Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cortezo 3 stars

Doctor Cortezo, 3, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#231 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4805 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    the hotel itself was alright, but considering the price you would expect something a bit more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the air conditioning was working but it was still a bit hot in the room - the lighting in the room was pretty bad

    the location is absolutely amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central location is fabulous for the Plaza Mayor, Sol and access to three metro lines within a 3 minute walk of the hotel. The staff were very accomodating and welcoming. We felt our stay was great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    In the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators are quit old. The breakfast dont have much varaity but still is ok

    The location is amazing. Just in the middle of Every thing. I didn't need any transportation to visit most of the major attractions in the city center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, we could hear everyone who passed our room and even hear the conversations of the people in the room next door.

    Great location and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Rooms were not very well cleaned, despite having cleaners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were not very well cleaned, despite having cleaners every day. Had other peoples hair throughout the room and bathroom. There is a nightclub next door and as my room was front facing... I was woken up several times throughout the night and at 6am the streets were still filled with drunk, dodgy looking people. I didn't feel safe leaving in the morning for early tours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location but not great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room and bed were both very small and only bar was in the breakfast room and generally closed at night as it was not used (no comfortable seats/couches). Outside space was just a part of the roof. I requested breakfast be included but it turned out the small print only stated it was available and we were charged 11 Euros per head per day which we had not expected. We would have used a local cafe which served much better breakfast had we known it was not included in the price. We basically paid 11 Euros each for bowl of cereal or tinned fruit plus tea and toast.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Right in the Heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a complainant just an observation - the TVs didn't have USB ports.

    Free upgrade to a Junior suite!!! ~Thank you Hotel Cortezo The room was amazing. The location is perfect for exploring Madrid - even though the street outside was bustling all night long, once we came in, we could not hear a thing! the air con was amazing - Madrid was so hot. Its close to number of Metro stops!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good place to visit Madrid during 5 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good quiet place for resting after being outside for the greater part of the days ! But keep windows shut (keep noise out) ! Breakfast is good and people are friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location - close to the major plazas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite was very comfortable, but the only external window was facing an internal light well that actually received very little light! The room was quite dark as a result.

    Brilliant location - close to the major plazas. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast good value, with an excellent range of gluten-free choices. Really appreciated being upgraded to a “junior suite”.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay, its a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar seemed to be closed each time.

    Roof terrace perfect for relaxing, plenty to eat at breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location, great value for money. A few shops n bars around the hotel if you wanted to stay local.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Privileged location, high cost than benefits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast expensive, staff helpful.

    Good localization in the central area of ​​the city, parking by, old building, comfortable beds, reasonable structure for a rest after a day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    FALSE ADVERTISEMENT--photos are deceiving and rooms are rather disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm bummed to say that when we arrived into the room, it was nothing that we expected. Pictures are very very deceiving -- rooms are poorly light, bathrooms look NOTHING like the photos, cracks and liquid stains were all over the wall. Perhaps those photos are from the executive suite? Either way, it was really really disgusting. ):

    Great location! Staff were super friendly, very accommodating, and happy to help!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    All you could reasonably expect from a good value city break hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No kettle in room. And that was about it really.

    This hotel is in an excellent location for a short break in Madrid. It was plain, comfortable and functional. It had a small (but not crowded) roof terrace with sun loungers offering wonderful view across the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient to theatre area and Centro Madrid. Heaps of cafes and bars and parking underneath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good but they have a great outdoor area on their rooftop with good views that would make a fabulous area for a summer bar with light snacks rather than just chairs up there.

    We needed to store two big suitcases with them for 1.5 weeks while we travelled south of Spain with lighter luggage and they happily obliged. It was very much appreciated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities have to be upgraded! The bath curtain is almost on my face when standing at the bath tub during shower, too small bath tub and the installation of the curtain is very non-sense! The water tap is too hard to be closed, cause wasting water. Bed sheet with stains..... The noise of a bar with band show from the next building / just next to the room wall every night can be clearly heard what the singer sings during 19:00-23:00 in the room, please be prepared if you want to have sleeping earlier than 23:00, or you can sing/dance with it till 23:00 then have a good sleep:). It is not a big deal to me, but if you have an early flight and are a light sleeper, it is not recommended. :(

    Location is at the center of the city. Staffs are polite and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable rooms and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C was fair not strong enough to cool the room well enough. Water heater did not work one evening but the quickly fixed it.

    Comfortable rooms and great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel in the centre with great service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were quite dark One day there was not hot water in the shower

    Location in the centre Very good breakfast Rooms equipped with air conditioning, fridge and minibar, TV, wardrobe, hairdryer, towels, shower gel, soap, hair comb, body lotion Rooms were cleaned every day Silent hotel Terrace on the roof Good service at the reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, safe good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very welcoming, and the idea of cleaning de lobby’s floor while you stand there and need to move around? Not very nice.

    Love the location and the parking next to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Recommended for location and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers close to entrance, smoke enters when doors slide open. Roof terrace looks better in pictures but nice city view and unfortunately smoking allowed on terrace which bothered us.

    Great location- easy walking distance to main sites. Staff flexible about getting us an earlier room since we took in an early sleepless flight from the US. Breakfast had excellent variety of cold & hot items & very filling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    we wouldnt go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is very tired and could do with a make over

    the location was good but having to walk through the vagrants on the street opposite wasn't nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money ideal for short stay. Quite a small hotel though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back of hotel. It was nice and quiet but rather dark inside and lights had to be on all the time. The frontage of the hotel isn’t inviting but once inside everything ok.

    Location excellent. Breakfast very good. Rooms comfortable and very clean,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV has no satellite channel so could not watch even Laliga Spanish football league matches

    room was good capacious, bath room was better, there was mini fridge in room staff very much cooperative location is excellent i find some halal food nearby the hotel Metro Station very close

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location, not hugely expensive and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internal room so felt a little like a cave. Disappointed we had 2 singles beds after requesting a double.

    Very convenient location. Beds comfy and room very quiet. Disappointing we were in an internal room so view was very limited. Basically kept the curtains closed at all times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced hotel in touristic area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed consists of twin beds. Perfect when traveling with a friend, we could easily separate the beds. Not as nice when traveling as a couple. Thin walls, people talking as well as water running in pipes will accompany during the entire stay. The gym/fitness room is a disaster. Overall overpriced (stayed for a weekend in May).

    Decent hotel. Sope and body lotion in spacious bathroom. Good rooftop with sunbeds and showers Did not have breakfast, plenty of bara and cafes in the surroundings. Good location for first time visitor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Ac sucked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac sucked. It was so hot. It would have been nice if they explained that to get the electric to turn on you had to insert the key card. Even when electric was on AC never cooled the room- and yes I was using it right- it just didn’t cool enough . Window off the hinder when I tried to open it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    I would highly recommend people NOT stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel butts up against a live theatre. The three nights we were there there was a show titled The History of Rock & Roll!!! From about 20:00 hrs. until 23:00 hrs. (23:30 0n FRI) there was a rock concert. So for the visitors that didn't wait until 21:00 hrs. to go out to eat there was no sleeping. Very, very unfortunate we were not advised of this prior to checking (and prepaying) in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    We which we would have stayed longer.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The property has great location, the staff was great and the room was very clean and confortable. we loved walking around the area as there's everything we needed in walking distance, stores, restaurants and activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Central location, very close to plaza mayor and Puerta de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very small and there is only one lift.

    Central location, very close to plaza mayor and Puerta de Sol. Crowded area but very quiet at night. Staff are also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast selection was limited, but it was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    2.5
    Hotel Cortezo
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken air conditioning, next to a concert hall with loud music playing until late at night, uncomfortable bed, windows don’t open, not worth the money at all! I rather stay at a hostel!

    Location close to train

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I must say that I was in there for only a half day stay. The staff at the reception ( check-in) was extremely helpful, friendly and gave me all the right tips for my short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.5
    Never stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst place I have ever stayed in. If you're looking for a hotel to completely tarnish your stay in Madrid - this is the place for you! If you're looking for a place to get no sleep whatsoever - this is the place for you! If you're looking for a dark room, with a bathroom from the 18th century, a hair dryer that takes half an hour to dry your hair, barely enough floor space to put your suitcase, and uncomfortable beds/pillows - this is the place for you! I have never experienced anything as awful - and I got completely done by the 10/10 reviews - I have no idea who these people are. We had to move rooms THREE times. Firstly, we were put in a room with two single beds pushed together. They moved us the next day (after a noisy night). We hoped the next room would be quieter but it wasn't. At 1.30a.m the couple next door were being loud, playing music etc, we asked the front desk if they could kindly ask them to be quiet, he begrudgingly came up, (but had initially refused.) By 2.30-3a.m the noise had started again- they were doing what couples do... we asked the front desk to help but he said he couldn't as the couple were allowed to do that. We explained we weren't asking him to ask them to stop, just be mindful, but he refused - so essentially he prioritised their pleasure over our sleep - we were stunned. Next morning a gentleman moved us (again) but by this point we were just plain fed up. We also had to fight to get a refund for the night we incurred no sleep - we eventually received an apology from the manager but upon leaving he admitted he had not disciplined/spoken to the employee that was very rude to us I urge you to read the negative views first= far more accurate. As one man said, hotel from hell!

    Nothing! The location was good, but that meant nothing when the hotel is so poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location, walking distance to most attractions in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place has already had its best years. Can be quite noisy in the evening as there is a theatre / club right next to it.

    Good location, walking distance to most attractions in Madrid

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great value, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was a bit ineffective - we were there in March and the room was hot! Cafe/bar never seemed to be open/manned other than for breakfast so would have been great to be able to make coffee/tea in room whilst getting ready to go back out!

    Brilliant central location - you can walk to just about anywhere from here. Good buffet breakfast available. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Will return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a single lady it was a bit confronting to see all the people outside the charity kitchen opposite.

    I asked for a quiet room and was given an internal room and slept very well. The room was very clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. The location was excellent for walking to all the local sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    2.9
    I would never like to stay in at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small, the decor seemed like has never been touched to clean or repair. No proper ventilation in the room.

    Nothing to like as the room had no air and we could not sleep the whole night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Bar was a little hard to know if it was open or not.

    Location perfect. Room clean and comfortable the pictures where a true picture of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice. Our bags were locked up for the day we were leaving so we knew only receptionist had access to them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was right in the centre so it was close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been another mirror in the room as it makes it tricky to get ready at the same time if the other person is in the bathroom

    The hotel was right in the centre so it was close to everything!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location! Very clean room with a big bathroom. I was nicely surprised to find a little toothbrush, toothpaste and even a hair brush, as it's 3 star hotel. I think Hotel Cortezo is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Good base for a short city break. Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Great location near the centre of Madrid close to metro stations. Good size comfortable room, lovely buffet breakfast. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position in the old town with all the major sights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating radiator on all the time so had to balance with air conditioning.

    Excellent position in the old town with all the major sights and buildings in walking distance. Comfortable beds (twins, no double) and our room had shower and bath. Staff very helpful. Good breakfast, continental plus scrambled egg.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small thing but important- the pillows were very stiff and not comfortable for sleep otherwise- everything was perfect

    Best Location!! Very nice Staff and great service!! Highly recommended, will defiantly come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    We booked through booking at the price of 65euro BB.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were somehow small and not very comfortable.

    We booked through booking at the price of 65euro BB. For this price it proved to be higher than our expectations. It was clean, had good service, reach breakfast and polite personnel. Plus it is in the center of the old city, very close to Plaza Mayor and Plaza del Sol.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Madrid 15-17 February 2018
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selected on Booking a upper levels room but the gave me initially on the first plant, and also selected double bed and the room have two single beds.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, like the furniture, clean enough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the toiletries, very cold room, the heating wasn't doing its job. Too expensive for what it had to offer

    Nice location, like the furniture, clean enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    low than expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bit dated room is much smaller (~10-12 sq.m) than it was promised by booking.com (~19 sq.m). I needed resonably big table capable to acomodate at least a laptop. Based on photos in booking it seemed quite possible, but in reality I had to remove TV to free space for 15'' laptop. The fridge hidden behind the table doesn't add comfort when working.So, the hotel is strongly not recommended for those who need to spend some time online. I registered a complain to booking.com about mismatch between photos on the site not being any close to the reality. Hotel denied any charge and proposed upgrade to another room (subject to surcharge). Neither did booking help. I still see the same misleading photos in the hotels profile.

    the room was just ok, no different from majority of hostels around. Price was a bit higher.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    The location was really great with easy access to walk to many neighborhoods within the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located next to a broadway venue and we could hear the orchestra playing during the show of the Addams Family every night for several hours from our room.

    We location was really great with easy access to walk to many neighborhoods within the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    I like the space in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the space in the room...despite rooms are bit old fashioned overall was good. Excellent breakfast with lots of pastry /which i fancy/ good location..although quite few homles...raw sleepers just opposite hotel. In general would come back there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please never pay in advance for your room . Please check it first and if it do not meet your exceptions and photos which are attached , go to reception and be prepare that you will spent your time and nervous that solve it . Manuel Gonzalez Ruiz is the worst person there , he will never help you . I hope one day he will become more politely with guests. Thanks God , there were other guys.

    Location is perfect .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Do not stay in this hotel if you want to have a good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom is still from the 1980's and the bath was even broken. The bedrrom walls were paper thin so that you can here every single thing from the neighbours. The so called gym is literally a converted cupboards space! Forget it!!!

    the only positive thing about this hotel is its situation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very helpful, I had alot of luggage and they stored it for me for ten days, helped me get it to my room on return and put it in my taxi when I left. The young man on reception was excellent and very good at his job.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. Was happy with the stay.

    The beds were comfortable, bathroom clean and the shower very good. Breakfast was very good, enough choice, presented well. Hotel was in a good location but had the benefit of being quiet at night. Would recommend everyone to visit the rooftop, the view is stunning. Would gladly stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Amazing location and room cleanliness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle/coffee/tea in room

    Location location location. It is right in the middle of Madrid (Puerta del Sol) so there’s always something going even on Sundays and late night. My room was very clean and had a bath. The property also has a rooftop where you can see the sunset! I’d stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom very small, one can not even stand in front of the basin. Very small room, window could not be opened, only blanket no quilt. Noisy.

    only location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.0
    Dusty, old and definitely not charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a junior suite and the room reminded me of an old hotel room that is well past it’s years of glory. The room was dusty, the couch has dirt stains and the room was obviously not cleaned before our arrival. The toilets were clean but the bed linen and rest of the place triggered a severe dust allergy ! This ensured that we spent very little time in the room. They have no room service or even a kettle to have a cup of tea!!

    The location was the best thing about the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    Will definately stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 4 double rooms and paid the same price but they varied a lot from single beds to double beds, space and bathrooms

    Bed very comfy, situation of the hotel, reception very helpful and staff cheerful, top terrace lovely for views. We didnt try the breakfast but looked very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Definitely more positives and very few negatives. Would stay again and recommend to others on a city
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from room. Very dull due to location in building.

    Rooms were spacious and clean as were public areas of hotel. Breakfast choice was excellent and quality was really good. Location of hotel was fantastic, ideal for getting around Madrid on foot, short walk to Plaza Mayor, Puerto del Sol, Gran Via, etc. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was not free and it needed previous reservation.

    The room was big with an amazing bathroom, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.6
    It was nice but if we needed help we would rather asked a stranger on the st than asking the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very unfriendly my husband asked the front desk how would i get to thd sirport and the recepinist didnt bother to answer he pointed to a taxi flyer was infront of him then my husband asked him about metro he said iam busy now you have to wait and obviously he wasnt

    Location is close to the square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    A nice place downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window opened to a inside rooftop that made the thought of keeping it open at night impossible. And adjusting the heat down/even off still left the room quite warm.

    Good location. Nice staff, held our bags as our flight arrived hours early so we could walk the city before checking in. Nice rooms, comfortable desk to get some work done. And again a really good location to explore the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Clean,friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the rooms were quite dull and there were no english channels on the tv

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.Our room(216) was very spacious,with seperate lounge and 2 showers and a bath.the hotel was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have king size bed in a Junior Suite. No restaurant in the property, they only serve breakfast, but ther are plenty of restaurants near the property.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.0
    Good breakfast, but same products everyday, kind staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture, the bathroom doesn't create the feeling of impecable cleanliness, bit expensive.

    Good breakfast, but same products everyday, kind staff, good location in the historical city center, close to the subway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    As per the check in staff, I was upgraded to Jr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not up to the mark, felt like I wasted my money for the breakfast at the hotel. No eggs (fried eggs or omelette), only scrambled egg & boiled eggs. No baked beans, hash brown & cappuccino. Staff can be more friendly.

    As per the check in staff, I was upgraded to Jr. Suite. The room was nice and spacious. The cooling facility was not good. The location was good, 5-7 mins walk to Puerta de sol and 10-15 mins walk to Primark, Gran Vía. The property also helped us to store our baggage after the checkout as we had to take a late night train. Did not get a chance to explore restaurants around but a few nice pizza places near Puerta de sol.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple of the men's attitude on the front desk...also first room didn't have enough light...second room was much better.

    Great location for getting about and seeing things in Madrid. The woman on the front desk was very helpful....some of the men not so....easy to get to the airport, 20-25 walk to the train station where there is also bus that goes to all the terminals at the airport 24 hours per day 5 euros... I stayed here twice, I accidentally left something in my room which they kept for me and returned, I was impressed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Would only stay again if I was guaranteed a room not facing the main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New nightclub opened next to hotel. Music and noise from guests until six in the morning. Bring earplugs. Also, air conditioning did not work in the room so needed to have windoI was guaranteedw open. But with rowdy and drunk Crowds outside all night, sleep was a big challenge.

    Location was amazing and staff was very accommodating And helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.8
    Dismal lighting in room reflected a rundown hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor overall, room backed onto a theatre, music went on until after 11pm. Breakfast was at best mediocre. Coffee in Spain is usually a delight but at the hotel they use a poor blend. The cooked food was steeped in water to keep warm but it clearly made for bad texture.

    Not much, the staff were polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.4
    Poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with no window, dark, cold, and noisy (I could hear next door snoring...) Bed not comfortable. Reception is poor. Wifi got disconnected a few times. Not good value for money.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great :) The staff friendly, bed comfy & roof top terrace an added bonus! 10 friends visiting to celebrate my birthday, my niece telephoned before our arrival and the hotel staff were so lovely they agreed to upgrade our room for free which was a wonderful surprise,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Ideal hotel for a 3 night stay in this great city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortuantely our rooms on the 1st floor overlooked the busy road, and although the double glazing was good, we could still hear nighttime revellers - so take earplugs!

    Good breakfasts. Comfy beds. Great location - could walk easily to all popular sights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.2
    Mayby we will return to Madrid but not in this hotel. The price was too much, for this hole!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no vieuw outside. We had to put the light on the hole day. the room next to our room they were working from 7.30am till 18.00pm. We could not take a break because of the noise at noon. In de hall on the ground there were pieces of plaster. In the evening there was a noise of a performance, with music. exactly if we sat in the room. This was all days so. Around midnight it was done.

    the location, near by the towncentre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.5
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear noise and conversation in adjoining room. Would appreciate tea making facilities and complimentary water on arrival either in room or hotel lob y

    Very pleasant stay. Breakfast and location were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall, would not hesitate to return.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi was poor: unreliable and we had to keep on logging in. Definitely needs improvement to reach an acceptable standard. Room 208 overlooked a courtyard, so was very quiet but rather dark. FIne if you are only there at night, but more natural light would have been a plus.

    The location could not be better, very near the both the Sol and Tirso de Molina metro stations and all the tourist sights. Very helpful staff, who arranged private transport to the airport for 30 euros (same as the official taxi rate). Excellent air conditioning. Super big bathroom, which largely compensated for the rather small bedroom as I love a proper bathtub!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Four days in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a little on the small side. All we did was sleep there though. Out all day every day seeing the sights. The view from the window was poor, but we were not expecting any kind of view. We saw what we came to see.

    The location was excellent. That is why we chose it. Very central location for all the tourist sites. Very short walk to the Metro station. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was more than enough each day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.2
    Met our basic needs & clean enough but a dark uninspiriing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark. Musty smell. Staff not friendly , don't acknowledge visitors. Dont bother with the roof top solarium, it's got a few old sunlounges & used by smokers.

    Location ok. Clean but basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Well run hotel in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative was the air conditioning. It seemed to be set too far between turning off and coming on again, so it was cold when it was on and then the room would heat up before it come on again.

    Nice friendly and helpful staff. Great location in a fantastic area of central Madrid. The hotel is well set up and the rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Cortezo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: