Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de la Moneda 4 stars

Plaça de la Moneda, 8-10, 17486 Castelló d'Empúries, Spain

#1 of 12 hotels in Castelló d'Empúries

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish every hotel experience could be like this one. Impeccable cleanliness (rooms cleaned and then "tidied up" a second time each day), phenomenal breakfast with every possible food item, as well as cooked to order eggs and omelettes). The women who run the hotel are fantastic hosts-they anticipated every need (like when we casually mentioned wanted to visit a nearby restaurant, she took the initiative to call to confirm that we would in fact need a reservation). Our visit was quite rainy so we didn't use the pool, but although small, the patio looked to be a lovely place to hang out. When we mentioned that we had to leave before breakfast hours, they kindly placed muffins, yogurt, fruit and yogurt in our room the night before. Beautiful structure, located in a charming and quiet village with a great medieval museum, it was perfect home base for exploring Girona, Cadeques and the ruins of Empuries. I cannot recommend Hotel de la Moneda highly enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    tricky drive up , only one way in and out , so if you get it wrong you are lost in narrow roads . Read the hotel instructions beforehand and follow to the letter

    very friendly staff , all very helpful , quiet location with lot of good locations , we had the pool to ourselves

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We have stayed at the Hotel before (3 years ago) and the standards have been completely maintained. The staff are friendly and could not have been more helpful. There is parking in the square outside the property which is free for most of the day ( other times €1.40 for two hours). The building is beautiful with Catalan voltas (Stone arches) and lots of character. It even has a small pool for those warmer days. The room we had was very large with a lounge area and good sized terrace. It had high ceilings with arches and was full of character as the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was enormous with a good shower over the bath and instant hot water and all was immaculately clean. The bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, yoghurts and pastries, as well as omelettes and scrambled egg included and made to order Castello d'Empuries is a lovely medieval town with ancient walls, an impressive gothic church and ancient buildings and narrow lanes. It is near the Aiguamolls Nature Reserve for birdwatchers and a short distance from Empuriobrava. Beaches are within easy reach. For eating out we can definitely recommend Casa Clara with two good value menus and plenty of choice. The food was excellent as was the service and atmosphere. A great place for a short break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very welcoming host who gave us useful restaurant recommendations and, as a local, was very knowledgeable about the area and provided local maps etc. Our junior suite was very comfortable with lovely views across the Placa Moneda. Beautiful courtyard with small pool and sunbeds etc - good for chilling out after a long walk in the nearby national park. The only noise we heard was the church bells but to be expected in a little town steeped in history. Excellent breakfasts prepared with quality ingredients. Plenty of free parking just a few minutes' walk away near the flour/mill museum if the Placa is full. Definitely somewhere we'd come back to!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    liked everything

    This was our best hotel experience ever! The hotel itself is an attractive update that still reveals the shapes of the old building but the choice of colors and furniture is high style. The room was huge, immaculately clean, well supplied, comfy bed and pillows. The bathroom was large, great towels and water pressure, and again, immaculately clean. Breakfast was the most beautiful fruits, best breads and all other items you would expect plus eggs and omelets made fresh for you. Best of all was Lola (Doloros) who went out of her way to help us get tickets to Dali's house, recommended great places to eat and was just the most welcoming and helpful hotel owner one could imagine. You will love it here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our time and even extended our stay. The place is beautiful, the breakfast great, but most of all the staff is really super friendly and helpful. Very recommended!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all excellent

    The room being tidied twice a day and excellent omelette . The owner taking great pride in their hotel. Such a relaxing and stylish hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small swiming pool is a disappointment (specially on a very hot day). Plus no real effort to make the pool environment a little more fun, despite limited space...

    Very elegant setting and clever restoration of XV/XVII architecture Perfect quietness Excellent breakfast Staff very helpful (important for parking problems) and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having to leave this beautiful place !

    The hotel was absolutely spotless . We have stayed in many hotels over the years and this was probably the best . Room and whole place beautifully decorated . Nothing was too much trouble including our arrival at 2 AM due to Veuling flight being delayed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Parking is limited although we always had a space. Don't take that comment as a negative!

    Comfort of room & its facilities; friendliness of staff and their willingness to oblige & help in every little thing; good breakfast; great location. The decor and attention to design detail has been well thought out. Has a good size lift, not the midget one that some places have. Effective but unobtrusive air-conditioning. Large flat screen TV with heaps of stations (not many in English). DVD player and discs available. Our room had a small sitting/lounge area that we put to good use. Would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to our friends.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff running the hotel are very professional but could be rather strict and dictatorial. Maybe could be a little more hospitable and less demanding and thereby help the guest feel more comfortable. Otherwise, it is very obvious that they are very proud of what they do as hoteliers.

    The hotel is lovely - modern and very comfortable with the history of the building incorporated. The location is good - very central to the town. The breakfast is excellent and the attention to detail very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not staying longer! Not sure if they do meals apart from breakfast, would be cool to have room service.

    Our room was very big/ample and with a kind of entrance room which was perfect for the baby. You get a nice relaxed feeling from staying in this town but very close to the beach as well

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service and breakfast were tops

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room in lovely location in old town. Excellent hosts and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were truly looked after, nothing was too much trouble, life was made easy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well looked after, great breakfast, wonderful pool for after a long hike, parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly, helpfull staff, excellent breakfast. Large comfortable room and bathroom. Well situated and easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like about this great hotel

    Incredible hospitality and free bottle of Cava

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and fantastic service!! Bravo

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extra comfort room, bathroom, bed. Very kind and useful staff. Clean...all perfect!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is a bar and comfortable lounge but no restaurant for evening meals. However, there are several very good restaurants within walking distance so it didn't matter at all.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Check in was immediate and bags were taken to our rooms for us. The hotel was spotless, open and comfortable. Amazing old building - 13th century! Very quiet. Rooms are large with lovely bathrooms. Very clean and with tea/coffee facilities. Good air conditioning and large windows which open. Delicious breakfast with a good range of foods available, including lots of lovely fresh fruit and fresh breads and pastries.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    The staff was very accommodating. They showed us where to park, gave us suggestions for dinner and sightseeing. They even exchanged money for us. It was a thrill to stay in such a beautifully decorated place where they have thought of every detail to make one's stay exceptional. It is the best boutique hotel we've ever visited. The staff speaks perfect English. And having free wifi access was great.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dolores and her staff, who are so helpful and friendly. The location in a lovely town, walking distance of restaurants (recommend the Hotel Canet) and local transport. A well run immaculate hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. Best hotel of our month long trip. Attention to detail in everything, beautifully decorated,comfortable bed, large room ,great breakfast nothing too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is a bit of a winding path to get here, through some very small streets. Some streets were closed for a festival and that made it very challenging to reach it. Parking in the nearest lot can be tricky to get.

    Very nice hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and eager to help. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An absolutely wonderful small hotel hidden in Costa Brava. Friendly staff, cleanliness and the uniqueness of property made it for us. Kids enjoyed the small pois very much.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection is not great but who cares when you are there to relax...

    Our room was very big and clean And had a little terrace to sunbath. They offer us a mini bottle of cava and when we came back from dinner there was some sweets in the room which was a very nice surprise. The jacuzzi was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking en plein air pas trop loin.

    Un havre de paix à l'écart de Roses et d'emporia brava ! Bel hôtel restauré avec une clientèle catalane habituée. Plutôt destiné aux amateurs d'endroits authentiques . Belle petite piscine entourée de citronnier. Bon accueil familial

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, quietness, friendly en very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great hotel in lovely town. Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Atmospheric and comfortable property delightful rooms and excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool could be a bit bigger

    Nice and helpful staff, very good breakfast, nice room, nice location in a nice place ...

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    building, service, complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in room Beautiful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms was spotlessly clean and the staff very attentive. Gave us plenty of information about the surrounding areas.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made to feel like house guests and all our needs were anticipated.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at the bar was a bit informal sometimes.

    Design and renovation of building Breakfast was excelent

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service is èxcellent. Breakfast is a .pleasure 4 stars at travelodge price.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: