Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cueva del Fraile 3 stars

Carretera Buenache, Km 7, 16001 Cuenca, Spain

#18 of 23 hotels in Cuenca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1090 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    This hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Doble con Salón
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is amazing. It's really beautiful. Set just outside of Cuenca passed the amazing hanging houses and old town which is very pretty and the scenery is lovely. We would have liked to stay longer, but we were travelling to southern Spain. This is somewhat off the usual road trip route from England to Spain, but we like to take a few days and explore and stop off in different places en route. We had a double salon room which had a living room with large sofas, storage cupboards and TV and up two steps to a bedroom with the biggest bed I've ever seen, desk and chair and another TV. The bathroom was stunning too with double basins and a large double shower. Very tastefully decorated and maintained throughout and with wood beamed ceilings, we could only say "Wow" when we opened the door (mind the step though!). The hotel also has an amazing courtyard with restaurant (and bar) where we could eat a proper restaurant meal with our dog with us. Lovely staff too, all very polite and helpful. I would definitely like to go back to Cuenca and this hotel again. This hotel is very romantic and I would definitely recommend it. Also there is no WiFi or mobile phone coverage at the hotel as it is in the mountains which makes it an ideal place to relax. For those who really need it, you can get coverage in Cuenca itself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay in real Spain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on the evening menu or choice of snacks.

    Everything was good or better than expected. A perfect place to stop when travelling from Madrid to the coast. Views were outstanding. Rooms was simply furnished but perfect for a 3 star hotel. Loved the pool and plenty of chairs to sot around it. Outdoor bar area lovely and menu there great. Indoor areas were tastefully furnished and the courtyard was enchanting, especially at night when lit up. Easy to get into the town. Wonderful. Could wholeheartedly recommend a stay here. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Well priced, lovely location . Will be very good when finished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ongoing refurbishment.

    Decor and surroundings were great. Refurbishment still ongoing so a bit less convenient than normal but priced accordingly. Food was very good and even the large coach party who came in on Saturday were well catered for by the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old building, fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    This review is on HOTEL CONVENTO GIRALDO as Cueva de Fraile was closed. We were delighted with the change of hotel as the.Giraldo is central, a short walk from the Plaza Mayor and the Casas Colgades (Hanging Houses). There is free parking at the top of the steep hill or under cover secure parking half way up, the hotel give you a chit so you don't have to pay. Room 202 is at the side of the hotel and looks out onto the cathedral. Great inexpensive food at Los Arcos in the corner of the square. Not the quietest place to stay due to the busy road ( although the triple-glazed windows are very efficient )but we loved it for it's proximity to all the major sites. A lovely walk from the top of the car park down into the gorge using a trail as per the map at the start of the walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    could have been cleaner, but the location definitely makes up for most of the negative things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the location so much we booked a couple of nights more, this new room included a hottub, but the sink wasn't working, after we informed the service desk, we got offered a new room. also cleanliness could be a bit better. Overall still a great experience.

    The reason to choose this hotel is the location, very quiet and in the middle of the mountains . Especially great if like hiking and mountainbiking. It's a 2-2.5 hour walk to the hanging houses and there's a lot to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location,really fine hotel and first class staff!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No positive dislikes at all.

    The Cueva del Fraille was closed for refurbishment so we stayed at the Leonor de Aquitaine which is the hotel we are reviewing. Everything about this hotel was just right,really comfortable but only possible to have breakfast as the restaurant was not open.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Modern, comfortable, and a beautiful location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was a wonderful surprise - even more lovely than it looks in the photos. The rooms are modern and comfortable, and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful (we forgot our toothpaste and they gave us some!), and the restaurant was excellent. We had our dogs with us, and they were very welcome. The location is just outside Cuenca, but you need a car as the mountain road would be uncomfortable to walk down. I can imagine this is especially beautiful in the summer months, when the pool and gardens are open. We will definitely go back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Room was very spacious with big comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative I can think of is that they do not speak English.

    Room was very spacious with big comfortable bed. We had dinner and it was all fresh and tasty. Would highly recommend to try the house red. Little bit Expensive food, cheap alcohol. If you want a proper countryside experience this is the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    A really good place to stay with good staff and food. Just ignore the tasteless renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the building has, and is still being renovated, the designer/architect should be fired immediately before he can do any more damage to a lovely old building. An awful attempt to mix modern with old. Better to spend the money on maintaining the old style and caring for the outside facilities which showed signs of neglect and lack of care.

    The staff were very good, attentive and friendly. The restaurant was very good value with a reasonable selection. Make sure you drive on through the Serrania de Cuenca to enjoy the unspoilt mountain scenery and wildlife.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.5
    Definitely going back!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the coffee machine in the snack room - breakfast is reasonable but not the best breakfast selection.

    Super comfy bed , lovely bathroom - great size bedrooms , very pretty hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    very nice hotel, lovely patio, food in restaurant is cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi no billiard as on foto

    very nice hotel, lovely patio, food in restaurant is cheap and great, breakfast was also good (7 euro), very big parking thanks to the team for nice holidays!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    4.6
    Poor choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was ok the facilities were fairly run down, the picture of the pool for example is totally false, you wouldn't let a dog swim in it. The food was very poor and was served about two minutes after order ? We had a three week road trip on motorcycles this was the poorest stop over.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Excellent retreat in the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was slightly dated but all facilities were still fantastic and I can't complain with the price we paid!

    Beautiful beautiful location, Cuenca is gorgeous and the hotel was a lovely retreat in the Spanish hills. Couldn't recommend the location more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.2
    sorry could not be a happy snapper this time The day before at Ona oh yes, very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    except for the breakfast in the breakfast room, everything else was unbelievable the table and chairs in the so called dining room had to be seen to be believed

    we stayed here last year, it was good so we booked again this year,,, sadly it was totally different. No restaurant to speak of, no bar, no lounge, no atmosphere, in fact we cancelled the second night!! However, we did have an excellent breakfast in a much nicer dining room before we left

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but no outside areas and had to parking in street for motorcycle

    Location and breakfast. Owner very friendly and property kept immaculately clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little simple and not very tasty. Bed was very hard.

    The beds weren't super comfy and for some reason our room wasn't cleaned but it was a very family and dog friendly hotel. Highly recommend if travelling with dogs. Employees very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Will be nice when finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not told about all the building work going on. My room was not nice and the bathroom weird. Neither very well cleaned. Steps up into the bath meant if you slipped and fell you could sustain a injury. I appreciate these are old monastery rooms, but they could do with some modernisation. For the money paid I did not consider my room good value. If I had booked for more than a night I would have insisted on a room change. It was Friday night but no food available in bar or restaurant until after 8.30pm. Furniture in lounge off bar worn out and fit for the skip. New lounge area off restaurant modern and spacious but building work still going on as with a pretty courtyard. No idea why they don't open the swimming pool until mid June.

    This hotel is currently having work carried out to modernise and create more rooms. So you might like to check to see if you are getting one of the newer or old rooms. Modern and new restaurant, but I eat in the bar. Location remote, but only 3 miles or so from the spectacular town of Cuenca and the views of the old town and gorge. Wifi worked well and free parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Doble con Salón
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been better.

    In a beautiful location surrounded by lovely scenery and a great place for motorcyclists. Safe and secure parking. Our room was in the new part of the hotel which was not publicised on Booking.com. A good blend of old and new and our room was fabulous. We were disappointed with the evening meal but breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location for visiting Cuenca
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a rustic feel to some parts of the hotel, while others areas were quite modern, the menu of the day was reasonably priced with a good choice starters mains and deserts, a wake up call in the mornings from the nearby braying donkey and bells on the goats, great peaceful location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Bring earplugs and a sense of humour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aside from the 2 rooms we had, the hotel seemed empty. Until we returned from dinner to find 74 ten year olds running riot around the hotel. 5 teachers made no attempt to control their antics or noise. The hotel staff couldn't care as clearly it's a big earner for them.

    Parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful and a beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had our meals in each evening and maybe the menu could be a little for adventurous.

    Fantastic room , very peaceful and a good place to stay for a short break. Besides the city the drives into the national parks were pretty amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    A great base for exploring the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Doble con Salón
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Some other room refurbishment was ongoing, but not intrusive.

    Just a great location. Room was recently modernised to a high standard and the whole area and hotel ambiance was really goood. Breakfast was easy and of good quality and I look forward to going back and exploring the region more. This will be the hotel I base myself in... Internet access was also good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Paradise away from town but a short drive away. Lovely countryside all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the facilities were shut including the pool which was a pity as we would have loved to have gone in with such fab weather. Will have to go again . Place virtually empty. Shame.

    The whole place was interesting. There is an old part and new. We stayed in new. Fabulous dinner was good too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Great on route to andalusia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better aircon

    Location, history, staff, facilities..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel located just outside Cuenca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Doble con Salón
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel located just outside Cuenca. Big spacious rooms and friendly staff,our second stay there,great+++++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Great old building which retains it's original character and charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely old building in rural setting

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!!!!!!!!!!!

    Lovely stay.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    In winter time a fireplace would be incredibly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In winter time a fireplace would be incredibly comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Nice and peaceful hotel nice clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Doble con Salón
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    The scenery and setting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    couldnt believe it just fabulous
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    morning coffee

    Just wonderful...only complaint breakfast coffee not great otherwise well worth a 10

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Great area and a very interesting and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great area Hotel recently refurbished and very nice. Good sized room and great price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    The food was not as good as elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not as good as elsewhere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend this facility, excellent staff, great location, superb rooms, all at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was not up to the standard of the hotel, also the facilities around the pool were closed

    Excellent location, staff, rooms, service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Cuelva del fraile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed

    Location, style

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and beautiful pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location and beautiful pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing Rivers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice calm area near Cuenca/ Big rooms / Amazing rivers to swim between the moutains

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Set within lovely scenary.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open/too modern design of the room. Not practical!

    Set within lovely scenary.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely stunning room, and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu rather limited.

    Everything really lovely hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Text of the menu card should be detailed in English, too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their English is poor.

    The bed was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Very good bed and nice room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Doble con Salón
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was not very good by Spanish standards

    Very good bed and nice room . Soft pillows - great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    5.4
    THE LOCATION-pretty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The grounds were not nice to walk or relax in-trash -unkempt- room smelled of smoke-no-non-smoking rooms to be had. Rooms need refurbishing-paint would be a good start-fridge in room smelled like old fish. Restaurant-floors not swept trash and food on floor although staff had no clients and time to do this. This could be a great hotel with some attention to detail.

    THE LOCATION-pretty

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    Amazing grand hotel perfect for road tripping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was pricey

    Amazing grand hotel perfect for road tripping. Big nice rooms, heated floors and wall heaters everywhere. Marble bathroom with bath and hot water. Fridge also.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fair distance from the town..requires transport.

    Value for money. Drive back into the town from the hotel after dark is a must,get to see the old parts lit up. Looks spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Stayed here as part of a motorcycle tour of Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed here as part of a motorcycle tour of Spain. Great room, great food & the hotel staff were very helpful, especially translating Spanish! No secure garage for the motorbike but nothing to worry about in this location & there were actually two separate biker meetings there at the same time. The twisty road between the hotel & Cuenca is a biker's dream & overlooks a gorge which is like a mini Grand Canyon - well worth a view! Recommended.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.6
    We rented a family suite and it had a large room upstairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We rented a family suite and it had a large room upstairs with beds for the children. The hotel is an older place so the furniture is a bit aged and it is a bit dark inside... but I really liked how we could go find a place to socialize without staying in our room. I liked the atmosphere of the court yard. The sole receptionist was very busy but she was very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Nice dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice dining room. Had the Menu of the Hotel at 16.50e which had a choice of 4 starter ,4 mains and 4 desserts with a bottle of wine, water and bread. Nice food and good value. A pleasant 6km hilltop drive to car park at top of old Cuenta-take right hand fork from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    A very relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A very relaxing place to stay. I love the place! Plenty of space and a lovely courtyard to enjoy a few beers in. Great for motorcyclists. This is my third stay and is one of my favourite hotels in Spain.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    We just loved the location, as we had our dog with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We just loved the location, as we had our dog with us. They accepted dogs gladly, and as the hotel is set in many acres of ground, it was ideal for us and the dog.. The rooms were fine, but not fantastic, and the meals were excellent especially breakfast. Service was second to none, (Old Style Service) which was great to see again. It was situated 7 kilometers outside Cuenca, and close to a very nice "Tourist Route" for the car, and far from the maddening crowd. The lasting memory of our three days in this area, was the miles and miles of sunflowers in the fields moving with the breeze, and looking up to the sun. We left this hotel, having enjoyed a lovely experience, and look forward to coming back later in the year. This is a gem

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    We had a dog, and the facilities for a dog on holiday were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one thing, and that was that the rooms could be a little cooler at night with AC. , but apart from that, the holiday was flawless

    We had a dog, and the facilities for a dog on holiday were just terrific. He was everywhere with us, with good walks in the grounds, and the staff made a big fuss of him. Even although it was August, 50 Euros for a double per night including the dog was terric value. It was an old monastery with 72 rooms and so much atmosphere. Visit Cuenca and visit this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.5
    Lovely location, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I felt the bar in the evening was under-staffed during the week as all hands on deck for the evening meal. All operational facilities and rooms were well presented however, the function rooms, not in use, appeared untidy.

    Lovely location, pleasant staff. All of our needs were met.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is situated just one kilometer from the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is situated just one kilometer from the most amazing valleys and rock formations, and also its just three kilometers for the stunning old town . The hotel is full of Spanish charm The service was excellent, we noticed that on arrival the bedside light did nor work, we mentioned this and immediately they upgraded us free of charge to a split level suite we didnt ask for an upgrade they just did it, Hows that for service

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    5.0
    mini-fridge in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    ratty sheets that had multiple tears and holes, staff eyerolls at room change requests, construction crews mean noise everywhere, smell of cigarette smoke in room, pool closed.

    mini-fridge in the room

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.2
    The environment is amazing, the service is good and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There isn't WIFI in all the rooms and you can hear what the ones in the next room are saying.

    The environment is amazing, the service is good and the rooms are very cozy.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    5.4
    good for people who want to hike, bike, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool closed in late June, lots of noise and inconvenience from construction crews, checked three rooms and all smelled of cigarette smoke, no designated non-smoking rooms, front desk clerk rolls eyes and can't get truck that blocked us in to move, towels have tears and holes, better values closer to sites...you get the picture.

    good for people who want to hike, bike, etc. (not us)

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    4.2
    The courtyard is nice, which is good because that is the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room smelled of cigarettes coming for the bathroom, as long as the bathroom door was shut it stayed iout of the room, but the bathroom was terrible. The wifi only works downstairs in the courtyard, and defiantly not in our room. The pool pictured on booking and on their website is drained, there is nothing to do at te hotel unless you're eating in the restaurant at night. However, based on the rest of our experience, we opted for dinner somewhere else.

    The courtyard is nice, which is good because that is the only place you're going to get wifi.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    10
    The situation and the welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel seems to be in some sort of trouble... There was mess everywhere in the grounds where there were all sorts of sporting facilities- tennis courts, pelota. We had booked to stay 2 nights but could only stay one night as the hotel was closing which was a shame - but the plus was that they had organised us to stay in another hotel for the same price

    The situation and the welcome

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    6.7
    Peaceful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture and room facilities dated (but OK for price); room dark (small window) and nothing like the many pics posted on the websites.Very poor breakfast for the price.

    Peaceful surroundings. Nice patio. Very helpful staff, particularly cafeteria/breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Accommodation comprised of bedroom, bathroom and sitting...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation comprised of bedroom, bathroom and sitting room giving lots of space with fast free WIFI (which makes a pleasant change). Food was good and staff very pleasant. I would definitely go back again.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    9.6
    We stayed in two different family suites (because we booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was a bit weak in one of the bedrooms

    We stayed in two different family suites (because we booked at the last minute and the hotel was quite full). Both were spacious, offering privacy, and were excellent value. The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful, providing information about the surrounding area. We would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    Everything a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was good but it will probably be reallly good in the summer when all the outside facilities are open

    Everything a lovely place

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    3.8
    Room was not cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not cleaned

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    6.3
    very difficult tofind to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very difficult tofind to find

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor food in restaurant.Sent meal back

    Wonderful charm

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful court for dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit crowded during checking out

    Beautiful court for dining. Dog friendly. free shaded parking

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.9
    friendly staff,,, great food
    • Group

    Pool not open

    friendly staff,,, great food

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    Peacefull place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no complaints

    Peacefull place Excellent location Clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.8
    Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.8
    The property was very elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have wifi in the room.

    The property was very elegant.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Really enjoy our over night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really enjoy our over night stay. Beautiful location, lovely staff and heaps of character.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Cueva del Fraile traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: