Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cortijo San Ignacio Golf 4 stars

Autopista del Sur GC1 km 6,4, 35218 El Cortijo, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in El Cortijo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet access not available in some rooms due to weak signal (thick walls!), however it is always available in the common areas in the courtyard and around the pool. If its necessary to use internet in the room you should confirm the room offered meets this need.

    Excellent breakfast, easy parking, quiet location about 3min walk from golf clubhouse Stunning building, very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Stay in old-world splendour that you thought couldn't be found any more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    About the hotel, there was nothing to dislike and everything to love. It was perfect. Access to restaurants in the vicinity wasn't great: the one at the end of the road was only open in the evenings at weekends, and even then didn't start until quite late. Restaurants down in nearby coastal villages were not particularly nice. Best option was a pizzeria/grill some 5km away on a back road to Telde: La Panacota.

    The overall charm of this 18th century manor house is evident from the moment you draw up in front of the heavy oak door which leads to the quiet palm-fringed courtyard within. And the house itself - amazing! Oriental carpets, fine antique furniture, old paintings - it's like staying with aristocratic friends in the country. And would you believe, it still has its own splendid little private chapel? Staff are utterly charming, and breakfast in the old-world dining room or on the glassed-in terrace is an experience. It's a gem, and no mistake.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.3
    A gem of a find! Rural feeling but very convenient for Las Palmas and the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the rooms could have coffee and tea making facilities?

    The building is superb. Built in colonial style, it has been very skilfully and sympathetically converted from farmhouse to hotel, retaining virtually all of the original features and charm. The location is also lovely. A real gem!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.1
    Charming, but lacked an essential ingredient of food, for a Hotel, which was in a remote location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no food available on site apart from Breakfast. There was supposed to be an arrangement with the Golf Club but when we went down on our first night at 7.30pm we were informed that the Restaurant was closed

    We very much liked the setting/ambience of this Hotel. the staff were charming and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.7
    Ok. For playing golf but if you can get something else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.. far from everything WiFi in the room done not exist. Bathroom and comfort of the bed for a 4 star hotel dot worth it. If you wanna play golf go there otherwise if is possible got something else

    Staff was super friendly and the main bulging is very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    Museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are sensitive non-smoker, it would be hard to sleep- a lot of smoke smell in room and you can not air it. Google maps shows wrong adress.

    If you like vintage style, it is perpect for you! The pool area, garden, the breakfast room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful country house set in lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful country house set in lovely grounds. Very pleasant and helpful staff. A quiet and peaceful base for a quality holiday. Car essential.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay and near airport and sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great European breakfast. Osvaldo is a wonderful host.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rental car is a must if you want see places around.

    Quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Super breakfast, very nice pool and lounge, very quiet!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super breakfast, very nice pool and lounge, very quiet! You need a car to get around!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    5.8
    Relaxed atmosphere and sense of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signs to locate the hotel hardly existed so very difficult to find.

    Relaxed atmosphere and sense of history.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing

    It was like living in a National Trust property.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice public rooms interior, high price
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very simple Room was smaller than appeared on picture

    Interior of public rooms is beautiful Outside area was nice Price included wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Short get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needs cleaning and maintenance.

    It's an old farmhouse, decorations and atmosphere is nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    An oasis of rest !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An oasis of rest ! In a historic building with lovely rooms and places. nearby the airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Charming old manor house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming old manor house. Quiet setting next to a Golf course.Convenient to Las Palmas and airport. Magnificent common rooms and pool. eExcellent breakfast. Great value .

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.6
    Lovely quiet gem with a real nice big swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately to reach this lovely gem, you need to go through an ugly (but clean) suburb.

    Lovely quiet gem with a real nice big swimming pool. Hidden in a lovely garden, 10mn by car from Las Palmas. Next to an excellent restaurant (San Ignacio).

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    4.6
    Flexibility in arrival time, staff was helpful despite late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very basic, minimal confort, not in line with the price paid

    Flexibility in arrival time, staff was helpful despite late arrival (CAREFUL: reception is not open 24/7)

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    6.7
    Lovely old building with an interesting decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite difficult to find at night. Could do with some better signage. Breakfast was limited, but served in a lovely dining room.

    Lovely old building with an interesting decor. Close to the airport

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful old building - an oasis of calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful old building - an oasis of calm. We only stayed one night and wished it could have been longer. Drank our morning coffee in the courtyard - bliss!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    3.8
    The decor inside the house was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    BE CAREFUL DO NOT BOOK UNLESS you are of age or feeling that way, only want to play golf or enjoy a holiday in which you need a car rental to get you to the nearest shop, restaurant, or well... Anything. Oh yes, and do not book when you actually rely on normal, functioning wifi during your stay. I booked this place, as I did my holiday, quite spontaneously, looking for peace, quiet and rest in my first week off in a whole year. I thought the green patch surrounding the hotel was not only golf, but also a park, so I could go for jogs or walks. I also thought there would be at least one shop around, to buy basic necessities like water, for example. None of that was true. In fact, the hotel, which indeed is in a beautiful building, is situated in a small paradise surrounded by a big stretch of nothing/deserted holiday neighbourhoods/roads not really made for a woman to walk up or down alone. That was one side, the other side of the golf course borders on a stretch of ghetto-like highrises. I thought there'd be a bus nearby to get around, but there wasn't. My first day, I was given the key, shown to my room in a hurry and then left alone, without any further explanations on where to go if, say, I had any questions or needed anything. After a few hours of walking around in the mostly deserted area around the hotel, I concluded that there was no shop nearby. As there is no option for dinner/lunch or even a snack on the grounds, I ended up going to bed without lunch or dinner. To be fair, it was a good way to start my detox week. This all can be blamed on me, as I might have informed myself better about the exact location. But there were also things beyond my control that were just wrong. For example, on my first night, I had to share my bed with tiny little ants.

    The decor inside the house was beautiful. Outside the golf terrain, there is absolutely nothing (in february): no shops, no people, no public transport. There is absolutely nothing to do

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    Think good French Chambre d'hote and you have this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You do have to travel for any food apart from breakfast.

    Think good French Chambre d'hote and you have this 'hotel rural'. Breakfast is buffet style, eat/drink as little or much as you want. A beautiful secluded location next to golf course surrounded by palm trees, in a valley, although road to it does not encourage you; Keep going, it is peaceful and like staying in an old family house. It is so clean and the outside garden has a beautiful pool and a patio all with good outside furniture. There is a basic help yourself bar and coffee/tea making facilities. Most guests seem to bring in sandwiches or snacks for lunch/dinner. Wifi free in all rooms and outside areas. The staff are helpful and friendly, with some English if like us you don't have a good Spanish vocabulary beyond basics. Great location for airport, Las Palmas and exploring North of island. We stayed 3 nights here after a hotel up in the mountains, just the right mix for us.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.5
    A beautifully restored monastery with a feel of a special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were left to our own devices for breakfast - would have appreciated a member of staff putting in an appearance to see if we needed anything. Would have been better had we been there to play golf (which we imagine most people do who stay there) - as otherwise nothing else to do although a lovely peaceful ambiance. Needs better signs for hotel as even taxi driver had problems finding it.

    A beautifully restored monastery with a feel of a special past to it.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    9.6
    Peaceful location, very nice surroundings & property,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tennis court outside room on last night was too noisy, playing until gone 10:30pm

    Peaceful location, very nice surroundings & property, friendly staff, good breakfast choice, nice pool area to relax at the end of day

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.5
    The hotel itself is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could have been cleaner = lots of dust and cobwebs in higher areas of the room. There could have been more variation in the breakfast offering and in the honesty bar.

    The hotel itself is brilliant. Location is good - away from the main tourist areas.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    6.3
    Nice ambience and pleasant surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gloomy, cramped and inadequate room. Others, far superior, for the same tariff. Complained to no avail. Not the best PR.

    Nice ambience and pleasant surroundings. Beyond the abundantly stocked gardens a little barren and forlorn.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.5
    The stuff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is not that good. The house is old style, but that depends on what you really like. I love modern style buildings and rooms. If you like an old stylish furniture- you'd like that place very much

    The stuff was very friendly. They always want to help you! If you like playing golf, that's your place :)

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    Great friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was not aware that the rooms were not airconditioned. I had arrived at around 2:00 AM and the room was hot. I had an early morning flight the next morning and was so exhausted that i fell asleep anyway. Internet does not work in the rooms

    Great friendly staff! Good quality breakfast. Hotel had "charm".

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    4.2
    Wifi not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not working Swimming pool little dirty Surroundings ugly

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    All was excellent - quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was excellent - quiet and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    4.2
    Not much, breakfast was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lunches: evening meals have to be booked a day in advance. So useless on day of arrival.

    Not much, breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.5
    Quiet, comfortable, excellent location, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, comfortable, excellent location, very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    7.5
    History of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Host was unfriendly

    History of the building Faciliteit are good

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Browse Cortijo San Ignacio Golf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: