Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Continental Barcelona 3 stars

La Rambla, 138, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#283 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1322 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Good central position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like paper plates for breakfast. Needs more variety in food.

    Good central position. Liked having balcony and rooms were quiet even on busy street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Very small rooms - good breakfast but crowded - great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one room with bath tub - we chose this room - it was small and not too comfortable. Would not select again.

    Very small rooms - good breakfast but crowded - great location but old hotel - staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional customer service, with great food and an awesome location! Will return for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and service was top notch! If you needed anything, they were right there to help! Great breakfast in the morning and the late night snacks were great too....all these little extras make this place a wonderful find in the area!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.0
    Memorable stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location The complimentary 24 hr buffet was an excellent touch. The helpfulness of the staff We were upgraded to a room with superb view of La Rambla🤗

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Barcelona is in a excellent location, very close to...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Barcelona is in a excellent location, very close to the aerobus to & from the airport. Rooms are a little dated but excellent modern bathroom facilities, air-conditioning etc.Were upgraded to a balcony room,read some reviews about street noise but found the balcony door to be sufficiently sound proof to block out noise & got a goodnights sleep.Breakfast buffet is good with excellent coffee & coming back from a hot day out they have excellent top quality refreshing beer, wine & soft drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an older hotel that was spread over several floors. Since it was older there was no key card, we were given instead actual keys attached to a big piece of wood. When you exit the hotel you need to give your key to the front desk when you come back you pick it up and then go to your floor and wait to be buzzed in. The process is a bit cumbersome. The hallways of the hotel were dated and had a strange musky smell. It's good there was an elevator but it was very slow and not very reliable. It stopped working for a day while we were there.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and spoke English. They were very helpful when I got sick and needed help to get to the hospital. The room itself was clean and smelled fine. The bathroom was recently upgraded so the facilities as modern. Water pressure was decent. Bed was clean, had no problems falling asleep. The location is great. Right next to placa catalunya and right on Las ramblas. Walk 30 seconds to metro stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Best location along Las Ramblas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just 3 min walk from Airport shuttle bus station at placa de catalunya and is also in front of metro station. This hotel is along Las Ramblas street and you can enjoy the view from terrace. Room is spacious and clearn. My room is inside of building and has pretty balcony. Silent and sleep well. There are many cafe and Restaurants around here and you can go to port(the end of Las Ramblas) by 15-20 min. pleasant walk. 24 hours open buffet is provided every day and this helped me to feel at home. Staffs are all kind and welcome with smile. I recommend this hotel strongly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and a hotel with Spanish character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Difficult to locate the hotel and the floor at night. The lift buttons don't indicate whether they're working or not, and looks a bit shady. The hotel's character takes time to grow on you. We accidentally walked into some floors that had wall paint peeling off so wasn't a pretty sight 2. The beds aren't great, poor back support. 3. The air conditioner needs maintenance, cuts off even though temperature feels warm. 4. No complimentary water offered in the room. We had to buy, the water at cafeteria tastes highly chlorinated.

    1. Location is perfect. Overlooking the La Rambla. 2. Breakfast has a decent spread, and available until 12pm. We enjoyed the sit out in the small balconies overlook the La Rambla and the rear garden setting. 3. Great staff. We could also leave our luggage after check out for a few hours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    WHEN WE GO BACK , TO BARCELONA, WE ARE STAYING HERE ! BOOK EARLY SO YOU CAN GET A STREET SIDE VIEW .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING :)

    Location was great ! The people working were fabulous ! The free breakfast was the best i have ever had in 30 years of travel. I have never seen this . All day, All night there were snacks AND FREE DRAFT BEER !!! Incredible !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing staying at the Hotel Continental in Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely staying at the Hotel Continental! Staff was very friendly and the 24h buffet was simply an amazing surprise! The best location and high cleanliness! We will go back for sure! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.3
    Frustrating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and doors closing and opening seemed to echo in the rooms, with early risers and maid service. The buffet is mis-represented in the photos. Same food offered with a limited selection and i question the freshness of the food.

    Selection of beverages was good, including beer and wine. Nice private courtyard to eat and relax. Being on the busy street did not bring any loud noise to the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Super location in the heart of the city, clean rooms, helpful staff!!! Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't have any complaints about this hotel or the staff.

    Location was GREAT!!! You walked out the front door and you were in the heart of Barcelona for shopping, architecture, hop on hop off buses, parks, restaurants and city landmarks. The staff was very helpful and all spoke English. The 24 hour buffet was a plus. Would stay and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Barcelona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    This is the best hotel for the money along La Rambla.. hands down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have incense placed around the facility which is too strong.. perhaps a fresher scent would be better.

    Everything they offered and more .. will stay here again when we return..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Really nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice and helpful staff. Luxury at the middle of las Ramblas and 24 hour free buffet with Wine, ,beer and a varied breakfast. This was our 2nd time at this pink hotel and we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel for exploring Barcelona. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No faults at all but a kettle in the room would have been nice.

    We would highly recommend staying at The Hotel Continental. The staff are friendly and welcoming especially Viviane who was so lovely. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and the view was fabulous overlooking La Ramblas. The room was a good size and the modern bathroom included a monsoon shower and wall shower. The décor of the hallways is a little quirky. There is a tasty 24 hour breakfast/buffet including free beer, wine, soft drinks, coffees and frozen yogurt. You can eat inside or outside in a secluded garden-like seating area. The hotel is located just yards from the Metro, open top bus tours and the Aerobus bus stop. There is a big supermarket almost opposite the hotel. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing !! ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved everything about this fabulous hotel. From the huge comfy bed ..to the balcony , from the 24 hr buffet ...to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff . Absolutely 1st class ..and made my partners surprise trip for his 50th absolutely fabulous!! .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over-powering smell of air freshner in communal areas was awful. Lift very old and shaky. The way in which I was spoken to (or rather shouted at!) by a member of the reception staff was appalling. I will never stay here again.

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    It’s realy 4star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,24hour buffet with beer,wine,every hot &cold drinks,kindly staff,we recieved at 9am and they give us too early our room with extra breakfast without any extra charge!! Everything was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and friendly when we checked in the receptionist noticed from our passports that it was one of our birthdays so later brought us a bottle of bubbly which was a lovely surprise and very thoughtful of them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location and balcony views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit dated and had plastic storage dressers. Funky smell also.

    The location was great. The balcony overlooked the Ramblas. Decent breakfast. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Underwhelming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the downside, the rest of the building was very tired looking, it had a fusty smell to it, and the breakfast buffet was very disappointing.

    The bathroom was new and super clean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    I had stayed at the Continental in 1992 which was my last visit to Barcelona. It felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast although perfectly adequate was boring. It was always exactly the same. We were there for 7 nights and nothing ever differed. The omelettes and poached eggs were always cold (although there were microwaves) but I would have appreciated something different from time to time.

    The location was perfect. After a day out, it was a pleasure to come back to Placa Catalyuna and only walk a few steps to our hotel. The staff were so helpful, all spoke excellent English and were able to help with directions and suggestions at all times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Great little hotel with great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The use of plastic for cutlery, I wasn't sure whether these were recycled or not, so felt guilty using them to eat.

    The all day availability of snacks and drinks (although not many options and they were cold) was much appreciated as after a long day of walking. Location was great and within walking distance to some of the main spots of Barcelona.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Excellent.I am reconmending to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything.

    We had a fantastic time .I traveled with my two daughters.The staff on reception were amazing and so helpful.It was my second time to hotel continental,and I will return again .The all day buffet was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Everything, the staff was great, the food was very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the staff was great, the food was very good and deversifide. We had paid breackfast and they give us all inclusive. Very very nice hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality of breakfast and generally of food in the buffet.

    View, location, helpful staff, comfort bed. frozen yogurt in the buffet. Really nice idea the 24 hours open buffet for free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Short break between Christmas and New Year exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice room with comfortable bed; excellent shower and bathroom. 24 hour buffet a real bonus. Excellent location close to Placa Catalunya airport bus stop and central attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Great experience would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in my room probably needed replacing but it was still way more comfortable than others that I have slept on in hotels

    Great location and exceptional staff. Room was a great size, bathroom and facilities were excellent. The receptionists were so friendly and helpful, Vivien in particular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Modest hotel but very central and price worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby building, with hotel in the upper floors. Very basic and modest self-service breakfast. Pretty run down furniture in the lobby and other common areas.

    Very central, at the corner of Placa Catalunia, at the beginning of La Rambla. Rooms renovated recently and are nice. Rate was very good for expensive Barcelona

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Location is great but will not stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit disappointed with the room. Water was leaking from the ceiling straight onto the bed. Was offered a room ( supposedly the last one available) where there was a constant loud noise coming out of the air conditioning, not really nice to sleep.

    The location is great, right on La Rambla! Staff are nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    Poor state of the hotel is compensated by perfect location. Average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old looking and old fashioned hotel, the photos on the web sites have no match with the real property

    Perfect location, caring and service minded staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Exciting experience.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    I had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The hotel location is perfect, just 3 min walk from the Aerobus stop, on the famous tourist attraction street – the Bamblas- , walking distance from most of the attractions. My room was on the second floor with a balcony that over look the Rambla, even though it was November, but this street stays alive till late. The noise from the street didn’t reach me – again it was November, a bit chill, but I assume it would be very noisy during summer so its better to choose a higher floor. The room was spacey, with electric kettle and on top of that a microwave which by the way was very practical especially when the hotel offer 14 hours free snacks. What they call it snaks can actually called light meals : cheese, egg, bread, jam, honey, coffee and all type of drinks and in the afternoon; pasta, rise and meat balls. The ladies on the reception are very helpful, cheerful and they make sure to let feel that you are among friends, Thanks you Vivian and Tanya you were wonderful. I do recommend this hotel strongly. Unforgettable and comfortable time. Will stay in this hotel again and again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wallpaper / hallways are a bit outdated but doesn't matter

    Amazing location! Plaza Catalunya Metro is literately on your doorstep as well as many buses. Airport shuttle is on Plaza Catalunya, like a 2min walk from the hotel! Various shops all in walking distance as well as the Hard Rock Cafe around the corner. Good connections to other places to visit like Park Guell :) Very friendly staff and really enjoyed the all day buffet; it was nice to relax downstairs over a coffee whenever we came back from an outing. Also great to have breakfast or just take a break on the patio - very cutely decorated for Christmas with a tree and lights :) Thank you for a great birthday weekend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming and comfy hotel with bonus 24hour buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the lift out of order the reception was about 6 floors above street level!

    The outdoor seating at the rear and the balcony seats over looking Le Rambla were excellent. Free 24 buffet with beer, wine and soft drinks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    We love this hotel. The location the little balcony over looking the ramble and the 24 hour buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a little dated but beds are very comfortable and there is a bath and a shower which is unusual in 3 star hotel

    Hotel is in the very heart of Barcelona.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location. Great staff. Inclued food, taxi station out from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Using the elevator was a bit of a problem for us. Old and with a mind of its own. But they do have an elevator which was a positive.

    A historic hotel (not new) but in most cases well maintained. Food and drinks (coffee, juice, wine) available on a buffet 24/7, which was a nice touch when we had to leave the hotel or returned last from tours. Front desk were helpful with directions etc. Hotel is located on the upper end of La Rambles. Our room had a balcony over the avenue. Were originally concerned about noises from the very active street below but turned out to be a non issue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with an unbeatable location and tremendous staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! My stay was fantastic.

    I loved the patio - it was the perfect place to have my breakfast. The location can’t be beat. The staff were amazing and so helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Centrally located on La Rambla, popular among cruisers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location, location, location - right on La Rambla with a nice promenade in the center of the street with various vendors. The much-appreciated 24/7 buffet always has a good variety. Most food kept cold, but 2 microwaves available to heat up food, as well as a toaster. Warm egg dishes for breakfast, yogurt, a variety of breads including gluten-free. Fresh fruit was always available and salad was there to go with lunch and supper. Good selection of condiments.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was dated, closed unexpectedly and is due for a refurbishment

    Excellent location, bonus was the 24 hour complimentary buffet and beverages.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    I really liked the personal service, and a 24 hour buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view from the room was not very good. That is the only complaint.

    I really liked the personal service, and a 24 hour buffet and beverage choices. Location was fantastic, and the hotel was really cool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous Location and 24h FREE buffet !!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More vegetarian options for breakfast and buffet would've be appreciated. 24h buffet gets a bit repetitive if you're planning to stay longer than 2 nights.

    Upon arrival, we opted for an upgrade(room with Balcony facing the Las Ramblas) for a nominal price, which was completely worth it. The staff were kind enough to place a bottle of Cava after learning about our wedding anniversary. 24h free buffet (frozen yogurt, beer, coffee) is a complete bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Great stay with amazing staff, lovely buffet and patio and an unbeatable location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I had a wonderful stay.

    The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The buffet was perfect and I loved starting every morning with breakfast on their patio!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable hotel in a great location with a wonderful staff and food available 24/7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The process of taking the little elevator to the front desk, getting the key then taking the elevator to the floor was my least favorite thing about the hotel. Going thru the doors on each level was an enconvienience but I assume it was for safety reasons.

    Vivian at the front dest was wonderful. She made our stay so much better. She is a gem! There was also a guy helping with luggage (forgot his name) who was wonderful. 24 hour food was the best! I would stay there again every time. Perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff went above and beyond making sure we were comfortable with our accommodations. The selection of the food was very good/tasty. The location was the best.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of people begging on streets which was sad to see,but you get this in any big City

    Staff were very friendly 24hr buffet was great free beer and wine. Would definitely stay here again Barcelona is beautiful city . We will return soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, clean quiet room, but 24-hour buffet was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would rate The 24-hour buffet not worth any extra money for this hotel. Very limited selection. Bland, basically tasteless food. No variety. Beer ok, white wine not so good. With the exception of breakfast, we ate all our meals elsewhere.

    Fast internet service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great friendly bouquite hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring your own wash cloth, Americans use wash cloths in the shower.

    This hotel is great value for your money! 24 hour food bar and drinks including beer and wine. Very clean and service is great. Right in the heart of town, you can walk to everything. DO NOT take a yellow cab to and from the airport. The cab drivers are crooks to say the least! Take to airport bus for 6 euro, very easy walk to hotel, less than one short block to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Despite the limitations for my husband, we generally enjoyed our stay. the location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The access for anyone with mobility issues is limited. The step up into the entry area of the hotel from the street and lift access are poor. Once inside the hotel (Reception and buffet are on the 1st floor) anyone using a mobility scooter or wheelchair would have to use the lift to move from reception floor to other floors and only one small lift serving the entire building...very long waiting periods at busy times. The accessible room with special shower seat and grab rails could be massively improved by the addition of another grab rail close to the standup area of the shower. Although there is a 24 hour buffet it involved too much getting in and out of the lift to fully utilise it. It would have been good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room....a microwave and fridge were provided but had to go down to the buffet area to get a coffee to take back to the room. There were very limited English channels on the TV and BBC world service was never available during our stay. We would not stay here again mainly because of the limitations on mobility for my husband.

    The open buffet was useful at times. Thought the breakfast choice was limited. The staff were always very pleasant .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small with no view (376).

    Staff were very helpful. They were happy to print out flight boarding passes. There is a pleasant courtyard with seating so you can linger over free drinks/ food. Good sized bathroom and excellent shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    The self service buffet was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise of the street was easily heard, but what could you expect when you live next to the busiest street of the city... I couldn't control the wind speed from air conditioner so it was noisy, had to sleep withouth it. Plankets were very thin (common problem at south europe), so had to ask extra planket (which we got, so no problem with that).

    The self service buffet was great. Location of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    If we go back to Barcelona, that's where we will stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely place to stay with courtyard where one can enjoy coffee, drinks and snacks all day and night. Hotel offers a 24-hour buffet. Food is adequate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location on the Ramblas. Comfortable room, balcony. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a double bed as opposed to 2 singles. Hotel Is a bit pricey

    We enjoyed the balcony and people watching on the Ramblas. Great location , near Barcelonetta, the Gotique and Public Transportation. Comfortable beds. The breakfast and 24 hour open buffet was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Over all 3 days were pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all except for the dirty sheets the rest of property was very clean.

    Our room had a problem with sheets not being clean (looked like they were not changed from previous guest had fecious on them) but they quickly corrected - the night desk person came with clean sheet but we had to help change the bed) they gave us a very small discount. We think it should have been more but that was all the manager gave us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    An excellent location to explore Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor and the rooms were noisy as you could hear the next room having a shower as if it was in your own room, this actually woke us up.

    Excellent location and the buffet although basic was a nice tough. The beer, coffee, soft drinks and ice cream were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    great little hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely great hotel right on La Ramblas. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Good shower. Bonus was the 24 hour buffet which even included wine and beer! Breakfast was adequate, especially considering it was included in the already competitive rate. Good wifi. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    If visiting Barcelona , look no further than this hotel for a all your needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    totally satisfied with everything

    Cosy friendly hotel in the perfect location. Would definitely recommend and return to. The 24hr buffet included was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really everything was fine. Front desk was not able to call taxi for airport on day we left ... Unusual, this is always done for us.

    Excellent location. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Great location, good price, friendly staff and reasonable breakfast and 24 hour appetizer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator broke for two days - on a weekend and though we walked the stairs it makes it difficult for the elderly. The building houses two or three hotel names and therefore the reception /eating room in one room and their rooms above two more floors.

    Friendly staff, very clean and cozy hotel and room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant location, not expensive, excellent staff, very clean and comfy, free food/wine all day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No shelving in the bathroom for toiletries and no drawers in the bedroom for undies, etc. Wallpaper/carpets a little dated but that didn't detract from all the good points.

    Location was fantastic on La Rambla. Beds very comfortable and sheets soft and clean. Bathrooms have all been updated in the last four months and were large and modern with great fittings. Food/drink and even wine and beer all day FREE - great! Staff very helpful and cheerful, especially Paul and Gemma.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location for walking to central attractions and buses and close to the main bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet flooring and it felt like it needed a cleaning to be fresh. Since it was a single room I don't know how often it is used.

    Breakfast included with a nice cafe area outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    The perfect location on Rambla.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The perfect location on Rambla. Friendly personal on reception. Good buffet is served 24h. Vivien, Tatiana, thank you a lot for hospitality, friendly atmosphere and Spanish lessons :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Very good in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakdown of the lift most of the time. Offering the same kind of food on the two days of my stay.

    The terrasse if the hotel and the balconies overlooking Al Hambra street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    only stayed there a few days mostly out sight seeing so was ok for short stay very handy position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    orange juice and coffee bad quality

    the position very central and the balcony off the room nice view to the main street La Rambla and the security of the building for the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    needs a lick of paint

    very central, room was in need of refurbishment, staff excellent,free snacks wine & beer,good internet, great location, loved the balcony looking onto the Rambla

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was close to shops, restaurants, bars and public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was close to shops, restaurants, bars and public transport. Very clean and comfortable room, 24 hour snack bar was beneficial. Would recommend this hotel for short stay in Barcelona.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Staff and location are a perfect match for a stay in Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Available food was convenient and tasty. Free beer, wine, goodies, coissants and other food choices available 24/7 was wonderful. As this was a Feuropean destination we anticipated that the food would be different than from what we were used to in the United States. Overall, our stay in Barcelona was thoroughly enjoyable. We would stay at this hotel again in the future. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Uncomfortable rooms in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design of the hotel and the room is outdated and cheesy, it's too much. We booked a regular double room and it was very very small, the bathroom needed a refurbishment, all the elements in the room were of low quality and ugly. The level of confort is very low.

    The hotel has an excellent location, in the city center, it can be very easly reached from the airport. Except the location, there is no other reason to choose it. They offer a 24h open buffet to the guests, I noticed that it was appreciated by the others. It includes food and drinks. That can be convenient and add value for some guests. Anyway the quality is average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, food, ice cream machine, wine on tap, coffee machines, location, staff, wifi, room usb and outlets, housekeeping, etc. Everything perfect. I will return soon and will recommend hotel to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing, and brilliantly close to all you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Name of Hotel could be mentioned on the outside as taxi did not know it and number was not visible (enough)

    The location, cleanlyness, staff and the 24 hour buffet was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Had a fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too keen on wallpaper!!!

    Excellent location. Staff very friendly and efficient. 24 hour buffet a great idea Well worth the money. Outdoor eating area was great in a large city situation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restroom had no exhaust fan.

    The Hotel close to tourist sightseeing locations. The staff were very accommodating . When we got there the airconditioning is not working but they gave us a electric fan then the next day they changed our room. This time the airconditioning was working great our room was number 143. The food is okay . Our room was quiet .the location was in down town central to all interesting sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Location and 24hr beer buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor bit chintz but who really cares about that when location is this good.

    Location, views from room balcony over La Rambla, spacious family room, 24hr free buffet including beer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    The staff was really good and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor, decoration is so outdated,all those carpets and wallpapers made the place look old. The odor they used in the rooms and the corridors was such a stiff and bad choice of scent.

    The staff was really good and helpful. And the location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Fab location, safe and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the parmentier biscuits, unlimited soft drinks and frozen yogurt on the free buffet- especially after a long hot afternoon ! Air con was great bathroom and shower fine, great location right next to a Tax i rank as well!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    The perfect base for exploring Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This hotel is in the BEST location for tourists - it is on Las Ramblas, with many tours leaving from Placa Catalunya only some 100m away. The room was clean, comfy and quiet - having unlimited air-conditioning was a huge plus, as this doesn't seem to be the 'norm' in Europe. The hotel offers a free 24hr buffet, which was a nice touch! Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Continental Barcelona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: