Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Convento La Magdalena 5 stars

Urbanización Santa Catalina, s/n, 29200 Antequera, Spain

#5 of 21 hotels in Antequera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 585 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There never appeared to be sufficient staff on duty and the attention to detail was poor. For example breakfast started at 8am but that was when the staff arrived and the drinks machine was not ready, the fruit was not put out, and there was no milk. In addition the bowls of accompanyments to cereals such as nuts and dried fruits were not replenished except by request and the raisin bowl was not refilled during the whole of the 5 days of our visit. The bar was rarely manned and if dinner was being served it was a case of waiting until a member of staff could be freed up from the restaurant. We did not see a member of management during the whole of our stay and this is clearly resulting in lack of attention to detail and unacceptable levels of service meaning that the hotel does not live up to its 5 star rating

    The surroundings of the hotel were absolutely stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, on arrival we realised that two large group celebrations where underway, the public areas where crammed, dirty glasses littered any available flat surface and the noise of disco music and shouting was a constant companion in our room which seemed to have a direct feed to the disco underneath. The staff, when you could find someone not running to serve somewhere else where clearly stressed out and distracted which made a one point getting a drink a time consuming task. I mentioned these concerns at check out and was promised a reply from the hotel manager which a fortnight later has yet to arrive. My thought are if the hotel wants to sell their event space and cram the hotel with their guests then maybe they shouldn’t sell hotel room space to people unconnected to the events simply to maximise profits.

    We had read the reviews and paid a good price for our room and after a series of long days trekking in the Sierra Nevada we where very much looking forward to some luxury The hotel itself and the room didn’t disappoint. However, on arrival we realised that two large group celebrations where underway, the public areas where crammed, dirty glasses littered any available flat surface and the noise of disco music and shouting was a constant companion in our room which seemed to have a direct feed to the disco underneath. The staff, when yo could find someone not running to serve somewhere else where clearly stressed out and distracted which made a one point getting a drink a time consuming task. I mentioned these concerns at check out and was promised a reply from the hotel manager which a fortnight later has yet to arrive. My thought are if the hotel wants to sell their event space and cram the hotel with their guests then maybe they shouldn’t sell hotel room space to people unconnected to the events simply to maximise profits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately too little staff employed. We had a precious room, but unfortunately we were bothered by a continuous and loud (air conditioning?) hum, and other disturbing machinery noises. Wellness and pool lack a bit of maintenance.

    Top drawer hotel in magnificent scenery. Great restaurant. Nice staff. Spa bath in our very spacious room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Bed linens- plastic!! We couldn’t sleep because all night something were scratching us. 2. Noise outside the room! 3. Bad brekfast and even worse dinner, not worth at all

    I liked outside look of the hotel, I thought it will be also magical inside of it. Nice staff and good view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the Magdelana is just perfect, the hotel is just so relaxing and the staff are just very helpful and pleasant. All with a great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The address on Booking. Com is about 10 minutes away in a residential street. This needs correcting. 2. Air conditioning could not be controlled by thermostat. Still pumping out hot air when set at 15c. Had to open window at 3am and then we froze and had to shut it at 4am 3. Not a 5 star hotel. Interesting though.

    Nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress lumpy and uncomfortable for a 5* hotel The restaurant could have had a more christmassy atmosphere with candles and decorations

    Reception staff and waiting staff very welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mirror was repaired in bathroom. problems with water temp. in bath and shower.had to wait at dinner as computer did not list seating we arrived before others but had to wait for service. why is computer necessary to seat at dinner.

    quiet surroundings and views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really dissapointed by the place. For a 5 stars hotel, it was a total mess. The staff has really intended to make our experience better and we are grateful for their help but the falicity really doesn’t deserve a five star rating. The inside of the building was blend and very cold. The jacuzzi in the spa facility was cold, our hairdryer in the room was broken, one of our bed lamp didn’t work and one of our door didn’t open (we fortunately had two) because the card reader battery was dead. The meal we ate there was also a disaster unfortunately and to this point it almost looked like a bad joke. It was the most expensive and yet the worst meal we had in Andalusia mostly because all of our dishes were way too salty and it spoiled our whole meal. All in all, we really felt like the director of the hotel didn’t really care about his clients as it is clearly lacking atmosphere and all the little details that make your stay memorable in other places. A real deception.

    The building is beautiful on the outside. The rooms are very spacious and the music channel is nice. The staff is very friendly and very available. The breakfast was good with a lot of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa - Turkish sauna didn't work. Laminated floors all warped and old. Massage rooms cold

    A bit disappointed as this hotel is rated a 5* and it definitely wasn't a 5*!! Beautiful building, good staff but very dated. Needs a 're vamp if you advertise it as a 5*

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower areas near the pool require better maintance.

    Location was good, the breakfast was excellent. We were offered an upgrade room but choose a standard room with garden access to have the sun. We had a couple of issues with water but the hotel responded quickly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite five stars. Could do with a bit of a refit in the rooms and grounds.

    Exterior of the building was beautiful. And situated on a beautiful site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More lighting in the bedroom was needed

    We really enjoyed our stay I this converted convent in the hills but not far from Antequera. We often stay in Paradors and this was overall at least as good, at less cost. Unlike some Paradors, its not over-restored. The downside of that of course is it's more difficult to maintain and was in parts in need of a little maintenance. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, and the spa and heated swimming pool were brilliant. Antequera is also very interesting to visit, in particular what they call "dolmens" but are more like small partly underground 6000 year-old temples.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside of the building needs serious refurbishment and cleaning. The staff is not really trained. There is no comfortable place to stay after dinner as in November the evenings in the mountains are cold and you cannot stay outside. The place probably lives from big events like weddings where nobody cares on details.

    The hotel building from outside is amazing to look at...the nature next to Torcal is beautiful. The swimming pool has a great view ( would even be better with cleaned windows ) and nice warm water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor pool works very well but the saunas and shower area should be modernized.

    The hotel is an old convent that gave us a pleasant atmosphere of the past. However the beds were excellent and the room were comfortable. The staff is very correct and accommodating, both at the front desk and the restaurant. Excellent buffet breakfast and room service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our week-long visit to Spain we only stayed here one night. Unfortunately we had picked a night when there was a huge function with well over 100 guests. The staff were mush more occupied with them than the "ordinary" hotel guests, so getting a drink at the bar took ages. We then went in to dinner. The wine was good and reasonably priced and the starter - cold garlic and almond soup - was amazingy different. Then came our main courses. My meat was cold, my wife's potato was cold. We sent it back and when it didn't make a quick reappearance we decided enough was enough and left. The waiter tried to encourage us back but we declined. We sat in the bar and finished our wine but when I went to get a nightcap the barman was nowhere to be seen. We gave up and went to bed. It is fair to point out that we were only charged for our room and not for any food or drinks, but staying at a 5 star hotel we rather expected a five star meal.

    This old convent is truly beautiful. The bedrooms are huge, as are the bathrooms. There is a nice indoor pool and sunbeds outside facing the mountains. The function room, formerly the chapel, is lovely, with religious chanting music playing softly in the background. The bar area is nice and all staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much.

    A real gem of a find in the middle of "nowhere". It's a great place just to relax and unwind with terrific architecture and very friendly professional staff. We were just there for one night en-route between Granda and Cordoba and thought we take a look at El Torcal & Antequerra neolithic dolmens. Both were quite amazing in different ways. We'd booked two double rooms but were given a large suite with two doubles off a common area - very nice indeed! Restaurant served really top class food with a great view. Swimming pool, sauna, turkish bath all included - good fun!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    My husband and I was celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and booked the hotel for us and our parents, we had a suite and our parents double rooms which where all located together, our parents had a separate lounge area to share however we all had enough space to enjoy privacy during our stay. The staff where friendly courteous and very helpful, the evening menu great for all of us and the breakfast too. The spa an added bonus for us all to relax and enjoy. A special occasion made even more special 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival one of the women on reception was not smiling or very welcoming. She warmed up a bit after I spoke with her in Spanish. We always had to wait a very long time to get served at the bar.

    Amazing building. Rooms were modern, very nice, clean, comfortable and spacious. Great bathrooms. Spar was nice and clean and no extra charge. Sports massage was brilliant. Food excellent and restaurant staff happy to store and serve up a surprise birthday cake. All staff bar one woman on reception very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of working jacuzzi, saunas

    The Turkish sauna and sauna were not working. The jacuzzi in room did not work, which we paid extra for. Upset and lady at desk was very un sympathetic or helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very pleasant stay, everywhere was very peaceful and beautiful countryside and convenient for Antequera and all the staff were friendly and spoke English

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quiet, very few guests. It seemed the staff were a little less attentive because of this. The breakfast was ok, the cooked food wasn't great.

    Really nice building, loads of character. Nice pool and facilities overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet and peaceful countryside, with lots of excellent walks. Massive room with many extras and comfortable beds. The restaurant is not too expensive, the food was very nicely cooked and presented, although a little overseasoned for my taste. Very good wine list, with prices to suit most pockets. The hotel itself is in a beautiful old building dating back to the 16th C, with wonderfull architecture and wall paintings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was all good

    A beautiful hotel in a lovely setting only 10minutes from the town of Antequera. The rooms are very comfortable and some have their own garden! The restaurant is excellent with a good menu and breakfast was really good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we are already looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting, explanation of room facilities (i.e. the built-in radio speaker system), an in-room kettle should be provided.

    The view onto the gardens was great, the restaurant / bar staff were very attentive and the room comfortable and spacious, if a little dark.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a repaint and spruce up in bathroom. Used glasses were rinsed and left in the bathroom to use again. Breakfast was basic, as was the bar food. Resturant food was disappointing, also did not reserve the table I asked for which was disappointing as it was our wedding anniversary. Servers were nice but English was poor. Disappointing spa, no fitness area. Overall a nice hotel but not 5 star.

    Location is stunning. Building has been beautifully restored. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Spa bath and shower were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in the addition building was dark depressing and dirty. The bathroom had sewer gases backing up into it and smelled like poop/sewage. The sink was broken, the shower flooded the floor, the furniture was chipped and stained and there were lots of cigarette butts on the patio and vegetable garden outside. The blanket on the bed was not covered or washed. Really gross.

    The setting was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water in the bathroom at 23:00. Intra-communication (telephone) was not working. Breakfast was average and not to the 5-star ranking. Value for money is low.

    Mr. Rafael who was on duty at the reception during the night was excellent and managed to respond to the problems. The building is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access road was a little run down

    Location was remote but perfect for our purposes of visiting the local wolf park. A beautiful hotel with lots of charm and character. High ceilings and well appointed spacious bedrooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location bit remote. Without any street lightning the route to the Hotel was very dark and unpleasant.

    Room was very nice and big. Car parking free of charge at the side.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So, three (minor) things that could be improved: 1) More hot food for breakfast, 2) The water in the higher rooms is a bit slow to get itself going sometimes, 3) The spa and pool are a little tired

    If you are looking for a stunning hotel in a peaceful location, but close enough to a beautiful, old Spanish town, and don't want to pay the Earth for it, then look no further. I have stayed here a few times before and loved it, and I will definitely stay here many more times again too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get cold water to have a bath. No reply when continuously calling reception for help. Spa needs updating and steam room didn't work, but smelly. Tea station- no hot water or clean cups.

    The bedroom, the views, warmth, shower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Info says it is 5km from town. The hotel is actually much further. Not that easy to find.

    Beautiful building, well converted in a wonderful setting. Very helpful staff. Good food. Great views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is quoted as being 5 Stars Spa Hotel and the price paid reflected this, however it was a big disappointment. "The Spa" was not really a spa. We can say it was a heated indoor pool with Jacuzzi in need of repair and maintenance. The sauna and steam room did not work properly and we had to ask for these to be switched on which in any event did not work properly . We were unable to have a massage as the masseurs are from out of the hotel and they did not have appointments for the time requested, in fact we did not see them at all and the place for massages was shut all the time. :( The herbal tea facilities within the heated pool area had no hot water in order to make these. There was no staff manning "the Spa" so we could only complain at reception. A young couple with a baby arrived shortly after us in "the Spa" and they decided to go into the pool with their naked baby, not showering before and not wearing the requisite pool cap but there was no one there to tell them off!!!! The room was clean, had lots of natural light but we had a bulb missing on the bedside table, there were four spotlights which were not working in the bathroom and the lampshades in the room were burnt and in need to replacing. The water pressure in the bathroom was very low and therefore it took ages to fill the spa bath. The hotel is said to have a piano bar, there definitely was a piano and a bar but at no time the instrument was played and no other entertainment provided this was during the weekend when I suspect the hotel has most occupancy. It is a pity the hotel maintenance is so low as it could be wonderful place in which to stay. I would rate this hotel as a 4 star hotel with a heated pool. We definitely did not get value for money a great shame!

    The location was really good and as expected. Food at the Hotel Restaurant was excellent and so was the service both of the staff at reception and at the restaurant. The room was clean and had lots of natural light.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool area run down. On the Sunday pool area colder too and as raining, roof was leaking in a lot of places.

    Beautiful location, lovely atmosphere. Great value for money. Food excellent. Good Chef and lovely helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad smell from clogged pipes, poor heating system, partly no hot water in the shower

    very spacious, well decorated rooms, excellent restaurant!!!!! very good services also afterwards, forgot clothes which were sent to me at home, excellent service!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light bulbs out in lounge and bedroom areas, burnt lamp shades on wall lights. Cobwebs on walls in lounge Spa facilities not good. Not warm, no lockers, toilets didn't flush, no lights in pool area, steam room not working, Sauna not switched on, had to wait fifteen minutes to heat up.

    Beautiful surroundings and ambience Bar food well priced and good value Breakfast huge! lots of choice, maybe a little too much given at the table

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was being painted and maintained. Some of the doors didn´t open and close properly and the turkish bath in the spa didn´t work.

    The breakfast was wonderful! Fresh squeezed orange juice and made to order fried eggs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a better lounge area very drafty were the bar is..we would of thought there would be dressing o Gowns in 5 star hotel.

    The room was very nice and bed very comfortable.lovely hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a continuing problem with room key but always dealt with, with a smile. The Christmas music was appreciated but maybe a Christmas tree in the reception could have been a nice touch. No complaints at all.

    We had a wonderful Christmas, excellent food, great room and the location was perfect to walk our dog in the beautiful countryside. The Spa was the cherry on the top! Will definitely return. The staff were charming.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more light in the bedroom.

    Beautiful, peaceful location, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a junior suite with a comfortable bed, sofa, mini fridge and TV. The restaurant offered a good choice of food that was of a high quality and reasonably priced. There was a lovely log fire, perfect on a cold, wet November night. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit difficult to get there - a long and narrow road through hills and mountains: it is better to take a taxi from Antequera. But if your travel by car, this disadvantage turns into a real advantage - you will get one more adventure for free; just study the map and plan you route in advance.

    This is excellent 5-star rural hotel in a thoroughly renovated medieval building that was a monastery in the past. Very good breakfast in the restaurant with a breathtaking views to the surrounding landscape. Clean and originally decorated 2-room apartment with a fireplace. This is quite unusual experience - the hotel we will remember for a long time!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was muzak playing in the outside courtyard and inside the hotel which spoiled the tranquility of the atmosphere. We asked them to turn it off, which they did. We pointed out that people go there for peace and quiet and don't want to listen to canned music.

    The hotel has beautiful suites with orginal brick floors and authentic features. We had a shared living room which was very spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent and the view from the dining room tremendous. There are paths around the hotel for easy walking and exploring.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service in main bar by reception was very slow but staff pleasant. When room was cleaned no toilet rolls provided. No light bulb in bed side lamp in room 202 room very dark Sauna and turkish bath not working and no towels for pool provided

    Food was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast but the evening meal in the restaurant was a disaster. Not enough staff, it took two and a half hours to get a main course, which was an expensive, beautiful flavoured, but luke warm steak and half an hour for a desert.!!

    Fabulous hotel in the most beautiful countyside, although very difficult to find!! Beautiful spacious suite and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa does not quite live up to the hype. I would not call it a spa, but rather an area with a pool and they call in a masseuse when a massage is scheduled. The sauna and turkish bath were both not functioning.

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful! It is located approximately 10 minutes from town, in a very quiet and serene setting. The service is top-notch, and the breakfast offered was simply fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable, and the bathrooms are large and very clean. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The table d'hote food was not to the same standard as the a la Carte menu.Disappointing and very salty. Music in the public areas a bit intrusive.

    The bed room was spacious with beautiful views. Fabulous location for peace and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately they advertised that they catered for allergies in the restaurant but they had no gluten free bread.

    We liked the old fashioned style of the hotel and the relics of the convent have been sympathetically resorted. The scenery was spectacular. The staff went about their business quietly and professionally and the food was of a very high standard. It was also nice to relax in the pool. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities were out of order during our stay.

    Room very comfortable with plenty of space. Very cheerful staff. Excellent breakfasts my husband loved his cooked breakfast from the lovely lady in charge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In many respects the Convento la Magdalena is first cousin to a hotel in the parador network. It has a similar feel to it; reception and rooms are akin to those of a parador and some of the facilities - pool and parador for example - more than measure up to those of paradors. We were there on a half board basis and the supper was good without being in any way outstanding. The dining room - which breakfast next morning proved to offer a splendid view - was, in the evening, a somewhat gloomy affair. The hotel's situation is a striking one - well outside town and entirely isolated and depending on ones reasons for choosing it, this could be a plus or a minus! On a fine September evening it was close to idyllic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adress of hotel is totally wrong in booking.com confirmation! Quality: . Personnel does their best about various problems (below) , but the hotel management was not around and on the phone they showed to be insensitive: 1. Rooms with a too thin wooden door in between and a barking dog in the next room. Plus we could litterally follow our neighbours conversation through this door and observe their light at night. The adjacent bath rooms were equally noisy. 2. Shower gave hardly water, 3. A too narrow and not illuminated long private road to the hotel . 4. Sauna in wellness space not operating, no towels, cold tea.

    Abundant parking space. A nice view over the mountains.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb venue. Views were incredible. Pool with outdoor area was lovely. Very clean accommodation, great breakfasts and evening meal in restaurant. Great value all round! Would highly recommend and if in area again would definitely stay here. Antiqurra interesting place to visit too we found the underground car park, just as you come into Aniquerra was very handy and not expensive. Dinner in the bull ring interesting too

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in the junior suite was poor, with failures in water supply on 2 occasions. Both manager and under- manager were "on holiday" and unavailable to remedy the situation.

    The food was excellent and restaurant staff also excellent. Room was spacious and views were lovely. Reception staff did their best and were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not happy about the Hotel claiming that they have a gym, sauna and spa etc and this was not the case. There is a swimming pool but not clean. The sauna and 'hot room' did not work and needed attention. No gym at all. The spa - never seen any door open in the three days we were there. There are areas on around this beautiful building where disused items were lying and the top terrace was unused and very dusty with a broken glass on the floor. What a missed opportunity for this lovely location and beautiful main building.

    The breakfast was brilliant. The front of house staff were brilliant but very short staffed. The front staff spoke very good English and they helped wherever they could. Very short staffed in the bar area. We ordered a meal in the bar and it took one and a half hours before we received our meal - it was cold.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needed a more welcoming bar to sit in, preferably with more outdoor space, in which to have a drink whilst perhaps admiring the view. We did not feel welcomed when going into the bar, and did not like dirty glasses left on a table, so we drove into town instead. Loud music in the courtyard when arriving mid afternoon seemed incongruous

    Location was great and views lovely, comfortable bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were fine. Staff great. Cleanliness of pool area was very poor. Sauna and Steam room bearly worked and flies in the swimming pool. Worst of all the windows were filthy. Wi-Fi is also very poor. Impressive building but disappointed on the inside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was s little out of town and the staff did not really do enough to recommend to us the great spots of Antequera. The cooling in the rooms was not adequate, a warm sleep.

    The hotel is as we thought in its age and reference to its origin as a convent and we liked that. The rooms were spacious. The breakfast was very good. It was within an hours drive to many famous places like Córdoba and Ronda. The pool was good. A pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was very helpful and nice, particularly at the reception. They arranged tickets for El Caminito del Rey, gave us directions to help us move around, arranged a snack when we couldn't take breakfast. Breakfast was excellent and dinner, although with only four options, was adequate and provided a balanced Mediterranean diet. Antequera is a lovely city, worth visiting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - well worth the visit!! Will return!

    Lovely location with mountain views - spa ok and lying outside late evening in sun great. Very calm environment and staff friendly. Dinner excellent and good price. Historic building sympathetically restored. Near to golf and UNESCO dolmens

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The balcony was really just a pavement walkway along the row of rooms (used by other guests), with a wooden bench. The atmosphere was a bit lacking

    The hotel is in the country, with views to El Torcal and over the countryside. The rooms was large and well-appointed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor upkeep needed here and there but this did not take from an overall very positive experience.

    Food, staff, character and location. Cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little dirty.......water was lovely but in the corners there was a lot of dirt,

    Lovely room and a lovely location for a quiet few days away,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    People being rude to the staff.

    The hotel is set in the heart of the countryside with views to die for. The building is historic and well preserved. It is ideally located for visiting Seville, Granada and Cordoba. Would have to say Cordoba is the most beautiful place we have ever been to. We do find it sad when peoples expectations are too high and they forget that Spain is going thorough a very bad time financially, and this does show in the investment in 5* hotels across the region we have stayed in. The hotel is not perfect, but enjoy the surroundings, and the matter that a light bulb is out, or there's a crack in a tile, fades to insignificance. If things are wrong, then be kind, not aggressive in your approach to the staff, they are doing their best in most difficult of times. What you pay for night there gets you value for money, if you want a real 5* then pay 10 times this at the Savoy in London, be realistic. The food, we couldn't complain about it and the views from the dining room are fabulous. Enjoy the hotel, enjoy the surroundings, enjoy the staff, you'll have a great holiday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior suite was dark and poorly situated. No views from room. Lackluster view from outdoor space. Separate twin beds can't be connected. We downgraded to a much, much better room on the northeast corner with great light, views and a large bed.

    View, surroundings, breakfast, bathroom, bed, pillows.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave at 1 am in the morning as the noise from the wedding party was unbearable and we were not charged for our room. What a terrible end to our anniversary. The hotel and staff were great though, it was a shame it was totally ruined for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely beautiful and recently renovated historic convent hotel in rural Andalusian countryside often used as an upscale retreat for weddings, business meetings and small tour groups

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concept a little bit strange - focus unclear... - what the 5 stars stand for is also not reproducible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was peaceful but a long way out of the centre of Antequera.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great atmosphere. Ideal for walking. Beautiful rooms. Great comfort. Nice pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very understaffed. It is not a 5 star hotel.

    Excellent food and setting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good, but not great dinner.

    Great breakfast, blazing fast internet, interesting property, quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not the best I have eaten in Spain

    The staff were very freindly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is unclean. I wouldn't stay there or eat there. We had booked 2 nights and left after 1.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely gorgeous location. Quiet and romantic

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Convento La Magdalena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: