Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon 2 stars

Barriada San Torcuato, S/N, 18500 Guadix, Spain

#12 of 13 hotels in Guadix

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 142 apartment reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    WIFI only worked outside.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI only worked outside. Bed uncomfortable with synthetic sheets. Bath towels minute. Shower head would not stay up. Shower screen would not close. Bathroom door jamming half open. Generally a lack of maintenance and unwillingness to invest. All done on the cheap. Not again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    The quirkiness of the place and it looked very pretty from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold and would not really function as a holiday location just a stop off for the novelty factor

    The quirkiness of the place and it looked very pretty from outside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Unique setup and location,fine for an overnight stop but let down by the poor restaurant and
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast choice,rock hard toast. Noisy dining room. Expensive food,poorly presented with items missing from menu description. No wine list.

    Comfy bed. Quiet room. Easy parking. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay with quaint charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of English TV. Insufficient heating for the time of year and climate. Small bath.

    Good location with south facing patio area. Great hostess and good food. Caves were romantic and private. Would visit again when weather warmer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    christmas cave stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Cave with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    water for the hot tub was not very watm was supposed to be half board but tbere was no evening meal on christmas day!!!! not told about that when we booked for 360 euros for 3 nights such an important day totally not on very dissapointed because no where was open for food !!!!

    a cozy cave house great bathroom with hot tub open plan with bedroom great romantic getaway guadix great little town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The cave hotel was probably my favourite part of my holiday this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cave (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave- I had a previous booking to visit Cordoba and couln't stay another day.

    The staff were lovely and tried their best to be helpful and to make the stay there a joy. The outside swimming pool was fine. Eating at the on-site restaurant was good value (menu del dia) with wholesome food. The whole environment was calm and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had cut out Granada and stayed here.

    Wonderful place. Lovely lady really helpful & very informative about local attractions and there are plenty. Just loved staying in a cave.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great, the manager especially was wonderful, very friendly and helpful we were delighted to meet her. The food was excellent, and accommodation spacious and lovely and cool. A wonderful deep pool. A wonderful place to stay. Just be aware taxis are difficult to get on a Sunday a wonderful local man gave us a ride to the property .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay, very different than anything we've ever stayed in before
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find even with Google maps.

    Cave houses were surprisingly spacious with 2 bedrooms, living room, bathroom and small kitchen. The bed was very comfortable but the double bed had a traditional Spanish bolster pillow. Very clean and decorated in Spanish style. We would definitely go again. The views were stunning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    A must do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could have been better and the highway was very nearby, but we slept very well and you take it for granted in such a picturesque surroundings.

    The apartments were nice and comfortable. The furniture was a bit dated, but that added to the authentic atmosphere. Sleeping in a cave house was a very nice experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    A 'Hotel' with a touch of home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cave (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the shower could have been a bit warmer.

    Apart from the quaintness and the comfort of the cave, and the quality of the food in the restaurant, we were very impressed with the attention given to us by the staff, especially in reception. This was not the first time we had stayed overnight and I don't think it will be the last.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    Good cave experience, but very far from the center with no public transport options
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cave (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. It's a 15 minute walk to the bus station, but a 40 minute walk to the center of Guadix. The issue is the lack of public transport options, so it was only either walk or cab. Fair enough a cab ride to the center was only 5eur, but in a city with only 13 taxis and most not working at night - I would recommend this place more for someone with a car. It was also a bit off the beaten path and difficult to find. The caves were also a bit cold even with the heating. Another issue was the opening times of the reception, as they aren't open all day. They're currently trying to improve the wifi situation as for now it's only avaliable outside the caves, but that's understandable given that well, it's a cave.

    The restaurant opens at 9 and I had to catch my train much earlier. They were very helpful and went above and beyond on this - they prepared a breakfast package for me to reheat in the cave, where there's a stove top. The actual cave was complete with all the kitchen utensils and more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cave (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little or no facilities for preparing a meal.. No way to make a cup of coffee and very few utensils. We arived at 1900 but had to phone for receptionist who has no English, which wasn't a problem as my friend was Spanish.

    The unusual accomodation, comfortable bed, friendly and very knowledgeable receptionist.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cave (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a miracle! Very interesting, comfortable and cozy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Very interesting and you do need a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (3 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The numerous flies. A kettle and cups would have been useful.

    All of it especially the cool temperature of the caves.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A very unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cave (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to be closer to the pool as the hill was steep

    The house was very cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Place - Must Try
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV program, do not have English channel.

    Is a wonderful experience by staying in a cave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, very comfortable rooms, and located just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very comfortable rooms, and located just outside of old Guadix. Reserve a room with a fireplace!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    pool was dirty though we did use it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pool was dirty though we did use it

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.1
    Relaxing hideaway for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cave (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in individual cuevas would be a bonus.

    Constant pleasant temperature in cave during heatwave.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    4.2
    Nothing I can think of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. I reported the TV remote was missing when I left as I didn't want to be charged for it. The receptionist said she had it. Huh? Couldn't she have told me that in advance? 2. Forget a 'cave' experience, some of it might be in the rocks but you'd never know it as it's just a plastered, white-painted, square box with no window at the back. Like a dark, dank hotel room. 3. Freezing cold. I found that leaving with hobs on for an hour or so took the chill off. 4. Hated the bed. 5. The wifi is only in reception, and only till they close at 8pm. 6. Went to look at the restaurant, but I've seen more welcoming hospital waiting rooms.

    Nothing I can think of.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    6.7
    The quaintness of living in a man made cave which has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were very few caves occupied during our stay. In fact there were only two during our last night. This made us feel quite lonely as the caves are scattered throughout the area. There is nothing interesting to visit in or near Guadix except for churches and the remains of Moorish castles and buildings. Most neighbouring towns are desolate and not worth driving to.

    The quaintness of living in a man made cave which has been dug out of a of rock with special characteristics. This rock provides a dry, constant temperature. It was an unusual experience. The evening meals were simple yet wholesome and well prepared.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    4.6
    The room itself was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heat was not turned on until 6PM - and once we had to ask for it at 7PM - it was COLD. The food in the restaurant was not good. The shower was broken. The staff didn't seem to care if anything was good or not. Very disappointing. I realize it was off season, but perhaps they should not open if they are not prepared for guests.

    The room itself was nice. There was free parking. Guadix was an interesting town in a beautiful setting.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.2
    Delightful cave houses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water in bathroom.wasted as it takes so long for hot to run through. Restaurant offers basic Spanish breakfast and daily meals...OK but not varied or to international tastes for most.

    Delightful cave houses...rustic but really cosy. Easy to find and staff helpful. Very different and a pleasant change from usual B&Bs.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    6.3
    The wonderful experience of staying in a cave!
    • Couple

    Had a problem finding it - need more details on the website please.

    The wonderful experience of staying in a cave! We had used this as a one night stopover, so location (just off motorway outside Granada) was perfect. Lounge and kitchen area were a nice surprise.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Novel way to spend the night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hill up to our cave!! Lol!

    Novel way to spend the night!! No English spoken but staff willing to listen to our very poor efforts at Spanish!! Good fun. Restaurant was good, both food & staff! Excellent value all round.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    It really was a great experience staying in a cave house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lots of flies in the room. Fortunately I'd packed some fly spray so gave them all a dose! Bathroom was a little smelly and took an awfully long time before hot water started to flow through. You need to leave the taps running for quite some time. Not particularly easy to find but OK if you use Google maps. Out of town.

    It really was a great experience staying in a cave house. Bit like The Flinstones! My 'house' (no.23) had a living room, twin bedded room, kitchen complete with fridge/freezer, cooker and microwave, double bedded bedroom and large bathroom. Excellent value at €45 for dinner, bed and breakfast. Dinner was nothing to shout about but perfectly edible. Staff were very helpful, though none could speak English at all. Thank goodness for Google Translate! Hostess even said I could park my motorcycle in the room if I wanted! Rooms were cool but warm enough at night. I wasn't aware of any traffic noise at all. Slept like a baby! Would go back...

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.2
    This is an amazing experience, staying in your own cave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    This is an amazing experience, staying in your own cave. But this is a luxury cave. It was huge with bathroom, kitchen, living room and two bedrooms! Its a few kms outside of Guadix but well signposted and easy to find. Not much happening on site when I was there but you can pop into Guadix for bars/restaurants etc. Evening meal and breakfast was included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    4.2
    Original and authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Moisty in the rooms and moist smell. Very close to the highway with a lot of traffic noise. Food was of poor quality. Old-fashioned interior and ready for renovation.

    Original and authentic

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    6.3
    The restaurant was ok with friendly staff and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Evn thought i had made a reservation my room on arrival did not have any heating turned on. I had to ask for this. The shoer did not function and the hot water was very limited. Even had a notice in the bathroom aplogizing for any delay in hot water supply?? I went to the resaurant at 0905am only to find it closed and also the reception was still closed at that hour in spite of the horario stating that both would be open at 0900. I left my key in the door to my cave??

    The restaurant was ok with friendly staff and very good value evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.5
    Cave was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in bar as stated

    Cave was very clean. Nice bed and excellent facilities in cave

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.1
    interesting accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel located just next to highway. Staff speaking only Spanish is a trouble when you need to fix any problem.

    interesting accomodation

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.8
    Loved the quirky rooms and plenty of space in ours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved the quirky rooms and plenty of space in ours. Great value half-board option with fairly basic but good quality food.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.5
    The rooms and the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to say interesting excursion

    The rooms and the pool

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    The actual cave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The actual cave. 3rd time we have visited, always good.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    The cave motel was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cave motel was very comfortable. It was clean, roomy, a perfect temperature, and despite being adjacent to a busy highway, it was very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.6
    great people , excellent experince to sleep in a cave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    only Wifi at reception

    great people , excellent experince to sleep in a cave accomodation , great hospitality and fanstic value for money

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    8.8
    Staff in the restaurant absolutely superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of a kettle!

    Staff in the restaurant absolutely superb. Views to die for. Whole experience

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: