Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Don Ángel 4 stars

Avenida Juan Carlos I, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain

#11 of 40 hotels in Roquetas de Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1933 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a huge amount to do within walking distance of the hotel and the menu is limited if you don't select all inclusive

    Breakfast was great and the pool lovely and being right in the beach was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    As above..and because of that we will no be returning or recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't appreciate the locals coming in the back entry to use the pool and taking the sun beds for free ..this caused complaints by residents who paid good money for same facilities. When asked to speak to a duty manager about this there was none available.

    Staff friendly and helpful..room was comfortable and a great bed..ocean view..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed our short stay there. I hope to return to Roquetas De Mar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Attracting the waiters attention for drinks was very hard, ended just going up to the bar ourselves.

    Lovely breakfast and very nice hotel. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Short break Almeria hospital visit.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was excellent for the beach and the town area. Also lots of free parking nearby. The public area's of the hotel were very clean, well staffed and not overcrowded.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Wish we had found it before our last night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely gorgeous hotel, very clean, room was fantastic with its own balcony, lots of space, fancy smellies, beautiful architecture and the complimentary drink in the roof top bar was an unexpected delight!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    2.9
    Near beach
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at bar was awful ordered a pizza waited 40 minutes then when it came it had cold/frozen pieces of chicken on it complained but they didn’t seem to bother

    Near beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    It's my second time at this hotel and I will always come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is a buffet style and most of the food was cold. The fruits were dried and the coffee comes from a machine..Other than that the tapas were very good and they have an excellent deal of a combination of tapas and beer!

    Location is excellent! The rooms have a balcony and the beds are wide and comfortable. The restaurant has an excellent variety of food and the staff is super efficient and generous of attention.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Not much to do at the resort. I would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the bed needed replacing.

    My bed was passed It's best so you rolled into a hollow but the others were happy. The decor was a little dated but the room was spacious and above all quiet. There was live entertainment each night. We didn't have breakfast. A kettle would have been nice but they didn't claim to include tea/coffee facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    This is a most welcoming hotel, not like a large chain. The staff are excellent, speak English, are efficient and are extremely helpful. We approached reception for help with taxi's, booking local restaurants and for general information and every time they provided what we needed. A special thank you to Wendy on reception and Jesus on the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    I am unable to make any comments as was not able to enjoy the weekend as we were involved in a head
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am unable to make any comments as was not able to enjoy the weekend as we were involved in a head on collision on our first day so spent the whole weekend at the hospital and sorting out our insurance

    I am unable to make any comments as was not able to enjoy the weekend as we were involved in a head on collision on our first day so spent the whole weekend at the hospital and sorting out our insurance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room, menu del dia advertised at€15 to include glass wine or beer. But dinner for 4, we were charged €17 per person with glass of wine extra making €80 bill instead of €60. Why? Also, buffet food was lukewarm at best.

    Pool area lovely. Nice rooms with big comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable,if visiting Roquetas again would choose to stay at Don Angel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV had no UK channels at all. Evening entertainment good to have, the Flamenco Dancers in particular were excellent, but other nights the volume made it unpleasant to continue eating dinner in the bar area, so loud!

    Super comfy and large bed, fab breakfast, all staff couldn't do enough to please. Though very chilly in May swimming pool clean and enticing with good sun loungers!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great service, great location, great breakfast, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff was fantastic, very attentive, personable. Great buffet breakfast! Every one of the staff we encountered (reception, restaurant staff, etc.) were very helpful and friendly. Great location on the beach. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good hotel - we would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little away from everything but worked out ok in the end.

    Very nice hotel - food choice was excellent & cleanliness & staff couldn’t be better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    lovely location but no eating places near the hotel if you are not on half board.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As other reviewers have said, a few notices in english at the hotel would be helpful. A pint costs €4.50 there and we were charged €6 for a plate of chips with our pizza. We found no restaurants near the hotel open at night and had to use the shopping centre on 3 occassions. Great tapas and value at the Loft bar.

    The Hotel overlooks the beach and has a nice pool. The bed was huge and the room was a good size. There is a long promonade along the beach just outside the back of the hotel. Spanish breakfast at Mareas is a must.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice structure and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lateral rooms are very noisy. In the morning taxis awaiting clients keep their engine running. It is impossible to sleep with the windows opens.

    Location in front of the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic position, friendly staff,clean and well layed out rooms with Two queen sized befs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,very plesded

    Fantastic position right on the beach(ok,ok,you had to cross the 10 ft promenade).Small but smart pool and sun bathing area with pool bar and waiter service. Bar served sandwich and pizza type food all day and evening,only draw back was restaurant only served buffet evening meal,but maybe because it was February

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet tight in corner of a very large bathroom with a towel rail above it! Hit head a few times!!

    Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable. Great view of sea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms, located on the beach but away from shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is only ideal if you just want to be on the beach. If you want easy access to a range of shops and restaurants and night life this is not the best location.

    Don Angel is a good resort hotel, ideally located right on the beach, however it is not in the main part of Roquetas de Mar and is quite a long way from a good range of shops and eateries. That said, it's location offered free parking and immediate access to the beach (less than a minute on foot) and a beach and sea view from our room, which was comfortable and clean. Arriving late in the evening, we needed sat nav to find the hotel and having later discovered how far away it was from 'central' Roquetas de Mar, probably wouldn't have chosen it if we had realised this. It's a shame because the hotel provided an excellent breakfast, the staff were very helpful and friendly and it is a very nice hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    No hot plates in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot plates in restaurant. Food that should have been hot, wasn't. Had to use microwave to heat food. Restaurant was not able to cope when busy, i.e. long queues at coffee machine and toaster. Quality of food on offer when only a few people were dining, was mediocre. Hotel could improve restaurant experience by repairing/replacing the coffee machine that was not working, installing a second toaster, providing hot plates, ensuring hot food is kept hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was good, beds comfortable.Bathroom very clean, nice towels etc. The meals were of Spanish Cuisine, could have been hotter but not a problem as there was a microwave. The Hotel is next to the sea with lovely views to the Harbour and Almeria. The town of Roquetas is within walking distance with shops and bars. Not much English spoken but we have a bit of Spanish so had no problems. Would definately go there again for a few days.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    A very comfortable and enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints at all

    Came from England to visit family and found the room to be very clean and comfortable. Lovely balcony overlooking the sea. We had only booked for breakfast which was superb, lots to choose from and all fresh and well cooked. We don’t speak any Spanish but found the staff to be extremely helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean,excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't honestly say there was anything to dislike, I am sure that in the height of the season there will be more challenges for the staff to cope with and maybe standards might slip a little but certainly not whilst we were there.

    The room was very big and the beds were huge!! Nice big bathroom with excellent high powered shower. Staff were helpful and attentive but not intrusive, Tati the barman was excellent as were Ana, Carmen and the other lady on Reception. The hotel was beautifully clean and the foyer area in particular was very very clean and sparkling. We didn't eat in the Hotel as we wanted to explore options in the area and the staff were very helpful with getting taxis for us,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Cómodo pero con bichos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed had bugs on the sheets and under the pillow. We were moved to another room which was totally fine but the experience stays with you. As nice as the place is overall, I could not bring myself to return. Too bad. It's an all-round very nice facility.

    Comfortable, quiet location on the beach. Good wifi. Great big breakfast. Easy free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Great beach location, easy drive to mountains and great scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean, comfortable, good food, easy parking, we paid extra for full sea view and balcony plus half board, it was worth it. Great beach location but an easy drive to the mountains and some fantastic scenery. Although we ate in the hotel there are cafe's and restaurants within easy walking distance. We've stayed before and we'd stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, quiet and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location very near the beach but not too many restaurants close bye to choose from. Would consider half board next time as breakfasts were great.

    The hotel was very good in every single aspect. Very well run, spotless, old fashioned but very nice decor and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable for short stay. Lovely beach walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was not really safe. Sea deep and pullback strong immediately. Breakfasts at hotel were often too cold and toaster very slow. If hotel was at capacity pool and sun beds would be too little space.

    Location by beach was lovely. Pool was nice with pool views. Sun beds the most comfortable I ever had! Hotel lobby beautiful with full height to all stories there. Show cooking in evening good. Eggs and pancakes freshly done at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    for us great, peaceful hotel and location, next to sea with long promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Toilet in sea view room in alcove so bad for long/large people; location great for quiet but 12 min drive from tourist area; cannot book costs to room; few local restaraunts; only american or russian english speaking tv; no hotel information; hugh,several mile long, beach but fine shingle varies from some sand to "ouch"--need "jellies"

    excellent breakfast, good buffet dinner, both with bonus fresh "cook"; glass fronted lifts for claustaphobics; no road in front hotel to beach; hugh beach BUT....; lit up promenade goes for miles , great for walking, cycling and wheel chairs; pool 1.4 m deep 50%, rest 1.8m; bar open 0700-0100; child entertainment until Oct; evening entertainment some days Oct; exercise machines on promenade; small children play areas on beach; easy street parking Oct. Need car

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Bar staff and entertainment in the bar area was simply marvellous and would bring us back here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waiting staff and in particular the Maitre D'hote at both services were indifferent, not interested and not friendly. They took great pains to tell us what we couldn't have or do, but weren't very helpful in encouraging us as to what we could have or do. The food wasn't particularly fresh or hot. The waitresses seemed to serve drinks if you asked at the beginning of your meal, then disappeared completely. No further service was offered and they cleared tables around us in a very brusque manner without ANY smiles.

    Plenty of fresh fruits with both meals (breakfast and dinner) Real tablecloths and napkins as opposed to paper ones. Good selection of wines and other drinks. Various different choices of foods at the buffet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Beds big an comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handy man needed to fix small things in barhroom. Outlet sink, shower, and door lock with malfuncion. Waiter beefed up us at pay of dinner. Needed to "shout" to get my money back. Nice try or lack of competence. WATCH UP !

    Beds big an comfortable. Size of room good, Breakfast good. Poolarea very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    The weather was nice. The staff were lovely. The hotel was lovely. Qualit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot food was not hot. Eventually it improved. The bathrooms should be updated, there should at least be grip handles on the wall as we both felt very insecure there were quite a few people with obvious disabilities and a lot of elderly.

    The views and the area were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly hotel. Clean and bright. One of the bar waiters was so friendly always smiling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - some previous reviews said that there was nothing around the area - this almost stopped us from booking the hotel. However, a 10 min flat and pleasant car free walk to the marina there are a few bars & restaurants. 5 mins over the bridge and down a side street is Don Jamon (signposted) a proper taverna with lots of tapas. There are other places to eat and drink in the on the main road just behind the hotel.

    Very clean. Not too crowded. Plenty of space in and around the pool. Easy access to the beach. The underground secure car park was a good. As the weather was very hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    3 nights was enough as there was very little to do in resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main course at Dinner was uninspiring and catered mainly for Spanish clients only. Nowhere to purchase English newspapers or magazines in the surrounding areas. The price of wine (Marques de Caceras was 24 Euros when purchased in Hotel Restaurant ). This was a 'rip off' I live in Spain and this is 6 Euros to buy in supermarkets. I would have expected 12 Euros in the Restaurant but 24 was Extortionate price to pay. Hence did not purchase it for 2nd or 3rd night stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We shall book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,everything was wonderful at this hotel.

    Everything was clean. Wonderful big bedroom and beds. Fantastic breakfast. Great evening entertainment. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    It was very pleasant, the bar and waiting staff were fantastic.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The shower holder did not hold the shower over the bath, and the shower screen had a big gap between it and the bath, therefore the water would come over the bath, all over the floor and under the door onto the bedroom floor. we did report it, but nothing changed. we had to wedge a hand towel under the screen and hold the shower spray in our hand while showering .Not 4 star, also above the sink, the chipboard was crumbling. The lighting was very dull, Trevor couldn't see to shave properly and I couldn't see to do make-up and hair.

    The beds were nice and big and comfortable. and the view was great from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic, you have to pay for the room safe and sun loungers. Rooms need upgrading and the buffet was a bit confusing. The majority of guest were Spanish so everything was written in Spanish, very little English.

    Beach location was very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    A very friendly, comfortable, small hotel situated near Roquetas town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked accommodation only, but I did use the restaurant on 2 evenings. The food was ok, but I probably would not eat there every day.

    Always a good selection of fresh fruit, pastries, hot and cold meats available for breakfast. The staff in the poolside restaurant/bar area give a very friendly, fast service and together with the enthusiastic animation, undoubtedly contribute to the 4 star rating of this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Great views and access to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian food was limited, shops to be able to buy alternative food wasnt really near by.

    The location to the beach and the view was amazing. The facilities were really good more suited to spanish speaking families. The staff did understand english and were able to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, poor coastline resort...for eldery people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except the reception NOBODY speaks english in hotel. It s very difficult to order anything. The language barrier is very uncomfortable in all Roquetas de Mar...

    The hotel location on the beach and promenade. The reception staff very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel right on the beach. We booked a room with a sea view and we were not disappointed. The food and drinks at the hotel bar are very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast and dinner was inside. There is no possibility to enjoy the nice weather on a terrace while eating. Staff is very severe.

    Great location! Great breakfast with fresh orange juice! A lot of little restaurants and along a beautifull and very long (10 km seaside promenade. Lots of Spanish tourists, not a lot of foreign tourists.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Recommend this hotel, great value and you can pay for food & drinks if you decide to eat in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi by the pool but then I guess you're meant to relax!

    The hotel was spotless, the staff and. animacion great, mainly Spanish guests, within walking distance of amenities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommend it for a relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault that I can think of was that there were no tea or coffee facilities in the room.

    We originally booked for breakfast only,but after the first morning seeing the excellent choice we then realised that the evening meal was excellent value for money again with an excellent choice to suit everyone so ended up having the breakfast & evening meal everyday. The staff were very friendly and very willing to accommodate you. The hotel had entertainment on during the day and the evening everyday which was also to suit everyone with no pressure on you to participate which was excellent. The hotel was very relaxing and I would highly recommend it, especially if you are looking to totally relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.4
    Probably wouldn't book this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very noisy. A coach load of children booked into the hotel, although they were just being children , the noise around the pool area, in the restaurant, and of a night time was very loud. Also it was very difficult to get understood by most of the staff. The restaurant staff were very good though.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    Ok but not four star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed an upgrade. Shower head was not fixed to the wall properly. Extractor fab did not work. We ate in the restaurant first night. Food was below average and not very hot.

    Very comfy bed. Right on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Not the place it was from last year the resort area has gone down in standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sorry that´s as above what we diden´t like. Noe sure we would visit again.

    from our last stay the hotel need a refurb. the Bathroom was not the best shower head did not work, we had to ask for a second shower towel they only left one . Some of the male staff in Cafe bar did not understand English and my Spanish is not that bad but they seemed confused as to what you wanted. The area along the promenade has deteriorated since out last stay and the bars were grubby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    So good to know a hotel that is always the same and up to your standards!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Lovely, clean hotel. Fourth time we were at the Don Angel and again not disappointed. Friendly, helpful staff, great swimming pool, beach nearby. Perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is well away from the main resort part of Roquetas de Mar, in a mostly residential area with no bars or restaurants. That was ideal for our group as we wanted a quiet stay and secure parking for our classic cars, but would be a poor location for anyone wanting a livelier atmosphere within easy walking distance. The main tourist area is about 4kms away along the beach. Street parking around the hotel was full by early afternoon, so hotel parking (€10 per night) is advisable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff everywhere in the hotel. Good location next to an excellent beach, and about a twenty minute walk to the harbour area and restaurants (or €5 in a cab). Quiet location. Very clean and well maintained. Excellent breakfast. Secure underground car parking (€10 per night extra)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Cannot wait to return. I will return soon
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing apart from the fountain in the pool.

    From the minute we walked in we were made to feel so welcome. Reception staff very friendly and accommadating the young lady had given me a room with a sea view and it had the sun all day. The bar staff were superb, thank you Jesus for looking after us with our drinks and Tapas. We had the evening buffet which was excellent. We actually said we wish we had eaten there instead of going out. The choice of food was fantatsic. The evening entertainment was superb. Pool area great. Only thing we did not like was when they turned the fountain on in the pool. It was so noisy it broke the peace and tranquility of this great hotel. I shall return very very soon. And I shall tell my friends

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but quite a distance from the main resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was not particularly helpful and there was no welcome book or any details about the hotel in the room. The area is quite a distance from the bars and restaurants that were open in the resort and due to building work going on at the hotel we were woken very early in the morning. The hotel is geared towards older Spanish couples and entertainment was all in Spanish so this might be something to bear in mind before you stay.

    The room was large and the beds were very comfortable and extremely large!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    We were lucky to be upgraded to a room facing the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All meals and drinks had to be paid for separately - nothing could be charged to the room. At the time we visited, there was work being done on the pool to make it ready for the season so there was some noise. The hotel was fully of Spanish OAPs on a coach trip when we visited - to be fair, that meant there was a good selection of food in the buffet

    We were lucky to be upgraded to a room facing the sea. There was an extensive entertainments programme. The hotel is 100m from the beach. There is an extensive buffet available at dinner and breakfast which was good value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    very comfortable & clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    It was very comfortable & perfect for a short break. The drinks prices in the bar were very reasonable - for a hotel - very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Room clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on top floor which was noisy with sounds of gushing water every now and then. Perhaps staff cleaning areas and laundry.

    Room clean and tidy. Breakfast was a buffet so could have as little or as much as you wanted.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Good beds , breakfast, opposite beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indeed it could have some renovation here and there, consider the price (paid 60 for sea front) and I think it is ok

    Good beds , breakfast, opposite beach. Sw pool. It is good that it is forbidden to reserve sw pool chairs by towels. Although now very quiet I think in summer there are surely not enough sun chairs. Good wifi and elevator fits for my bicycle

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.8
    Very quiet, old fashioned hotel with rude restaurant manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant manager was unfriendly to all but the Spanish guests and made us all sit separately from them in a cramped small set of tables. The majority of guests were retired Spanish people who were on their annual, heavily subsidised holiday so all food and entertainment was geared towards them. Usually, when on holiday, we like to go out to eat some evenings but, perhaps because of the time of year, we couldn't find anywhere open to eat. We expected to find lots of Tapas bars but not the case.

    The bar staff were attentive and tried to speak English and make some conversation with you. The hotel was right on the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Good from arrival to leaving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No improvements to be made cannot fault the hotel or staff.

    Everything about the hotel it's position its staff pool and dining facilities excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    A short but enjoyable stay away from the noisy tourist areas of Roquetas de Mar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    15€ for a bottle of poor quality house wine is excessive. Placement of the safe in the bottom of the wardrobe was awkward. Some of the elderly and less mobile guests would find it impossible to use. WiFi service was not always 100% operational. Meals were adequate, but not outstanding, some dishes were not as hot as they should have been.

    Room was very comfortable, especially the beds. Mini bar is useful for keeping drinks cool. Room was on the North side (4th floor) but still had a good view of the sea and surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    CAN NOT FAULT THE PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I loved it all...............oh could of done with more bikes...........if 4 of us go there is only 2 bikes.

    Beds comfortable,clean room,food excellent changed every night, staff were so nice, facilities excellent,pool fantastic.infact iI personaly can`t fault the place........can`t wait till next year to go back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    Very good overall,three star not four.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for an evening meal,we thought the food was poor,not value for money,staff were not welcoming,could have done with a head waiter to give them a shake.

    Very comfortable rooms,bed etc,clean and airy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    Good location, clean and friendly.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wrong sort of hotel for us but fine really. We were in the area for a wedding. It is more of a resort hotel for elderly people. The breakfast buffet was large but the quality generally not great. For example i took some cereal from a large bowel one morning and it was stale and stuck together, the coffee was poor and from machines. Nice selection of meats, cheeses and hot choices though. I asked for an iron and ironing board to be sent to my room and was told there was no porter to do this and no board available, just an iron I could collect from reception with a deposit of 20 euro's. We were out of our room frequenlty one morning and returned after lunch at just the moment the cleaner wanted to come in, she told me it would not be possible to clean as the room was occupied! I complained to reception and this was sorted quickly by a friendlt receptionist. However the same cleaner burst into our room unnanounced on check out day 5 minutes before check out and disturbed me dressing.

    Good location, clean and friendly. Good pool area. Traditional sort of resort hotel and reasonable value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.3
    We would recommend anyone to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't fault our stay apart from there being no tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

    The breakfasts were amazing, we have never seen such a selection. The room was good, with an ample sized balcony and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    This is a very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The wifi sometimes worked in the room.

    The room, the bathroom and the balcony were very big and clear. The bed was very comfortable. The food was very good and plenty of choice. The location was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Excellent choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The automatic coffee machines at breakfast were a pain and slow to use with big queues often building up at peak times.

    Excellent location, very clean hotel, nice quiet room and paying extra for a sea view is well worth it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room to save having to take a travel kettle.

    The food was very good with plenty of choice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was always plenty of hot water for baths and showers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    4.5
    The room was not made up until after 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was not made up until after 1.00 pm, priority being given to cleaning rooms for new guests arriving at 12.00 noon. Location too remote from supermarkets or decent restaurants. Roquetas de Mar has very limited facilities. Don Angel is not a 4 star hotel, probably 2.5 at best.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice for pool and beach with buffet meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Buffer, although we many options, most are similar and had dificult on what to choose. Should improve having simpler options (less mix and sauces) and support to Kosher/Halal/Vegetarian diets. Wifi very dificul to get on my room, only on halls. Beach could be great or disaster depending of wind.

    Location really on the beach. Swimming pool. Buffet meals. Staff except @restaurant, were friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.7
    Looks better in the surface but needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small.

    Handyman was very helpful when I needed a wheelchair as I had pulled a nerve in my back. Pool area looked nice but I wasn't able to use it because of lack of mobility. There was a good size balcony but the while plastic sun beds provided looked very old and dirty so we didn't use them.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.3
    A beautiful week away
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    thought there would be a call for a hairdresser/beauty salon. Didnt like paying for our wine at meal times, thought it would have been better to pay at the end of the stay.

    the closeness to the beach. the pool area was good and the bar staff. Large selection of different food at meal times.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.1
    Good but not excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite offering full board they charge for all the drinks including 2€ 1 bottle of water or a beer. For 2 people they try to recover the money in drinks. That is not cool... The hotel is very noisy during day time. The Spanish kids can scream very loud.

    The location REALLY in the beach. The bar staff was very nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Fab fab fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel was stunning, the staff were lovely, and have no issues with this hotel, we shall return again. The breakfast was fab, the food was great, no complaints. The bedroom was nice and clean.We had rooms over looking the pool and beach, stunning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    Nice location, good for a stopover of a couple of nights not any longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pregnant lady on reception extremely rude and unhelpful, should be put in a back office, not in a customer facing role. Almost didnt stay for the second night because of her awful attitude.

    Nice location right on beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice position next to the beach and a short walk to the harbour and some nice restaurants. Nice hotel with lovely pool and good facilities. Room a good size and beds comfy with nice side sea view from balcony.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice situation on the beach, but not a brilliant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rest of the area was not nice. Very industrial/commercial. Food was not particularly good. Bar staff not that helpful. Room bar had no drinks in it. Felt it was more like a 3* than a 4* hotel.

    Situated right on the beach, with nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel on shingle beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Small pool and limited sun beds, but this was managed by not allowing people to reserve or hold sun beds when not actually at the pool. There were restaurants about 15 mins walk away. Shingle beach.

    Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful but with limited English. A good choice of breakfast. Huge and very comfortable beds. A weekly programme of evening entertainment. Safe key and pool towels available at extra cost. Located right on the beach (across the promenade) where there were sun beds available at EUR4 per day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    5.4
    nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    exterior of hotel very tired aircon didn't work in room and was so hot when I was there reception not really that interested as we were only there for a night rooms were old but ok

    position right on beach front

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Don Ángel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: