Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cuevas Abuelo Ventura 1 stars

Camino de Lugros, 20, 18500 Guadix, Spain

#17 of 19 hotels in Guadix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 678 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Great fun sleeping in a cave, everyone should try it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place looked tired, needed a lick of paint and mtce attention.

    Excellent value for money, rooms clean, staff very good/helpful and thr breakfast excellent value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Caves are cool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further out of town than we thought - took us at least three quarters of an hour to walk from bus station up hill - further than estimated on Google maps. Food was fine but served chips with everything.

    Wonderful experience staying in a cave. Very helpful staff, and useful to be able to eat on site as we did not have a car. Very comfortable and cool! Only about 20 mins from the cave district which was fascinating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Very peaceful and relaxing setting,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apon arrival,had a few beers in hotel. Spoke to the staff thinking that we had booked a table in the restaurant that evening. Arrived at restaurant only to be told they don`t do food on Sunday nights!!! then had to walk in to town to find a restaurant.

    Very peaceful and relaxing setting,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    novel experience but needs maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lumpy pillow was past its use by date and the bedroom felt damp. the whole resort had an air of general neglect, as if the maintenance had not been done properly for some time. the worst thing was the mould! - and there was a lot of it. I understand this was a cave house but mould on the walls is a no, no especially for an asthmatic like myself.

    bed was comfortable, bathroom good and everything worked, outdoor table and chairs nice, good swimming pool which we did not use but many other guests did, pleasant seating area in cool breezes. staff were very helpful. It was great to be cool without using air conditioning. The Tren Touristico experience in Guardix (which starts near the Cathederal) is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Sleeping in a cave room was interesting, but does not need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in the room, in particular the beds were of low quality and partially lain through.

    Sleeping in a cave room was interesting, but does not need to be repeated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    Awful. Even the Flintstones would complain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cave Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More or less everything else was VERY third rate. The property is in a particularly run down state. There are mangy looking dogs and cats in the entrance yard which in its self is downright scruffy. The reception office closes from 14.00 to 17.00! There were empty beer bottles and food containers with party eaten contents lying atround AND the receptionist, when she arrived, tried to overcharge me, asking for cash and claimed that the card reader was out of service. Funny because WiFi was working! Overall disastrous - oh and there were no toiletries in the cave! Even Freddie Flintstone would complain.

    The cave in which I stayed was clean, cool and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Basic, but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little difficult to find to find

    Basic, but good value for money. Good views and friendly staff. Just a short car journey down to Guadix Square and town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    We had a fun experience and enjoyed the great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The bed was nice. The room was clean. The food for dinner was amazing. The live music went well with dinner. The staff was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    A little far from town but I need that going in and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from town but I need that going in and we managed without a car. Taxi service were great. The view was absolutely stunning. And would stay here again. Rooms quaint. Was just what I was looking for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    We were running late after a day of driving and arrived at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were running late after a day of driving and arrived at 8:50pm after checkin had closed and the hosts were so nice and accommodating. The location can’t be beat and I recommend this to people wanting to stay in a cave hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    A novel and enjoyable experience in a traditional setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This accommodation has real character and it is in a great location. The "caves" are large and very warm. The view from the patio is fabulous - looks right over to the Sierra Nevada. If you are keen on birds you will love it with plenty of walks nearby, you might even have Black Wheatear in the garden like us. Brilliant surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    spectacular place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In February it was a bit cold at night but there was a heater in the room. Some of the other guests were noisy late at night and early in the morning but it was a Saturday and there was a big birthday party. I as surprised how much you could hear the other guests talking in their cave rooms.

    Very unusual place, spectacular setting, tgis place is a one-off. I'll definitely come back with friends and family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    If you like caves , try another one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “cuevas” (cave-houses) are worth a stay. But there are several in the area, and these ones in particular had a terroble breakfast (8€ / person is a real rip-off for Andalusian standards; no fresh coffee, no orange juice, dry bread - ideal for feeding ducks in a pond). The heater was switched off so I had to shower cold in the morning. These guys are not trained to give good service. 90€ for a house with two rooms (father + 2 children) is much too expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    If the restaurant can be improved, it would be an excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, the restaurant food in the cave did not meet expectations. In a place like this, for 14 EUR you would really expect a delicious traditional rustic meal cooked with fresh ingredients. However there was very limited choice on the set menu, and all the dishes we ate seemed to be made from frozen or tinned ingredients perhaps from a budget supermarket, apart from a plate of fruit which was not very fresh or of good quality. If the restaurant can be improved, it would be an excellent place to stay. We also noticed that the breakfast food had been laid out the night before - all dry food and nothing fresh.

    It was a unique experience to stay in a cave, and the view outside was spectacular. Good parking facilities (though not shady which would be a problem in summer). Rooms very clean and comfortable. though you have to remember to plug in the hot water tank if you want a hot shower. The staff were very friendly and cheerful. Check out the Churros y Chocolate in town at the Cafeteria Versalles (a 10-minute drive away). Guadix is a very beautiful town and worth a visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.0
    disturbed sleep all night and the restaurant was a rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got no sleep whatsoever. The beds were pretty dated and very uncomfortable and I did find the mould smell of the room a little overpowering. My friend had a loud extractor fan in her room that was noisy throughout the night, getting louder, shutting off, turning on again etc. There are dogs that bark throughout the night in the valley, this is the main thing that kept me awake. Hardly the hotels fault but an issue all the same. We had dinner at the restaurant for 14.50 each not including drinks .This was actually our most expensive meal in the area ( and we ate at some good places too) the whole meal seemed to have come out of the freezer, in fact I know it did as I saw them get the bag of croquettes out. The desert was inedible and overall the meal experience was a shame as we felt really ripped off. We inadvertently went for breakfast as we thought it was in the room price but it wasn't. You'd be much better going to town to eat as here it's a strange coffee machine and a poor buffet style breakfast. This place could be so great with some care and attention but as it was we left completely exhausted by being awake all night.

    The receptionist was really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Views are amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.6
    Beautiful location but requires service and attention for visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English speaking staff. Better food and service and staff to tidy room, provide clean towels and make bed, it was more like camping

    Please and quite and views were great. Rooms were good. Internet was poor. Food was poor. Location hard to find. Shower not warm on second day. Nobody spoke English. Would not go again or recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    [the area is outstanding and the site is verynice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the place needs to have better directions even if you went into town it was very difficult to find your way back one of the locals escorted us back on a motor bike

    the room was good clean and quiet the food was very good and the staff were outstanding , we did find it very difficult to find you need to put the address into satnav not the postcode but our stay was very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    This stay added to our European vaca experience! Definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little trouble finding the location with our GPS...but ocals very helpful when we asked. Was great once we got there.

    Great experience staying in a cave room! Food in restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Budget friendly with good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses are quite old and should be replaced soon but were acceptable for such a low price.

    Good parking. The breakfast included hot items like scrambled eggs and bacon, which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    enjoyable if a little amatuerish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very difficult to find. no fridge in room even though it said that there was. no double bed.also you had to order dinner 2 hours in advance which could have been pointed out at check especially in view of the property. location a good40 minutes walk into guadix centre

    the animals and the tranquilty were good views superb would stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    Disastrous and left at 5 am in the morning. More comfortable driving in my car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very basic. Dinner terrible . Staff need training. I served in the British Army and was more comfortable in the jungle. In my civilian life I travelled all over the world on business. Even in the sixties in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe I had better experiences.

    Only the ease of parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.5
    The staff and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel could be fabulous but needs a little money spent on painting and general tidiness. Breakfast was sufficient but a little boring.

    The staff and the view. Evening meal was good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.8
    a bad expierience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nobody at reception at 18,00h, we were there with other tourists who had a booking, some left we called the receptionist, she had forgotten !! There was no meal wat normaly was promised and she was NOT friendly at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location if you have a car available to visit places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos online showed they were also organising activities, i.e horse riding or train rides-- they never had that facility at the complex of the kind, we were looking forward to those.

    Very friendly and lovely staff, made us very welcome. Prices were very convenient for food and drinks. Some of the staff (2 people) tried their best at communicating with us in English, even typed the menu out for us on a daily basis, while others didn't seem to be bothered at all. Thank you so much to those 2 lovely people that worked so hard, really appreciate it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grounds were a bit run down but obviously a work in progress. Restaurant wasn't open on the one night we were there but didn't really bother us as Guadix close by. Direction to hotel could be better. Use Sat Nav and u will get to an advert siding sign for the hotel. Keep going along that road for some way even when think too far - the hotel is on the right hand side.

    The staff were fantastic, the views were great. The lovely animals - cats, dog, donkeys and horse. The cave was lovely and cool, clean and comfortable in 44 degrees heat. Parking was fab and free. Beer was lovely and cold and breakfast nice. We loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    VERY DISSAPPOINTED WILL NOT BE GOING BACK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grounds run down, swimming pool a joke not use able i.e. State of water etc, Rooms we're very basic first one was disgusting smelly and very damp bed sheets and mattress damp complained and ask for another cave but just as bad do only stayed one night had, had enough 😡

    Was very disappointed with it all really. Main restaurant ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. During our stay it was a litte bit poor: toster,tomato, cheese,croasane,jam, drinks, fruit.

    Unic expiriense. Very cosy. Very quite. Clean room. Good view outise of the room. Frendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    price/quality ratio is super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's very interested experience had night at rocks; what about hotel - it's had all is necessary for good accomadation. price/quality ratio super!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The yard can be better exploited and maintained. Too much food for dinner too little for breakfast. A better balance can be made. I would have eaten eggs and sausages for breakfast ☺.

    Good value for money. Dinner and breakfast included. Nice location just among the eroded hills. Minimum decoration in the room. Felt like in a cave.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.1
    Quirky accommodation in a unique location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find, not well signed. Some ardrobe space would have been good, no rail just two coat hangers.

    Vast open space, panoramic views and quirky. Excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect situation in pitoresque countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we did not like was the very strong smelling agent that is used for cleaning (desinfecting?) the rooms. It gets fixed into ones clothes giving them a long lasting peculiar scent.

    Perfect situation in pitoresque countryside. Very friendly and helpful personel. Rooms spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Cave hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple rooms but interesting. Hotel a bit difficult to find on sat nav and location has great views but out of town. Worth a visit fir the experience. Restaurant menu simple but acceptable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.1
    Quirky and very basic fun place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had obviously been used by smokers in the past, as that is all it smelled of. They should keep some rooms totally smoke free. They probably didn't notice as they seemed to all smoke, only non smokers would notice. We had to air our room, but it still smelt of smoke.

    The staff were very sweet and tired to be helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    5.0
    Good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was difficult to find. We were given an inappropriate room for 4 nights stay but were changed to a better room. However, items advertised on your site for the rooms were not included as we had - No telephone or refrigerator, No free toiletries or hairdryer. We expected more towels and it was not cleaned during our stay. Hoping for a swim, we were extremely disappointed to find the swimming pool completely neglected and out of use. The whole garden needed attention and dog mess was not cleared away. Breakfast was minimal.

    We liked the location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.3
    Once there, enjoy the rural experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs signs to get visitors there and not lost in Guardix for an hour. Pool not open and rooms rather chilly (OK it was Feb!)

    Rural setting and fabulous views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    Cosy warm cave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated a bathmat. The wine with the meal was WAY too expensive! It wasn't that easy to find either. Luckily the tourist information centre gave me a map. It didn't show up on my gps.

    Receptionist -Eric- couldn't have been more helpful. 'cave' lovely and warm. Breakfast very nice, chef also very helpful and friendly. Lovely situation, fabulous views.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.7
    Interesting but room for improvement at that time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pain in ... to find even + sat. nav. Breakfast v. poor - not even enough cutlery let alone food - only 1 person on duty.Admittedly out of (summer) season but need to improve.

    Cave very comfortable - location pretty stunning.Evening meal simple but tasty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    An Interesting Rustic Experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Cave Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst advised on Booking .com website there was no hairdryer. The bottom sheet could have been better fitting (Saying that all the bedding was spotlessly clean)

    The hotel was very rustic, as we expected. The young people that ran it were very friendly and accommodating. At our last evening meal they gave us a free complimentary drinks. We stayed full board and whilst the choice of meals was limited to 2 or 3 options the food was of good quality well cooked and plentiful Our cave room was not quite what was expected, we were expecting a fairly shallow cave that was fronted by a house construction as can be seen in the picture. No we were deep underground, we had a 100 ft corridor underground before we came to the room front door. Our accommodation consisted of an area that was a shower /toilet an area with 2 bunk beds, an area with a double bed and a sitting area with a stone plinth for a seat and a couple of very rustic wooden chairs and wooden table that appeared to be made from decking. What really surprised us was how warm it was in the cave. I knew that caves kept a constant temperature all year round, but this one was 21 c. Outside there was ground frost all day that only disappeared in direct sunlight and immediately reappeared when back in shade. It was by no means 5 star accommodation but we most definitely recommend both the hotel and the area for a short visit provided you are willing to accept rustic accommodation. It is a cave after all. The hotel is quite difficult to find so print off the map and instructions even if you are using sat nav. (this is due to road changes in Guadix)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    truly unique setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Truly unique setting, walking distance to town if one is careful not to get lost. Young lady on reception, bar, restaurant, breakfast very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very mediocre

    LOVED sleeping and being in the caves. Lovely and cool after the heat outside. Stunning views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Caves
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult one, depends what you want!

    Cheap place to stay enroute for me. Quirky

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Sleeping and eating in caves was a novel expperience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping and eating in caves was a novel expperience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    location was nice once you found it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    location was nice once you found it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great place. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    great and nice stay to do again for longer time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - a bit difficult to find

    - the experience of sleeping in a cave - the incredible view of the Sierra Nevada - quiet place in the nature

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Great setting with magnificant views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All a bit run down, could do with some renovation and painting

    Great setting with magnificant views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Drove in at night, a real challenge to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drove in at night, a real challenge to find. Got there thanks to extremely friendly personnel. Fantastic surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    being unique
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    facilities quite old and outdated. missing blankets. and no separate heater in bathroom. No heater as well in main rooms.

    being unique

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    exiting to live in acave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wii fii- and bad covering on the mobile

    exiting to live in acave

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    breakfast was good, good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dogs in the neighborhood were barking during the night

    breakfast was good, good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Exiting place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too simple. No eggs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Cave Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was dirty. Breakfast could have been better. The whole place needs a good clean up

    The dinner was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Night to remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Cave Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. Interesting experience. Good dinner and breakfast. Quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Location - awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location - awesome! Beautiful and breathtaking landscapes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    would recommend it to anyone wanting a different experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Cave Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Directions from the large poster

    It was an exciting experience very different to booking a hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Worth doing for the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic.

    It was worth the experience of staying in a cave room. Lovely views from the top section.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property in general

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    The staff was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was soooo humid that we found out all our clothes were super wet in the morning

    The staff was really nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    great value ,willing staff & unique setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Cave Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    maintenance of grounds etc needs a little attention to make this property stand out.

    unique rural experience .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Cool place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Cave Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    So many animals! Loved the staff and staying in a cave was awesome!! Not too far of a walk into town easily doable with a car

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Great spain excursion
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non.. Value for its money

    Cave feel...cool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely amazing , cave room was unique experience, surrounding was so peaceful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi couldn't reach our rooms.

    view from the hotel is great. very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I little difficult to find.

    All staff were happy and helpful. Good food. Great setting and location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    Incredible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is extreamly friendly and the whole hotel is rustic. But if was an excellent experience to sleep in a cave.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    swimming pool advertised but not available didn't really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool advertised but not available didn't really expect at this time of year but pool area was dirty and pool full of stagnant water

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't have Wi-Fi or cellphone signal in room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.1
    an experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cave Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room very basic even for a cave!

    location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.1
    Lovely people who looked after us very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price, nothing. Perhaps the lack of comfortable seating when the weather was bad as wifi only available in public areas.

    Lovely people who looked after us very well. Really good breakfast, as was the evening meal we ate there. Basic but comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.9
    The caves offer an alternative type of accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More comfort in the sitting area of the cave accommodation

    The caves offer an alternative type of accommodation. The owners are very welcoming, extremely helpful and warm. The accommodation is comfortable and the bar and restaurant good offering value for money. The accommodation would be a great experience for families

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    Unique facikities (caves), and wonderful welcome from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be very hard to find after dark, luckily we made it in daytime

    Unique facikities (caves), and wonderful welcome from the staff. We were pleasantly surprised how warm the caves are naturally.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    The place was almost impossible to find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place was almost impossible to find! We were using GPS, but all we found at the given address was a sign telling that the hotel was supposed to be somewhere in the neighbourhood! A sign showing which direction to drive would have been most helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    Unique experience, fabulous views from several terraces of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing. Would go again.

    Unique experience, fabulous views from several terraces of this amazing landscape. Marie Carmen is a very welcoming host and brilliant cook. Evening meal was delicious, accompanied by excellent wine. Brilliant value.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Staying in the caves was a unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mini fridge did not work and although the staff said it would be replaced it was not. This was a minor inconvenience and would certainly not prevent a repeat visit.

    Staying in the caves was a unique experience. Maria Carmen, the owner and chef was so accommodating and a great cook. Some of the best food during our entire trip through Spain was at the Cuevas. Highly recommend Cuevas Abuelo Ventura for those who want to experience something a bit different from the usual hotel/location.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cuevas Abuelo Ventura traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: