Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cortijo El Paraíso 4 stars

Carretera de la Isleta del Moro, Km. 6, 04118 Los Escullos, Spain

#1 of 3 hotels in Los Escullos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    The view and the isolation make it the best "get away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view and the isolation make it the best "get away from it all" location and yet it is close to Los Escullos which is a perfect old fishing village with great restaurants. So romantic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    Hit and Miss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Food and crockery! Cold eggs/bacon and breakfast area dirty with chipped mugs and more...seems to be run on a shoestring....

    The location! The view is edible but not the food sadly - stay room only basis to experience the location - amazing!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.6
    Sadden to see this property, with such potential, in dis-repair and not given any love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and pool furniture - extremely dirty.

    Our greeting to our room included dirty dishes from the previous guests on the terrace table! Guests enjoyed themselves very loudly, yelling and clapping for all to hear until 5:00am. In the morning, there was sea of cigarette butts through-out all the walkways. When you have breakfast, you can smell the cooks smoking cigarettes, not ham, in the kitchen. You can take great pictures of the sea - just make sure to raise the camera up a bit, so you don’t get any of the litter and trash on the property grounds. If this sounds like your kind of four star place - go for it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    A very pleasant one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel situated in amazing landscape. Quintessential Almería. View from room exceptional. Food in restaurant excellent. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    A perfect place to get away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside furniture on the balcony was a bit tired, (room 5), and can do with replacing. Apart from that, everything was very good indeed.

    A perfect place to relax and get away from it all. Once you reach Los Escullos, it's very easy to find the hotel as it stands out with the mountainside behind it. The rooms are rustic and well appointed and the pool area is very nice. The breakfast was more than adequate and the evening meal we enjoyed in the La Era restaurant was excellent. Covered parking was a bonus in the extreme June heat which we experienced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Cabo de Gata in May
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was good but not great. We had a decent if unspectacular dinner there. Breakfast was OK except for the coffee which was disappointing.

    The location is fantastic - quiet, remote, a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy Cabo de Gata's nature . The staff was friendly and competent in English. The rooms are well-placed to allow visitors to enjoy the views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location, amazing food at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One person of the reception staff was not very kind nor active. We do not remember the name, but it was a young brunette girl attending us and it seemed to us that she was just bored and not liking her job! It was the only negative aspect of the stay.

    We loved the location, the view from the room is amazing and it is lovely to enjoy some wine under the stars in the terrace! We never eat at a hotel´s restaurant but in this hotel we did it twice. They have a menu del dia for 15 euros. It is really really really good quality and one of the best dinner we had in Spain till now! Do not miss it! The waiter was also very kind with us: thank you for your good service! The breakfast was OK, not exceptional but enough variety considering that it was low season and not many guests around!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was ok till we received neighbours in the adjoining room, when it became painfully clear the rooms would benefit from some soundproofing.

    Enjoyed the remoteness of this hotel, and the rugged landscape view from the room. Some rooms are facing the ocean, while others offer the views of the wild mountains. The scenery was remarkable and dramatic even in bad weather. Comfortable room. The entradas and postres served in the restaurant were delicious. Main dishes could be improved. All in all, it was a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel, especially if you prefer nature to towns.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    A perfect place to relax and disconnect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-Fi reception is very bad from the rooms, at least ours, but works very well in common areas. Bed too hard for my liking.

    Spectacular location with nice sea and mountain views, attentive staff, good sized room with private balcony

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Perfect for peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was perfect for us, the room was very comfortable and the view overlooking the sea was superb. The situation of this hotel is so peaceful and perfect if you like peace and quiet. We will certainly come back for another visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    5.8
    Please employ more staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and service were not of the quality we had expected. In the evening there was only one member of staff covering the reception, bar, cafeteria and serving in the restaurant. We went in for dinner, ordered our meal and had our starter. We waiter then disappeared. We later discovered that he was covering all the other areas of the hotel. We waited so long for our main course that the chef eventually appeared out of the kitchen carrying 2 plates, which was our meal. The food had obviously been lying ready in the kitchen for a long time, that it had dried up and gone cold. It was inedible. Shortly after this the waiter returned and rushed around all the tables. When he got to us, we told him to take the food away. We then left the restaurant ourselves as we now had no interest in re-ordering and eating further there. In the morning when we checked out, it was the same man still on duty, and he apologised again and stated then that he had to cover so many jobs in the evening, that he hadn't been able to get back to the restaurant to serve the meals there. For us, this spoilt what could have been a lovely evening.

    Wonderful view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    The best stay on our Andalucía trip so far - perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The best stay on our Andalucía trip so far - perfect location, great service, nice rooms, very friendly staff, very good food, the best view imaginable at the Cabo de Gata, great atmosphere, and surprisingly inexpensive - just an amazing stay all around (for all of our four nights there)! We'll definitely come back and probably soon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.4
    Not worthwhile !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi, lack of staff, in the middle of nowhere, small pool, the keycard also turns on the fridge, thus when you out of the room, the fridge gets warm! The Tv didn't work, light bulbs missing and the staff runs around, repairing, serving, cleaning and doing administrative work

    Staff, friendly and available even though the hotel is completely understaffed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    2.5
    how is very poorr!
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bad dirty

    how is very poorr! i don't like nothingthere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Very beautiful location- great views - 360 degrees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful location- great views - 360 degrees Friendly staff who help to make your stay even better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Good accomodation to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good accomodation to stay. Very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Wow veiws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine

    Good location &veiws

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    A wonderful and really scenic environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    A wonderful and really scenic environment.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Staff vs mosquitoe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many mosquitoes in the room

    Location grrrat, staff absolutely great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    A view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The silent place and amazing view over the bay of Los Escullos is worth a visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    A wonderful place in the wilderness of the Cabo de Gata-Níjar nature park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Great isolated location, beautiful pool, spacious room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great isolated location, beautiful pool, spacious room, lovely communal spaces.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    the views were amazing Unspoilt Spain and although the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the views were amazing Unspoilt Spain and although the weather could have been more co-operative it was a lovely place to be, so relaxing and the meal in the on site restaurant was wonderful looking out at the heavenly views

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    8.3
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fireplace was never on. It would make lobby much warmer/attractive place to stay in. No social games in the lobby. As the hotel is in the middle of nowhere (which is why you are going there in the first place) it would be nice to have something to do/play with in the evening.

    The view. Excellent dinner, definitely worth of taking it! Fresh orange juice for breakfast. Beautiful garden. Ask for the room facing the sea.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    This was a phenomenal experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was a phenomenal experience. The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive, the room was airy and comfy, with a balcony with an unparalleled view (see photo). Great sleep! Thank you, Cortijo El Paraíso!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Great location with a spectacular view from the room terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much really. We would have liked the swimming pool to stay accessible later than 8 PM.

    Great location with a spectacular view from the room terrace. (Try to get a room with a sea view.) Very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    Best of all was the complete silence at night, and staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The machine fors queezing oranges at breakfast is excrutiatingly noisy and takes forever to make juice ... it really intrudes on what should be a relaxing start to the day. There are too few staff fo a hotel of this size...

    Best of all was the complete silence at night, and staff were always helpful and obliging. You are just a short drive from Isleta del Moro which has a great oceanside restaurant, and the beaches nearby - El Playazo, Los Genoveses and Monsul - are amongst the best in Spain.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Amazing Location simple celan lovley place great local food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All good really ..... Anything can be better

    Amazing Location simple celan lovley place great local food

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Great rooms, friendly staff and fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great rooms, friendly staff and fantastic views

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    7.5
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi didn't work in our room. They tried to help but it never worked.

    Location! Great view to the sea and no other hotels around.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.2
    overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overall good

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: