Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Don Gonzalo 3 stars

Carretera de Sierra Nevada, 51, 18190 Cenes de la Vega, Spain

#4 of 5 hotels in Cenes de la Vega

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 245 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very basic, it would be nice to get some eggs.

    The bus station to Granada (SN1) is next to the hotel. There is a soccer field next to the hotel you can play in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but the house wine.

    We didnt got a room that we paid for. We ordered double room but got a tween. Very uncomfortable beds sliding apart. Noisy corrifore. I hatdly slept all night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I had to find something to be unhappy about, it would be that the hotel was on the busy road through Cena de la Vega, but a change of room solved any potential problem with that. It made access to the main highway from Granada to the ski resort more accessible.

    The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. We were moved to a quieter, larger room without additional charges. The breakfasts were excellent value and the parking was cheap, compared to places in Central Granada. It was an ideal location for us to spend three days in the ski resort, without paying resort prices.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but we must have had the biggest snorer in the whole of the EU in the next room.

    Great hotel, well situated to travel to Sierra Nevada for skiing, or into Granada for the day. Loads of coffee bars and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower in our room was iffy - hard to control the water temperature. Bed was ok, but hard like most beds in Spain.

    We were visiting friends and doing some business in Cenes so the location was great for us. The bus stop is right there, so it is easy to go downtown and to the bus station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I'd paid through booking.com I didn't realize it was probably a deposit type of insurance as the money didn't go out. When we left there was a moment of confusion and a language problem. It was ok in the end. Think on booking.com it wasn't obvious so it was not really the fault of the hotel.

    Friendly staff. Non intrussive. Out of town centre on a bus route straight to the centre and then beyond to bus station. We also had to re-schedule time of arrival, this was no bother.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we were not aware of the restaurant was closed during August!

    Friendly atmosphere. Stayed here several times

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst bed I've ever slept at. Too soft and springy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard matress Airco didn't work properly

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. The room was not clean. There was black hair in many places. The bathtub mostly was not properly cleaned. 2. They advertised with "Panoramic Mountain view", however all you get is Panoramic view of other buildings. It is in a mountain area but you cannot see them from the rooms! You are in a crowded loud street instead. While we expected to be on a peaceful mountain area. 3. The beds were really bad. The mattresses were worn out and everything moved heavily on every slight movement we made. They were quit noisy on small movements. Normally not a big problem, however.... 4. The worst thing was that we were supposed to get a child bed. This was expressively shown when we booked and we have send proof of this to booking.com. We did not get the bed, but even worst the staff did nothing to help us with this and did not seem to care at all. After 2 sleepnes nights with our 7 months old baby on the terrible 2 single beds where he would wake up all the time during the nights we went to talk again with the staff and asked if maybe there was just a single person mattress available. After half an hour of negotiation they offered us a mattress at a insulting rate instead of offering it as a service. 5. When we shown proof that we booked with the child bed they just call us liars. (We shown that they are shown with childbed included on Booking.com by default, it's one of the reasons we choose them) 6. They easily raise their voice to you 7. When you raise your voice they call the police!!!! In the end the police told the staff that they cannot just call the police for an angry customer who doesn't do anything else but 'raise his voice' after several nights of trying to resolve the situation and that they should offer a solution for our problem. That is the only reason a solution has been found. It is not an experience we wish for anyone else here on Booking.com Parents be warned.

    We could leave earlier

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel exceeded our expectations and being in the centre of Cenes was a plus. The staff were excellent, the room very comfortable, the hotel very clean and the breakfast was OK. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful and accomodating

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and go the extra mile!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel is busy,so can be noisy at times.

    Really friendly staff. Great location, 30 mins drive to Sierra Nevada skiing. Awesome coffee in the hotel bar.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cleanliness was ok....dust and hair around shower door. However bedding was spotless

    Location and cost

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff great very helpful .restaurant next door .food very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly Helpful,Excellent food. Clea & very good value.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you wanted be fussy there was no handle to get into the shower

    The location and the comfort for an overnight stop everything is just right.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Easy to find

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Don Gonzalo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: