone all the time and can actually relax. Great for self catering but if u want to eat out its a 10 min drive to tarifa.

    Amazing staff! We were double booked gave us Alrunitive for free! Very helpful for booking trips and they run their own.You need a car to stay here, but the plus is its a lot more relaxing than in tarifa, would be ideal for families. Unique style cabin accommodation, good value!!! And nice pool!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little tricky to get to because it's so remote. Not a slight, more just something to consider.

    The cabins are basic but a great escape in the middle of the national forest.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic inside, limited lighting, limited cutlery etc

    Wooden cabin

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free and flexible. Best dawn chorus of birdsong to make your own heart sing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like, wish I could have stayed longer.

    Perfect location and wooden cabin for anyone interested in nature.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A change of towels mid week , things weren't drying.

    The shower and the large comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    had bad weather so could'nt visit that much the area, which must be astonishingly beautiful

    Beautiful cabins in the woods, perfect for relaxation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather small bedroom. Limited equipment in kitchen.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed for myself and husband but we enjoyed top and tailing 😁

    Beautiful cottage, friendly hostess, comfy beds and warm duvets. Great fire!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cold, was there in FEB. Not so easy to find it.

    Nice area, peace, good space for kids, animals around, seems safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and very helpful as we arrived from airport at midnight!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff indifferent, no food available

    lovely situation, pretty cabins

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location, fantastic setting, and very helpful staff (went out of their way when we needed some help due to delayed flight).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent birding and wildlife in the rates, beautiful friendly tranquil place to stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little haven. Gkrgeous settings in a forest. Nice pool and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Villa (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the staff, very friendly! We really enjoyed ourselves!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really cool place in the forest. Quiet, green and relaxing. Very rustic and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for birding

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Four-Bedroom Villa (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location, the staff, the peace and quiet and the beautiful clean swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a beautiful quiet place. The staff is very friendly. The area superb. Great views of the African coastline nearby

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sewer smell coming from the showers and all the bathrooms. No wifi in our casa and when we walked to the reception area (it was closed) to communicate with home via wifi the connection was very poor outside. It's also difficult to find this location.

    The casa we stayed in was very charming and in a beautiful setting with almost a jungle feeling. The casa was modernized but looked very old. We were just passing through, so only stayed one night but would have loved to stay here several days.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice village, half an hours' drive from Gibraltar. Friendly people, both in the hotel, and in the village. The bungalows are nice and cosy, all comforts provided.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An excellent peaceful location for anybody visiting the Straits of Gibraltar area to study the migrant birds and other wildlife. Super-helpful staff and wonderful views over to Morocco

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I can really recommend this place in this beautiful nature reserve. The climate right here is not as hot and dry as the surroundings, in summertime you need no aircon. We were lucky with the weather, in december storms and rain is common but we had some sunny days and went for a swim outside Tarifa on christmasday. The small cabins are simple but nice and cosy. Its a very soft and peaceful place where you wake up by the sound of owls and barking dogs. Catrine and her staff speak good english and are very nice and helpful. Can highly recommend:) Maria Sweden

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Nice enough with a small outside porch not too far from anywhere. A couple of small local bars and restaurants nearby. Great staff. Relaxing...

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be nice to have the accomodation cleaned like a hotel, ie beds made towels changed if necessary etc. Could do to have better signage on the main road.

    The quietness was just what was needed.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a negative point, but for an older couple (i.e. us), the walk to the cabin can be long, especially carrying baggage, as cars must be left in a parking lot up a hill. But it was worth it.

    A perfectly delightful place to stay. Individual cabins lost in the woods, utter silence, immaculately clean. If visiting the area, or taking an early boat to Morocco, don’t even consider any place else. Staff very friendly, One girl spent lots of time helping me straighten out a problem I had with a ticket to Morocco. Two wonderful dogs to great us.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Beautiful environment, cabin set in cool woodland. Reception - great WiFi and coffee, friendly dogs and cats! Fantastic, helpful staff.Great swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! Loved it all!

    From the moment I sat on our little terrace in our cabin I felt the stress melting away. The location is amazing!! Extremely pet friendly, my dogs had a ball, one even falling in love with the local cat. The pool is really well maintained and a great facility. The cabins are basic but that is what I expected, really comfortable bed in number 16. We will definitely be back and are planning our next trip....I highly recommend Huerta for relaxation and getting away from the daily grind

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location is great as its close to Gibraltar. Clean cabins, looks as advertised. Have your shopping already done before you arrive as the options in the village aren't much. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cabin was a bit stuffy. Insects. Internet was spotty even in the shared area.

    Nice cabin in the forest. The setting is wonderful. Easy stroll brings you to a view of Gibraltar and Morocco. Great break from the pressures of travels. Make sure you have time to hike.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cabins too small Bed a bit basic No out side seats Cost

    Staff good Bar very good Bird life

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Friendly, lovely area, peaceful and quiet. Great location for visiting the whole area.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A wonderful place we've stayed there four times and will keep returning as its great for our children and dogs.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet, peaceful, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not the easiest place to access if arriving in the "wrong" direction.

    Quiet and solitude set in own woods.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good location for peoe liming calm and quiet Swimming pool Bungalow and its equipment Staff

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We loved the environment and the children enjoyed the freedom to play and explore

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything is perfect, The cosy log cabin staying away amongst the nature, beautiful surroundings with fantastic peacefull walks

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: