Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Doña Brígida – Salamanca Forum 4 stars

Avenida del Tormes S/N, urbanización Vega de Salamanca, 37185 Villamayor, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Villamayor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1188 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    good location good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit tired, but not enough to put me off going back again (in October)

    Great location just off A63. Free bus to Salamanca centre. Excellent price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff were lovely and accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool didn't open until 11.30 and the indoor pool was only accesses by paying for a day session in the spa, which young children were not allowed in. Drinks were really quite expensive - €2.70for a small bottle of coke.

    The staff were lovely and accommodating

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we see the swimming pool in photos we expect much, much more. There are no bar in the swimming pool área, only chairs and tables abandoned.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money specially If you are staying for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel because it has a pool, and we wanted to sit by the pool in the morning for few hours before the checkout at 12h. The staff told us that the pool wont open before 11h.

    Good value for money specially If you are staying for a overnight sleep . Clean hotel , good price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    We were traveling onto Santander to catch the ferry home and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If in the future we travel with a dog then we would have to stay somewere different as pets arent allowed.

    We were traveling onto Santander to catch the ferry home and with the car loaded with our stuff we need a nice quite hotel away from the city centre with plenty of safe car parking. We find Dona Brigida excellent. If you want the city centre its 10min by taxi, and there are plenty of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value stopover venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls to bedroom are thin and noise travels. Hotel lacked warmth and an ambiance. Also hotel looks great for a conference and one or two night stay travelling north/ south through Spain but feels too far from Salamanca if you intend to explore the city.

    Overall hotel ticked the boxes for my stay. The price point for my room was good, the room spotless as was the hotel, and the buffet breakfast was very satisfactory with plenty of choice. The gym was adequate and the Spa looked good, albeit you had to book its use. There was plenty of free parking outside with a golf course across the road. So, the facilities are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Travelled early May.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled early May. Room very hot, asked for air conditioning to be switched on and told No, not till 1st June, so had to sleep with window and curtains open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Hotel does not seem to cater for those who want dinner at a reasonable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner service does not commence until 8.30pm. This is too late for many British tourists, particularly for those travelling through who want an early dinner to suit their arrangements. Likewise, room service was not available until 8.30pm. The room for the disabled was a long way from the lift, and Reception.

    The hotel is perfectly situated near the motorway but in a quiet location with plenty of secure parking (extra 6 euros)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Adequate, though could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to obtain any form of liquid refreshment , tea/coffee or alcoholic prior to 19.00 hrs, No tea/coffee facilities In the room.

    Hotel was Clean, efficient staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Was ok but could clearly do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel because we wanted to use the pool. It said on booking.com that it had an outdoor pool (seasonal), a spa (additional charge) and a swimming pool. So we expected there to be a pool to use. When we arrived we learned that the pool was part of the spa, that baby's were not allowed in this it and children only at certain times and of course for extra charge. When we told the staff that we had clearly different expectations because of the description we were told it's a matter of interpretation. We did get a ticket to the spa for 19 Euros for one hour and needed to pay for swim cap and flipflops for me and my child (without it we were not allowed to enter the area). Husband had to mind the baby and couldn't go and my child was not allowed in Saunas etc. So all in all we would have stayed in Salamanca city and not in Villamayor if we had known all that and it should clearly have a better description on the booking.com website. The extra bed for the child was a camping bed and very uncomfortable. It could have been a bit cleaner.

    The breakfast was good and included champagne. The bed was huge and comfy. Bathroom with tub was good. The spa area has 3 very nice swimming pools with whirlpool and fountains things (don't know the names). But a big low on the other hand, which is written above. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stop over on our way to the algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Location great just off motorway , hotel and room very good , restaurant excellent value , overall very good hotel with very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't the best, services inside the hotel are limited. If you want to use the indoor pools you have to pay 20 euros for 90 minutes...

    Spacious room, parking lot in the hotel. Indoor pools and facilities are great though you have to pay to use them.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 8.30am Breakfast not ready in time ! No possibility to lunch...restaurant was closed they send us to the golf club. It's a 4**** hotel We are regular customers.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    We've stayed before & will do so again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel not far from motorway. It's an ideal stopover from SW France to Portugal. We had dinner, followed by a great night's sleep then breakfast the next morning. We have stayed at this hotel before & will do so again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    Great look, but shame about the thin walls
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While we loved the look of the hotel, and the big rooms, we would not stay there again. The reason being are the thin walls. We stayed two separate nights. Our first morning was interrupted by a family next door talking while presumably packing up. You could hear everything, also out in the corridor. The second night we stayed, we asked if we could have a room with no neighbors but were told only one wing of the hotel was open, so it was not possible. Unfortunately, we had a young couple next door this time with XX-rated noises that were clearly transmitted by the thin walls. We would've rather had smaller rooms but more insulation in the walls. What a shame for such an otherwise very elegant hotel. Will not stay there again.

    Loved the opulent decor of the place; the entrance hall and the dining room are spectacular. Built on top of a rock, even the first floor is already min. four storeys up, which makes for great views, especially since we were on the 'second' floor. The rooms were huge and elegant, and the wifi worked perfectly. The breakfast buffet has everything from croquettes to scrambled egg to veg to cakes. Great selection. The area is quiet, and while we didn't explore it, there seems to be a bus connection into Salamanca just outside the grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel, too remote and hard beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food availability, lunch started at 1.30pm and dinner at 8.30pm too late after travelling all day, very poor insulation between rooms, people chatting along corridor at midnight and again early in morning, breakfast typical European not to our taste.

    Set lunch for 22 Euros including wine and water excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.2
    The hotel has no personality and not very happy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no personality and not very happy staff. Lols like the carpets have seen better days and the pool was not very nice. Unable to sit and relax by the fenced pool area not great if you have small children. Light bulbs not working. Hotel is not in walking distance of the centre. Disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    The hotel was convenient for our trip as we could park our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic bar drinks choice (although the barman was very nice, but rather inexperienced) Terrible coffee and not fresh croissants for breakfast Slow check-in/out at reception

    The hotel was convenient for our trip as we could park our 7mL van

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.8
    Very near Salamanca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very clean hotel. The facilities at the pool were very poor. No bar, very few sunbeds. No parasols.

    Very near Salamanca. Good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel but check the outside temperatures and date the free outdoor pool opens and closes.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We arrived during a heat wave of over 40 degrees. The temperature had been in the high 30's 37/38 degrees for weeks but the outdoor pool was empty and would not be filled until the the children broke up from school in another weeks time. We assumed we might be able to use the indoor pool without having to use the spa facilities which were expensive at 19 euros for 90 minutes but this was not so. The pool is part of the spa and you have to pay. For two guests 38 euros for a cool down dip each day in the spa for a limited period each day was an extra price I would not pay. A Local pool at the golf course and the Municipal pool in nearby Villa Mayor were also closed. In such high temperatures outside, guests must be forewarned of no free outdoor pool or free use of the indoor pool at the time of booking and the cost to use the Spa facilities. Most spa Hotels allow for paying guests to the use pool free and charge for other spa services.

    The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The free wi fi and air conditioning were excellent. The Staff were all friendly and the food was good when we ate in, Breakfasts, dinner and snacks. Drinks were also very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Excellent location close to motorway & good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at this hotel several times & will do so again. It is near the motorway on the way south to Portugal from SW France. Rooms are large & well maintained & the staff are very helpful. Both dinner & breakfast were very good with lots of choice. The price is very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    All good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed that outdoor pool closed end of Sept, even though it was 25 deg when we visited. Only way to have a swim was in the Spa but cost €19.00

    All good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel rooms and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was too far out of town to be able to walk to any other restaurants.

    The hotel rooms were large and clean. Bar staff were pleasant and Tapas good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    The extra bed to my son was of low quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra bed to my son was of low quality. Everything else was fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    4 star room with all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Pool did not open until 15.30. We couldn't order food until 20.30

    4 star room with all facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Doña B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not that I didn't like it, but it was far from our conference

    The property is nice, quiet, and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value, well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was not effective, the room was too hot

    Excellent very large bed Very close to the motorway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    What we wanted No Complaints >
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A OK !

    BreakFast as expected .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel as a whole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was not open until 7pm. a big no no in my book.

    The hotel as a whole. Food was FAB.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Adequately meets our expectations on a 1 nIght stay as we travel to Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wife is disabled and a walk-in shower is preferred

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Spa closed on Sunday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa closed on Sunday which is why we booked !

    Large room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Good For a winter stop over or longer, Salamanca is a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the situation, quiet and reaaly good value for the quqlity

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have an English tv channel international hotel only spanish tv

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    The style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little remote

    The style

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are not soundproof. I could hear the people next door.

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    Explanation of exactly how far out of town as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explanation of exactly how far out of town as we were arriving at night. Poor signage to property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Everything especislly restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything especislly restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.0
    Hotel felt tired, lacked charm, house care sloppy, not my idea of a 4 star Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 4 stars the Hotel felt 2 stars. Lacked charm, was very noisy, and I would not return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Often stay here on our way to and from Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Often stay here on our way to and from Portugal Good location and always reliable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    This was an amazing weekend getaway and I can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Perfect stopover on the way to or from Santander ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Coffee facilities in the room.

    Great Room, the Junior suite, very comfy bed. Easy access off the Motorway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    Hotel 4star 2star price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Empty large hotel

    Very cheap

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel beautiful surroundings great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    Excellent hotel the facilities are great the staff are very good great food at very reasonable prices

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    I like Salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Next to a golf course nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    size of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool not open

    size of room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    The room was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    The staffs were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were helpful. Really nice. They had more interaction with guests than other hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in a calm setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of the water circuits in the spa

    The overall comfort, the view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.8
    Excellent accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The GPS had major problems locating the hotel. . . and the location of the hotel requires driving to/from town.

    Excellent accommodation. Very large room, king size bed, excellent facilities.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    7.5
    Beds were comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strange sliding panel between bedroom and bathroom . Bedroom tired . Café snack not very enticing .

    Beds were comfortable . Near autoroute . Breakfast ok .

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    7.1
    the Hotel & "golf package" was good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very quiet, the staff and service were fine, but it lacked atmosphere and the room needed a make-over, its a pity but I felt the hotel was still struggling after the recession in Spain.

    the Hotel & "golf package" was good value for money ,

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    5.0
    While the hotel has an outdoor pool that is free, an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    While the hotel has an outdoor pool that is free, an adjacent covered pool is available only its salon customers and costs about $25 for just an hour and a half. Our shower was broken and stone tiles in the shower needed replacement. It was not possible to get a cup of coffee before a restaurant opened in the late morning.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very good value for money. Excellent for a stop on your trip down south.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Lovely big hotel,easy to access from A62.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely big hotel,easy to access from A62.All staff were very personable and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    5.8
    good quality bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    unbelievably cheap TV and poor internet. Some of the beds were uncomfortable

    good quality bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    The comfort of the hotel and a good stop off as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The comfort of the hotel and a good stop off as we were driving through Spain.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.8
    good hotel, spacious room, very confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    7 minute drive to the center of Salamanca

    good hotel, spacious room, very confortable

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.3
    It was a convenient location to stay for our attendance at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a convenient location to stay for our attendance at wedding celebration which was held in the grounds of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    Everything seemed to be carried out with an air of calmness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything seemed to be carried out with an air of calmness and staff appeared to be at ease with what they were doing.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.5
    It was all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was all good

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.2
    difficult to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    difficult to find

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly helpful staff especially with my husband who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly helpful staff especially with my husband who had a broken ankle.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    10
    I have stayed there before and will certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have stayed there before and will certainly return. Excellent hotel and location for people travelling down to southern Spain.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: