Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Costa Esmeralda Suites 5 stars

Ceballos, 53, 39340 Suances, Spain

#2 of 17 hotels in Suances

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 798 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Suances car themed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal overrated for the price

    Staff very courteous, room a good size, clean. Good car parking facilities. The automobile theme to the hotel was interesting.A stepped walk to the beach, a slightly longer uphill walk to Suances centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was reasonably located just a short walk (mainly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As our allocated room had twin beds, we requested a different one. Unfortunately this was close to the kitchen / service corridor and could be quite noisy at times.

    The hotel was reasonably located just a short walk (mainly steps) down to the beach area. It was clean and the pool / jacuzzi area was pleasant. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers and hot tub were a bit dirty - some old plastic, etc. Needs to be changed. Everything a bit worn for a supposedly 5* hotel.

    Wonderfully helpful staff and was not bad value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    This accomodation was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This accomodation was fantastic. The only problem I can sate is that during night, it was extremely hot despite the walls are of stone! I informed about it in reception. For the rest, incredible hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    AWESOME!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the best hotel in our 2 weeks journey through Spain. Amenities, staff, service, everything was top notch! Would definitely come back again to Suances and stay in this beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional Parking fee

    The room is very spacious, clean and has good facilities. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helped us out with many little things. Also the breakfast buffett is amazing. Open show kitchen where you can pick between various breakfast dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Super - would go back again in a heartbeat !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect - location, room, food and staff. We had a balcony of our room so was lovely to be able to sit out and enjoy the evenings with a glass of vino

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    The high standard of accommodation and good food in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's location on a busy road.

    The high standard of accommodation and good food in the restaurant. We stayed 1 night through Booking.com before moving on to a hotel further west booked through Brittany Ferries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in Suances
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Jacuzzi in the room needs to be serviced more frequently (there was some flakes of dirt in the pipes)

    Ideal breakfast. Very clean hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The beach is 5 mins by foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was first shown to a room smelling of smoke adjacent to the main entrance. Asked to move but all that was offered was a superior room for an extra 20 euros instead of the normal 25 euros. Pretty disgusted in having to pay extra to get a decent room. Won't be returning.

    Breakfast and smart tv

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.8
    Not bad but definitely not a 5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing critically wrong about this hotel. Everything is OK except for the mattress which was too soft for my personal taste. But everything is just OK, and compared to the label 5 star and the huge cost of the hotel (charging supplemenrary parking fee for instance) this hotel is defintely not worth the price

    The cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fold out sofa in our suite was too small for two children. One ended up sleeping on the floor. The road was very noisy, couldn't have the window open and it got very hot at night.

    Very nice hotel. Small but very nice and clean pool. Lovely pool side bar with excellent food. Excellent breakfast, although at an extra charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    3.8
    Definitely not a 5 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was awful with the low ceiling with sharp corners so that you had to be very careful not to break your head. Tiny window was so small and high above the ceiling that you had to rise on your tiptoes to see something. The room was so dark with red carpet on the floor covered with dirty spots and stains. And this was expensive Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub. The staff promised to change the room tomorrow, but tomorrow we still had the same room and the same promise. Finally, we decided to change the hotel by cutting 4 nights stay to 2 nights. Instead of excuses for the terrible stay, the HOTEL CHARGED US FOR 1 EXTRA NIGHT.

    Nice building with parking places around it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel if you're a petrol-head, rooms and decor themed around vehicles. Very well-equipped everywhere, rooms excellent and spacious. Good gym with massage facilities. poolside was nice. Breakfast was out of this world, best ever. great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking of motorcycles we put 4 bikes in one parking bay but got charged per motorcycle so we paid 4 parking charges but only took up one parking spot ☹️

    Everything was spot on one of the best rooms I have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location for our overnight stay before Santander ferry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning for the hotel had been turned off for winter season and our suite was too hot for us when we first arrived. The reception was unable to facilitate the air con being turned on for our room. Even with windows open it was not until sunset that it was at a comfortable temperature - it seems the hot sunny weather was exceptional for this time of year. Anyway, that said we enjoyed a walk to the nearby beaches and quaffed a glass of wine whilst viewing the sunset and the surfers at Playa de Locos! Choice of evening meal was limited to two dishes for each course but they were all of good quality and our meal was delicious.

    Great location for our overnight stay before Santander ferry next evening. Hotel has a Triumph TR3 motor car in the foyer and a couple of vintage motor bikes on display. There is a motoring theme to the pictures and artwork which is subtle and really smart. Bright clean suite which was well laid out and amply furnished. Bathroom was spotless and had oversized shower and even a small digital TV embedded in the wall ! We enjoyed the food provided in the Restaurant and the breakfast buffet was of good quality and plentiful. Very comfortable bed led to great nights sleep. I would recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow.

    We were upgraded to a suite which was large, comfortable and clean and very much appreciated. The staff were very helpful; facilities were great including restaurant, pool and lounge

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Fab stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fab stay! Nice surprise too that we were only a short walk to a fabulous beach! Would def stay again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    A real emerald
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the garage and the wonderful attention to detail in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great 5* hotel.but area was quite quiet as very early in season when we stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel and really good value for money. set 3 course evening menu with wine 33€. No complaints

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, friendly and well appointed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ridiculously small washbasin, hardly big enough to keep a goldfish in.

    Friendly staff and a good evening meal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Best place in Suances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open area to relax working or reading.

    - service & location - beds are superb - outstanding cleanness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    If I hadn't booked other hotels, I probably would have stayed here the whole 12 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Nothin. Nothing.

    I can't rate this property highly enough (even if you're not a petrolhead). Go out of your way to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    One of the very best!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, it's one of the best hotels we stay in

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was excellent, the cook was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was an experience we would not like to repeat, we felt like goldfish in a bowl! However we were the only people in the restaurant so it may be different when they are busy

    Breakfast was excellent, the cook was great. Room was good but noise from adjoining room was unacceptable.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    loved everything about this hotel, this one definitely has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    having to leave.

    loved everything about this hotel, this one definitely has the "wow" factor, would like to go back and stay longer, staff ,food, and facilities absolutely fabulous, mucho gracias.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    This is a privately owned hotel where the owners attention...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This is a privately owned hotel where the owners attention to detail in every aspect comes through. It has a great feel and is a great stop over if using the Santander ferries. The owner interest in classic cars and Motorsport is evident throughout the hotel with many pictures and memorabilia on show. Food was great as was the very helpful staff. After 59 hotel nights this year it was the best by far.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Everything was just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The windows of the room we had were a bit small and too high placed, so we didn't have a room with a view.

    Everything was just great. Great breakfast, nice and luxurious room, friendly and helpful staff. Top class!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Quirky nature of the decor - car theme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Double bed was two large singles pushed together No paper tissues!

    Quirky nature of the decor - car theme. Had an Alpine Renault in the foyer. Bedroom Extras in bathroom

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    We liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    We liked everything! The style, the decor, the fabulous room, the staff, the food and the awesome G&Ts by the pool!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    breakfast was wondeful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the triple room was not suitable for three people the WiFi didnt work most of the time

    breakfast was wondeful the team was very nice but not always able to solve the problems mainly to the language barrier very nice and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel, room, and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel, room, and pool. Good location for beach. Ate in restaurant at night twice, good value. Staff friendly and helpful. Be prepared to speak some Spanish, as the only staff who can speak English are the reception staff. We had some hilarious communication with the barman, neither of us knew what the other was saying, but we got what we wanted!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    This is the second time we have stayed here and enjoyed our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    This is the second time we have stayed here and enjoyed our stay even more than last year as we were more familiar with our surroundings. We had half board once again and it did not disappoint. Breakfast was plentiful with eggs and bacon cooked on request. Dinner with wine was superb. Rooms and bathrooms are of a very high standard with large comfortable beds. We will certainly return again next year for the third year running.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    Room faced street so very noisy if window or door to ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room faced street so very noisy if window or door to terrace was open also had to draw curtains for privacy. Hotel should be a four star definitely not a five.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    lovely room (217), great breakfast, relaxing atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not quite up to 5-star standards, no ability to change foreign currency at the front desk, and silly little bits of soap!

    lovely room (217), great breakfast, relaxing atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    The staff were excellent at understanding our needs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything at all to dislike.

    The staff were excellent at understanding our needs and acted on them accordingly. The suite was absolutely the last word in comfort and furnishings, with a superb whirlpool bath. The breakfast left nothing out and was plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was wonderful - beautiful buffet and you can order...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They do not have any EU to US electrical converters - so bring your own.

    Breakfast was wonderful - beautiful buffet and you can order egg dishes to suit.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.6
    The room was excellent having his and hers shower rooms one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The room was excellent having his and hers shower rooms one with a built in tv and fitted with top quality fittings, there is a separate seating area with 3d television. The sleeping area had television air conditioning and an hot tub. The town is a little walk but down quite a steep hill so decided to try the menu of the day at the hotel, wow, superb meal with water bread and as much wine as we wanted for a great price. Will be sure to book more nights next time!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel, staff were really friendly, axing G&T from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel, not much to criticise really. Having the hot tub open in May would Have been nice.

    Great hotel, staff were really friendly, axing G&T from the bar and good breakfast. Our room was spacious and had a spa bath in the room. Hopefully we will be back! Steap but easy walk to the beach/town.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    It was huge, comfortable, quiet, near restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I only downgraded the location because it was isolated, not near any big attractions. But that is why we chose it, so it shouldn't count less.

    It was huge, comfortable, quiet, near restaurants. Perhaps the greets bargain of our 2-month trip.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    Hotel is beautiful with a good location and wonderful rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is beautiful with a good location and wonderful rooms, wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return if I return to Suances

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Superb hotel in every sense offering excellent value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Superb hotel in every sense offering excellent value for money, superbly decorated owned by car enthusiast

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Very confortable room, with 2 bathrooms + massage tube in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the wifi did not work allover the suite

    Very confortable room, with 2 bathrooms + massage tube in the room. 2 big tvs. Great food. Nice staff. Parking

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff very friendly. Lovely rooms. Great restaurant for evening meals and extensive choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Lovely quirky hotel - with vintage car theme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely quirky hotel - with vintage car theme. Friendly staff, clean, lovely pool area - great breakfast. Spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It would be nice to have more choice at evening meal

    Everything was excellent

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Lovely building, fantastic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problems not being dealt with. Lack of bar staff.

    Lovely building, fantastic room.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    5 star quality throughout the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 star quality throughout the hotel. Newly refurbished to an incredibly high standard. Unbelievable value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.would visit again without question

    location.Standard of the hotel.Great staff

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    Proximity to the coast and cozy little tiwns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People drive like manuacs

    Proximity to the coast and cozy little tiwns

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.6
    Quality of the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Quality of the rooms

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Costa Esmeralda Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: