Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel del Golf Playa 4 stars

Avenida del Golf, 2, 12100 Grao de Castellón, Spain

#6 of 7 hotels in Grao de Castellón

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 256 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.3
    AWFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was disgusting, bed was hard, we paid 800 euros and didn't get a refurbished room, the bathroom smelt of drains the whole time, the cleaner didn't clean twice, our safe wouldn't work, the staff at the pool bar were rude apart from the lady with blonde hair, the food was disgusting. We all had to get showered and changed in the gym we we're allowed to keep our rooms on even when we said we would pay!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.8
    Not a 4 star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled as a couple going to FIB2018. Wanted accommodation close to the festival. This hotel was certain not a 4 star our room was cleaned once during our 5 nights stay we had to ask for clean towels. The restaurant food choice was very limited and the rooms even though advertised as just upgraded have been done to a very low standard. Basic 3 star if that.

    The location was ok for adding the festival. Staff tried to help as best they could.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit rude and even ruder if you didn’t speak Spanish. Transfer to the airport was either 100 Euro taxi or a 2/3 hour taxi/train/metro for about 30/40 euros for two.

    Property was a minuet walk to the beach with a cheap burger/bar right on the beach. Lot of choice for breakfast. Rooms big and beds comfortable. Fruit and bubbly in the fridge on arrival. Nearest shop/supermarket was a 20/25 minuets walk or can get a bus for a euro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    An exceptional occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Dinner bed and breakfast for 40 euros per person ! Absolutely no catch. Rosaline on Reception was exceptional. She provided an extension cable for my Breathing Machine and Boiled water, all without raising an eyebrow. Christian served in the Bar AND in the Restaurant and performed effortlessly and with Spanish charm. An excellent evening meal was served and the Breakfast was superb. The bed was supremely comfortable and the Bathroom was exceptional. It was possible to swing a Driver in the bathroom and practice putting in the Shower !! We also watched Real Madrid v Juventus live in the Bar following Dinner. I could not possibly fault any aspect of this visit and will visit again when I am in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Significant that 1 of the 4 stars has fallen off from the sign beside the hotel's name.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hotel that is best described as tired and is in need of an update. The evening buffet was ruined by the hot plate being lukewarm.

    Large beds and quite a good view from the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Good but old style
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food is not good. Breakfast very basic, juice from a machine. Rooms are very dated and no sound insulation.

    The beds are very large, a small double for each person.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.3
    Overpriced and overrated
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at what was classed as 4 Star which this definitely is not. They made us pay up front which should have been a warning sign! The room was small and smelt of drains with marks on the walls and very dated bathroom with dirty shower head. They moved us to another room which was clean but v dated. There was no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. The gym equipment was also dated and broken. We checked out early and had to pay a cancellation fee for not staying the full 5 days! We had friends also stay who were served raw chicken to their children and the pool itself was cloudy!

    The only good thing was the proximity to the beach!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Overall the hotel was nice and the staff were generally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We went at the time of the FIB festival and getting to and from the hotel from the festival was a bit of a nightmare. Taxi's are almost impossible to come by so you have to pay 55 euros per person for a shuttle bus which only comes at certain times. We tried to book a taxi to get to the train station at the end of our stay at 8am and the hotel staff said it was impossible due to the festival so we missed the last night of the festival spending our time trying to get a taxi, and ended up having to spend the night outside the train station which was closed. Not entirely the Hotel's fault but they should maybe do more to help their guests get to and from the train station when there are trains and ultimately flights to catch.

    Overall the hotel was nice and the staff were generally friendly. The beach next to the hotel is stunning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    2.9
    Ok but would not stay again
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff on reception who were not willing to help us when we needed urgent assistance, location is not great, poor transport links,

    Nothing apart from bar staff who were pleasent and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay for Benicassim Festival great links and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of hot breakfast was cold.

    Excellent for Benicassim festival so close to the beach and good transport links to different areas in Castellon

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.8
    Great until the last night.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was troublesome for members of our party - had cancelled booking.com reservation and booked directly with the hotel (cheaper) but the hotel were adamant on charging the booking.com price. The last night we were there a salsa festival (not for hotel guests) seemed to be taking place - very loud from around 4pm with bodies dancing everywhere - not pleasant for hotel guests wanting to enjoy a drink in the bar. The party went on all night, and I mean all night. Members of our group were disturbed at 5am with the loud music still going on. In the morning whilst trying out check out the reception area was still being used for salsa classes - making us have to squish into a corner with all of our bags (20+ people trying to check out, not including people trying to check in!) Was a disaster as you couldn't hear yourself think, let alone hear the reception staff - which was needed as those who had been disturbed at all hours of the night were wanting to complain. Somehow the staff didn't recognise that the noise was an issue! All in all the hotel was fine until the last night.

    3rd floor room was nice and quiet with a sea view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    LOCACTION
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FOR A BUNESS TRAVILER, IF YOU PLAN TO LEAVE BEFOR 9:00 AM YOU WILL BE WITH OUT BREAKFAST. THE BREAKFAST OPENS AT 8:30 AND NOT EVEN COFFEE AVAILIBLE BEFORE 08:30.

    LOCACTION

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.3
    Coffee ok along with fruit in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Noisy. Too expensive for the value. Apart from coffee and fruit breakfast was not good at all.

    Coffee ok along with fruit in the morning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.2
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food only alright could be better

    Hotel right near the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    5.8
    Tha rooms were cold and very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tha rooms were cold and very basic

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.5
    Very clean with easy access to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked this hotel for its buffet evening meal, which was advertised on posters all over the hotel, but because the hotel did not have enough rooms booked, they cancelled it. The bar was also shut when I wanted an arrival drink, 2pm. Opens at 8.30pm!!

    Very clean with easy access to the beach

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.3
    The full board is good at lunch and dinner (but a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No sound-proofing.

    The full board is good at lunch and dinner (but a little disappointing at breakfast). I was graciously granted late check-out. Location is great (for those who have a car), right on coastal road and only 3-mn walk to nice beach and seaside promenade. Room price is really not expensive at all.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    7.1
    I liked the hotel itself it was very clean.
    • Family with older children

    The bed was very hard could have done with more pillows..Maybe had some more bar staff on when they knew there was a crowd of adults and children coming...

    I liked the hotel itself it was very clean..

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    4.6
    Very poor breakfast, asked for scramble eggs and the answer...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very poor breakfast, asked for scramble eggs and the answer was a straight NO and it's an old hotel, nothing matches a 4 star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    3.8
    Not clean or confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not clean or confortable

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    6.3
    We think there's no way it should BE a 4 star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We think there's no way it should BE a 4 star!!! Hotel

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: