Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Doña Mayor 3 stars

Francesa, 31, 34440 Frómista, Spain

#2 of 5 hotels in Frómista

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little off from the Camino path

    -very clean - outdoor space was beautiful even as it poured -spacious and bright -great balcony with a view of sunset -restaurant on the premise served decent meals -host was super friendly and helpful (esp. when we needed laundry done

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was close to Camino trail and also to a laundry mat which is a god send on the Camino! Room was clean and staff were friendly and accommodating! Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I often book accommodation online but normally don’t review. This time I felt compelled to do so. Laura was fantastic. Greeted us well, explained everything and went out of her way to make sure our washing wa dry. Restuarant was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel was very easy to find. It is small and very new. It was spotless. The receptionist was very welcoming. My bike was secured in a locked shed within view of the reception area. Dinner was very, very good and the staff were very attentive to my dietary needs. It was the same with breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and I had the best sleep in a week. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in city centre but then nothing really was

    Nice room comfortable bed and the TV had wifi connection where I could connect to Netflix and watch a show

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    aRRIVED 2AM BECAUSE OF TRAVEL PROBLEMS. STAFF COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL OR FRIENDLY, EVEN PUT HEATER ON TO WARM ROOM. WONDERFUL SITUATION IN TOWN CENTRE

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the street.

    This hotel is a little oasis after along day. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Returning in three weeks time with total confidence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!!

    This is a stylish classy place with excellent customer service. The room was luxurious and the dinner we had at the restaurant (INC salmon and cheeesecake) was fabulous, as was breakfast. Some of the best meals we have had on the Camino!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt it was slightly overpriced compared to similar accommodation in our experience.

    Efficient and friendly. A room heater had been turned on ready for us when we arrived on a cold evening. Much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff/owners of this hotel are due special mention. They went the extra mile. It was a great place to stay for the 3 nights we spent there. I recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. It is a very modern hotel and takes a little getting used to having stayed in the more traditional accommodation of the Camino up to this stop

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. My wife was sick and they made her chicken soup from scratch, which wasn’t on the menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is professionally run and the staff were helpful. It was pricey compared to other hotels we stayed in whilst walking this stretch of the Camino and therefore we were a little disappointed. Unfortunately, as our stay was on a Monday, the restaurant was closed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend I was traveling with became ill and we had reservations for two towns ahead of us on the Camino de Santiago. Eugenia helped us change those reservations for us and was very considerate of our needs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi signal was sometimes a little weak and the buzzing sound made my the key card used to switch on the lights was a little irritating. But these are relatively minor complaints.

    Very pleasant, modern and clean room -- plenty of space for the price, and good to have a view of the garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There's not parking at the hotel itself, but plenty of opportunities for free parking in the vicinity. Location was great: quiet and walkable to all the main amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for breakfast. Didn't partake but grabbed same thing at a cafe for much less. However, receptionist gave us coffee and tea to get us on our way, gratis

    Location just right for us walking the Camino. Perhaps a little overpriced but came with tub for soaking aches and pains. Also clean and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast, I asked if it was possible to have a freshly hard-boiled egg, as all in the basket were cold. The only person covering was a cleaner though and she said no.

    Loved that we could take our dog, that we could eat in the hotel, and that we had such a friendly welcome. We loved the town too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a quiet, typically small Spanish village, which is obviously geared up for those doing the Camino walks. They are working on the renovations of the original Canal de Castillo, which looks promising, a work in progress.

    Wonderfully comfortable and spacious twin bed room. Modern and quiet. Great beds, and silent efficient air conditioning. With balcony overlooking an outside garden area which was ideal for drinks and an evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all excellent!

    The hotel, venue ,staff ....in fact everything was excellent,so welcoming and friendly Perfect stopover we will stay longer next time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast you pay extra for is not very good. The hotel is a little off the Camino, if you are a pilgrim.

    The ac worked, the staff was attentive, and the place was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Very clean & modern. Each room decorated in a different contemporary style. Really friendly staff who were eager to please. We enjoyed our evening meal in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went back to this hotel because of the very good restaurant there. I wish we had been told in advance that it was closed the night we were there because of a public holiday. Disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found nothing to criticise in this very pleasant little Hotel

    Hotel Dona Mayor is a very well placed and well equipped modern little Hotel a stone's throw from the centre of town. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms large and well equipped and have a pleasant balcony. I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil b

    Modern well designed quiet hotel and rooms with good scale outside areas, reception, bar and restaurant. Nice balcony off room and excellent bathroom. Ideal for pairs of Camino walkers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    This was a lovely place to stay and the staff were lovely especially the receptionist who seemed to do everything including our laundry for a very small fee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No. Kettle in room. Luckily we had one. Being English we like our tea

    The staff were fabulous. Especially reception. The bed was big and very comfortable. The dinner was also excellent. Fromista is a beautiful and ancient little town on the Camino with beautiful architecture and churches. Interesting connections with pilgrims on the Camino in the restaurant too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot and tired from the Camino and on arrival we were offered a cold drink. Don't let the rather plain hotel exterior fool you. Rooms are very contemporary & stylish. Ours had a lovely saying stenciled on the wall over the bed and a private terrace. Bathroom very nice with a tub; real treat! This hotel is part of a group, with hotels all over Europe; good source for future trips: Logishotels.com.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with Dona Mayor!

    Perfect - no need to add more!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff especially Laura on reception went out of the way to help. She is a star.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    leaving the place.

    Breakfast, service, rooms and restaurant. in this hotel everything is perfekt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just fine

    Heat available on a cold night in May

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, delicious meal, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome after a cold day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was awesome, room, bed, sleeping, food was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice modern decor. Friendly staff. All amenities you would expect. Great dinner. Great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal was weak in my room.

    Friendly staff. Very comfortable rooms and very clean. Excellent bathrooms. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic

    Nice hotel in the Camino path for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cold but they had just opened up after the winter shut down

    Nice welcome after a long day traveling, nice evening meal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t rate better this wonderful jewel of hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic suite. Very pleasent staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Athens hotel was only 2 mins from A67. And 1and half hours from Santander.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and modern hotel on a quiet street just a few blocks from the second old church in Fromista. Great breakfast. Very pilgrim-friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff gave me ice for my sore knees. Food was good everything was fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Unbelievably good pillow and mattress. Clean, dog-friendly and a very decent evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newer building with nice balcony and good A/C and wifi. Close to all amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was excellent

    Great welcome and outstanding room and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good burger at night breakfest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant overlooking a lovely garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what you get. Far walk from the Camino.

    Generous with toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Staff, friendly and helpful. The room was wonderful and the food great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and a perfect first stop from Santander.The food was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok

    Restaurant was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Bathtub was nice for Pilgrims.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff and very good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More items for breakfast perhaps.

    Efficient and No fuss.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly staff who kept the restaurant open for our slightly late arrival. Freshly prepared food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great service and friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is perfect while walking the Camino. Lovely comfy rooms. Dinner and breakfast great. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for a small town like Fromista. Price didn't even include breakfast

    Good modern looking hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and spacious with the bonus of a balcony.Nice quiet street. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed the night we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, helpful staff, room service, good menu selection.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great customer service. Homemade breakfast sweets! Yummy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice design, enormous room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big super comfy room, quiet, lovely restaurant with great food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing at all

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    such a warm welcome, the food was great, and the staff was SO helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu rather strange Food not good value for money

    Warm welcome Excellent laundry support Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good value for money

    Very comfortable bed, cleaness and friendly staff in a relaxing environment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited menu and empty restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: