Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Convento San Roque 2 stars

Campo de las Monjas, 2, 48800 Balmaseda, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Balmaseda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    A beautiful building but a non guest centric poor hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist did not give a warm welcome, not even a smile, and was very abrupt, The room was clean but small and dark with an old fashioned bathroom. The breakfast was mediocre at best, not a great choice. The wifi was intermittent. The town has some interesting buildings but is not an attractive place to stay.

    The building is incredible being 350 years old. The restaurant was excellent as was the service there by our waitress, although we couldn't charge the meal to our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Well located to access Bilboa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a triple room. The added bed was to say the least, simply not up to any standard.

    Nice experience to sleep in old converted convent. Nice internal quad and really safe, easy and free parking. Nice little town to experience between the cities. Easy, safe, free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but hotel not worth the drive to get there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a bit tired and rooms could do with an update. The restaurant offered limited service and was not great.

    Well situated hotel in a stunning countryside setting. Walking around the environs was great, and the local people were incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    A great little hotel with history and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a miscommunication (due to my terrible spanish I am sure) as I thought I had booked a table in the restaurant but it was closed that evening and we had to eat tapas instead. Otherwise a great stay.

    This is a great little hotel that is really well placed within the small town, close to the centre. The building is beautifully restored with an amazing sense of history in the old timbers and staircase, worn away by the feet of the Monks who once inhabited it. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the buildings thick walls keep the temperature at a good level. On our arrival, the guy who checked us in could not have been more helpful. He arranged an extra room for my son without fuss and worked really hard to ensure we and other guests were well served etc. We would have loved to have dined in the restaurant as the menu look really good but sadly it was closed on the evening we stayed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had good parking and was dog friendly. Was also an amazing find as the building was steeped in history. We only had a bar meal which was good so can't comment on the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were incredible, location fantastic and the convent is just stunning. Great for children and dogs if you have them, but we would go back for a romantic weekend too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    We liked the idea but not the reality of our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the idea of having to drag our luggage through stones as the front entrance was closed? Also, the rooms were dark . One of our lamps was busted . We had a tiny window and no air conditioning. My daughter’s toilet even though it had the seal that it had been cleaned was in fact , not clean!

    We liked the idea that it was a convent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful place to stay in the sleepy little town of Balmaseda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is right next to the Balmaseda bus station. Everything in Balmaseda can be reached on foot, and there are opportunities for hikes nearby. The heating was on during the night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay in the old convent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All meals require advance reservation. Since no one serves an evening meal in town, this should be explained to all guests. The chef is very good. You'll enjoy the meals if you ask in advance for them.

    We had the suite which was perfect. Picture perfect decorations. The bath is updated and spacious in an adjoining room. Located in the old city. Couldn't be better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel steeped in history...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, perfect for what we needed.

    A lovely hotel for our first night of a motorbiking holiday in Spain. Ferry was delayed but staff were accommodating of our late arrival at 11pm and even served us a much needed beer! Lovely breakfast and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Most enjoyable and would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had trouble connecting to the WiFi.

    Very pleasant surroundings and atmosphere. Free parking on site was a pleasure.Good restaurant,Good location within walking distance from centre of town and places of interest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Good stay in a charming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall fine. Was expecting a bit more comfort in rooms but essential is here. Nothing to complain about.

    Lovely atrium and close from the heart of the village. Breakfast was of a good quality and both restaurant and bar are on site: really comfortable when travelling with kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    The place is amazing, very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a crib for our baby but there were no sheets on it :/

    The place is amazing, very nice and clean. Beds and pillows are super comfortable. Bathroom is very nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple room has a folding bed for the third person, also despite we ordered a room two weeks in advance and asked about a quiet side- the only room we were suggested had an loud kitchen ventilation block right under our windows, so nights were not as quiet and comfortable as we expected. There is no balcony, as advertised.

    Very good hotel, staff is very friendly and did all their best. Wifi was free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Great place with atmosphere to stay near Bilbao, convenient for the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one person around when we checked out so a little long winded when checking out 11 guests. I think she was multi tasking and preparing breakfast as well. Some of our group complained of having rooms above a bus station so a little noisy in the morning but as we were up early it wasn't too much of a concern.

    I travelled to the property with a group of friends on motorcycles. We arrived at the property on a Monday afternoon as it was a convenient stop over for our ferry in the morning at the port of Bilbao. The hotel was a converted convent and was very impressive and olde worldly. Being a Monday night it was difficult to find open restaurants so the hotel arranged for a chef to come in and prepare an evening meal for eleven of us. We had a three course meal with wine included which came to just over 10euros a head, great value and a big thank you to the staff for accommodating our request for an evening meal. Very grateful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    It was an old convent re-modeled into a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior patio also serve as part of the bar. If your room is next to the patio it can get quite noisy in the evening until the bar close (which is around mid-night)

    It was an old convent re-modeled into a hotel. The look is pretty awesome. The room is not so big but comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful atmosphere old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The enterance from the car park is very difficult if you have a suitcase on wheels because you have to carry it in some places and the front door to the hotel is very far from the car park.

    It seemed we missed out by not eating at the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    beautiful historic building, sensitively converted into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful historic building, sensitively converted into hotel, friendly staff, free wifi in the room, the possibility of buying breakfast, wonderful Basque town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Lovely bedroom (at a very good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the place needed a bit of tidying up; a bit of weeding in the car park, perhaps?

    Lovely bedroom (at a very good price!). Friendly staff. Good meal at restaurant and a jolly good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful little hotel in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unclear on Booking.com if breakfast was available or not and reviews didn't make it any clearer. Breakfast was available when we stayed and was spot on.

    Lovely old convent building that has been converted in to a small, friendly, charming hotel located in a lovely town. Nice continental breakfast with ample choices.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Peace and Tranquillity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to dislike about this property.

    The view is to die for and the swimming pool really inviting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    City location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    City location. Old convent sympathetically restored.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Great place. Only sorry it was just for one night and didn't get to sample the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of the taxi from Bilbao

    Felt you were staying in a castle out of Game of Thrones Best fresh orange juice ever tasted!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    We would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra cot in one the rooms was uncomfortable.

    Our stay was enchanting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Very clean rooms and excellent staff stunning hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menus not in English

    Lovely hotel stunning inside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Good for an overnight stay, no longer !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yet again another hotel with outdated slow Wifi !

    Stunning 17c building, wow factor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Good for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to do and to see in the town.

    Breakfast area very cosy. Nice playground in front of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice historic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    Great town and great building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, flooring throughout, small window

    Great town and great building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Great venue, comfortable clean room, peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great venue, comfortable clean room, peaceful. Good base to explore Balmaseda and surrounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.5
    Accommodation in a unique setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation in a unique setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel and atmosphere of the town good size room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, old convent beautifully converted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was advertised and menus displayed: but by the evening they had decided it was too quiet (it was out of season), the restaurant would not open,and there was only a very restricted choice available. The postres were so restricted, the cake was put in front of us, with the words, "that's all there is..." To be fair, they had few staff, who did their best; and it was not an expensive meal! But it should be possible to inform the clients before they make decisions about dining, that the arrangements had changed. Leaving menus available was misleading. This is not the only place to be like this in November, it should be said.

    Lovely hotel, old convent beautifully converted. Big rooms. Car park adjacent. Very comfortable. Staff very hard-working.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.3
    confortable room nr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    some problems with wifi.

    confortable room nr.17 floor 1 in an really historical building. wifi is free, nobody ask us to pay for it. elevator is present for reaching the upper floor with bags. private big parking. no noise from inside or outside (50cm rock walls). very good for families and all car tralevers.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.1
    beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    had a room facing onto a very noisy - early a.m. - road. reception a bit slapdash. the room was tucked away in a corner and looked like it was usually a 'spare' room.

    beautiful building.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    5.0
    Staff unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff unhelpful. Dreadful music ruined atmosphere of beautiful building.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    6.3
    Accommodation fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dining room closed in evening. Food in bar/cafeteria poor with very little choice.

    Accommodation fine

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    stunning building and easy drive from Bilbao airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    stunning building and easy drive from Bilbao airport

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: