Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural Convento Santa Maria de la Sierra 3 stars

Carreterra del Tranco, Km 39.8, 23478 Arroyo Frio, Spain

#9 of 28 hotels in Arroyo Frio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing although perhaps a little more for breakfast.

    Just superb. The hotel was beautifully decorated. Very atmospheric and comfortable. The dinner was just lovely. Whilst breakfast was a little basic we will definitely visit again. We have found a little gem in a beautiful area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite far away from the main road (3.5km) down a single-track road. The double bed was small. (double). Breakfast was typically Spanish (toast/olive oil/tomatoes/ham/jam) with nothing else offered and only available from 9am, preventing an early start for walking/hiking before the heat. The evening meal was a set menu with no choice, although the food was good for the price. Expected an old convent conversion but this appeared to be a new-build in the style of a convent.

    Beautiful grounds. Very Peaceful. Nicely furnished with old-style furniture to suit the convent-style building. Vey friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice small hotel in the natutal park of Carzolas. Ten minutes in car from the hotel we had a nice12 km walk at the Borosa river. The staff mainly speaks Spanish, but they were so helpful and kind, so it didn't matter.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi system. Every time you moved from one area to another or returned to the hotel, you had to go into the hotel website that was very slow, my wife with her IPhone gave uo

    It's remoteness :it was as if we were in the middle of nowhere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some of the crockery was chipped and the fly screen in bedroom was torn

    We liked the peace and quiet of the location and the cheerfulness of the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool was closed

    Staff was very good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with jacuzzi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remarks

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Large and comfortable room. Well cooked homemade diner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    El personal y el hotel en general

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inedible main course on set menu with no other choice.

    Beautiful Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Quiet, charming hotel. We've been here twice already and we will keep coming back. Food is nice, homemade.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner wasn't good.bed was small.

    Nice atmosphere, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was, as described, continental, but typically Spanish I.e. fresh orange juice, and tostada with tomato or jam, plus coffee or tea. No cheese or ham or sweet buns. Note that there is no choice of food, only set menu for the day. Not a problem for us as we enjoy most food, but others might want to note this fact. We would have appreciated a cereal and yogurt alternative.

    Situated in a beautiful and secluded place. Good welcome. Meals unadventurous but nicely cooked and tasty. Soups very good. Nice walks in area. Comfortable lounge area with wood fire. Pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Couple

    We picked this hotel for its restaurant and we were looking forward to a lovely meal. When booking for Sunday night we were not told the restaurant was closed on Sunday's but on top of that we were told that you could not even have room service at all apart from what the lady at the front desk could put on a plate such as cheese!

    Bed size and comfort

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We feel that breakfast of toast and jam EVERY day with no alternative was uneventful and should be varied. Also the evening meal was only offered as Memu Of Day, but was good quality.

    The location and the area. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Hotel grounds kept very clean and planting natural.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No choice of menu at all you more or less had to eat what they gave you never seen this before in any hotel .We had a power cut when I was there I think at least they should have provided as with a candle or a torch I was so frightened as we were the only ones staying in the hotel at that time my boyfriend had to go and ask for a candle as it was pitch black.Then we had to make our way to the resturant with the candle and eat what she put in front off us.

    The location was beautiful, it snowed when we were there and I had a lovely log fire in my room which I paid at in extra charge.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: