Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cuevas Almagruz 5 stars

Cortijo Almagruz S/N Salida Km 286 Autovia A92 (Area de Servicio Rio Fardes), 18519 Purullena, Spain

#1 of 5 hotels in Purullena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 190 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    An extraordinary experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really like the place located among the mighty mountains of Sierra Nevada ...we got the sensation of going back in time when we saw that marvelous red colored landscape...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    An exceptional and certainly different experience...Ask to be shown around the property and museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there is no restaurant you need to bring food with you...The hotel provides basics but maybe they can upgrade the quality and quantity .

    Everything...This is an exceptional place and well worth a visit..We were very fortunate that the Owner Manuel was present and he took the time to show you s around the property and especially his museum which is full of memorabilia from early times when the caves were occupied. There are six apartments of various sizes all built within the caves...Whilst maybe a little damp this is s more than offset by central heating in the bedrooms and fire places in the sitting area. The swimming pool is an additional asset especially on hot summer days.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some ants in the kitchen when we arrive, we told the staff that gave us a spray and it work like a charm

    The location-so private but great for a day trip. The staff ate sooooo nice and helpful, we also had a private tour and explanation on the history and the life in the caves. The quite and the option for some get away and peace of mind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay in this comfortable cave house, nice cool temperature and all luxury, even washing machine which we greatfully used, owners so friendly and go all the way: free pool towels, free washing powder, free stone painting with kids, free very nice informative cave tour, our daughter simply did not want to leave (and loved the New Born kittens and large pool and stone painting) Thanks for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Sylvie and I took a few days away from the coast and as Purullena was less than 2 hrs away we decided to stay a couple of nights at the Cuevas Almaguz ............ well I am so very glad that we did ! . The location is amazing , picture if you will relaxing in the swimming pool in temperatures of 34 degC gazing across to the snow capped Sierra Nevada ... at Cuevas Almagruz it's a reality. The area around the pool is kept simple and you will see chickens plus several cats roaming around , It is relaxed in every way. The cave houses themselves are quite lovely and well appointed with everything that you need for your stay Our Host (and owner) Manolo came to us on the second night of our stay and asked if we had anything planned .... we didn't so he took us on a short trip to look at the ' Badlands' an amazingly beautiful area close to Purullena that is likened to a mini version of Bryce Canyon and Grand Canyon in the USA ... another wow moment as the sun set over the Sierras Manolo was well supported by Lupe and Encarni who made sure that our stay was memorable in the best possible way Encarni took us into the on site cave museum and explained how the caves originated and about their inhabitants lives ... no charge for guests They organise educational activities for children of the guests which include jam making (own fig trees) and things like soap making .... You would have to check availability of this for your stay. This is kinda listed as an hotel but it really isn't an hotel in the pure sense .. there is no restaurant and no bar on site however there are excellent eating places in Purullena and one that provides take out option (not by any means fast food ... its all good stuff), there is another that specialises in BBQ 'd meats a 6 minute walk away. You can buy your own drinks and enjoy them staring out at the wonderful scenery Staying at Cuevas Almagruz is an experience ......... a great one !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing, v dirty toilet brush

    Loved evrrything; the space, location and of course the cats :) Great experience staying in the spacious caves. Staff very welcoming and on hand.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are driving to the property like we did, you will need to look it up on google maps, as the GPS will not take you there, only to the main road.

    We have been travelling Spain for the past 3 weeks, this property has been the highlight so far. You get to experience living in a cave just like many lived generations ago, and some still live today. There is a beautiful pool, positioned in the centre of the property, with caves built into the mountain, converted into accommodations, the surroundings are as natural as it gets, lots of cats roaming the property, and a few bugs around. There are no restaurants on the property, you get a fully equipped kitchen, and lots of restaurants in the near by town Pullerina. Lupe greeted us, showed us to our cave, and later on gave us a history lesson on southern Spain & the cave history, Lupe is vey knowledgeable, and spoke very well English, she was amazing. The property also has a cave museum, we were shown around & got to dig a little bit of the cave, the whole experience has been amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved it. A great adventure with a difference. Will live long in the memory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to improve really. New towels perhaps.

    It's a natural authentic property for what it's supposed to be. Not a luxury property in the normal sense. Liked the authenticity and natural environment. Owner brought us for a wonderful trip on Saturday morning and afterwards showed us around his museum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.5
    Cool, clean, comfortable cave and a pool open in May (rare...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a few too many cats for my liking

    Cool, clean, comfortable cave and a pool open in May (rare in Spain) Fabulous staff. This is an amazing part of Spain where many people still live in caves. The landscapes are incredible and Manolo kindly took us out to see the Badlands, not to be missed! We ate delicious bbq at Jose's restaurant at the bottom of the drive, and had great pizzas delivered from town. A wonderful relaxing few days in spectacular surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    An experience not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A new experience sleeping in a cave apartment.Scenery spectacular.Easy to find using google maps.Well equipped apartment.Best part was the guided tour we had of the cave house that was inhabited until 1974.So interesting to learn about the lives of people living in caves in the past and our guide who still lived with her family in a cave. Supermarket nearby and good local restaurants .Guadix and the area with the dolmens were interesting places to spend the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Absoluilusionalmente.....
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed the video de la cueva :D

    The host was great, thanks Manolo! He showed us around the caves and brought us churros in the morning.Loved the caves feel kitchen and fireplace. The pictures don't do it justice of the interior, they are very nice. Bar next to the caves also has very nice owners and the Andalusian 'caña y tapa' here,is exactly why I love Andalucía. To top it off the amount of stars you can see at nighttime!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pretty flawless.

    The room--in a cave, yes--was the most wonderful one we stayed in in Spain; Guadalupe was a consummate host and exciting, knowledgeable guide; and the location was gorgeous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic place and we would definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We only stayed 6 nights.

    We spend (sadly only) 6 nights in the cave for 3 persons at this very special place. The caves are large with lots of furniture and they even have a fireplace which you can use in the evening if it gets too cold inside (they have wood outside the caves). Each cave is different and we were given permission to take a look inside them when they were unoccupied - all very cosy with different layouts and decorations. When we arrived there was a small bowl with fresh eggs (from the chickens living in a cave just above the reception), a plate with some muffins and a bottle of water in the fridge. There are about 6 caves on the property so you got a lot of privacy and tranquillity - of course depending on the other guests. When we were there most guests only stayed for one or two nights and it was very calm and quiet most of the times. The nights were absolutely silence and having the bedroom in the back of the cave ensured us almost complete darkness. If you like cats this is definitely a place for you. They have at least 10 cats living outside on the property. Most will avoid you but a few of them are very friendly. Make sure they are not under or on the top of the car when you leave the place - we saw several guests not used to handle cats. They are fed and they don't try to steal the food when you eat outside. They were a bit relaxation for us and they are easy to keep outside the caves even though the most friendly ones would like to come inside. The evening when we arrived one of the cats gave birth to 3 very cute little kittens and we visited them each day during our stay. The pool is located in the center of the court yard and is really big with a shallow and an opposite deep part. It is not heated and it was pretty cold in October. Lupe who is maintaining the property was just so friendly and speaking English she was very easy to talk to. She offered all the guest to take us to two different places in the neighbourhood and give us a guided tour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    A great place to get away from the crowds and really relax! Very peacful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A number of friendly, adorable cats roaming around the property and quite happy hanging right beside you. Unfortunately I'm allergic to cats ( love them ).

    Staying in a cave was most enjoyable with lots of space to relax, enjoy the beautiful pool and a great place for star gazing. We had the most peaceful and comfortable sleep. The inside of our cave was absolutely beautiful and I think I took 100 pictures. I wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The shower was probably what you'd expect in a cave.

    The staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful (and spoke English!). The caves were comfortable, well equipped and the pool was spectacular. Was so special to stay somewhere different and interesting. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Lovely caves , set in a very interesting area, but with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing

    Lovely caves , set in a very interesting area, but with good access to Granada. Good space in caves , well equipped , lovely and cool at night .Pool clean , quiet and well maintained Very friendly, helpful staff, who are very happy to take you on tours of local sights , give you the history of the area, organise outings etc .They could not have been any better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Unique and welcoming, a true taste of this lovely region. Much as gracias!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more could be invested in the upkeep of fixtures in the accommodation and the grounds.The hard working staff on site could do with a little more help now and again.

    Friendly and helpful staff with complimentary informative tour and history of cave life,fantastic views and easy access to Granada and many local attractions e.g dolmens at Gorafe.Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Delightful. Beautiful surroundings. Exceptionally friendly and helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our cave house was a bit stuffy at night- but we were given a small fan which helped a lot. Overall, our house was very comfortable.

    Staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful and gracious. The owner's wife even organized an activity with children staying on site where they picked figs from tree near pool, cooked and processed them into delicious jam, then gave all the guests a jar of it! Delightful place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    They make you feel very at home - Miguel is really good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They make you feel very at home - Miguel is really good and knows a lot about the history and he takes you on tours which are fantastic. Really enjoyed this and we will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Hosts were very very nice and showed us the beautiful nature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a little naturally related humidity inside the caves.

    Hosts were very very nice and showed us the beautiful nature and history of the location. You have to be aware that it is a rural hotel. It is very quiet and not directly located in a city, but a good and cheap restaurant is close to it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Definitely worth the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely worth the experience. The caves are very nicely done and surrounding area is amazing, Granada 45 min drive. Swimming pool is also very nice and Manolo, the host, is always happy to show you the local attractions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it here - the accomodation is perfect and well-equipped. The pool is delightful! The owner Manolo was a perfect host and took us in tours and no additional cost. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    A hidden gem owned and managed by the nicest people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything!

    We loved everything - owners and property managers extremely friendly and accommodating! Apartment was fully equipped for our needs and the owners checked on us a few times a day to see if we needed anything else. They run the place with love and care - oldschool and authentic. The owner arranged for a guided half day trip out in the desert and would have arranged many more activities but we were only there for 3 nights and two days spent siteseeing in Granada. We plan to come back again on a family trip and bring along the kids and the dogs! The two bedroom cave apartment was very spacious and comfortable - a really special experience! Fully equipped kitchen with all the appliances, including a dishwasher and washer! coffee capsules, detergent, condiments, ice, extra towels ... all free of charge! They really thought of everything and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. On our last day the owner told us to take our time and check out whenever we were ready to leave. For those planning to come with kids, the owner and his wife organize over 20 different activities for kids. You are within a 5 minutes drive from major supermarkets/pharmacies where you can buy food and everything you might need. Hotel is conveniently right off the highway but you can't hear it. Overall a magical experience to be repeated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable, surrealistic, secluded little paradise away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I had to come up with something I didn't like, it would be the nearby highway that you hear from the premises (not from the bedrooms though).

    A comfortable, surrealistic, secluded little paradise away from everything. The staff is wonderful and the cave museum next door (which the staff was happy to show us) is a treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Romantic and unique cave hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no breakfast in a hotel and a food store was about 3 km away in the nearest village (Purullena).

    What a place! A wonderful, romantic and unique hotel with a great view to Sierra Nevada. If you want to experience something really special, you should choose this place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic experience in real cave
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is safe place, but having security at the gate will give better safe feeling . The water heater is not enough for such property size and 4 people . No supermarket around

    It was really fantastic experience to live in real cave. It's spacious property Lupe was so kind and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience to stay in a cave!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Wonderful experience to stay in a cave! Very spacious and comfortable accommodation with log fire burning on a cool evening in January. Very welcoming, helpful and informative staff. Interesting museum giving insight into the development of the many cave dwellings in the area. A highlight of our travels in Spain and well worth the trip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    The best place close to nature to stay near Granada!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staffs were very helpful and forthcoming to assist us with information that helped us enjoy our vacation in Granada. Anytime in future, we would love to go back to Cuevas Almagruz. The property offers three free assisted tours and it gave us a great opportunity to get to know the history of the region.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Great place highly recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame there is not a restaurant or bar onsite but you do have all the facilities to cater for yourself

    Loved the room and the staff, location was excellent and setting was lovely and peaceful. Highly recommend and will definitely be back

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Special place to stay in a living cave with 'character' for one or two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sleeping rooms had open connection (window) to living room. So noisy if some want to go to bed earlier than others (also light into bedroom).

    Very nice place to stay. Living room had 'character'. Very friendly staff. Close to the highway, yet a feeling of being surrounded by nature.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Worth it by all means
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is the work done by a couple who love the place and you can feel it. It is worth the stay and even use as a basis to explore the region.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A return visit, will go again, superb in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff! A different kind of experience, sleeping in a cave and well worth a stop to explore and relaxe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Our second year and cant wait to return again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens could do with being tendered to and provide a sun lounger.

    Relaxation, staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    cats

    view!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Thrilling experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too vild inside

    Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Loved Cuevas Almagruez
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was everything I imagined and more. Will definitely make a point of staying here again if and when we revisit Spain. Is a hidden gem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Unique secluded friendly and very interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unique secluded friendly and very interesting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    AWESOME
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host were really friendly and keen to share about their culture:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Perfect place to relax or use as a touring base for the fabulous scenery in this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    The caves are just perfect,rusti simplicity at its finest. Pool is gorgeous and the staff so nice and friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Divine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything das perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel when you just want to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel when you just want to relax. Fantastic room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    All was very nice exsept that we could not get/buy meals there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That it was no food there.

    I liked it all

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Sleep in an AWESOME cave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    The space was incredible. So cool to sleep in a cave. And they have a pool. If I lived in Spain, I'd go back every year with friends.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Every assistance was offered. Apartment was very good size, comfortable and well appointed, and open fire was most welcome.Local experience tours were a real bonus.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.1
    The cave was lovely, tastefully decorated, well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The outside areas and the haphazard attitude towards showing the museum and arranging the tour. Disc

    The cave was lovely, tastefully decorated, well equipped. The outdoor areas were rather run down. The museum and the tour were a little haphazard . We did actually do it but had to take the guide in our own car. However it was interesting talking to her about cave living. We managed to explore the mountains and discover local wine. The restaurants in Perrulena were amazing value. Fascinating area and to stay in a cave was so interesting.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    Friendly reception at check-in and helpful tips from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly reception at check-in and helpful tips from Guadalupe. Best kitchen of all the apartments we stayed in Spain. Wonderful fireplace, the kids loved the pool (brrrr!), and the views are gorgeous. And, of best of all, you're sleeping in a CAVE that's more like a HOME!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    I absolutely love tho place, it is rustic yet has all you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We would have liked a kettle for making tea and a bigger frying pan and a few more cooking pots perhaps.

    I absolutely love tho place, it is rustic yet has all you need for comfort. It makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. Fantastic views, friendly extended family of cats, roaring fire in the evening and very friendly and helpful staff. It's our third visit and we hope to have many, many more.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    9.6
    It is difficult to describe in words that do justice to this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing I would change.

    It is difficult to describe in words that do justice to this venue. For anyone wanting to know more about the history of cave dwellers and people that inhabited the area in the distant past, this is the best way to find out more. I would recommend the guided tours on offer and the chance to live in, authentically recreated, caves for a few days. A beautiful experience.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.2
    Very nice host, knows quite a lot about the history and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say

    Very nice host, knows quite a lot about the history and the caves, explained a lot and gave very good tips for excursions in the neighborhood. The hotel is a fantastic place and has a very cozy atmosphere.. A small museum and information center is attached where we got a guided tour.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    We stayed in a cave with a dishwasher and excellent WiFi -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Approach to the property is a bit beat up looking. We thought we'd taken a wrong turn at first.

    We stayed in a cave with a dishwasher and excellent WiFi - yet the “cave “experience was unaffected and brilliant. Every possible amenity and convenience had been thought of.The woman on site was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable; lives in a cave herself. Truly unique and very interesting. Everyone should have this experience.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Our host was very gracious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our host was very gracious. She is a native who loves the area. There is a museum on the property and she provided us with fascinating historical background, tour and materials. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet, a perfect temperature and beautifully decorated. There is a lovely outside pool and views are nice. This is authentic, very unusual, and not to be missed.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Staying in the caves was like a trip back in time, but with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed could have been more comfortable.

    Staying in the caves was like a trip back in time, but with modern conveniences. They have also created a very informative and impressive museum about the history of cave dwellings in the area. It was beautiful there and our hosts were very gracious and helpful. We loved staying there!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    great place, very romantic spot, extremely comfortable rooms;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road to access the hotel is a long unpaved steep stretch, I wish we would have known before because luckily we were with our more sporty car, the other one, which has a lower set and is far more expensive, not only would have been spoilt but - more important! - wouldn't have even managed to reach the hotel!

    great place, very romantic spot, extremely comfortable rooms; come with your own food and wine, you'll be able to have (even, to cook) the most romantic dinner in the room

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    We loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Finding it was not easy !

    We loved the pool. The apartment was nice and cool even though it was 40 degrees outside. We also liked the little tours to the Bad Lands and the megalithic area. We wouldn't have found out about. THanks to Maria and Lupa for such a nice stay

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Very nice decor in caves, country style, very clean and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was quite humid inside the caves, but still very pleasant.

    Very nice decor in caves, country style, very clean and cozy. Regardless of the temperatures outside ( around 35 degrees), the caves were pleasantly cool inside. The pool area was very clean, quite large with one side deep on the other shallow, ideal for both adults and children, we had great fun at the pool. There were bikes and barbecue available. Caves were very spacious, comfortable bedrooms, large four-poster bed, cozy seating in the living room, kitchen well equipped. The owner Manuel was fabulous, very nice and helpful, and also Lupe, who looked after the guests and the caves, she was just wonderful, very attentive, she gave us great info about everything that was worth to see. We participated in two trips organised by staff, for free, both were great. Wonderful experience. The best staff!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    The cave museum and hotel manager / museum tour guide.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Better instructions on how to find the hotel - especially as travelling there by bike.

    The cave museum and hotel manager / museum tour guide...a good introduction to an evolving way of life.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    The rural feeling of the place, cool and comfortable and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rural feeling of the place, cool and comfortable and in keeping with the surroundings, beautifully and tastefully decorated. Fabulous museum. Wonderful family of friendly cats.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    We loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no one there when we arrived and the phone number of the property goes to the owner in Madrid who then had to call the local person. It would be better if the local staff were the contacts.

    We loved this place. The cave was really good - very spacious and well equipped, and it was great to have the pool on the day when it was 30 degrees, and the fire on the night when the temperature dropped. The best thing was the staff. Lupi and her assistant Vicky are so enthusiastic about the area and took us to see some amazing places we'd never have discovered on our own. We didn't realise we were booking an experience, not a room! This was definitely a highlight of our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    10
    We were received by Lupe, the care taker of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We were received by Lupe, the care taker of the property. She is helpful and welcoming. The cave apartment was incredibly spacious with a fire place. The court yard was pretty even in the winter time. There are the beautiful cats in the court yard to keep is accompanied.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    8.3
    This kind of stay is something which will always be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - As they are classified as 5* hotel and not just a rural accommodation, I would expect kitchen utensils to be of a higher standards. Unfortunately, cups and plates were very dirty and cracked. Teapot was very used and dirty inside. - Not very clean, found some hair in a bathroom. - Would be nice if they could offer some slippers, as it didn't feel comfortable to walk in street shoes inside. Plus it brings more dirt into cave.

    This kind of stay is something which will always be remembered - it was such a special place, beautiful cave hotel, very friendly owner, full of hospitality. The cave inside was very beautiful and filled with old antique items - it felt like staying in a museum. We have enjoyed a lot putting up a fire and enjoying calming & warm experience of being next to fireplace. Cave inside felt very comfortable and warm and we even had a view to Sierra Nevada mountains from our cave. Owner Manuel is one of the kind person - so devoted to his work, improving the reputation of this region and bringing for us pieces of past so everybody could enjoy and appreciate the life & forgotten traditions of this region. He also made us a tour, which was very interesting and told us a lot of interesting information about that area. We have been telling about this hotel to everybody :)

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    10
    A unique and unforgettable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to fault.

    A unique and unforgettable stay. The moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Manuel. Everything we needed was provided in our accommodation. The bedroom was spacious and well appointed. The sunken fireplace was another feature we really enjoyed. We were also impressed by the museum on site, which the owner gave us a tour and also of a nearby national park to understand the history of the natural land formations in the valley. The owners were extremely hospitable and proud of the history of the area. We have stayed in many places and this is one which we will always remember for its uniqueness and the care given by the owners to ensure we had a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    The surroundings were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The surroundings were amazing. The caves are unique and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    a very different travel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a very different travel experience..so tranquil, so historic...an experience not to be missed.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    a unique and beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a unique and beautiful place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    La gentillesse du personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    La gentillesse du personnel

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    We visited the museum that is located at the hotel with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We visited the museum that is located at the hotel with the best guide ever.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The hosts were marvellous and very well informed about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were marvellous and very well informed about the area. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Loved everything about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything about it. The owner was a great host and even took us on a fabulous tour to some historic sites.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    The five stars cave, the pool, the location, the owner who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The five stars cave, the pool, the location, the owner who treated us as a family.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Amazing staff - very friendly and approachable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Amazing staff - very friendly and approachable. Great facilities and amazing location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    Tours, peacefulness, views, fresh eggs, fascinating way of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tours, peacefulness, views, fresh eggs, fascinating way of life - cave living

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Cuevas Almagruz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: