Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Los Infantes 3 stars

L´Dorat, 1, 39330 Santillana del Mar, Spain

#9 of 22 hotels in Santillana del Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 433 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Staying at Hotel Los Infantos was a truly wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    Staying at Hotel Los Infantos was a truly wonderful experience. From the moment you step into the foyer where you are surrounded by antiques (count the number of clocks) you are greeted by wonderful people on reception who make you feel as if you are truly an honoured guest. Don’t forget to visit the upstairs lounge and library and enjoy the lovely breakfast where you can select eggs to be prepared especially for you. We had pre-dinner drinks then ate dinner in the restaurant and had a great meal....again in beautiful surroundings and attended to by caring staff. Bathroom was perfect with little touches that made it really comfortable. We couldn’t believe how reasonable the price was through Booking.com.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly welcome from the Reception Desk staff, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly welcome from the Reception Desk staff, they provided maps and directions to the nearest beach and lots of helpful information about parking, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a central location. An experience in its own right, stepping back in time to a by-gone age. Great breakfast served. Fantastic beaches nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable overnight stay in an extremely well priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly welcome on arrival. Beautiful hotel in a very picturesque village. The breakfast was very varied and well presented and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Family owned and operated. Good value. Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing material.

    A 3rd generation family still own and operate the hotel. Very helpful and proud staff. Good location in old town. Very well maintained and clean. Maintained old world charm. Lots of sitting areas. Good value and comprehensive breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely historic town, with lots of places to eat. The hotel in a great location for exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a little away if you don't get a spot opposite.

    Great location, on the main road, with the old town 2 minutes walk away. Very helpful staff, managed to get a parking spot for free across the road, otherwise need to drop bags off and park in a public car park. Rooms simply furnished. There is a bar downstairs for a drink, or there is a lounge upstairs. Extensive choice of food at breakfast, and provided special gluten free bread for coeliac (comes in its own sealed packed, so no danger of contamination, and quite tasty).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant prices are high, but one can eat elsewhere. A sumptuous breakfast was included. Our cost was about $125US per night in a suite for two people including breakfast. That would be about $100 less per night than in nearby Santander.

    It was an old palace with modern amenities and comforts. A great value for the money. We visited the historic area of the town and the museum of the Cave of Altamira. There's no pool but we did not need one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Just perfect .... again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely nothing, our second stay here so we knew what to expect and were not disappointed.

    Spacious room with lovely period furnishings and very large and comfortable bed. Modern and very clean bathroom. Immaculate servicing of room throughout our stay. The best buffet breakfast we have ever experienced. Excellent choice of food and wine for dinner menu. Perfect location in heart of old town of Santillana and within easy reach of coast and Picos de Europa. Also very short drive to Santander for our return ferry to England.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Very close to the entrance to the village of Santillana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal option was more expensive than I would have wished and not as good as the Menu del Dia lunchtime choice. A wider choice and some simpler options would have been perfect.

    Very close to the entrance to the village of Santillana. Air conditioning was good. Buffet breakfast was an excellent selection of fresh baked bread and pastries with tortillas cold meat & cheese plus someone on hand to cook bacon & eggs. Nice one! Great selection of fresh fruit. An impressive reception area plus a terrace outside for a couple of drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable visit to an incredible village, it is one of the 30 best villages in spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it exceeded our expectations

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the choice at breakfast was amazing and the room was perfect. The hotel is like a museum with wonderful paintings and furniture very interesting, location perfect and what a wonderful little town, so much history. Would recommend to everyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Characterfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant nice but a little rushed on our visit.

    Located in an amazing village with lots of attractions and within 30mins of Port of Santander. Hotel is really characterfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Would stay again but maybe eat out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was a bit sparce. 6 slices of potato with my steak and a grilled piece of pepper. Maybe I’m used to more???

    Lovely hotel full of antiques in an ideal position. Staff were very friendly would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Great family run hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant remember if we had breakfast there or not!

    Wonderful food, well priced, the front desk staff was terrific (Francisco) and the bartender made up tasty drinks. I forgot his name, rooms and bathrooms large, historic building. Very cosy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Beautiful hotel, great location, free parking just across street from hotel. Very helpfull staff, we asked for room with front view of hotel with balcony and what a room! ( with very reasonable extra cost). And very good dinner at hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    The public rooms with their antiques give the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The basement breakfast room doesn't have the same character as the other public rooms, but the breakfast itself was decent.

    The public rooms with their antiques give the hotel character and individuality. Our room was large and quiet. The restaurant is an attractive and civilised space as well, and we enjoyed dinner there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Delightful stay at Los Infantes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was incredibly nice and helpful. They locked up the bike safely in their private garage. Dinner was excellent. The room décor chic and functional. Reception carried our luggages up one flight of steps. They do fab gin and tonics at the bar...in our case, in the garden. Will stay at this property again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely quaint clean hotel close to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quaint clean hotel close to centre. For a family of four we found the room small however Fernando offered to switch us as soon as available; he also provided great advice on local beaches, restaurants etc. - great service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had a pungent odour of something dead in the air ducts or cat pee on the carpeted floor. We tried to remedy this by opening the window but then the garbage truck came and made it even worse.

    Beautiful building both inside and out. Staff is friendly and helpful and even speak a little English. Location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel with real character full of antiques in a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with real character full of antiques in a good location. Breakfast buffet was extensive and we had dinner too which was excellent and great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is perfect and it's a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air conditioning and it was very hot in the room. It didn't help that the stuffing in the pillows was like the filling for soft toys so it made you sweat even more. Also be aware that there is no lift and there are rooms are on the first floor.

    The location of the hotel is perfect and it's a beautiful old building with polished wooden floors. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is parking available on a first-come-first-served basis across the road. There are, however, only 9 parking spaces. We were unable to park there initially but moved the car later when a couple of spaces became available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    A total Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a fantastic hotel. Very quirky style. Massive big beds and rooms. We even had a bath tub. Very nice staff and although we didn't eat there the menu looked great (and have veggie options)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Charming small hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator or A/C

    This was a wonderful small hotel with antiques and plenty of charm! Breakfast was terrific and plenty of selections! The staff was helpful and pleasant! The location was super right next to the medival village great for shopping and restaurants! We loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Charming residence in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling across northern Spain on the FEVE and decided to have a brief stop-over in Santillana del Mar. We booked last minute on the day we decided to stay, so I don't know what availability would be like in high season - or the prices. We alighted from the station at Puente San Miguel at about 20:30. Note at this time there are no taxis outside the station, but on calling the hotel, they were very happy to arrange one to come and pick us up. The fare at 8 euros was reasonable (although a lot more expensive per mile than the FEVE !). On arriving at the hotel, we were greeted very pleasantly and found the building to be just as expected - beautiful and retaining many period features. The room was very comfortable with a huge bed and very well appointed facilities. We spent the evening having a wander around this lovely little town and enjoyed some tapas and sidra in a bar/restaurant. It was reasonably quiet at the beginning of June - which was lovely (I could imagine it being very different in the height of summer, jostling with crowds of happy tourists !) We had breakfast the following morning which was good with a wide range of options. Coffee was a disappointment, though. This is a fabulous place to stay - the service was spot on, the establishment absolutely first class : filled with curios and dozens of clock. Very highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    This hotel certainly has the WOW factor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cobblestones! Non at the hotel but the rest of this very pretty town had cobblestone streets - in keeping with the beautiful buildings but a bit hard on the feet!

    This hotel certainly has the WOW factor! The first impression from the outside is fabulous and the interior is decorated and furnished with many antiques. Our bedroom was very spacious with elegant furniture and a lovely en-suite. It also had a small balcony with outside wooden shutters. The proprietor was only too happy to explain the history of the place which has been run as a family business since 1974. We had lunch outside in the gardens and the food was excellent. We also had breakfasts - wonderful buffet spread - and dinner in the dining room. The food at each meal was really well prepared and so tasty. All the staff spoke excellent English and were all very friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Delightful budget hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a limited number of parking places were available (across the road), which were full when we arrived, however, free public parking was available about 200 metres away in a square (from late evening up to 10a.m. the following day).

    Good location on edge of old centre, 20-25 minute drive from Santander. We have stayed in the area twice before, at the local Parador. The facilities and level of comfort were comparable, at half the price. We also had a very good meal in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    :) :) nothing not to like

    Staff we're very pleasant and helpful. The choices at the buffet breakfast was fabulous. The location was perfect for strolling around the old town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    A Parador for half the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is outstanding and beautiful. They have a very interesting collection of antique clocks disiplayed through the premises. Excellent restaurant and wonderful breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location in town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Parking is limited and is more road parking than off-road as indicated. I have a long car and the available hotel spaces all meant my car was overhanging the road traffic lane. I opted to pay €8 in an alternative car park opposite the hotel.

    Good location. Good food. Friendly staff. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    tres bel hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    ras

    situation ideale

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at front desk, restaurant y Noel were so nice and helpful. Noel y el personal del hotel y la recepcion un encanto.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Top Martinis excellent staff in reception and bar lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top Martinis excellent staff in reception and bar lovely hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    A must stay. Stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beatrice was so welcoming. She set the standard and over our two days everyone delivered.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Very close to shops and museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work. No fan or air cond. Noice from kitchen below.

    Very close to shops and museums

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful place. A must see if you like history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Conditioning system is old and doesn’t work properly

    Service, detail and customer focus

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming and spacious. Friendly staff lovely welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and very clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and very clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful medical town hotel is like a museum with many antiques in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from balcony

    In the centre of the village Big rooms Parking close by

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    We would return but go out for evening meal to one of many restaurants in the town nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was expensive and not very good.

    Location was good but parking limited. The town was fascinating. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    We've stayed here before and would definitely stay here again. We love Santillana and the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful in finding a good secure place to park our motorbikes!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Ambiance was great a d the location was spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small.

    Ambiance was great a d the location was spot on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Cantabria ambiente weekend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff, spotless comfy rooms ,great buffet breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Didn't have breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, accommodating staff

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't work.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Nice place with great history
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's historical. The location is good. Bear many nice restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    great location to stay when visiting this beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location to stay when visiting this beautiful city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    A gem!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Friendly staff. Immaculate facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Great Value Old world hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful reception staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Only one night but were very happy with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Only one night but were very happy with everything. Very nice evening meal and good breakfast. Room and bed very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windowless breakfast room

    Atmosphere, friendliness, location, price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.7
    A traditional comfortable central hotel at short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why was it so expensive? £124 for one night in a 3* place.

    The large comfortable lounge with balconies. I liked the real fire in the dining room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs more parking in the village in general.

    Simple, clean, comfortable, very friendly and authentic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Lovely old house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly stiff atmosphere

    Lovely old house

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    I will certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent and we were especially pleased with the friendly staff and delicious meals.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.7
    Expected more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the road...large impersonal breakfast room commercial breakfast

    Very friendly manager and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    Location is close to the cave museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small and felt a little closed in due to too much furniture, beautiful though it is there's too much of it and its big! No tea and coffee making facilities.

    Location is close to the cave museum. We took dinner at the restaurant and the chef was brilliant catering for our special requests, he didn't have to and it was delicious. The waiter very attentive and owner was friendly, efficient and welcoming. Free Parking close to the hotel. If you can eat anything breakfast would be brilliant but as vegetarians its slightly more limited but they still catered for us.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The hotel is in a beautiful old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a beautiful old building.Staff were very helpful. Our room was comfortable. The menu del dia was good value. Parking was easy. Close to Santander ( only 20k away) for the ferry to Portsmouth.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.3
    The staff attention was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a balcony room but the view was spoiled a little by untidy back gardens full of junk. I couldn't work the control for the shower over the bath.

    The staff attention was excellent. The dining room and evening meal was good value for money. The choice for breakfast was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Good position almost in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't have one.

    Good position almost in centre of town. Parking just across the road. Lovely old hotel, very quirky, lots to look at, just like a museum. Evening meal good, preceded by a well mixed gin and tonic, complete with juniper berries. Comfortable bedroom. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.3
    The location was perfect and the building is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was musty with a touch of mildew smell that never left. We had to keep the window open.

    The location was perfect and the building is lovely. Our room was large with a "French" balcony. The bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Location Clean comfortable room Magnificent historical building Close to the Santander ferry Nice breakfast Good free parking and WiFi

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is amazingly furnished in period pieces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is amazingly furnished in period pieces. This also means that your room is furnished pretty much like my grandmother's house. We loved reading in the evening in the upstairs reception room which was like having full run of a museum or movie set. Closing the sleeping room doors created quite a bang and luckily everyone near our room went to bed early or else we would have been awakened with each arrival. Parking was fine but confusing to figure our where it was on arrival. Breakfast was convenient and had two tiered pricing so I could havIf you e my cafe con leche and pan tostado, and my husband could get the full buffet. In all honesty, this hotel was the only thing good about the town of Santillana del Mar which was kind of like visiting Busch Gardens 'The Old Country'. If you have to be here, this is a good place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    We have been staying in larger cities for several weeks so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have been staying in larger cities for several weeks so our stay at Hotel L’Infant was like a breath of fresh air as it is in a small town. We were there for one night while we visited the Altimira Caves Museum. The property is a bit old fashioned but lovely and our room in the main building, in back, with a small balcony; it was ample. The bathroom was good and wi-fi was fine. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was OK. It is mentioned in the listing that there is no elevator (lift) and I want to reiterate that because there are stairs to climb just to get to the first floor from the lobby and also to go down to the area where breakfast is served. Breakfast was typical European; unless you are really a light eater, you will probably want the full buffet (about 8 Euros) versus the continental breakfast for about 4 Euros. We were able to park our car in one of the hotel’s spaces on the street. It does look like there is public parking over by the Information Center, about two blocks away. This Information Center, by the way, is quite large and covers Cantabria.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.9
    Like staying in a very old, charming but run down house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift and lots of stairs. Remote, insecure parking. Breakfast included in room rate but it was a poor offering supervised by an officious person who elaborated on what could be taken (i.e., one of this, a small glass of that) which left a sour taste

    Like staying in a very old, charming but run down house. Beautiful old veranda, comfortable beds and bathroom. Charming receptionist. Easy access to Santillana . Around the corner a super restaurant, La Huerta del Indiano, tables in a garden, two enormous verandas, super food (lunch and dinner) great service

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    A small pleasant hotel located directly in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A small pleasant hotel located directly in the old town. Interesting, historical interiors. Restaurant on the premises and a short walk to the numerous restaurants nearby. Free parking close by.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.9
    This hotel is located really well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is located really well. Just outside the tourist track, so it is not too crowded, but really close to the old town. Big parking space right next to it. I only stayed one night, so can't tell much more.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful old house with real character,lovely bar with nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful old house with real character,lovely bar with nice craft beers,good food though breakfast not worth the price if not included,expensive in August

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.7
    The staff is kind and nice and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    for breakfast they do not propose cafe expresso, but just filter coffee. The breakfast room does not have windows and at 8h00 tables are not prepared, so you have the impression that it is very early to have breakfast.

    The staff is kind and nice and the location. The bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    A lovely hotel built from beautiful stone, furnished in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast arrangements were confusing, and the breakfast room is dark.

    A lovely hotel built from beautiful stone, furnished in traditional stone. Rooms were quiet, with good bathrooms. There is a bar/restaurant in the garden. The owner/manager could not have been more helpful: he really looked after us. The hotel is easy to find and is a short walk from all the interesting places in this pretty town.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    Lovely overall, ambience and environment delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be better - the dual system of B&B including continental which is very restricted and carefully monitored (!) is uncomfortable. Also, breakfast room gloomy. We had a beautiful balcony, but nothing to sit on, just one broken chair which was a shame!

    Lovely overall, ambience and environment delightful. Junior suite really nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, happy to help at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's very old but that is the charm of the place. If you don't like old, don't go to Santillan.

    Very friendly staff, happy to help at all times.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.5
    The very friendly staff I left my iPod behind in the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was quite damp - there was mould on the walls!

    The very friendly staff I left my iPod behind in the room and they phoned me to say they had found it. Then they posted it to our next hotel. Thank you to the kind gentleman!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    The problem with breakfast was that there were different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The problem with breakfast was that there were different waiters on the 2 days we were there who gave us different information as to what was on offer. Written information (as with other requirements e.g. not to remove food from the Dining Room) are needed to avoid confusion

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: