Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ilunion Pio XII 4 stars

Avenida de Pio XII, 77, Chamartín, 28016 Madrid, Spain

#212 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4518 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is upscale, clean, modern and wonderful value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was further from the airport than we thought, but if visiting the city, the location was fine.

    This hotel is upscale, clean, modern and wonderful value!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Close to airport and business center, metro is walking...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to airport and business center, metro is walking distance, a quiet and clean residential neighborhood, you can find restaurants and bars and supermarkets by a short taxi ride. Room is clean and functional but a bit dated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Good but not more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water were on the floor in bath. They did not have an adaptor conector for charging leptop or other electricity.

    Good smell, place to work in the lobby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is far from center but there is no problem with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is far from center but there is no problem with traveling by metro (line 9 to pio XII) or bus. We went by metro and on the same street as hotel there are a lot of embassies (czech, india...). Receptionists were nice, very pleasant and ready to help you with everything. They gave us map a some useful advice about traveling in madrid. Room was nice, spacious with lot of light. Breakfast was good but with less variety. Check out went without problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was near bus and metro stations but not so many restaurants or amusement places at night.

    Clean rooms. Restaurant had good food. Nice, polite and kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff is so friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is so friendly and professional. Give me all the information that I need. The breakfast is nice, very tasty. The room is properly clean, big and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and professional staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a bit in a dull and shop less area. Not many bars and restaurants.

    Service excellent, effecient and friendly staff. Professional. Excellent disabled facilities. Clean and grand rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay with splendid staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean except our shower/tub. There was pink mold along the tiles and corners of the tub which was surprising considering how clean the rest of our room was. Also we didnt have any wash cloths in our room or conditioner or lotion. Those are basic things that generally i get at most hotels, so i was surprised they didnt have that.

    The staff was very nice and the breakfast was very yummy! The breakfast was €10 for an all you can eat buffet. Very yummy! I brought my 11 month old son and the staff always interacted with my son which made everything feel very warm and inviting. Spacious room and kid friendly. Nice onsite parking garage for €15 a day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Excelent value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty far from Madrid Centre.. Ok.. The bus station is right in front of the hotel... but you still have to take a cab late in the evening (costs 15 euros). The furniture looks (and is) old, in fact the rooms are in need of a fresh look.

    First, the rooms are clean. Five stars for the staff (front desk and cleaning). Parking places are available underground at a fair price. I found the restaurant surprisingly luxurious for the place. Fitness spot for the obsessed ones (not me..). And most of all, you can't beat the price.. I mean... It's practically free, you can't get more value for your money. Air conditioning works (I like sleeping while freezing.. that was just perfect for me.. if you don't like it, simply turn it off).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    It was pleasant and we experienced great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't stay long enough to dislike anything

    The staff is amazing going to great lengths to ensure you are taking care of and are very friendly and helpful, the facilities are very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic facilities and very professional staff. Good transport links.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room (this is a British thing however)

    I work and travel Europe staying in hostels and hotels. Part of my work involves assessing places for real-world disabled access for charities and for a small travel business. This hotel has fantastic facilities to a very high standard and it's kept clean regularly everyday. Transport links are reasonable with train 1km away and wheelchair friendly bus to centre close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The furniture and the carpets on the hall were old.

    The room and bathroom were very spacey, the bed was comfortable. Restaurant / room service food was good, at good prices. The room was cleaned on a daily basis, including changing the towels (no water saving :) There are a loot of public transport options around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast is good & majority of staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room on the second floor and in my room I did not have a proper WiFi signal. My internet connection therefore did not work at all and I had to go to the lobby to get access. For me this is not acceptable and a NO GO ...

    Breakfast is good & majority of staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    It’s a very good hotel , beautiful & calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was stucked in the bathroom because the door had a problem , but i finally went out quikly 😂.

    It’s a very good hotel , beautiful & calm. You have a metro at 5minutes from the hotel (pio Xll) And a police station near the hotel if anything happens.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    This was the 4th time staying at this hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the 4th time staying at this hotel and unfortunately there was a very disturbing smell of previous smoking in the room. Even in the afternoon when we complained and got a new room, the a/c brought in the same bad smell. i had similar experience the first time of my stay when the room was again on the 7th floor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel for business, as it is located near consulates...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting the hotel to be close to the train station, but it wasn't. And tht had been my sole purpose of getting this hotel. It was about 1.5 miles from the Metro so that worked.

    Nice hotel for business, as it is located near consulates and residential. Not in center of Madrid or near the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Okay for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn‘t clean, the tables were sticky and the chairs and the walls were full of stains.

    Close to chamartin, comfortable and clean beds, nice waterfall shower!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Except the front desk staff on 30th, June, everthing is perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I feel everthing perfect until 30th, June. The front desk staff has a serriously poor attitude, She deliberately embarrassed me and my colleague, and did not give the invoice to us, so many mistakes she took to us. I have travelled all over the world for three years, and never encountered this situation.

    Breakfast is good and the most of staff here are very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Location and staff members assistance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike their other locations the Madrid hotels did not have swimming pools...in 40+C/113F weather...I will never choose to stay there on future visits.

    Location and staff members assistance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable one night stay before flying back to England the next day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can think of nothing that I was dissatisfied with

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent. Handy bus stop called 'Nunciatura' right outside the hotel for direct bus to Puerta Del Sol in centre of Madrid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Be careful not to be charged twice for your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hopeless reception staff: my card was charged twice before my arrival. I reported the issue at the reception during check in and was told they new about the mistake and would take care of it. 2 days later I had to intervene again as the money still wasn't returned to my account. After 30 minutes of my explanations (including showing my bank statement) they finally decided to return the money.. During the check out I was informed that my stay had already been paid, however, after my departure my card was charged again! The hotel returned the money the day after, but the disgust remains.

    Bus stop in front of the hotel, metro station can be reached by walk within 5 minutes. Spacious room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    It was a last minute reservation. Impressive building but rooms did not live up to the expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need to be maintained better-e.g clean around the edges of the outside of the tub near the door. Clean the air conditioning units for fresher air. Get some scrambled eggs for breakfast. More fresh juice choices.

    Theee beds in one room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Very good value for money thanks to the discounted sites.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free WiFi in the room was at times a bit weak. The breakfast buffet would benefit from having its workflow reviewed as there were bottlenecks (bread corner)

    Overall good impression, I was particularly interested by the social sustainability and the rate of those working with you are differently abled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    The cleaning of the rooms and room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too hot when asked to turn the AC on I was told to open the window instead, at check in I wasn’t asked if I needed breakfast with our stay even though I booked the room without it’s called customer service and curtesy, had hard time dealing with customer service because of poor English language....

    The cleaning of the rooms and room service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    /

    I was in Madrid for a business trip. The location was close to the office. Everything was great: the room, the people working there, the breakfast. It was a really nice stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Fine hotel not so far away from center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but not organized. Rooms need to be a bit more clean in corners and under bed.

    Room was nice, we got baby crib and bathroom is big and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location if you are planning to take a taxi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi connectivity was close to non-existent in the room. The room was also a bit outdated.

    Great location if you are planning to take a taxi to/from the airport. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel 5 minute walk away from Duque de Pastrana Metro station (Chamartin District)
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in a quiet area with limited options for eating or having a drink close to the hotel. Dinner options at the hotel were limited and pretty average.

    Comfortable hotel located about 5 minute walk away from Duque de Pastrana Metro station, which provides a good connection to Madrid city centre. Although the outside of the hotel looks dated the room and interior of the hotel were modern, confortable and clean. Overall at a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast OK!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bar, the waiters seemed to be tired; they didn’t clean the table after the previous clients and we had to wait for a coffee almost 10 minutes.

    Breakfast OK!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Nice place in a great neighbourhood !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if I could improve something I would add slippers in ther room.

    The hotel looks very nice ! the common areas and the rooms are really well mantained , the bathroom is quite large . We really felt good !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable room, excellent staff, great value for a last-minute booking
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After problems with Swiss Air (dreadful airline!), I made a last-minute reservation at this hotel. The staff was friendly at check-in and helpful at check-out. The place is a short distance from the airport and Chamartin train station, which makes for a convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Triple rooms are the same size rooms as double rooms. They simply add an extra bed. Feels a bit improvised, however they actually do provide an extra bed.

    Food was great, centric and great service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with really good service, nice staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expecting a little bit more from breakfast buffet, but can’t really complain

    Beautiful hotel with really good service, nice staff and nice and tidy rooms. Had a really great time over there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    The bed comfy, good view from the window, close to metro (7...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are few (one only)outlets for charging devices

    The bed comfy, good view from the window, close to metro (7 min by foot) and about 20 min to center/ airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Good quality hotel not too far from the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -I would prefer a hot cooked breakfast

    +good WiFi +very clean +friendly staff +Metro & supermarket within walking distance +The 3 lifts are quick

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    It was a clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food service, breakfast are very poor for 14 EU per person. The food service, at dinner is very poor , not a good service , slow and not good hospitality.

    It was a clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    A great staff is not enough.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a warm and cosy place to stay in a cold night in Madrid. Not a Ilunion Hotel I was waiting. Grey outside, warm when you get in, warmer at the check-in due to great staff and next... The great chock... My room seams from another age. Decoration 'has been' style, unconfortable and noisy (and not very solid, I think). Forniture and floor from another age. No. It wasn't what I was expecting.

    The staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    booked last minute, so very little choice. In reality a bit too far out although bus was easy &cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one socket in bedroom. No mirror above desk where socket was, therefore difficult to dry hair etc. no English speaking channels on TV apart from Rt today news channel. (Plenty of French and German channels).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    bad Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was bad, the receptionist was rude and 2 pm is late to check in. Breakfast is ok nothing special I was expecting more.. Location is really bad it takes you at least 44min from the center to the Hotel.

    Nothing to be honest

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and was very happy about the quality/price of the room. Even though the hotel is a bit far from the center (but easily reachable by metro), I could not find any better place in Madrid for the same price. I definitely recommend it to all visitors who are willing to rest and enjoy spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room equipment is old. I don't like the hair dryer.

    We felt safe staying there. Even though it's a little far from downtown, the transportation is very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    THE HOTEL IS VERY COMFORTABLE .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    VERY FAR FROM MADRID CENTRE. REQUESTED AN IRON AND WAS TOLD THEY DID NOT PROVIDE IRONS. I WAS TOLD I COULD GIVE THE ITEM TO IRON TO HOUSEKEEPING FOR THE PRICE OF 18 EUROS!!! ALSO WAS TOLD IT WAS TOO LATE TO HAVE THE ITEM BACK FOR THE NEXT MORNING.

    THE HOTEL IS VERY COMFORTABLE .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.8
    There were unknown insects in both bed and pillows which the...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were unknown insects in both bed and pillows which the staff could not tell what they were, and we were forced to move out at 4:00 am. The air conditioner did not work. The hot tub was clogged up

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Really nice hotel with nice rooms and perfect breakfast, but quite outside of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing to criticize is the location. Otherwise if you get a good price deal for this hotel I can only recommend it. For more: plantobelate.wordpress.com

    The location is easily accessible from the airport, but quite outside of the city centre. Perfect for business events, but maybe too far from the centre for a short and intense city trip. The staff is super friendly, the breakfast is perfect and the room nicely equipped and clean. For more: plantobelate.wordpress.com

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Except for hotel being a bit far from main plaza, we loved everything about the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub divider leaked while showering. Check out process was a bit slow. Hotel was a bit away from main plaza.

    Staff very friendly and helpful; food was great and the decor of hotel was very appealing. Really appreciated the philosophy of the hotel. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Overall, it was OK. Was it worth what I paid for? Well, I don't know.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfunctory manners during check-in, no electric tea-pots available, bathroom door broken thus won't close up. Wish there were more vegetables in the breakfast menu.

    In general, the room was o.k.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    It was ok - public transport into the city worked well for us. I didn't feel it was a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. We noticed this every time we came back to the room which is why I didn't rate overall comfort very highly. When I told the reception- they said they would send someone up to spray something to fix it, but we didn't notice any difference. We didn't bother trying to change rooms as we knew the hotel was busy and we had a lot of bags but this had a major impact on our enjoyment in the hotel.

    Room was a good size and bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    The stay in Illunion hotels is always nice
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows couldn't close very well so there was some noise entering in the room

    The room was really spacious and modern. Very clean and for the price it was 100% worth it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent & Comfortable!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit away to enjoy the city using public transport.

    My room was spacious with a nice city view. It was cleaned everyday properly. Hotel entrance is big and beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Nothing specific
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest there are alot of things that I didn't like .. i asked someone to pick my clothes and iron it no one came , the restaurant closes at 11:30 I think it's a little bit early .. i also asked them not to disturb me while I'm sleeping but they did at 7:30 A.M they knocked the door more than once to attend the breakfast although i told them the night before not to do so

    Nothing specific

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    If you want a getaway from the city within the city, this is the place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alright, truth be told, the bedding was clean but it can be seen that it has served a few customers before, which is not so great. Then, the location is pretty far from anything if we are talking about distances in Madrid. No cafes , restaurants etc etc close by. The restaurant in the hotel is pretty expensive related to what is offered.

    I came to this hotel because I had a big project to work on and focus, this is exactly what happened. It is very quiet and is nicely designed for work. The price which I got my room at was great in relation to the service I received. The cafe is amazing to chill as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say.

    This hotel is superb! Great value for money. Staff is very professional and helpful. Very clean, with great location- close to metro station, 25- minutes walk from Santiago bernabeu. They have very good restaurant- opened until 11pm, local cousine and delicious food. I will definitely come back to this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Magnific
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lied, it is not 10 minutes away from Chamartin but from metro Pio XII. The breakfast was okay but not as good as it should.

    It was clean, smelled nice at the lobby, classy, silent and the room was in order and very comfortable to be at.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Location is perfect, all you need is about 10 minutes walking distance. Quality meets the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Hotel room is good, but pretty old. That is why bathroom is not so clean as we expected.

    We've spent a week in Ilunion Pio XII hotel. Location is really great, all you need is about 10 minutes walking distance. Restaurants with perfectly cooked local dish - churros and relaxed places with Jamón and beer/wine/etc on the summer terrace. Subway is also nearby, with 1 line change you're in the city center. Hotel room is good and cleaned every morning, but pretty old. We even don't need conditioner in spite of the high temperature outside. This place is highly recommended for active travelers! I guess the quality meets the price :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great The lady at the front desk was very helpful and treated us well. Big parcking space, easy to access it. Good breakfast & reliable wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Nice hotel, nice people, worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In my opinion, everything was alright. In my trips, I spend most of my times walking in the city or traveling around, and I am few hours at the room. For those hours, everything was calm, clean and nice and also, staff behavior was friendly and nice.

    My traveling to Madrid was awesome. I have selected Ilunion hotel and I am really happy about my choice. Nice location, easy from an airport and to city center by metro, close to metro station, nice and friendly staff, good breakfast and clean room means nice traveling and good memories. I highly recommended it for solo travelers or couples.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    On our way through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate at the breakfast buffet once. It was nice, but I wouldn't pay the second time for the 14 euros each they were asking. I think 28 euros is a bit much for breakfast.

    We stayed at this hotel because they gladly offered to help us put our bikes in a safe place during our stay. The rooms (we stayed twice) were very spacious and the bed enormous and comfortable along with the huge TV and loads of channels. Both times were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    AMAZING!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The PROBLEM that dissappointed me a lot was with BOOKING.COM. I booked Ilunion Pio XII from Granada to return to Madrid again. When I called contacted Ilunion PIO XII in Madrid they did not have my reservation. I HAD to call booking.com for them to fix that mistake. I had to spend extra time and money for that and I was not happy. Luckily the booking but those phone calls should be reimburse to me by booking.com

    Every thing was great at Ilunion Pio XII I will recommend that Hotel to everybody who wants to go to Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Not a recommendation unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast timings, it was until 10:30 unlike many others. Wifi in the room was really bad, I had to sit next to the toilet for it to work. No room service after 7 maybe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    A Good Night's Sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator broke but it was no ones fault.

    Today was a day of travel and we booked a simple room to rest for the night. It was clean simple and quiet. It also had a great restaurant that was right next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Convenient for train station, but perhaps not best choice for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, which we selected for proximity to Chamartin. That means it is pretty far from the center of things in Madrid, few to no restaurants within walking distance. Really makes sense only for business people working in the area, or if you have a very short layover before going in/out of Chamartin. Also, the hairdryer is seriously underpowered. It's one of those older ones that doesn't (in my opinion) do a very good job. If this matters to you, bring your own.

    Comfortable room, restaurant had good options. Good towels and pillows. :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Ilunion Pio XII, good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is perfect choice for a short staying in Madrid, when traveling for business purpose. The rooms are large, spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom shines clean also, equipped with all necessary accessories. Wi-Fi functioned without problems. The hotel is addressing more to the business segment, probably for a touristic trip to Madrid, I'd look for a cheaper option.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Great staff, value for money and only a short distance from the Metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Enjoyed our stay and nothing to dislike.

    Staff were very efficient and polite. The hotel was very well presented and clean. Its location is just a short 5-10 minute walk from the Metro, which we found easy to use.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    The room was very comfortable, the staff was very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and the location was right on the number 5 bus which took us right into the heart of Madrid in a matter of minutes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, good location for business in the north of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bigger gym would be nice, but for running outside and then doing some weights it is ok.

    Great staff, good location for business in the north of Madrid, good connection to the Airport & Downtown. Really nice Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    2.5
    Do not stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was bad. Dirty. Old. Overpriced. Strong bad smell in the room. Bathroom door broken. Broken fridge, probably the cause of the bad smell. Air conditioning did not work at all. Bed sheets were not clean. Everything was sticky. Took forever to Check-in and even longer to check-out.

    Parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Visiting Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a new hotel but the friendly staff, neighborhood, cleanliness and convenient bus service make this hotel value for money.

    This is a clean, roomy hotel, friendly staff in a beautiful safe neighborhood only 15 minutes from airport. Even though it's not located near the center there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you to the center. Buses are super easy to use. We actually preferred being away from the noise of the center. We had a nice view from our window. Also, the staff spoke English which really helped a lot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Standard
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a first room where it was a bad smelling of cigarette, and at the second claim we had a other room. The receptionist was not nice. She first asked to the room service to spray a chemical product, no better and after to confirm the bad smelling. His colleague finally gave us an other room.

    Confortable bed .and nice room service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Comfort and great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little far from the center?

    The size of the bedroom was really excellent with ample space for the child's bed (which itself was of a very good dimension). Sound proofing also first class. And the deal through Booking.com was exceptional value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Far from the center and the metro station (closest in around 10 minutes), but in 15 minutes you can find Chamartin station and go to the center by the train very fast. No supermarkets near the hotel (closest in around 15 minutes walking). There was no toilet brush in the bathroom. And I don't like that cleaning service knocking to the door everyday around 10-11 of the morning. You have to put door hanger to prevent it. I don't know why they do not start cleaning after 12. In summary it's a good hotel for some nights.

    Very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a little bit far away from the center but well connected by bus to Sol.

    Great service, they're very helpful and kind. Good breakfast. I had some problems with internet and my phone and they solved them at the same moment.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    4.2
    Reception was very kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtain rails coming from the ceiling. Washing basin was leaking so floor in bathroom flooded. Cigarette burns in chair. Bed so old that mattress was really uncomfortable. Overall feeling of room not cared for nor looked after. Definitely not worth that amount of money!

    Reception was very kind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel convenient if arriving by car and with easy access to centralocal Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some aspects of the room and corridor were getting to look a bit tired.

    Good location not far off M30 with bus stop for city centre outside hotel and metro station 5-10 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.1
    Madrid made easy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the computers in the lobby are zero to worthless , one cannot open mails , same problem in Ilunion Malaga

    very good matress and very nice breakfast , easy metro or busconnection to the center

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Good overall
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. Just a note, the promised water bottles are half a litter plastic bottles. Nothing too fancy, worth like 0.2€ in a supermarket. Not what I expected since 3 star hotels always gave me better.

    Clean and comfortable. Very good overall.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ilunion Pio XII traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: