Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Balneario de Panticosa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Carretera del Balneario, Km 10, 22650 Panticosa, Spain

#10 of 11 hotels in Panticosa

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1019 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.5
    Great place surrounded by a beautiful mountains landscape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Spa is being remodeled and the thermal circuit offered is not complete. Additionally the kids area in the spa was not available for kids less than 3yo and no entrance permitted to the existing pools for them. Only one entrance to the spa granted for my 2 nights staying. Access to the pools should be available free of charge in a daily basis as the pool is included in the hotel free services and no other pool available at this time.

    Very good breakfast and lunch or dinner (Possibility to choose between any of these two options in your half pension plan). The exterior pool of the spa was just great and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    4.6
    Excellent location an facilities marred by a terrible service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service is terrible. From the reservation, had one fourth night on waiting list and they never called me, although several rooms where available according to Booking.com. One night at 6:30PM the room hadn't been cleaned. The next night they forgot to change the towels. Dinner and breakfast is no worthy of a four star hotel. They only have a tiny restaurant where you can dine "a la carte" outside the facility. No reservations. In theory it opens at 8PM. They had us untill 8:15PM waiting outside at minus zero (this is a ski resort) and when they opened it was freezing inside. Unfortunately won't come back, because the place is awesome.

    The location is excellent. The infrastructures is very good, albeit a bit overdone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    3.3
    A recovered hotel the cheapest way you can do it , location es terrible I won’t stay there never aga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food, lack of information, location, it is very dangerous if it is snowing to go to the Panticosa town

    It is a 2 Star Hotel ! The food is awful and they need at least 30 more employees at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel and great staff but a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A lot of bar/restaurant/spa facilities were not available and we were in the Gran Hotel which meant we had to go out-side to the other hotels to get to dinner. (Not nice in the snow.) The spa area is quite tired and again a lot of the areas are closed off but you do get 10 euros off if you stay in the hotel resort. The staff did not know much about the ski areas which surprised us and were also unaware of the full bus services. They need a drying room to dry your wet ski clothes.

    The rooms were spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly despite our poor Spanish. Special shout out to the restaurant manager and bus driver who went out of their way to help us. You needed snow chains or snow socks as although the roads were cleared, if the snow was falling they were needed A free bus runs from the hotel to Panticosa ski resort at 8,9,10AM and back at 3.30/4.30 and 5.30PM. This bus connects with a free bus to the Formigal ski areas. They have an area to leave your skis overnight

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    7.5
    A good place to go and see rampent development occur and how it can completely kill a location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Soulless. The staff tried very hard but the developers who gutted the old hotel and built the new one have killed it. Also some silly rules: the swim pool doesn't open until 10am, which was annoying as we went at 9am (a 200m walk each way). Still closed at 10.15am when we went back. Gave up on it.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but better for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast and dinner are horrible. And the options nearby are far away. It is a family hotel with thousands of kids around so definitely not for romantic stays..

    the suit room is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    6.7
    Short stay from which we may not have seen the best of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is run down and not what we had visions of.

    The hotel has a lot of promise, however, is somewhat 'tired' and in need of some renovations. The in hotel dinner was very good value for money. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel specialises in weddings - so if you are looking for a quiet stay maybe check before booking, having said that we were there when guests were arriving for the wedding the next day and we loved watching them all greet each other etc.

    Beautiful setting - very relaxing. Staff were very welcoming. Clean and tidy modern hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    5.8
    Big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems like the place hasn't had any maintenance for some time: our room had stains on the wall, the curtain was partially broken, some towel hangers missing. In the corridors we could see some digits missing on several room numbers.

    Great location: surrounded by mountains and next to a lake. The staff was super friendly, unfortunately it does not make up for the poor status of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable stop over for GR11 - but book in advance for a deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stop over on the GR11. So - en-route, paid up front to get a good deal and large, comfortable room & great shower. Good walking from the door - up to higher peaks and a refugio and to continue the GR11. It's a bit soulless for such an amazing location and eating options were limited - hotel buffet, a la carte or the Albergue. We did the buffet - my partner enjoyed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    7.1
    Great views, but unprepared staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the check in and at the phone support were really unprepared and unfriendly. The room was comfortable, but not very well maintained (e.g. TV was not working properly, the walls and ceiling a little dirty and with some stains, the shower wall support was not installed properly).

    The location is great, very short distance from Formigal ski stations (20km). Amazing views from the mountains and some options of restaurants and bars conveniently located inside the resort. We have tried the Italian restaurant (very cozy, with a fireplace) and the Restaurante El Lago (a la carte, good food). It is also available at the resort a small ski area (as we were beginning it was very good to practice), and a spa with an external heated swimming pool with a fantastic view of the mountains, an amazing experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    5.0
    great location and ambient, but basics like internet, heater and communication poor or did not work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No internet neither telefone connection at all in the whole resort for one day without letting us know or offering solutions or an idea for how long that will stay. Room card did suddenly stop working. Plug did not work, heater did not work one day, could not find a way to switch of the aircon, hard to shower without flooding the whole bathroom. Although the whole hotel was almost empty hard to negotiate a later checkout time.

    The rooms and breakfast place was confortable regarding lightening, colors and views. Breakfast was good a big selection of pretty healthy food with great views. The spa was much smaller than expected but good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    6.7
    Great location good quality/ price ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buffet is crowded and low quality..to avoid. The room do not dark enough at night .

    The location is amazing and the hotel from outside is impressive. The spa is good even if it needs some refresh mens. . The restaurant à la carte is a good option.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    4.2
    Don't stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything aims for being a high class hotel, but this objective is missed by far! Noisy dining room, people queuing every day to be let in (and sometimes even out) for breakfast and dinner, personnel very busy, but struggling and totally overwhelmed by the number of guests, several areas of the hotel are not used or in need of renovation, cheapest food, several times ran out of particular dishes, rooms and bathrooms not 100% clean - definitely no recommendation!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel in an nice location but 2 years ago our experience was better....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Standards are (slightly) declining in this hotel (staff shortage?). Every morning we had a discussion about our breakfast being included or not (due to an error in their computer). In the restaurant a single waiter was responsible (for about 10 tables); he couldn't cope so a lot of patience was needed.

    Nice location, helpful staff, extensive breakfast buffet, quiet rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was poor, quantity over quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor, quantity over quality. Coffee was undrinkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    6.3
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Location, architecture, buildings, food, spa and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, architecture, buildings, food, spa and swimmingpools

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.6
    Situation, breakfast and diner quantity, balneo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Diner dessert.

    Situation, breakfast and diner quantity, balneo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful access to Pineta valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little expensive in comparison to similar in the area

    Great meal, great room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay at Baños of Panticosa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoy the spa very much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    LA COMIDA DE MEDIA PENSION MEJORABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 4 nights

    LA COMIDA DE MEDIA PENSION MEJORABLE

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely break in the heart of the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building and rooms were getting a little tired

    Staff were super helpful. Wonderful location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    9.2
    amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pillows. too soft. even with 3 it was imposible to confort the neck.

    amazing place! friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    3.3
    Bad place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No English language TV Meals too late.

    Terrible food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2015

    9.2
    We were on a strenuous trek and this was the only place that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on a strenuous trek and this was the only place that had a vacancy at a week's notice. It was definitely a cut above the mountain refuges and occasional 2-star hotels that we had been using. The resort is a bit of a ghost town in September and there is little to do so we spent most of our time in our room, avoiding the rain. The room itself was spacious and WARM - in an unseasonably-cold September, this was the only place we had stayed that had turned on the central heating. Lovely. The wi-fi works very well throughout the hotel. For dinner, we used the restaurant on the mezzanine floor and it was an all-you-can-eat buffet with a mixture of international food and delicious local specialities. The breakfast was in the same place and again it was a decent buffet affair. One of the receptionists was a Spanish gentlemen who did not speak French or English so we struggled a bit with our very basic Spanish but a second gentlemen was Polish and spoke several languages so we were able to sort everything out OK. This was a smart place to stay but they didn't mind us turning up smelly with rucksacks.

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2016

    6.3
    Good big and comfortable rooms, superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad food, expensive swimming pool, lack of services

    Good big and comfortable rooms, superb location

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2016

    8.3
    unique location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the building is getting a bit obsolete

    unique location!

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom was in bad conditions. Food had not good quality. Bartenders were not professionals.

    Location

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: