Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cortijo El Sotillo 4 stars

Carretera Entrada San José, s/n, 04118 San José, Spain

#4 of 7 hotels in San José

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 467 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually nothing, but I don't understand why one insists on changing the towels on a daily basis in such an arid region...

    Beautiful setting at Cabo de Gata - Nicely-decorated room with large terrace - Excellent vegetarian dishes at the in-house restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little further away from the center but really not an issue if you are OK with walking or have a car.

    So unique and beautiful! The room is huge and also included a private outdoor area. The bed was extremely comfy and roomy for the two of us. There is natural lighting that comes in through the many windows which gives the room and bathroom a great feel. Staff was friendly and helpful, no complaints there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No actual window in the room, except a big door towards balcony. Not sure how safe it is if we leave the door open in the evening.

    It is located a bit outside of San Jose with good surroundings.Easy to access with car with lots of parking spaces. The staffs are very friendly and gave us a lot of local information, i.e. beaches, resturants, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding grounds were starting to look like they needed maintenance, fences paths and entrance etc

    We loved the local rustic spaghetti western decor It felt very Ranch like. Reception staff were fabby very helpful and spoke great English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom stunk of sewage and/or damp. The mini fridge was empty and there was no coffee or tea facility within the room. This was annoying as we were adjacent to the pool and both myself and the friends we were staying with wanted a coffee and a dip in the pool before breakfast. Instead we had to go to the restaurant, which was understaffed and await coffee being brought to us, which in turn meant that after breakfast (which was poor) we had no opportunity for a swim before checking out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was good but honestly I was expecting something more

    location and natural environment around are fantastic (some Western movies were produced there) ; big and confortable rooms; modern and equipped hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The food on the menu in the hotel was fantastic value taste fantastic quality and quantity fantastic service fantastic Maria who served us most of the time remembered how we took our coffee had good menu knowledge and took time to chat the environment was comfortable the staff very friendly clean positive areas The reception to cleaning staff to bar and restaurant stag all friendly positive had time to chat to us the type of customers in the hotel fitted the profile of what we wanted no bucket and spade no cheap burger and chips no English morning about the ketchup this hotel was full of couples and young families respecting the environment each other and still enjoying their stay fantastic value please pass.o our comments to the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    El Cortijo was perfect for our needs, spacious clean room, fridge, safe and little patio. Despite it being one of San Jose' busiest weekends of the year (big summer solstice beach party) it was quiet and relaxing. The pool is extremely clean, we always had it to ourselves. Yes, El Cortijo is a walk out of the pretty village of San Jose, it's only about 10mins max..(make sure you have a small torch as there is a small bit of road where there is no pavement so just sensible for oncoming cars...although the roads really weren't busy. We'd recommend hiring a car to be able to take advantage of all of the beautiful beaches...lots of parking on site. The staff were lovely, breakfasts good with a large variety on offer. The hotel can book horse riding for you, I did this prior to arrival to avoid disappointment. When booking, be honest about your level. Don't say you are only intermediate if you can trot and have had the odd canter, the horses Arabs and fast. The same riding establishments has other horses for a slower ride, for beginners-intermediates. The horses were really well looked after and looked very healthy (I wouldn't have ridden if they were skinny)...they also insisted you wore a helmet which was good as many places don't. We didn't hire but walked loads, and loads (although this restricted us beach wise)..the buses were easy to use although not that many each day...all in all a great place to stay and would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front door & bar is only open until 11;00pm when all the staff finish which should not present a problem but one night (& we were only there for 2) the receptionist,who also acts as bar person in the evening, had disappeared by 10:30pm so we could not get another drink. Which is a little bit annoying considering dinner is served between 8;30pm until 10;30pm.

    For an evening meal I had a pork dish with red berries which was delicious, the pork was so tender & complemented perfectly by the berries. The air conditioning was quiet & worked great so you were kept cool & not kept awake at night by it unlike a lot of hotels we have experienced. At the end of the day it was lovely to be able to have a swim in the little pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen staff did not speak English very well

    A lovely resort in beautiful surroundings, very clean and nice professional staff that were happy to accommodate anywhere they could. They allowed me a late check-out time because my flight out was only at 9pm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon booking, I had requested a double bed instead of two twin beds as I was traveling with my husband. Upon arrival, we were shown a room with two twin beds. When we mentioned that we had requested a double, the front desk guy shortly said that they were all booked up. I am extremely annoyed that they did not reach out to us prior to our stay to let us know that my request could not be accommodated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black tea for breakfast despite promises that on the second day of our stay the staff would make sure it would be there. Also, the door of one of the rooms was difficult to open or close. No attempt was made to repair the door, despite promises by the receptionist to do so.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking from the hotel to San Jose can be dangerous as there is no verge or path along the main road.

    Simple traditional accommodation. Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is 10 min walk from the "down town" San Jose. It is not far but if you want to for dinner in the evening the road is pitch black - no lights. There is very little shade around the pool. Some sunshades would be nice. There are lots of flies in the area which is very dry. Some places (restaurants) in the towm have more , some less. At Cortijo there are a bit oppresive when you want to sit outside and maybe some antiinsects spray would help.

    Good breakfest. Quiet. A bit special place (old farm referbished). Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Walking back from the village at night, the last bit of road has no street lights. Bring a flashlight.

    - Big room with little private patio at the back. - Good food at a very reasonable price - In house horse riding facilities with experienced guides.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    food is great but had a hyper salty dinner, once! Get a little more high chairs for babies, as one might not be enough for all the kids. Might be a little away from the San Jose city center to walk at night with a pram but makes it calmer at night!

    Perfect place in a still-hidden jewel of Spain! Horses, beaches, mountains, food(great value for dish size and price for half pension), calm, great swimming pool, nice facilities, beautiful buildings, clean. Loved it all!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consistently and significantly overpriced. Old and deficient amenties. They did not respect the bed choosing made in the reservation. The room we stayed at had two broken lights, and no wifi access. The hotel has an old-looking pool with no space for kids. Would never come back. 

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for this establishment is too high and uncompetitive with similar hotels in Andalusia. I would say it is twice as expensive and is not worth it.

    The setting and surrounding views are wonderful and very peaceful and relaxing. The hotel and surrounding environment were used by Sergio Leone for his famous spaghetti westerns such as "For a few dollars more" though we only found this out when we got there. The pool is good and the variety of activities locally are great with good local seafood restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airconditioning performance is a bit low, swimming pool needs a bit of refurbishment. Wifi not available in all rooms.

    Nice room, friendly staff, huge swimming pool. Calm location near the busy San Jose centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant closed sunday and Monday. no hot water and no water pressure in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities to provide guests with food or drinks during the day

    Huge room, lovely private terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place staff friendly great beaches nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels seemed to have a plastic texture, were nit pleasant and didn't dry much.

    Size of rooms, beautiful view of the mountains and hills

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity the horses had been moved - we were looking forward to trekking

    Spacious ranch style environment looking out onto 🌵 desert

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Seemed a little over priced compared with another location I also stayed at in San Jose.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a beautiful property and feels very authentic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park was gravel which went into the rooms

    Staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat remote from town.

    Quiet area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpaved bit of walk into San Jose

    Very large bed, spacious shower, quiet location, friendly staff, character of the buildings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely tranquil setting on a hillside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is limited.

    Extra comfy queen size mattress. Very clean bedroom and bathroom. Staff are very nice, friendly and always helping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi is temperamental

    Great location - very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dark room. No tea/coffee making facilities. Could be a bit cleaner.

    Calm and Peaceful. Beautiful location. Big terrace. Lovely rustic building. Great view. Close to beach and easy drive to nature reserves, Sierra Nevada mountains etc. Good parking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is very little to quibble as the price is very fair for such a pleasant stay.

    The location is beautifully tranquil and scenic with a general feeling of calm. The staff are very friendly and helpful with good food and well stocked bar. It is a short walk into San Jose which in late October is a sleepy largely unspoilt seaside village in the beautiful Cabo de Gata national park. There are lots of interesting places to visit in the area if you like nature, geology and scenery. It is best if you can get access to a vehicle to branch out into the sierras or up the coast. The little waterside restaurant at La Isleta offers one of the best views anywhere if the sun is out.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Footpath required from outside of the hotel to the roundabout . At night it's dark and you have to rely on the motorists seeing you for this short distance..

    The accommodation is perfectly located for visiting Caba de Gate. On the outskirts of the town with a 15 'minute walk to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being British, I wouldn't have minded a kettle in the room!

    Our stay was fantastic. We were visiting off season but I imagine there would be a lovely buzz with more people there in the summer. It's in a beautiful setting, has a fantastic pool and the room was spacious and unique. The fridge was also very handy. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms a little dated. Shower head bracket broken. Breakfast adequate but nothing special. Price a little high for standard of accommodation but this is typical of this area.

    Spacious complex with swimming pool, bar, restaurant and plenty of parking. Quiet location just outside town but within easy walking distance. Different layout with rooms all at ground level served by "village -style" footpaths.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shade provided around the pool so in height of summer almost impossible to lie beside. Not enough info given at check in and nothing in room to inform about Wifi, room safe or restaurant times for dinner and breakfast. A man checked us in but think the woman on the desk later might have been more informative.

    Cortijo was used in Fistful of Dollars, which was why we stayed there. Beautifully restored, with lovely rustic main hall.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no eggs at breakfast and no one told us about the facilities (which there are many) when we arrived...

    It was a lovely, quiet, secluded place yet only 15 minutes walk to the beach. The staff were very agreeable and helped us with whatever we needed them to. The feel of the ranch and the horses nearby gave it a unique feel. We would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed, shower, facilities, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice big room. Staff very helpful. Location.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice interior design of the room, nice big terrace with a view on the mountain.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great environment, great architecture, great facilities, great staff, one of our best secondary homes

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was over priced

    Perfect remote setting, very peaceful and quite. Nice pool and the receptionist was lovely!!

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very large and nicely decorated. I loved the space outside and the swimming pool even if we didn't had time to use it.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traditional. Rural (but not to rural) location. How rooms were laid out. Pool. Easy access.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Helpful staff, size & comfort of the room

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace and horseriding

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For such a beautiful spacious room and location , lacks charm... One bare bed and pretty much it , so easy to make it look nicer ...

    Location big room

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bit of a walk along a road to get to the village - ok during the day but not so good at night as no street lights.

    pool and property overall

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable spacious room with terrace overlooking the hills. Large bathroom with great shower.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: