Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cuevas La Granja 3 stars

Camino De La Granja S/N, 18510 Benalúa de Guadix, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Benalúa de Guadix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 193 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful family stay near Guadix - Estancia en familia cerca de Guadix
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cave (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a 2BR/2BA cave (los emigrantes) which was very comfortable for our family of 5 (3 children ages 6, 5 and 3). The cave was well-equipped with everything we needed to make lunch both days we were there. The room was perfectly clean, towels and basic toiletries were provided. The personnel we interacted with were all very friendly, the breakfast was a great value, and the pool was wonderful. There is a sectioned off area for children which was a good depth for my children (all > 1m tall). It took about 10 minutes to Guadix from the caves. We didn't have a long enough stay to use all the services, there is also a playground and a small inside play area with toys, coloring books etc. We had a great stay and would absolutely recommend this location for a family stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely tranquil place to stay. Listening to bird song and a donkey braying!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited menu, same for lunch as evening. Would have liked to be able to choose a few tapas dishes for lunch. Evening meal spoiled by a group of 3 EXTREMELY loud people just having drinks at the bar, separated from dining room only by a thin partition. It was so loud you could not hear yourself speaking. What could have been an intimate meal was totally ruined by this persistent noise! Not the staff's fault I know but it was loud and something should have been said.

    Bed extremely comfortable! Lovely accommodation. Beautiful views of the Sierra Nevada. Free parking. All staff very friendly, particularly Sylvia who checked us in. Ideal for overnight stop to unwind. If you are staying longer, self catering facilities excellent, including BBQ to use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    A great experience to stay in a cave , and these must be the best in Guadix .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything .

    When in Guadix , you just HAVE to stay in a Cave , and you couldn't do any better than this place . Maribel in Reception is an absolute Darling , so warm and friendly and informative , ( and speaks excellent English !! ) , she gave us tips for some great places to visit , which we wouldn't otherwise have found . The accommodation is really great , tastefully furnished and with better WiFi than I have at home !! The view from the terrace is wonderful , looking over the pink Peach Blossom trees to the snow capped mountains of the Sierra Nevada .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in times could be more within Northern European office hours. But of course, it was winter, not many tourist so we don't complain.

    We wanted to experience a night in a cave. We arrived before office hours but the key was left somewhere so that we could enter our room. Wood was put near the fire. But since we just wanted to stay one night without using the kitchen facilities we did not have any matches to light the fire. And they told us bottled water was in the room but we could not find it. But no problem, the experience was nice, the room convenient, the people in the village went very far to find us a place to eat on Monday evening in winter,the check out was very pleasant so we enjoyed it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Characterful dwellings....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave for 2 People
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was off season, so the restaurant was closed and the destination felt like it was only just open, but that is to be expected. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Cozy cavehouse. Warm and with all mod cons you can expect from a cave.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    A lovely quiet property, lovely views of the surrounding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely quiet property, lovely views of the surrounding mountains, great staying in a cave and staff great, Sylvia who signed us in was fantastic, very helpful with information and also directions, her tourists information spot on and easy to follow.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Unusual stay for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave for 2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - they have thought of everything.

    An unusual place to stay and we loved our short break in the cave house. All the staff were welcoming and helpful. The onsite restaurant was good and the staff excellent. Everywhere was clean and the organisation was faultless, they have thought of everything and there are great touches everywhere. Easy to find and ideal for trips to guadix and granada or just to stay in the cave area and relax. We will return to this lovely place, thankyou to all the staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave for 2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Absolutely great! Couldn't think of a better location for total relaxation. Our cave house was super nice and cool with all the facilities you can wish for. Maribel was extremely friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed more, but we'll be back for sure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    A good experience worth repeating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I am still thinking what, if anything.

    The friendliness and good will of the staff; the overall concept of the "hotel" and, although it is beyond them, the variety one finds in the Guadix shire (yes, they use the same terminology as in the Hobbit)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Couldn't fault anything during our 4-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave for 2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation - An unbelievably warm welcome from the 2 lovely receptionists....Sylvia & Mirabel/Maribel. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice and clean cave, good pool, lovely area to discover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had dinner at the restaurant one night. Based on other reviews, we expected quite good food, but unfortunately it wasn't. Quite simple dishes and for dessert we ordered fruit salad; all we got was 2 chunks of melon and 1 apple (not even sliced!) on a plate. The first day we didn't have warm water in the shower; but after reporting this to the staff, it was fixed immediately.

    We got an upgrade to cave nr. 8, since there were hardly any guests when we arrived (sept. 2016). Cave had a livingroom, bedroom and bathroom, small kitchen and nice terrace. Everything was clean. Check-in was very good: Maribel was very friendly and explained us everything about the area. For example the town 'Gorafe' and the beautiful landscape; the day after we drove there and it was wonderful. Nice pool and garden. You can have breakfast in the restaurant, but not on the days when we were there. So we went to the little village instead.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    We had an excellent time here and will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cave (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. They gave us lots of great recommendations on where to go. The facilities are great and the location is very near the town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cave (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baths prefer shower

    The experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    A peaceful and relaxing two days which was exactly what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave for 2 People
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing p

    Lovely location, relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Sleeping in a comfortable cave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave for 2 People
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fun sleeping in a cave. Very helpful staff who will introduce you to the fascinating and little known region of Spain

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Try a cave apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave for 2 People
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Machine machine available in a locked out building.

    Comfortable apartment, all you could need except an oven or washing machine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice and different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location. Friendly reception service who really minded about our wellbeing during the stay. Many thanks to the lady.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely few days near Guadix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Cave with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff could not have been more helpful. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Cuevas la Granja is the perfect escape from the heat in Granada during the summer- a must do!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Cave for 4 people
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything! Comfortable, cool caves, friendly staff, nice pool, and delicious dinner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a bit difficult to find - but we kept asking. Better directions to the reception office would help also. From the parking area - go up the steps & it's to the left.

    Everything was perfect. We loved our Cave #1 - very cozy, clean and comfortable. The view was beautiful - from our location we could see the snow on the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Felt like a home. Heard roosters, donkeys, dogs, and a little cat meowing at our door. Again, Perfect...since we were missing our pets. The restaurant attached to the Cave featured excellent food. Great choices & the chef was top notch. Breakfast is basic, cheese, meats, toasted bread & the best coffee ever. Our host, Efren, was extremely friendly and helpful with other places to visit in the area, and how to get around. He gave us maps & booklets to read. Wonderful experience. Will definitely plan a return visit.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Pleasant helpful staff, Wonderful food in the restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to not like.

    Pleasant helpful staff, Wonderful food in the restaurant, Central heating that works, Well equipped Kitchen and comfortable lounge.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    Great hospitality of the lady at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool wasn't clean and very cold

    Great hospitality of the lady at the reception. We had a very last minute booking in that morning itself and she arranged an upgrade to comfort us with a preferred double bed (no price changes). She also welcomed us warmly and provided us with all needed information about the surroundings. Great host, nice cave which was big, clean, fully furnished and beautiful, really outstanding food in the restaurant and free parking. Really nice walk to a dam in the surrounding. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    The staff were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was so perfect.

    The staff were incredible. Silvia went out of her way to make us comfortable. The location was perfect and the accommodation merits 10+. One of the best places we have ever stayed in. Hope to go again for a longer time.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    The manager was fabulous, very welcoming, and made us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved it all!

    The manager was fabulous, very welcoming, and made us feel at home immediately! She showed us some amazing places to visit in the surrounding area, and couldn,t have been more helpful! We loved it!! ..The restaurant served us one of the tastiest meals we had eaten in the whole of our trip-Fantastic food!! - We told the chef afterwards!! An interesting and unusual place to visit!!, with fantastic facilities!!Thank you so much for making our stay memorable!!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful Caves with a lot of space in an astonishing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The terrace outside could maybe a bit more paved and more shaded. But this is very minor, the place and the owners are great.

    Beautiful Caves with a lot of space in an astonishing environment (canyons, dessert, Granada)

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    We were looking for a Spanish rural cave experience and this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were looking for a Spanish rural cave experience and this cave hotel was in rural Spain so fit the bill nicely. There is plenty to interest in the surrounding countryside and the friendly reception staff were very helpful with local information. If you are looking for a Spanish experience outside major tourist centres hire a car in granada and get out here. The actual caves are clean large and comfortable we wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Just stopped on my way through on a business trip and made a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just stopped on my way through on a business trip and made a last minute booking. The views are gorgeous and it was very peaceful. The best wifi connection I've ever had in a hotel and obviously sleeping in a cave was a great experience. Efran was great and made me feel very welcome. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    8.3
    Quiet location just 5 minutes drive from Guadix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Quiet location just 5 minutes drive from Guadix. Perfect wifi and free parking. Spacious cave rooms, moderate temperature. Modern kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    The peace and quiet and novelty of staying in a cave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception unattended at times.

    The peace and quiet and novelty of staying in a cave.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    8.3
    Very nice and spacious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and spacious bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    9.2
    A very nice and undiscovered surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very nice and undiscovered surrounding

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    10
    Very comfortable apartment in a cave ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very comfortable apartment in a cave ; friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    Helpful, friendly, open people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful, friendly, open people.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Travel tips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Travel tips Heart-shaped balloons for our honeymoon Pizza in restaurant Kettle! Staff very friendly and helpful

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Cuevas La Granja traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: