Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural Cortijo de Salia

Pago Castillo de Salia (carretera A-402, Km. 53,5), 29711 Alcaucín, Spain

#1 of 9 hotels in Alcaucín

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, simple but very pleasant rural retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is well run and friendly small hotel. It is in a quiet and peaceful location, well away from the tourist trail. So ideal for a tranquil break, especially given the pleasant garden, terrace and pool. The reasonable value for money menu (evening meals only) was varied but not over amibitous at the expense of quality. Service was at all times efficient but still sincere and unhurried. Rooms are basically furnished but comfortable and in keeping with the small country hotel style. That said, the wireless internet signal was better than in many large city hotels I've stayed in! There is not a great deal in the local area altough the local villages are fairly charming and the coastal towns, beaches and Malaga only about an hour away if you have a hire car. Recommended highly for its class and value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything else was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the towels ,very small. Not offered towels for use in the poolwould have liked offer making facilities in the room.but Not a big deal

    Everything else was excellent. The food was good, the staff were friendly and location wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Ideal resting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This lovely hotel is that little slice of heaven you need to chill and unwind. The main building is wonderful and very well looked after with loving care. The views from the rooms are spectacular and breathtaking and the staff are amazing, so friendly and can't do enough for you. This is a place we will definitely come back to. Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, stunning views and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel is a short drive away from the nearest town, it would be nice if there was an option of having lunch at the hotel.

    The room’s were beautiful with traditional Spanish decor and stunning views of the mountains. The owners, Alfonso and his wife were so helpful to us throughout our stay. Breakfast was delicious, served in the garden. We stayed for the wedding of a friend nearby, we really enjoyed the paddle boarding and kayaking available at Lake Vinuela, just 5 minutes away also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Our stay was very relaxing and we look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. A charming hotel.

    I just loved that it was so peaceful and the staff (including the owners so unobtrusive). The hotel was spotless. I also liked that breakfast was just served so you felt like you were staying in someone's home. There was an a la carte menu for dinner which was delicious and very good value. The house white wine also fabulous and a bargain at 12 euros a bottle. We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    A relaxing retreat , fine dinning and lots to do near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, highly recommended.

    A delightful hotel set in picturesque gardens. Freshly prepared fruit and cooked breakfast, with fine dining restaurant and bar in the evening. Rooms very clean, air conditioning, free WiFi all around the hotel and pool. Hosts were perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Mountain break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Excellent restaurant, clean, comfortable room with fantastic views, lovely pool, loved the location, and the staff were great...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable value for money and a good location. Nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather basic, food poor, breakfast okay. Poor lighting in rooms. Towels small and hard.

    Nice location, quite and peaceful. Excellent hosts. Easy to park, lovely grounds. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great place for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable and big. But it was just a a couple of centimeters to short for my length (1.95m). Solved it by moving it a bit from the wall. Which was no big deal.

    The people that run this place made us feel really welcome. It has all amenities you need, pool, nice sitting area, private terrace, shady and sunny spots, good restaurant, a bit up a hill so it doesn’t get searing hot, 20 mins to the beach and 20 mins to a gorgeous nature reserve where you can hike and have picnics. The hotel is well cared for and everything is spotless clean, super!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Tranquil retreat in beautiful Alcaucin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing! Suggestion: Be nice to vary the evening menu to include more traditional Spanish fayre - paella? fideua? Traditional salads?

    Tranquil haven. Hosts are very welcoming and the staff so helpful. Breakfasts are amazing. Evening meals are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful stay at a fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If I have to name something, I would say that the restaurant its menu is focust on meat-eaters. For example, my wife is a vegetarian and their was a more limited choice for her. Furthermore the rooms could be called a little 'noisy' (for example; we could hear the use of the bathroom of our neighbours). But nothing of these things is a dissatisfier, in contrary; you should go here :-)

    This place is just amazing; you just do not have to go anywhere else! The hotel is situated in a quiet area, with in range of the beach (20 min), several beautiful villages and of course nature (for hiking, cycling and touring). The complex is very peaceful and wonderful; a nice pool, big and clean rooms, friendly staff and a great breakfast every morning. There is also a restaurant which serves delicious food (especially when you are a meat lover like me). Last but not least, the staff is very helpful if you need anything, for example if you want to have lunch at the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    We have stayed here a number of times and each time there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed here a number of times and each time there has been improvements to the rooms and gardens. The owners and staff go out of their way to be helpful and nothing is a problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    RURAL IDYLL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NOTHING!

    What didn't we like? NOTHING!! Room was great - huge! Food was good and the service was excellent. Pool was fab. Ines was an absolute star - so helpful and lovely. And of course, Mia the cat :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Does what is says on the tin for quiet relaxing rural hotel with great pool and gardens .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rose wine for btl price of 14 euros was poor quality our local pueblo cafe sells better.Starters way overpriced for Axarquia region.Not enough Spanish dishes on menu.Mains had same potato and veg side dish at every choice.Was told the fresh tuna was served in oil an oily fish is normally done on plancha or parrilla plain with dipping sauces.Didnt like sharing my breakfastplate with aggressive wasps maybe a nest needing removed ?Access main road too many bends and articulated lorries thundering up to Alhama de Granada.Access to hotel a bit dodgey trouble parking if large cars visiting we used spare ground a few times.No roadlighting.We were one if the few who drove out at night but always came back before 9pm dark then.

    Liked the swimming pool,gardens and good quantity,eggs bacon,cold meats and cheeses plenty fresh fruit and fresh orange juice at breakfast.Lamb chops and chicken kebabs tender and tasty.Jamon and melon delicious.Cakes served at breakfast was a nice Spanish touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    a real gem to find!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an English thing - but a kettle in the room would have been a bonus! But that's being really picky.

    The swimming pool was lovely after a hot day and early morning. The meals taken in shady places in the garden were lovely. The cooking was happily all home made and NO Postres form pictures! I know the area well having been there for over 40 years and this is a hidden gem. Thank goodness for the Internet!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    The peace and quiet, the friendly staff, the warm welcome,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor point was having to vacate the lounge/bar at 10.30 pm, although we do appreciatethat staff need their rest too!

    The peace and quiet, the friendly staff, the warm welcome, the good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Just returned from our second trip to this hotel and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just returned from our second trip to this hotel and it was even better this year than last which I wouldn't have thought possible.my favourite place it is so peaceful and relaxing,Alfonso and Inma are perfect hosts and like all the staff are so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful place, nice people and a treat for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no iron not even at the hotel at all and no facilities to make a coffee or tea in the room which I always want first thing in the morning. There was also nowhere to put your shampoo or soap in the shower so you had to put it on the bidet which was not ideal. it would have been nice to have conditioner as a complimentary toiletry.And although the bed covers were beautiful, velvet in the high season would have been better replaced with a cotton bedspread.

    The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room was beautiful with a lovely terrace. Everywhere was gorgeous including in particular the gardens. They are a credit to Alphonso.I would definitely go again but would love it if the comments I made were taken in the context I intended which was only to improve the comfort of the guests and the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    A wonderful place for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.....................That says it all.

    The owners and staff could not have been more obliging. Nothing was a problem to them for us. They made us,and all their guests feel very special people. We thoroughly enjoyed our break there and would love to go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in the sun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun beds on the junior suit balcony needed some low profile cushions providing, as they weren't particularly comfortable (minor issue as chairs where also provided and stayed by the pool to sunbathe), otherwise great!

    Fresh fruit provided as part of your breakfast everyday. totally chilled out location, great staff everyone was extremely friendly. Property was very well maintained and cleaned daily Staff paid attention to when the room was vacant to change sheets/linen not just carried out at a set time. Great red wine and good food available from the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel in peaceful location with super views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything!

    Alfonso and the staff were lovely and made the kids aged 9 & 11 very welcome as they were only children at hotel at the time of holiday. Food was excellent in the evening and breakfast was too. Hotel was extremely clean and external areas were very well maintained. Very peaceful location with amazing views! Maybe more suitable for adults than children because of the tranquility however our children loved every minute - we were just a bit worried they were making too much noise however no other guests complained

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room.No real vegetarian options on restaurant menu, just eggs and cheese .

    Friendly staff.Beautiful location. Very comfortable room with stunning views and loads of hot water and air conditioning.Gardens and pool very picturesque and excellently maintained. A real treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A Little Gem in the Hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are looking for tranquility in delightful surroundings then Hotel Cortijo de Salia is the place! Set in very attractive gardens with mountain views, spacious accommodation and a good breakfast - lovely! We also recommend the evening meals - good menu and wine list. Our hosts, Imma and Alfonso were welcoming, friendly and discreet and nothing was too much trouble. We shall return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find

    Delightful staff only 2 small points - at least I English tv channel required - towel quality could be better /bigger . Breakfast wonderful and tranquility amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    A tranquil break in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We appreciated the tranquillity of the location and the wonderful views. Everything about the hotel lived up to and indeed exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Overall.. FANTASTIC!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    But I had an early flight and needed to leave at 7am to get to the airport. I asked if it was possibly to have some coffee before I left and was told no, it was too early!

    Overall I had a fantastic stay here..... very peaceful with the most amazing views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    A lovely, welcoming hotel, and most enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satellite TV. No fridge in room. Pool too cold to use.

    Lovely breakfast, good choice for dinner, fresh produce, very accommodating staff, well maintained gardens, views fabulous. Terrace from room lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Great views !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the easiest to get to after sundown.

    Great views ! Loved the chairs and table just outside the window, on the open garden. Very welcoming and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect place to rest and to admire the beauty of nature. The hotel both inside and outside is simply lovely. Our bed was giant and very comfortable. We loved also our small terrace with a table and chairs. The pool area was very pretty and pool itself was very clean. You can feel there the atmosphere of tranquility and peace, hosts and all staff take care of it. We send best wishes to Alfonso who is really helpful and kind, and also for his cat - Mia :) We will have wonderful memories.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous, can not rate this hotel enough!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only negative point was not being able to stay there for longer and enjoy this beautiful place more!!

    This was a last minute booking and we were so happy with this hotel, the hotel was beautiful with amazing views, the room was very spacious and exceptionally clean, we had a very large comfy bed! To top it all the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was superb, we had dinner - tuna and the hake were fantastic, and the breakfast was very good - more food than we could manage!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Perfect place to relax and enjoy the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought it was pretty perfect in our opinion, so therefore no negative comments.

    Good quality food served with a smile. They pitched the breakfast just right, fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese, fresh orange juice, cooked eggs, etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have been able to walk to bars or restaurants

    Lovely staff, beautiful setting, great food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing hotel that we would love to have spent longer at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous.

    The whole place felt like a home away from home. This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the local area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Very tranquil.relaxing,friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffe facility's in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    friendly staff fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendly staff fantastic food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very relaxed country feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very relaxed country feel. Beautiful pool and grounds and outlook. Very clean. Friendly staff. We wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    I wish I could be back some day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners, artistic style, location - perfect, swimmig pool,green garden, silence and VIEW!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views are spectacular and the hotel decorated beautifully in a rustic style and spotless!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. Perfect location. We had a wonderful stat!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    The view, the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed

    The view, the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent family type service, moved us to a terrace room at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft

    Excellent family type service, moved us to a terrace room at no cost when it became available. Wonderful view, quite and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Loved our two nights in this peaceful B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our two nights in this peaceful B&B. Recommend for anyone who wants a tranquil place to stay with beautiful pool and gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing romantic stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom could be upgraded, no big deal though!

    The view is the main asset here, but their breakfast and diner were also amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    A charming, wonderful hotel with good food and wonderful breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wonderful location of this charming hotel - very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, we had a fantastic break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Garden is amazing with fruit trees. Staff is very helpfull. Breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic to be away from the crowd

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely location, very good staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, very good staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Worth the diversion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driveway into property is bit dodgy.

    Quiet location. Huge double bed. Excellent food and you are served breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and comfortable. Good service and wonderful location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely rural escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We thought the Evening meal could be improved...it was fairly expensive and not great..sorry.

    Breakfast was excellent. Very nice friendly allround

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Ideal, great locale while peaceful and romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was tremendous. Hotel was ideal for driving to either coast or inland. Meals were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Good place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place to be. Poor wifi, good people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Amazing boutique hotel ideal to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crisps and snacks to be sold behind the bar.

    Lovely relaxing location. Very friendly hotel staff. Car needed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    It was just amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just amazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    very comfy bed, good facilities' with restaurant and bar...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No door to separate bathroom sink and shower from the sleeping area thee condensation made the room damp and noisy to use when others sleeping small but important detail

    very comfy bed, good facilities' with restaurant and bar room very clean friendly owners and staff very good value

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    Our four night stay at Rural Cortijo de Salia was fantastic.
    • Group

    Nothing regarding the Hotel itself however it was a little hard to find and we were not the only guests who struggled. More signs needed!!

    Our four night stay at Rural Cortijo de Salia was fantastic. Beautiful setting, great facilities and wonderful staff. Very calm and relaxed, nothing too much bother. Excellent value, the breakfast set us up for our days of house hunting! I would certainly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    Wonderfully welcoming owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding the property was difficult. Try and get coordinates for your SatNav.

    Wonderfully welcoming owners. Great selection of excellent food. Beautiful room with lovely view.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food a little repetitive but very good value

    Peaceful location.Very pretty gardens,obviously loved by its owner Alfonso.Pool immaculate .Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    We loved the quiet location, the lovely views, dinner in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No small village within walking distance. Need transport.

    We loved the quiet location, the lovely views, dinner in the gardens, the pool to ourselves most days and the great relaxing jazz background music.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shortage of sun beds by the pool on our first day when the hotel was full !

    Peace and quiet. Attentive staff. Cleanliness. Evening meals in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    Amazing location with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We came to this very rural place in hope of tasting some great local cuisine. The food was sadly disappointing and pricey. I ordered a plate of "mix and old and new cheeses", and got a plate with 6 pieces of the same cheese. A plate of tapas was clearly coming straight out of packs of pre-sliced cold cuts from the supermarket.

    Amazing location with a great view. Very friendly and sweet hosts. Large, beautiful and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    I had a wonderful time in Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a wonderful time in Spain. The hotel was a very comfortable place to stay at, and the staff was really kind. The rooms were clean, the food was good and really not that expencive. I recomment this hotel to everybody! I liked it that much that I stayed a couple of days longer than planned.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Lovely staff, very helpful, excellent food, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, all terrific

    Lovely staff, very helpful, excellent food, spacious accomodation and spotless. The gardens are a delight and the wine list is very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    The views, the gardens, the simple, elegant and spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The views, the gardens, the simple, elegant and spacious rooms with doors opening to a beautiful valley view. The pool and of course the staff. And, even though the breakfast is not what we have encountered on a five start cruise, (it is proper, fresh and simple), it is fine - including fresh eggs, fruit, juice, coffe, breads and Spanish cold cuts - inside or out in the garden. And - there are only a few other rooms, so it's like an over-sized B&B. We stayed here for our third time.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Brilliant for touring the local villages,short drive to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would think it difficult to find complaint.The three nights we stayed were very comfortable.

    Brilliant for touring the local villages,short drive to the coast,excellent local restaurants and a lovely meal in the hotel on my wifes birthday!! Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The rooms were large and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    The rooms were large and very comfortable. Each room had a little patio area looking out on the mountains. The garden is beautifully maintained.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    The peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience but the pool loungers would be a nice touch and pool towels , even though it was still a bit cool for us to swim .

    The peace and quiet The quality of the hotel, the rooms so quaint and the food especially good. Fresh and tasty. The grounds are immaculate , exceptional all round .

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    If your looking for a comfortable rural break with the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its not really a bad experience because breakfast was a nice meal but having exactly the same for seven mornings was getting a little boring.

    If your looking for a comfortable rural break with the most wonderful helpful hosts then this is the place for you. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    Incredible well maintained and looked after small little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It could be only us, but we did find the beds a little bit to hard....sorry !! But with having that said, we are already dreaming of "next time", hopefully this fall.

    Incredible well maintained and looked after small little hotel/pension, the same goes for the outdoor area the pool included. More friendly and serviceminded hosts would be hard to find (if possible...) Thank you so much.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    10
    We liked everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing to dislike.

    We liked everything about this hotel. Alfonso and the staff were brilliant and made us very welcome. The room was lovely and the huge bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good and the dinners were very tasty. We were there two years ago and we will certainly go back. The pool area is lovely and so are the garden areas.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    8.3
    Made to feel at home by all the staff and share their home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Made to feel at home by all the staff and share their home

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Smal nice hotel, good food and plesant owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smal nice hotel, good food and plesant owners

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Wonderful relaxing place to stay with lovely friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful relaxing place to stay with lovely friendly staff and great garden and pool

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: