Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of RH Don Carlos 4 stars

Maestro Bayarri, 10, 12598 Peñíscola, Spain

#2 of 30 hotels in Peñíscola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1054 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few vegan options. Finally they bought oat milk for me and the cookers prepared some pasta for me 3 days of the week, the rest of time I could manage some boiled vegetables as main dish.

    Clean and nice staff. The food was ok, but only two times I could eat veg soap because sometimes they used to add butter instead of doing it 100% vegetal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    The pool view and location were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds made into a double, no towels at the pool, and I found a few hairs here and there

    The pool view and location were great. Pillows were comfy too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Location in a quiet area, but just 2 minutes from the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location in a quiet area, but just 2 minutes from the beach and the historical centre. Modern designed hotel with comfortable, large rooms. Beautiful roof pool with nice views. Very friendly staff. Reasonable prices for hotel and cafeteria etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Breakaway Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very poor, they had a live cooking station, but didn't cater for making omelettes etc. The room had a problem with ants appearing all over the basin, the receptionist came and dealt with it, but it was disturbing to see this.

    Great room, excellent location, the facilities for the spa area, the indoor and outdoor swimming pool, hot-tub and sauna area was very impressive. The beach was a 2 minute walk. The reception staff were very friendly and always happy to assist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Good quality hotel, friendly and helpful staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was temperamental, didn’t stay logged in and some response times slow.

    Location was excellent. Good size rooms with good range of toiletries in the bathroom. Also good size fridge in bedroom. Lovely pool and sunbathing area on roof. Superb breakfast. Nice cafe area and bar with entertainment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure.

    Fantastic stay. Sergio at the front desk was absolutely one of the best front end people That we have encountered in our world travels. Rooms are spacious with all necessary amenities. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location for hotel but no soundproofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were noisy and no soundproofed. There was entertainment in the lounge in the evening, and from our room on the 1st floor we could here every word and the music. It stopped at 11.30pm. We could also hear neighbours in adjoining rooms. It was too cold in April to use the outdoor pool. There is an indoor spa pool which you can use for a charge.

    Good location just a few mins walk from the beach and old town. There was on site car parking available at a charge. Modern and clean hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Very nice clean hotel in good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hangers in wardrobe very hard to use. As is often the case, not given access to alter TV language. Could do with hand rail in the bath. Hot choice of Breakfast very odd - chips, vegetables and no mushrooms, beans or sausages. Bacon and tomatoes on occasionally, also not a huge choice on continental. Beverages good though. If you like early night you can hear entertainment below from the bar in some rooms

    We were given a suite instead of standard room. Nice view and size- Water hot and good pressure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Astonishing value and out of season
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was amazing. Dont go out season if you want life in the town though.

    Not sure what the prices are like in the summer, but you get an incredible bargain here in the winter so absolutely perfect for a weekend away from Barcelona or Valencia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Our second visit to this hotel and apart from the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot trays in the buffet restaurant weren't as hot as they should have been so some of the food was luke warm .

    The staff were very efficient, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel near beach and Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In low season used by Spanish senior holidays tours and whilst this does add authentic Spanish atmosphere, it does mean it can be quite busy in the restaurant and bars. Plus side buffet in restaurant is kept well stocked with fresh food as busy.

    Excellent buffet breakfast with hot and cold choices. Nice bar reasonable prices for quality hotel. Location very good with good private parking and paid parking ( free in low season) accross the road. We would use the hotel again if in area and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Went to Peniscola for a special birthday and the Hotel, location and weather were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything, had a lovely stay.

    The location of the Hotel was perfect, very close to all amenities, we were upgraded to a suite which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were exceptional,all very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Great deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay another night

    Great staff, awesome buffet style breakfast, short walk to many restaurants and beach, great view of the Castilla de Peniscola, lots of complimentary bottled water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Good for a short relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told we couldn't have wine we bought in the restaurant the previous evening brought out to us in the bar the next evening, (where we were buying other drinks as well) we couldn't understand why not as staff there were serving restaurant customers too. It was brought after we queried it. No explanation of the reason for this rule was given. Sunday night food choice seemed restricted. We ate at opening time but I believe from comments at another table other fresh cooked choices were brought later, too late for us. They should be available from the start.

    Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room and location good. Breakfasts and food plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    We made an excellent choice with this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking around the pool. I know Spain has different laws but it really spoilt our pool time. The spanish really do like to puff away while they sit round the pool.

    Location was excellent. Near the sea front but not right on it, so it’s a bit more quiet. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was awesome! They had everything you could Possibly want for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good, but ask for top floors when there is live music in the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had live music in the bar on the evening we arrived. We stayed at the first floor and they were playing very loud so it was impossible to get any sleep before they stopped at around midnight

    The breakfirst was excellent. Car park cost reasonable, 8 EU per night. Very good location, close to the beach, restaurants and the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in a great town, the old town and castle are a must......
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good modern hotel, good breakfast, close to all the restaurants and town of Peniscola, old town is amazing, food and beach also really really good. Comfortable rooms and the rooftop is excellent, great rooftop bar and the pool with overhang is very good experience and place to relax. Staff were so helpful and friendly.... would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    This place deserves a 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the only thing I would say is pay attention to house keeping on our second day water and bathroom toiletries were not refreshed but once I mentioned it to reception it was sorted. 😀

    Fabulous hotel that deserves a 10 rating. The staff, the room size. We had a lovely side sea view balcony brilliant location to walk into the stunning old town. The hotel was immaculate, roof top pool awesome, plenty of sun beds ( we went in June) stunning views of the castle and panoramic views of the surrounding conuryside. Breakfast was awesome fabulous fresh fruit cold meats and cooked choices and included in the price ! Would highly recommend and would return in a flash! And may well do this trip! Thank you 😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Spectacular view at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location - short walk to the old town. The rooftop pool and lounge area is great and has the most beautiful views. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious modern clean room with a great balcony. Great choice of excellent food . Friendly helpful staff . A very pleasant hotel in a great position .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    The roof tarrace with the swimming pool with a view for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff could just be more friendly. I was stressed when checking in.

    The roof tarrace with the swimming pool with a view for the Castle. A chance to rent the bikes from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    very good hotel, excellent location, good ratio cost/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast: bad coffee from coffee machine, a 4 star hotel shouldn't propose coffee from coffee machine. breskfast: bad juices (bottled), a 4 star hotel should propose natural fruit juices, with no additional cost. wifi: works very well at groundfloor, doesn't work at all at 4th floor!! (bad coverage¿?)

    silence - comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Great room, with wonderful terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor dinner buffet; I was charged for the drinks in cash and in credit card. It's not for the money (just one water) but indicates problems with the management.

    Great room, with wonderful terrace Cold weather and the pool was closed, but it looked nice. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location close to beach and walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better wifi connection in our room

    Great location close to beach and walking distance to the castle and restaurants Excellent room with a huge terrace facing the water and castle

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel in traditional Spanish resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a queue at breakfast- probably should open for an additional 1/2 hour.

    Large rooms and lovely views towards the sea. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    An excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish we could have stayed more than one night. It has been the easiest and most convenient accomodation on our trip so far.

    The water pressure, comfortable beds, the amenities, the food, the staff, the parking, the location, the cleanliness. Would definitely recommend to fellow travelers.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.3
    Off season no recommendation / not at all 4 stars !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disliked - Reception, discussed any wish I had ( parking garage, check out evening before ) - Bar service...as all staff had to handle guests at dinner time. - pool and wellness as it had been closed without notice. If this hotel thinks this is appropriate in low season ( they were almost fully booked ) then please temporarily remove one star from your classification. Price and quality do not match I can not recommend and will not come back.

    Well situated in Peniscola and near to old town. Big room, well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.3
    Uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. My back was in agony when I woke up. Bedroom beside the lift so it was extremely noisy. The reception staff have an attitude.

    Space of rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Sunbeds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunbeds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Close to the old town, yet quiet area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff was excellent as was the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and common areas were not cool enough to be comfortable

    The staff was excellent as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    The location and the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s over priced for a hotel that is in need of renovations. The gym was too hot to use.

    The location and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    We had a great stay. We enjoyed the town the sites and all of the surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice new, clean and well located hotel. Service was excellent. The area is beautiful and enjoyed our visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely friendly hotel with great food and great location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was closed for the whole of our stay, we were not made aware of this when booking .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel, guests should be able to use the jacuzzi and indoor pool without extra charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double single use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged as a hotel guest to use the jacuzzi and indoor pool.

    Infinity pool on the roofs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Room was very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Very agreable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The buffet would be better and assorted

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    unexpected great hotel in Pensacola
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nada

    great staff comfortable rooms and decent air -con. great breakfast and really cheap car parking underneath hotel. location excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    WIFI
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    perfect and comfortable for family with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable room, large balcony, good breakfast, nice view on castle hill

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Bike hire provided by the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed 2 days!

    Bike hire provided by the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    The swimming pool over the hotel is very nice whit a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool over the hotel is very nice whit a beautifull wiev of the old city and the castle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Excelente
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En general,todo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Internet was terrible, as a business traveller I could not access emails or internet on my computer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel.Amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and professional staff , always with a positive attitude and smile on their faces

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.1
    Hotels location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time is late

    Hotels location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    bea7Penescola
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making in room would be welcome

    Friendly staff. Upgraded room. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool and spa in february

    Stuff Breakfast Rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too hard for us

    Great room, excellent location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Noisy room as was next to fire escape and booked a suite, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room as was next to fire escape and booked a suite, it's just a big double room, no seating indoors.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    6.7
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic. Poor breakfast

    Great staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel, Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard to Fault

    Great Location Helpful Staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    fabulous hotel worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff first class very helpful rooms excellent views good breakfast brilliant position perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Good place to stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed room walls very thin, could hear people in other room moving about

    Everything was very clean, staff really pleasant and helpfull

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location Staff are nice and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Staff hotel and find excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Staff hotel and find excellent

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56