Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel del Almirante 1 stars

Carretera Mahon - Es Castell s/n, 07720 Es Castell, Spain

Review score

Based on 259 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    We were greatly surprised by Hotel Almirante.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast ambiance could be slightly better. Often we had to chase the personnel to re-fill fruit, bread and other food items during the breakfast as they wouldn't monitor what's was running out even hours before the breakfast time was over. The room was somehow noisy with crockery being tidy in a not very discrete way. The quality of the hotel will raise with the breakfast experience being smoothly and maybe with some background music to accompany the sea views.

    We were greatly surprised by Hotel Almirante. The room is simple yet it has all you need and it is calm, clean and comfortable. The access through the garden makes the experience very worth it. The swimming pool munch but it is large, clean and sunny. There's also a roof-top terrace with chaises-longues and a terrace with tables to seat and relax. The personnel, specially in the front desk, was extremely courteous, professional and helpful and they recommended several places to eat and they were delicious. I will definitely come back here!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A hotel with history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A hotel with history! A very individual, quirky place to stay which is also exceptionally clean and comfortable. The terrace area overlooking the sea was the perfect spot for sunbathing. The pool was beautifully clean and a pleasant temperature. Staff were very friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic little hotel in a great location even without a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nowhere to purchase soft drinks when the bar is shut but there is a garage with a small supermarket that is a few mins walk away.

    A really fantastic little hotel with friendly, helpful staff. We had a room right by the pool. It was really quiet in the daytime as people tend to go off on day trips. This suited us as we had the place virtually to ourselves. The hotel went out of their way to ensure I had gluten free bread and cake at breakfast time and even bought in gluten free beers for me to purchase at the bar at a reasonable price. Breakfast was completely adequate for our needs and the breakfast room has a beautiful view over looking the harbour. The location is literally 20 mins or less walk between the capital city centre (wonderful places to eat, shop and drink) and Es Castell which has a stunning little harbour side with a plethora of lovely eateries. I loved it and will definitely return here as it was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    I had a really pleasant stay. I would also recommend this hotel for single travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like.

    It provides a restful environment for both relaxation and the ability to study. The service suited my requirements. The food was varied and of a very good quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money in prime location. Walking distance from. Calafonts and Mahon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some would say it's basic but met my expectations.

    Extremely friendly staff. Great history associated with the hotel and owner gives guided tour each week.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are big and clean. The garden area around the pool, terraces and the hotel itself has a charm and it’s relaxing. Quiet by night and in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 48 which has resturant above it. Bit noisey in morning if you want lay in.

    Friendly. Staff very helpfull. Fantastic veiw over looking port. Situated between mao and es castell. About 15min walk to both harbours. Both with excelant resturants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff was professional and friendly , we would urge anyone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though our experience was pleasant, we Think some improvements might be done; for example, Windows inside the rooms could have insect screen. Furthermore backyard that some of the rooms are facing towards could be cleaned and better organized.

    Staff was professional and friendly , we would urge anyone that whishes to go to Menorca to experience this very lovely hotel. All in all our stay pleasant due to geographical convenience cleanless and easiness in terms of parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very comfortable Room was very hot - even with a fan

    Convenient to the airport Staff were very helpful We had a very nice supper - but only just as we arrived at 9pm and last orders were at9.30pm Plenty of choice at breakfast - they didn’t run out of anything and we didn’t have to hurry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a bit poor and average

    We landed late at night and we just wanted to stay somewhere close to the airport. It was just 10 minutes away, and when we got there It was better than I expected by the photos I've seen. Very friendly staff willing to help with directions, booking taxi and everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    The reception staff were beyond accommodating, with helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were beyond accommodating, with helpful infornation, they called us a cab at 2pm to the station due to the heat and also lent us a UK charger. Clean rooms ans quaint gardens. Very lovely place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Hotel del Almirante June 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much at all! Perhaps the short (2 hour) closure of the bar in the afternoon, but found water on sale at a store next to a nearby petrol station. No air conditioning, but ceiling fans appreciated. Mosquitos! But had asked, so knew to expect them. Perhaps the hotel could sell plug-in mosquito repellents (didn't see any, but might have overlooked?).

    The extremely short transfer between hotel and airport was a welcome bonus. The unique character and history of the hotel (including the Friday morning tour ) are very special. Rooms by the pool clearly updated recently. Greatly enjoyed views over the harbour from the hotel, and eating at cales fonts (about 20 mins walk). Staff worked long hours but remained engaged - Josh stood out, constantly offering a smile and extra service (breakfast and bar).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely,quaint hotel,not all stainless steel and glass and modern furniture.wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some hot food for breakfast,without having to order it.

    Breakfast,literally,a bun fight.not enough cutlery when restaurant full.better to have a cover of cutlery on table,to be used as in a menu del dia,i.e.,keep your cutlery.bed comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hairdryer in the room we had to ask for one each day. Lovely view from the bedroom but we were woken each morning by the sounds of the staff setting up for breakfast, tables, chairs being moved etc. (other rooms may be quieter) No tea/coffee making facilities.

    Room was clean. Nice view from the bedroom. The owner was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Living in history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complaina about it was as I knew it would be. Food is simple and wholesome but it was what I expected and wanted. If you want gourmet dining (and associated prices) try an expensive characterless chain hotel.

    Rustic charm and historic feel. Staff are excellent and prices at the bar more than reasonable. If you know anything about the history of the Mediterranean you really should have been here already.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate storage in bedrooms

    Good location and excellent staff and choice of food. Quiet location with good views over harbour and building with terrific history

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No kettle or fridge in rooms.

    Excellent location - an easy walk either into Mao or Es Castell. Not suited for children. Elevated position so no beach. Excellent bar menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    A Curates egg, very good.......in parts but well worth the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a bit disappointing. Only ate breakfast which had a reasonable continental selection of cold meats, cheese, croissants.cooked items at an extra cost. Bar food not inspiring but adequate.

    The Historic look and feel, the amazing pool and sun terrace. Outastanding views from the Sun terrace over Mahon harbour. The cleanliness and modern bathroom. The friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Beautiful setting but So dated and uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is lost in the 1970's the gardens are a mess , just brambles . Overgrown orchards never used and with the best unused view. Tables and terraces overlook the drive instead of the beautiful harbour behind. The room are very outdated. No wifi. No fan in the bathroom. No fridge or kettle, no aircon. The food is appalling. Tinned fruit for breakfast, no yoghurt . No Menorcian pastries. No eggs or fresh orange juice. The Hotel is busy, so the owners should be able to re do it . The hotel is full of people who are happy to sit around. One wonders how they don't complain.it has so much Protential but needs a lot spending on it to dragging it up to this century .A shame.

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have a little more space in our room with writing desk. Would have been great to be walking distance from the restaurants in Es Castell as the small harbourside is particularly attractive.

    All staff were exceptionally friendly and kind. Historic nature of hotel made it more appealing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt very fortunate to stay in an old admiral's house. It felt like to come to visit friends at a luxurious villa. Communication with the stuff was on a great level. Respectful, caring people take care of the house and gests. I’d love to come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    A great relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was from a machine, and many of the doors are old so they tend to slam shut.

    A great relaxing place to stay. The room was basic, but facing the port with beautiful views. The staff was excellent and accommodating. Loved the pool and deck!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    charming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, it was exactly as expected.

    Very nice and quiet hotel with a lot of charm, ideal position between Mahon and Es Castell. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Brilliant home base if you want to discover the island, rather than hanging out at the beach all day. We did not try the food in the hotel, there are plenty of options in a walkable distance in either Mahon or Es Castell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Beatiful peaceful haven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel has kept it's authentic colonial feel which makes it quite quirky. It's not the hilton but we liked that. The staff are super friendly. It's a very chilled relaxed place to stay. Bar opens late too. Walking distance to mahon harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    2.5
    An extremely bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appalling room and service. Evening meal was a disgrace . No air conditioning . Initially given Room 12 which is in an outhouse and should be condemed. Then given Room 2 in the main building which was small, poorly lit ,and suffocating in the heat. Unable to open the windows because of flies. Ordered a salad for evening meal, since I thought the hotel could not make a hash out of salad . But they did. Apparantly practically everybody eats away from the hotel I would have moved hotels immediatedly on arrival, but unfortunately did not know the area.

    Leaving

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    This is a hotel with a character and lots of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dining room requires refurbishment

    This is a hotel with a character and lots of history. Good views over the harbour. Very nice pool, tennis court for the active. Our room had been recently refurbished. All staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Would recommend to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were incredible! So friendly and accommodating, couldn't ask for better service, beautiful views, interesting history and leather ceiling high doors that make you want to live there forever. Above all, the kindness, and accuracy of the staff, the maids in particular exceeded the standards of hospitality and we would be overjoyed to come again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two single beds pushed together as a double room. It was bearable though

    Welcoming and helpful staff, perfect location we rented a car and parked for free at the hotel. Gorgeous pool that gets the sun all day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.2
    Nice for a base if you have a hire car, but that's it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were OK, nice enough at check in but that was it. Reception staff were moody and just couldn't be bothered with our questions or requests, despite us speaking Spanish most of the time. They dealt with the older 'regular' guests who probably come every year in a nicer way than us, probably because we are 'young' compared to the rest of them & we are 30 & 38! The hotel is very noisy at night. Considering the age range of the guests there is about 65-95, I don't know what they get up to at night! Our "bedtime" ranged from 1030pm up until as late as 130am and on all 5 nights that we were there, I have never heard so much noise in a hotel in all my life! (We are long haul cabin crew so we stay in a different hotel 6 times a month!) Furniture being moved around, doors slamming, banging about. Initially we were thinking it was the restaurant above us and the staff moving tables around but then we realised we only had the sun terrace above us and upon inspection, there was never anyone up there so we assumed it was other guests being noisy. We've had better nights sleep in Las Vegas! (Rooms 43-50 have the only view of the harbour, all the others don't have a view) We didn't use the pool (you'll see why when you get there, it's green) The typical putting towels and books down to reserve a sun lounger for the next day begins at sunset. The staff do nothing to stop this happening. It would have been unfair if we wanted to use the pool because there wouldn't have been anywhere to sit! The free breakfast was nice but get in as soon as it opens because the old people will get in there first to get all the fresh bread, fruits and donuts! They don't replenish the good stuff until another old regular comes in to eat! And they didn't even tip the poor staff!

    The maids who clean daily (but completely unnecessary) do a fantastic job.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    The hotel is a period house with a lot of history which has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only criticism would be the quality of the food. Given the excellent food available all over the Island it was dissapointing to find that the food was mostly from cash and carry tins, packets or from the freezer and on occasion overcooked.

    The hotel is a period house with a lot of history which has been well preserved. The rooms have been upgraded to a good standard and we liked the ceiling fans better than airconditioning. The staff are great and worked hard to please. The reception offered excursion bookings, car hire and taxi service all of which we took advantage of. If you are going to the beach ask to borrow a beach umbrella from reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    An experience that takes you back to the days of seeing the beauty of a new country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food, except for breakfast. The breakfast was quite good and the restaurant lovely but the evening meal menu is bland. There are so many good restaurants in nearby Calafonts that it did not really affect us.

    The tranquility, atmosphere and location. Waking up to see the geckos in the gardens, the tortoise population and occasionally hearing the donkey 'heehaw' enhances the experience. The local semi feral but very friendly cats will entrance you with their attentions. Do go to Calafonts rather than Mahon for evening outings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Historical Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Leaving

    A really unusual hotel with a historical ambience. What makes it so special is the staff who from the moment we arrived were helpful and friendly, always smiling and ready to help with any enquiries. Lovely and peaceful and just perfect for a calm relaxing holiday. An easy walk into Mahon or a bus stop right outside the hotel if needed. We will certainly return to Hotel del Almirante.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great staff, great place to stay in Menorca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning chemical smell is a bit strong after the maid visits - but this is easily remedied by opening the windows for a few minutes. Can't say anything else was too bad at all!

    Staff was super kind, attentive, and knowledgeable. Breakfast was simple but delicious, and the location was phenomenal- quiet, but close enough to Mahon to walk it, and a bus stop was right outside the property that takes you to the bus terminal in Mahon (which connects to all the major beaches, and the airport). Also, the gas station nearby sold gluten free bread, which was a happy surprise for me. The room we had was simple, but perfect for our needs. The bed was comfy :) We will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Charming hotel, conveniently located to walk into es castell or Mahon harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area is a little dated. The clientele tend to be older who have been visiting for years so I am sure that they are happy with everything.

    Nice family run hotel with a great deal of charm and quirkiness. Breakfast is good and plentiful and the breakfast room has a fabulous view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    Not the usual Spanish holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more variety at breakfast would have been good.

    The hotel had loads of character. It is quirky too. I loved seeing the tortoises in the garden.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Wonderful historic house but two star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find a hair drier. No mosquito repellent plug-ins so were 'attacked' in the night. No aircon, just a standing fan.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely old house which the owner has filled with historical items. He is also a mine of information. We went as my husband is a history enthusiast and came from Collingwood's home town...so was happy to stay in the Admiral's old house. Nice terrace, comfy bed, small bathroom but definitely two star for amenities. Breakfast the normal ham and cheese, croissants etc. Did not realize we could have paid extra for a cooked one. Situated between Cala Estell and Mahon so glad we had our car. A good walk to either location for a cafe or bus stop. Enjoyed our stay, however.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    British Colonial atmosphere at a reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    British Colonial atmosphere at a reasonable cost. Very courteous staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.0
    The staff were great and I was lucky to have a room in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For dinner Food could have been improved

    The staff were great and I was lucky to have a room in the old house overlooking the harbour

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    A gem in EsCastell
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, perfect for my short stay

    Clean, friendly, quiet, relaxing, chilled, calm armosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place for leisurely overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and fascinating old house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly, we shall visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning coffee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was just ok.

    The historical aspect of the property. It was like a little museum! Very interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea making facilities or TV in the room.

    Pool, sun terrace, bar, ambience, view from room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    good value for the money, good location, 15/20min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good value for the money, good location, 15/20min walking from the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice of evening meal.

    Extremely friendly and a good nights sleep. Fantastic tour of the house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Best nights sleep I have had for ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things such as no tissues etc supplied

    Staff were brilliant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely peaceful location with a great family run service a delightful a little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed in the afternoon leaving know here to get soft drinks

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful quiet and unique hotel with friendly and attentive staff.Perfect for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quiet relaxing and unique.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    The most wonderful small and historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Such a wonderful place for a relaxing quiet holiday..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, great value for money, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better to have a car / scooter to go around

    Excellent location, great value for money, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and kind and this hotel is a lovely place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Family run friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels for the pool weren't provided - would be useful

    Basic but nice hotel, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    We enjoyed the atmosphere of the old admiral's house, its charm and history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was disappointing.

    I loved the historic value of the place. Really authentic. It is like going back in time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    friendly staff, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    further to walk into towns than expected, was a bit out of the way

    friendly staff, very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Excellent historical house, classic hotel, fantastic views on Mahon harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent historical house, classic hotel, fantastic views on Mahon harbour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Absouloutly perfect, complete relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Could have done with more time there

    It was a wonderful, relaxing holiday. Very Homely and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    A thoroughly pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The ambience

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent Historic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fine but lunch was poor quality.

    Customer service couldn't be better

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    There was a very friendly atmosphere throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was a bit basic. (But lots of hot water)

    There was a very friendly atmosphere throughout. This spread to the guests who all seemed to become great friends as well. Some had been coming back for years as will we. The views from the terraceand the breakfast room was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    I loved the friendliness of both staff and customers alike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing I didn't like

    I loved the friendliness of both staff and customers alike. Hotel was very traditional and had lots of character. I loved the decor and learned a little of the history on my very short stay

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    It's a big, old colonial house which belonged to an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not very comfortable. The breakfast was OK for me, but if you want eggs or bacon you have to pay extra. It's a little bit pricey in summer, but I guess is like this in Baleares in high season.

    It's a big, old colonial house which belonged to an English admiral in the XVIII century. Despite being outside of Mahon, the location is good: by the coast, in a high, quiet place. You are within walking distance to the restaurant area of Mahon, with supermarkets and other facilities nearby. The swimming pool and tennis court are also fine, as well as the bar (which is nice to watch the summer football matches while having a drink). The staff was excellent! Super friendly! We enjoyed our stay a lot.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!! Lovely old hotel with interesting history, full of character. Wonderful staff, friendly, helpful but without being intrusive. Great location, both Estelle & Mahon within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Although the hotel was 15 minutes' walk from the nearest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It didn't spoil my stay but the fact that the bar closes between 3 and 5 is difficult when it's hot and you need lots of fluid (I said fluid, not alcohol!). Also, a place where you can shower (not just the one by the pool) and change if you're getting a late flight would add to the experience and finish the holiday off.

    Although the hotel was 15 minutes' walk from the nearest hubs for activity/eating etc I liked the fact that it wasn't 'in the thick of it' it was a calm oasis! The staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that the hotel had a history and character and wasn't just a purpose-built hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    Everything else was terrific.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds were a bit uncomfortable. No air-conditioning in the room but the fan was good

    Everything else was terrific. The staff were friendly and really helpful. The food and drink was reasonably priced. It was really nice having a gin and tonic out on the terrace for half to a third of the prices of other places. We had a room near the pool with a wonderful view of the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.3
    Fabulous view of the harbour from the bedroom and the sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner menu was very basic and there wasn't an area where you could dine outside.

    Fabulous view of the harbour from the bedroom and the sun terrace. Interesting house with lots of history.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.3
    Exploring the Island;
    • Couple

    Inability to get hot water for tea and coffee at any time of the day. Could be organised with a hot urn and a trust system of payment.

    Exploring the Island; proximity of the hotel to Mahon.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The staff were all outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meal was not good. However we realise it was inexpensive and convenient after a long journey.

    The staff were all outstanding. Very helpful and polite.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    8.3
    I loved the historical but cosy ambiance of the hotel as...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not ideal if you want to be by a beach or in the middle of a town/village.

    I loved the historical but cosy ambiance of the hotel as well as its delightful staff and guests - most of whom seemed to have been visiting for years! Great view from my bedroom across the harbour. A 15-20 minute walk from El Castell and Mao, two characterful harbour towns.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.8
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fabulous location. A gem just outside of Mahon. Small and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Small hotel with loads of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small hotel with loads of character. Friendliness of staff, relaxed environment, good location between Es Castell and Mahon.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Ambiance super staff great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambiance super staff great location

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    location, pool , value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location, pool , value for money

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    8.8
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful staff

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: