Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spa San Marcos 4 stars

Avenida Antonio Sandi, 27, 39330 Santillana del Mar, Spain

#13 of 15 B&Bs and Inns in Santillana del Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 584 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    A pleasant enough stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the room noisy . The rooms at the front are on a very busy fast road. There was a nice little balcony but you would not sit out there due to the noise.

    Nice breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    An absolutely fantastic place to stay, absolutely recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television was too far from the bed and would have been better either closer or with loudspeakers so that it didn't have to be turned up so loud.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was spacious and quiet. The staff were very friendly. The location, on the edge of town, was ideal and within walking distance to Altamira, 2 km away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Good position for town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold, heating controlled by staff, poor sound proofing between rooms, busy noisy road, spa only open at 4 pm and water cold as was sauna due to the fact they only switched on electricity as it opened, charged extra for parking outside, staff offered better deal to book direct

    Good position for town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.2
    Not up to scratch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the room was not warm enough to take a shower let alone a bath. Also the staff said that the restaurant was fully booked and on our return from a walk into town, there were clearly plenty of table that were free. One of the reasons we booked the hotel was that there was a restaurant and as a guest one would expect to be able to eat there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, spacious, good position and lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- that we were charged 5 euros to park in their car park per night. 2- we had dinner the first evening but it was ruined by the horrendous noise from a coach party in the dinning room. They were not behaving badly it was the level of sound.

    The Spa bedroom was lovely but disappointing that the plug didn’t fit on the first evening, however, it was repaired by the second evening

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Very nice place on the edge of town
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner in the hotel, very economical but not very good. Likewise breakfast was pretty poor, though the tortilla was not bad. We didn't stay long enough to explore, but it looked as though it would not have been a pedestrian-friendly walk into town, though the distance was not great.

    Our queen room was really a suite with magnificent bathroom (tub and two showers) plus a large Jacuzzi in an alcove of the bedroom. Desk staff very friendly, building very attractive, blessedly quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This was the first time we had stayed here and we will return, my wife is in a wheelchair and this hotel was perfect . Dinner was very good value for money as was breakfast.The staff were very good,no problems at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Good atmosphere in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't allowed to use the indoor pool. Closed when we arrived in the evening and then closed for cleaning for the whole morning before we left. Shame as this was one of the reasons for the choice of property.

    Good atmosphere in the restaurant. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and facilities good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely, room fab but food at hotel mediocre. We had dinner one night but are elsewhere rest of our stay.

    There were plenty of options to eat in Santillana.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very firm but wouldn't stop us booking again.

    Very friendly staff, beautiful hotel in gorgeous town. Rooms where amazing. Excellent facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    Our second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sound proofing was poor. air conditioning was turned off and only seemed controlled from a central point by management. coach parties sometimes engulf sitting areas

    Good car parking at a reasonable rate. Nice sitting area, pleasant rooms. friendly staff. The pool and fitness centre are very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Convenient comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms above, you can hear every footstep from the room above. Need to sound proof

    Good position for exploring that part of spain. Lovely old small town a 5 minute or so walk, lots of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location and nice friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not our preferred one ... but it was the same for the whole time we stayed in that area of Spain anyway! Lots of sweet cakes, even the croissants are covered with some sugary glaze... limited variety of bread (mainly white bread).

    We liked the bedroom, the view, the proximity to the beautiful village and the fact that it was easy to find. And we enjoyed the massage treatments in the same building!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    5.0
    Go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are uncomfortable and soundproofing between rooms which are small, is non existent. We paid for spa access but it was only available at inconvenient times.

    Just a short walk to the old town where there are lots of excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    5.8
    I asked for 2 x quite rooms but then given rooms on the very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for 2 x quite rooms but then given rooms on the very noisy road Air conditioning didn't work Tv on in the dinning room while you were eating in the evening Yogurts served for pudding say this is 4 **** it's poor service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Useful stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heard noise from other guests returning late at night. Ample breakfast if not more geared towards the bus tour with processed ham and cheese.

    Close by all attractions. Helpful staff. Large room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Recommend this hotel - would stay again without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Good location. Car park. Our room had a balcony, fridge, safe. Excellent value for money. Would book again without hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Santillana del mar very picturesque and Altimara caves very interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot breakfast on offer and rest of breakfast was dull

    Helpful staff, good service and ample off road parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Altamira
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Aircondition. Owner wechicle collection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    4.6
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds, the spa was a rip off. Noisy

    Location and free parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi 10 Euros and car park 5 Euros but still good value of money

    good value for money ... recommending room with a big bath

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    Good value and well located with friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym equipment needs to be more robust and updated.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Worth visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel in quaint old town. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Very nice hotel with very good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with very good facilities. They let us park our motorcycles in the garage with their classic cars.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely comfortable hotel in North spain close to a pretty, small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More prepared fresh fruit

    The location of the hotel, the swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    10
    location and swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    5.8
    The venue is pretty and the garage has got some beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was bad. The staff was rude. On arrival we were advised that breakfast was offered. The next day at the check out we were asked to pay. We explained the situation, a genuine mistake,on their side. Yet they refused and started arguing with us. A queue behind started to build up, eventually she apologised and offered it to us. Your mistake , you pay for it I'm sorry.

    The venue is pretty and the garage has got some beautiful collection car.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    Selection of vintage motorbikes and cars scattered within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little too hard

    Selection of vintage motorbikes and cars scattered within the property and garages. Close to town centre. Staff really friendly and very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    5.8
    Convenient 10 minute walk to Santillana del Mar old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was "dumpy". Not a 4-star facility compared to others of similar rating. Threadbare towels. Not enough outlets. Elevator was slow, and door stuck open for several minutes. Shower head positioned in middle of the wall so shower glass did not prevent water from soaking the floor and counter (see photo). We had the only room with an uncovered balcony, so when it rained, we couldn't sit outside without getting wet! Rooms that face the street have traffic noise, even with the balcony door closed. Very uncomfortable, lumpy beds. Dislike that there is a charge for parking even though the hotel has it's own parking lot with plenty of room! Staff were ok, but no friendly experiences to speak of.

    Convenient 10 minute walk to Santillana del Mar old town. On a main road. Breakfast selection very good with a variety of fruit, meats, breads, yogurts. Self-serve coffee. Hotel has an elevator. Did not use spa facilities since we arrived too late and left before it opened.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.9
    Lovely comfortable clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa was very strange! 8 people use it at once but there's only really room for 6, and even then only if you all change activities at the same time! The pool is small and cold, the jacuzzi was also quite cool and the bubble jets far too powerful (and there's no way to turn them off!), and the sauna is tiny. We felt very awkward sharing with 6 other people and left early. Also you have to walk across the car park in full view of the road in your dressing gown (which it is mandatory to wear). All very odd!

    Lovely comfortable clean room. Interesting collection of motorbikes! Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    location walking 10min from the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The night and breakfast staff was not friendly and sympatetic.

    location walking 10min from the village. The personal spa and wellness facility. Interesting building and facilty. Offer to drive a Ferrari through the area.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facilities in room, very noisy outside hotel. Not sure wether air con was controlled by reception.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee/tea making facility in room

    Excellent breakfast and dinner. Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.4
    Nice and warm welcome from the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy location

    Nice and warm welcome from the staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.8
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Location car park and classic bikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location car park and classic bikes

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: