Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Costa Vasca 4 stars

Avenida de Pío Baroja, 15, 20008 San Sebastián, Spain

#30 of 56 hotels in San Sebastián

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2896 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Just a short walk to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To access the pool you need to go out via the hotel entrance and walk around the side of the hotel. It is a beautiful pool and surrounding area though.

    Just a short walk to the beach. Perfect location 😃

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    lads jolly outing 60th birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing wrong in hotel location a bit out of town a brisk 20/25 min walk downhill

    very friendly staff & helpful very clean excellent facilities excellent breakfast well value for money nice swimming pool reasonable bar prices

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    perfect place and ok rooms and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the garden is not looked after and it was quiet dirty, too many children and the service at the Pool was really poor....moreover the was not enough water in the Pool, the people at the reception take forever to do check in and check out

    very nice rooms, and great breakfast!!!! easy to find and the way to the beach is really short

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    The size of the room was fab and nice to have a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was fab and nice to have a balcony. The pool and the pool bar were great. The shuttle van to town is good. The casual bar and cafe are good also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Loved it! Especially because of the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from the beach, but there was a complimentary bus and Uber would only be a few Euros.

    I gave it a perfect score (considering value for money). The Location was not a near walking distance from where you wanted to go but it was near enough. The pool was great. There was a fuzzball table and a pool table to add to the fun.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the hotel too large, but we are boutique hotel people and on booking at this time it was clear San Sebastián was very very busy with tourism. The hotel bikes need some maintenance. The hotel engineer needs to replace the dirty stained carpet tiles in the lobbies and corridor on leave 1. Considering the cost to stay, such grubby floors makes the hotel look like a second rate flea pit out the back of nowhere.

    We had a room at the back, last minute booking. It was very comfortable and quiet. Cleaned well. Found the hotel a little to far for walking but perfect if you get the hotel bikes for sightseeing. The pool area is great, not resorty but satisfies the need to swim and relax from a days sightseeing. Great English speaking gentleman who checked us in. Good help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Good quality hotel in peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location away from the crowds. NB: I loved the location being away from the really busy, narrow streets of town, I chose this, however some people may find the distance too far to walk to the old town. I was cycling to town each day and the distance was perfect by bike (just over 10mins downhill to town). Room was very good. Nice, friendly helpful staff. The grassed swimming pool area where it was good to relax on a recliner with a drink in peace :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Room was spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no towels in the room. We had to ask for them and the staff was not very happy to give them to us. Location says 4mins from beach and it is not the case. Reception staff not so friendly

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Bed very comfortable, excellent bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was very warm when we stayed and we struggled to get the air conditioning to cool the room sufficiently.

    Bed very comfortable, excellent bathroom. Free shuttle bus into town was very useful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, well appointed, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was prohibitively expensive: would have preferred an a la carte option rather than the limited fare offered as an alternative in the cafe/bar. Great to have tea/coffee making in the room but couldn’t plug it in as no socket anywhere near. Moving it to a socket made it a health and safety risk: very precarious!

    Clean, well appointed, comfortable. Lovely pool with comfortable sun loungers. Excellent service at the pool-side bar with a really good club sandwich and salads. Free shuttle bus to and from the Concha beach was a boon: frequent and efficient, though the walk up and down the hill was good exercise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.3
    SO AVERAGE (at best). Very budget hotel thinking it’s 4 star... A lot of money for a lot of mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I’ve never written a hotel review before but this was so terrible I had to. Bad points: Shuttle into town can only carry 8 people (crazy for such a large hotel and you have to pre book) and it only runs 1pm-8.40pm so rubbish for going into town in the morning or coming back after dinner. It can also only take 1 child at a time. Car park is €20 a day The rooms are TINY, much smaller than they appear in photos WiFi is terrible- practically non existent even in the lobby Views from rooms are either over a car park or a main road. Breakfast is €21 per day per person! And there’s no near by alternative. Food in the cafe is completely inconsistent. E.g we bought a bowl of fruit 2 days in a row and on the second day it had half the ingredients... when we asked for it to have the same as the day before they charged extra for each piece of fruit claiming it was seasonal..... Some staff are very rude, very slow and appear to think the guests are a huge inconvenience. Also if I’m being picky- the Air con is very noisy, the key cards stop working at least twice a day, the hallways are grubby and it’s just very under par. Worst 4 star we’ve ever stayed in.

    Good points: Has quite a nice lobby/ bar area if not a little dated Big pool (although opening times mean you cant go in it in the morning or evening...) Some of the staff are friendly Only 10 mins walk from one of the beaches San Sebastián itself is beautiful just don’t stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    Expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - 40 mins walk from old town - basic bar service, shut at midnight, one barmaid in particular v surly - spa chargeable despite already being expensive hotel, then on top of that extra charge for (obligatory) swimming cap - required to keep pool towels three days, required to sign them out with room number etc, shouldn’t have to do this at expensive hotel, should get fresh one without drama whenever required - breakfast expensive at EUR 22 pp - no robes or slippers, was told there would be a EUR 6 charge per day for robes - minibar not refreshed during entire stay - shower gel and shampoo not refreshed every day, we ran out - coffee in room is instant only (not nespresso) and was not refreshed every day, we ran out (and discovered this first thing in morning) Overall I just think all of the above should be basic and included at no extra charge in a EUR 250+ per night hotel.

    Was clean, beds comfortable, half decent pool area, fairly utilitarian

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    two day stop over from France to Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service in the restaurant was horrible. it took ages to be served. when I tried to speak English I was told that she does not understand. I spoke to the manager on duty and I was told that its up to the staff to suggest they need more help. the staff were running so much that I said its the managements responsibility to check in on their people. I did feel that by not speaking Spanish it was a disadvantage......with the breakfast being 21 euro many people go to the café for breakfast and that's why they are understaffed.

    the beds were great and lots of pillows. the pool was also nice with many chairs to sit on. In general the hotel was great and will go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I got a balcony

    Super friendly staff. A good location from the beach 15 minute walk. The walk back is uphill all the way. Clean with everything you need from a hotel. Free shuttle from hotel to down town is handy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    3.8
    Comfortable bed, friendly staff at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over-priced!! Does not deserve the stars. Not very clean. First we got a room on first floor with a wall view(!) after some discussions we managed to get another room on 7th floor, room was so small and not possible to open two suitcases. We also found it disgusting that they allow babies without pampers to the swimming pool despite our comments no one cared.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff at the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Totally overpriced !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower/dusch with uneven waterpressure therefore impossible to regulate temperature. A/C working poorly, warm room. No fix dispite complaint first morning, even turned off A/C resulting in even varmer room. Recived a bottle of 5-7€ cava and free parking (after asking that instead of spa entrance). 250€/night... NOT 4star!!!

    Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Great town to visit - hotel eminently forgettable (and, therefore, not value for money)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk staff unhelpful at times. Very poor WiFi - unacceptable at a hotel of this size and cost Pool open only between 11h00-19h00 - unacceptable during hot, summer weather - crowded Parking in small garage additional cost €15-20 per night No laundry service on a Saturday - despite scarcity of laundrettes in St Sebastian Room decor unattractive - 1970s look (including plastic chairs)

    Location near centre of town Swimming pool (though note below restricted opening hours) Navette service requires an extra (third) stop to the Old Town. 20h45 is too early for end of daily service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    Size of the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family and I had 3 rooms one of them has AC problem I complain many times but they never solved it I asked to change the rooms they said there is available , I had to split my kid in to the other rooms and I asked them to cancel the room charge they refused I asked the manger he cancel one night and charge me tow night !!! Not fare . in general the rooms size are good and corridors are dirty

    Size of the rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok chain but not impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool didn’t open til 11 Room had no space to store anything eg bedside table only shelf so could not put underwear or books anywhere Only mirror in bathroom meant one person could not get ready whilst the other did No book exchange

    Shuttle bus to town Airy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Room good size and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive and little else available close by. A little too far when walking back at night after full day and shuttle finishes too early.

    Room good size and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator were too small so was hard to bring the luggage down for check out. Wait more than 10 minutes for the elevator to be able to bring the luggage down.

    Bed was great and the have a free shuttle but that took us to the main beach La kontxa.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    So although there were a few issues like the room allocation and the air condition the staff dealt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked terrace room but gave us without terrace. Went back to reception and they changed immediately. The air condition was very poor and impossible to sleep. We asked for ventilator at 1Am and it came very quickly

    Hotel is great modern bed comfortable swimming pool excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok hotel, but rather expensive, and with a need for an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air con in the room was pretty old, and didn't work sufficiently with the hot weather outside. It got really hot in the room during the night. The sink and the bathtub both had clogged pips, and both filled up with water when used. The sink faucet was loose, so water sprayed out. It was also rather small. There was very little room for suitcases in our room. It was also a longer walk to any restaurants or shops. And, they didn't tell about the shuffle bus they had, until it was to late for us.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was ok, and we got a free ride in a limo, from the hotel to the airport. (Maybe because we payed a lot at the hotel.) The cafeteria/bistro and bar in the hotel was very nice. The service there was excellent, and the food was also very good. You can also eat there at any hour, since the restaurant don´t open until 20.00 at night. We had a big, nice balcony with a table and two chairs. (Not all rooms have balcony's.)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice, comfortable bed & big bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way to walk to beach. Shuttle bus did not start till 1pm & finished @ 8.30. Pick up & drop off a long way from the old town.Vety expensive breakfast 21 Euros

    Nice large room with balcony, big clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the reception desk when I checked in were not welcoming. The man on the night shift however was very pleasant

    The water spa was lovely and the hotel lobby was nice The bar staff were great The pool outside was a bonus great for chilling out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was very comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable and quiet. The facilities were generally speaking what one expects in a high standard hotel. The shuttle to the town centre is a nice add-on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Good quality, clean hotel a short walk to the beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the breakfast costs were overpriced for the quality albeit there was a good selection of food. The swimming pool opening hours were not that clear before booking and opening at 11am eliminated this as a benefit for me as I prefer an early morning swim so I can enjoy the rest of my day exploring. Also I think the offer of breakfast outside should come with an ability to sit separate to smoking areas. As a non smoker this was disappointing.

    Good quality, clean hotel a short walk to the beaches. Reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.6
    Great breakfast buffe, good parking facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not that service minded nor helpful. The hotell is NOT located 4min from the beach if you are not a sprinter. The pool are only opens at 11am, so no where to hang out in the morning. The Spa can only take 6person at a time, very small.

    Great breakfast buffe, good parking facility

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from the old town area was further than expected.

    Nice quiet hotel with comfortable bed. Staff helpful and friendly. The complimentary shuttle bus was great because of location of the hotel from the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good modern hotel - would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are modern with good showers - floor space a bit tight for cases etc. Shuttle bus a must for trips to town centre but that only runs between 13:00 and 21:00 so taxis required to make the most of the day.

    A clean, modern hotel with a fresh interior despite the dated exterior. We were made to feel welcome. Spacious reception, lounge and bar; relaxing lawned gardens and excellent pool. In house restaurant patio very pleasant for an evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall - Will go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They weren't very helpful with our request for a late check-out, hard to get to if you're not with a car.

    5 minutes walk to the beach. Beds are super comfortable. Lobby bar offers simple breakfast which is good, as there are no cafés in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    A great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long way from the old town, quite difficult to get to on foot

    Great pool and outside area, lovely room, great towels, reception were very helpful as were the staff around the pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    San Sebastian is a nice resort and lively witha beautiful beach and surrounding lively bars etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was ok but unremarkable in terms of quality. Again expensive and 42 euros for poor breakfast was disappointing. Not a place I felt relaxed in. More for business I felt. Hilly location made walking for seniors to and from hotel difficult! excursion to promenade was available if you hung about till 1330 hours for the mini bus from the hotel. We walked. Slowly.

    Excellent up market hotel ; probably five star in facilities and staff and general ambience. nice room to the front and nice veranda. Parking was good and pricey as was the cost throughout our visit to Basque area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay everything up front. Everything costs extra , the spa is not really a spa.

    Clean. Nice pool. Location is about 20 minutes walk from beach and half an hour from old town. Not as central as they pretend. However taxis are plenty and cheap. There are also buses. 25 euros extra for a terrace a night which is really just a really small balcony with a chair which overlooks a car park. However the room is comfortable and kept very clean. Breakfast is 21 euros extra a night which is steep for what is provided. There are lovely little coffee shops nearby though that are much cheaper. All in all though I'd stay there again if the more central hotels were too pricey

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Free motorbike parking, comfortable large bed, a proper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area could have been better, less restrictive. It was a very long walk into old town every night

    Free motorbike parking, comfortable large bed, a proper shower rather than a shower over a bath

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great swimming pool. Great beds also. Friendly staff. Walking to the old center is cool, going downhill and a nice stroll along the beach. For returning you better take a (cheap) taxi, since the last part goes rather uphill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Reliable, clean, great rooms and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You cannot go wrong with this hotel especially if you are traveling with children. The rooms are above standard and the location is perfect. For a hotel in a busy beach área this is a great option.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Pricey for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a good 25 minute walk into the old town. Only for those who like walking, that or you have to taxi it in and out. Booked a room because of its balcony but the view was of an apartment block, not quite the way they portrayed on the website.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to the beach, roughly 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Clean and the bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. The pool wasn’t open in June and if you wanted to use the gym or spa it cost €18 an hour. Very expensive for my morning workout.

    Clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited storage , no full length mirror and dangerous sliding glass door serving both the bathroom and the wardrobe.

    Friendly staff and good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay, excellent ambience , great food and a very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool would not be open for at least 2 more weeks.a

    The hotel was excellent . The room we had was lovely and spacious but the right side wardrobe needed a good clean. We ate in the bar and the barman made my husband the best negroni cocktail even although we had to tell how it was made. The food in the bar was first class and a really relaxing place to eat . Breakfast was very good and again excellent service . We would return to this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    We had a very enjoyable time in San Sebastián. Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little far from centre. However bus service is good. Remember last bus is at 10.00pm.!! Pool wasn't open. Poor bar service. Didn't wait to be served.

    Great bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely room great bathroom great bathroom lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from the centre up a hill with no restaurants nearby and that the pool wasn’t open in late May ( one of the reasons we booked it)

    Lovely room great bathroom great bathroom lovely staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Big hotel with good size room and pillows menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit far from city center if you do not have a car available. Parking is available but costs 15 euros per day.

    Big hotel with good size room and pillows menu. Breakfast was amazing and dinner menu good and very affordable. Location was good, bit far from the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and comfortable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished it was closer to the old part of town, however you could still walk or take the bus right in front.

    The room and facilities are beautiful and functional. We were three adults in a triple room and there ways enough space to be comfortable. The staff is friendly and efficient, Rafael and Sandra, who work at the cafeteria, make a great hot cocoa! There is a fooseball, pool table and a tv at the lobby area, perfect to watch the soccer game of the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Acceptable but too bad that parking is not free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception should have told us that they can give you a card to use for the car park, costing 15€ per day and not 20€ at the ticket machine. This is then added to your account. We only discovered this after querying at reception why the ticket machine did not accept bank cards and paying up 20€! Tour groups use this hotel and the breakfast food is not replaced quickly enough after so many people using it.

    Safe, fridge, good toiletries in room although fridge cupboard door off hinges.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    nice hotel, would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was shut until "summer" despite it being late May and 26 degrees. The Spa pool to use was 18 Euros, per person! per hour!!!!!! which was ludicrous, it was part of the hotel, it was just a pool and steam room, needless to say it was deserted! I would not recommend this hotel just because of that, it was not about the money it was the principle of it. When selling this hotels to families this should be brought to your attention.

    The room was nice, the bathroom glass sliding door was dangerous and extremely hard to open, if you were old you would be stuck.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    2 night stay, touring Spain in own car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy to find by sat nav, pleasant easy check in. Clean room with massive bed, nice bathroom, balcony on front. Safe & mini bar. Good selection of drinks in hotel bar. Ten minute walk down to seafront. Hill may not suit less abled bodies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice very good quality hotel. Smile and availability of the staff would be a must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a welcome beverage close to the desk. Nobody told me. I saw it later. And the jug was empty. I was thirsty. I came back a few times. Always empty. I kept little disappointed. So close to France, I would have felt pleasant to be spoken in French. This didn't happen. The young lady didn't speak French.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    The King size bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cups in the room were dirty, the spray jets in the shower flooded the bathroom and leaked in to the hall and bedroom. The meal in the restaurant was poor. I ordered Hake and the fish was raw in the middle. At the end of the meal, the head waiter noticed it was raw & asked if I would like the fish cooking again!!! The hotel charge you for parking in both car parks and is very expensive. The outside car park is charged at 15euros per day and the underground car park is 20euros per day. Worth taking into consideration.

    The King size bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    San Sebastian is a wonderful town with the best restaurants tapas and bars you could wish for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    Bed and shower were really good. No room view but it did not matter. The pool was not open when we were there but looked good and I would have liked that experience. Taxis from the hotel were a little bit hard to get but the walk into town is not too long. Loved San Sebastian and will come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    A pleaseant modern hotel, out of town but accessible, but eat breakfast out in the local cafe/bars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The charge for breakfast was very high, 20 euros for a buffet, we ate there once and afterwards went out to a local cafe bar which cost us 6 euros! Location is out of town but taxi service is fast and efficient and reasonably priced.

    Modern comfortable hotel, excellent rooms and good value for money, not cheap, but worth the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    I would do this weekend again in the future and try more amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were no cortains in the room, so it was light to soon and on the afternoon , it would have been nice to have the option to make the room darker in order to sleep easier at the time we wanted, which was not so late.

    the room was very nice, the bed was big and comfy, I really liked that, and the stay in the room was excellent, I really enjoyed the ambiance and room setting, the room was big and modern, which I really enjoy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very early from plane and they put us directly into a lovely room before noon hour ... so happy for that Restaurant meal was amazing but too much food ... highly recommend to travellers from Canada or anywhere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    The lobby and staff were great, however I was disappointed in the general location and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and not sound proof. Could hear everything in the rooms next door and loud music which made it hard to rest. Was in residential neighborhood with no close amenities and no store to even buy water.

    Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, breakfast and hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures of a superb gym did not match the reality. Old gym equipment and needing to be updated

    Superb multi-lingual reception staff. Breakfast was excellent. Location was just a short walk to the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a bit lumpy. At the breakfast buffet the boiled eggs were peeled and uncovered.

    Super clean and good price and location. They had delicious Belgian liege waffles at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    The hotel looks very nice and it has a great restaurant,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy place, cleaning staff ignoring 'silence' sign on the door and internet was not always working, so it is not a good place to have a rest and not suitable for a business trip.

    The hotel looks very nice and it has a great restaurant, staff in th restaurant and at the reception is very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Great price for a 4 stars hotel, great location, super breakfast, modern and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa facilities were a bit small, you needed reservation to be able to use. But was modern and clean!

    Excellent breakfast! Quite location, few minutes from the beach and a bit longer walk to the center, beds were super comfortable, a bit too soft for my taste, but great. Modern hotel, friendly staff. Great stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water kettle in the room was not very clean on the inside. There were no clear signs stating what time the garage gate would be closed or that there was a bell we could ring for it to be opened. It cause a mini situation for us but the hotel was very helpful in clearing it up. For future they should have it clearly written somewhere near the garage enternce or at least tell guests verbally when they check in.

    The bed was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. Staff we’re friendly. The ambience in general was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That after asking them for a wakeup call, the next morning we never received one.

    This was the best hotel we have stayed in and the room service was excellent and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    Pity that their failure to clarify that the spa was paying was my fault!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service. Telling the client that they should have booked through the full site, rather than the mobile one, so it was their fault that they weren't informed that the spa was extra, is not exactly the kind of customer service that would encourage me to use the hotel again. The parking was expensive, given that you can park on the street for free. The hotel is quite a walk from the old town, which is the nicest part of SS in the evenings.

    The bedroom was nice and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    Just restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - we saw a beautiful picture of the room on the website (I booked deluxe room with balcony) but it was not has expected, we offered to pay extra for an upgrade and were told it would be an extra 80 euros. We said we would pay if they included breakfast which I think was fair,but they said no,usually the room is an extra150 euros. We looked on website and the luxury suite was 152 when we had already paid 108. (It was not good commercial behavior as offer with that 18:00) - in the morning the cleaner was very loud. Then she came into our room at9am. - a lot of noise upstairs - the room was very hot - then we must pay 18extra per person to use the indoors pool We have stayed in many hotels before and this is the first time I ever complained.

    Just restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.4
    Very outdated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was from the 70’s needs a serious overhaul. It was rather dirty and a bit broken in places. The ventilation in the room was bad, the door to the patio on my room was broken. I felt very unsafe. The decoration is truly hideous.

    Location was good. Part of Barceló chain so at least there is some standard to the rooms, even if the hotel needs a serious overhaul. Don’t bother with cafe or bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    bed was great , staff was exeptional very impresse with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem spa was closed and nobody told us before .... ( its rarely closed we were unlucky )

    bed was great , staff was exeptional very impresse with quality of sevice and reception . i recommend this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Good and peaceful location, parking available though a bit over-priced and horrible wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is way too expensive for what you get... Hotel location is a good 20-30 minutes walk to the old city center, and the hotel takes advantage of the breakfast / restaurant pricing because you've basically got no other place nearby available to go to for breakfast... The Wi-Fi is HORRIBLE... It works as long as you're standing in the hallways, but if you enter the room, the signal is 90% of the time gone. Also in the bar downstairs there is NO Wi-Fi, so you can't just go downstairs in the bar to enjoy a coffee while scrolling your iPad or whatever... Really terrible. When alerting the reception desk of the lack of Wi-Fi signal in the room they simply 'reset' the router... Which DOESN'T work (trust me, I work in ICT engineering).

    The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, rooms are quite large and nicely equiped. Parking can be done at the hotel (away from the street-side) but is quite expensive. Very silent rooms, location is rather isolated from streets/traffic so no noise in that area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Overprized
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charge extra for everything. Breakfast, parking, spa-entrance etc... in the end it becomes very expensive to take full advantage of the hotels facilities. The rooms are also quite small. The staff were also not very friendly - they hardly look at you when you come to the reception counter. The hotel is also quite far from the centre and all the good restaurants.

    Very comfortable beds and clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Not the best option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Corporate like hotel, lacks personality. Personnel unresponsive to the needs of guests. Terrace of our room was filthy and nobody paid attention to our complaints.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, comfy bed and a nice breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was without a balcony but we looked directly on the balcony below us which gave us no privacy or them! It looks from the outside that only our room 617 and 616 are the only rooms like this.

    Great location! Easy walk to the beach and old town! Our room was small but well designed with a large bathroom. The bed was super comfy and breakfast was very nice! Fresh cooked omelets and good hot coffee!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    This is a particularly comfortable hotel which I rate highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were spacious, windows opened, the beds were exceptionally comfortable, the bathroom was large and had lovely toiletries. The room had a kettle and an iron.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    Reception staff were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dingy, balcony overlooking rear had poor view. Furniture in room was strange, a space hopper was the seat provided at the dressing table which was dangerous and impractical. My wife had to bring a cheap plastic balcony chair in. Lighting and bedside tables were strange. Dining experience was poor. First night the staff were very attentive for 10 minutes then a tour group came in and service dried up. After 8pm you couldn't eat in the bar lounge, you had to eat in the restaurant but the service was poor.

    Reception staff were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful and luxurious stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were noises heard from other inconsiderate guests staying in nearby rooms that enjoyed our peaceful enjoyment at times

    The room was very spacious and luxurious The bed was large and very comfortable as were the pillows.Most comfortable bed we have had as we had been travelling for about two months at this stage and slept beautifully The shuttle service into town was a nice touch and the gentleman that checked us in was very polite and professional and went out of his way rectify a modification that booking.com had not updated in the system after having received the hotels approval.Would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Very quiet and comfortable, a short walk from Ondaretta beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was quite a way from the centre and the shuttle bus didn't start until 2, so it's either walk (45 min) or take a cab. It would have been useful had it started at, say, 12. Also, it doesn't go all the way down the Concha, so there is still a fair bit of walking. Also, couldn't figure out when the pool was open. On the Sunday, when it was sunny and warm there was access, but on the Monday, when it was cloudy but still warm, the gate was closed.

    Very quiet and comfortable, a short walk from Ondaretta beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very bad Wi-Fi. Too bad... You may consider there is no internet here. Some older recepcionists are rude and have no idea how to handle a guest.

    Location is good. 5-10 minute walk to beach. Uphill climbing on the way back though... Kinda boring if you swam a lot before climbing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Modern, clean, did the business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff particularly in the coffee shop. Bordering on rude and indifferent, obviously don't like the British or are not too happy with their jobs. Housekeeping was poor, tissues, coffee, bath products not replenished daily. Had to phone reception for coffee on final morning. Reception staff ok but not effusive.

    Bed comfy, bathroom good.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: