Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Don Gregory by Dunas - Adults Only 4 stars

Dalias, 11, 35100 San Agustin, Spain

#14 of 49 hotels in San Agustin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    excellent location, great food, but you need to be patient with waiters
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    not enough sunbeds at swimming pool, not enough staff or staff not very professional, we waited ages to be served, waiters were mixing orders all the time so either you got someone else's drink or nothing at all, waiters were serving people who tipped them all the time, I can understand that but still not what you expect from 4 star hotel. I am rather patient person but this kind of service was annoying even for me (still thanks to very few excellent waiters). Animations not interesting for me (except flamenco show which was good enough).

    excellent location on the beautiful beach, very clean, very good food - tasty and a lot to choose from, themed evenings with really good food for example Beijing duck as good as in Beijing! lovely sea view room, beach not too crowded, nice and clean swimming pools

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is just right on the beach and has a lovely view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - High Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The glass toilet in the room.

    Hotel is just right on the beach and has a lovely view from the room. Also good variety of food, friendly and helpful staff. The spacious and clean room . Good place to have peaceful rest as well good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Great at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite duplex premium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better knowledge og english would have been much appreciated. Especially when trying to figure out the parking options.

    Great location and overall very friendly attititude. Food much better than expected at an all inclusive. Beautiful and comfortable room with perfect view over the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    My staff at Dunas Don Gregory was extremely nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I missed during my stay over here. It was just perfect.

    What I liked the most of this wonderful hotel was the warm and personal treat by all the staff and the enviormet of the property. It's been just amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel , lovely staff , a good locality , would recommend without any hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Our flight was delayed by 10 hours we contacted the Hotel to let them know that we would be rather late When we arrived at 2 am in the morning the night staff could not have been more helpful We were taken into the dinning room and offered drinks there was a bowl of fresh fruits and plated cold meats and cheeses left for us My only fault was that I like a soft bed and I found the bed a little hard for my taste , my husband was OK with the bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great, Beautiful, wonderful, clean, looks even better than in the pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best hotel we have visited in the canaries! Super great customer service, and wonderful and beatiful place to stay! I feel very pleased to give this hotel a 110% grade! After our very romantic days at this hotel, defenately we will come back :) Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing place, more modern than most on the island with a bonus as it’s just at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite duplex premium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff less friendly than others. We went for all inclusive as the price difference was so small but you felt like you were bothering the bar when you ordered stuff. They can do with an info session on arrival. There’s this rule and that and if you’ve just arrived you won’t know them. Would benefit to give staff english and client service lessons. Felt like Spanish guests got a better treatment than we did. Also small things like asking for new coffee pods for the nespresso machine but told firmly that no mo the coffee machine lady delivers 10 and 2 and so it is:-) . It’s easy to fix things, as generally the place is really well run and deliver on most other areas.

    While the island/area around the hotel feels a bit run down touristy, the hotel is lovely and the location right at the beach perfect. We went for the duplex suite. Good choice. The buffet was great too. Hard to please everyone but it felt like they were trying to make an effort. Everything fresh and lovely. The entertainment girls were so nice. Extra points to them for making people come forward and participate in yoga classes etc. If you want to get away for a couple of days and just recover this will be a good choice for you to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Hotel just on the beach with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the guests in the hotel are elderly (65+).

    Hotel is just right on the beach and had a very good view from the room. Choice and quality in breakfast and dinner were excellent , main dishes in dinner were different in all 4 nights of our stay. They kept a bottle of champagne in the room when we informed in mail (prior to arrival) that we will be celebrating our anniversary in their hotel. We enjoyed our stay and was very relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is not worth what we paid; we left feeling ripped off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - High Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Negatives which outweigh the positives and would lead to questions of the 4* hotel rating: 1. The food was by far the largest let down. a. Formal buffet? Buffet style food doesn’t normally put us off; however the requirement for formal dress at a dinner buffet is a bit presumptuous based on what you get. Since we were on half-board we did give the dinner buffet a look over a few times during the stay; among other things, meat portions looked dry and over-cooked and mash potatoes looked like polenta. We ate elsewhere at dinner since there are places in the area that do serve delicious food at reasonable prices. b. The dining room is very noisy. Bussing staff are clacking around plates and silverware constantly trying to clean up for the next wave of diners and give very little thought to those trying to enjoy their meals. c. Buffet refilling. For example…every morning we went down for our breakfast at the buffet and the Orange Juice was empty. It wouldn’t be refilled until a customer brought it to an employee’s attention and it is little touches like this that make you appreciate a hotel. Please note here that it’s not actually fresh/freshly squeezed orange juice and made from concentrate. Freshly squeezed orange juice is available at additional costs of 3+ euros although discounted for those there on ‘all inclusive’. d. The extractor fan does not do enough for the dinning room. During dinner meals the chefs are generally grilling something, the reception floor smells of the dinner ‘special’ and the dining room can get smoky. e. The lunch menu at the pool was average at best. 2. Customer Service is not at a 4* level. a. This hotel books in a number of pensioner tour groups that have their own representatives on site. As my spouse and I did not book one of these tour groups; the staff at the hotel was not exceedingly helpful at all in providing information on the hotel (Wi-Fi passwords, etc.

    Positives: 1. The rooms are spacious and modern (although we look at this as a positive it could be looked at as a negative due to there being no bathtub) however, be warned that there is very limited drawer space. 2. Little things like available plugs/outlets next to the bed for charging phones etc. have been considered (you’d be surprised how many hotels we stay in where you need to go digging for these) and drying racks on the balcony for towels and swimwear. 3. Housekeeping did a pretty good job on a daily basis. 4. The hotel location is excellent. You are directly on the beach and there are two pools overlooking the ocean if you prefer to avoid the salt-water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Two week average stay, with a few grumbles, weather second week rained, cloudy, windy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy of the wash area and toilet. No comfy seating in the lounge area or by the pool. Not enough coffee machines long queues.

    Food was excellent, the cleanliness, they were always cleaning, being right on the beach. Lovely view from our balcony, and we got our request for a particular room as we have been before.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    Quiet surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - High Floor
    • Stayed 18 nights

    False info on Booking: "free deposit box" costed us 2 EUR/day, and 1 big king-size bed was made up from 2 smaller beds with a gap between. Dinner drinks (even water) were extra paid. One of the waiters was extremely unpleasant. One of the cleaning ladies was cleaning the room while we were inside the room, without our permission, even after asking her to clean the room later. She was entering the room without knocking the door, so once she entered the room for a while when I was taking a shower in the transparent shower cubicle. Very poor room equipment and size as for a hotel with 4 stars.

    Quiet surrounding. Beautiful view on the ocean from the 8th floor. Comfy balcony. Good localisation (public transport, beach, shops, car rental). Two nice swimming pools. A lot of good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Great weather and very clean in all areas of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of information when we first arrived. There were no drink facilities in the room and the mini bar was empty.

    The location on the beach and the walk along the seafront to the near by towns. Great view out of the room and having your own balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When we arrived, we were placed on the 4. floor and this room, No. 404, had miserable view to the sea. But in your description of the room it was a room with balcony faced to Atlantic Ocean. After one overnight in 4. floor we changed the room to 2. floor with much better view to the Ocean. Thanks understanding from the staff. Otherwise everthing as expected.

    The distance to the sand Beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleased, worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No parking available during our stay.

    Very good location, right next to the beach, very clean beach and not so overcrowded. Friendly and helpful personal. Clean rooms. Good wifi all over the property, reaches even to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    The staff and the All Inclusive option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly there was nothing bad.

    The staff and the All Inclusive option. The best hotel in Las Palmas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    tidy & quiet, well renovated hotel , situated right on the beach. perfect to get relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - High Floor
    • Stayed 9 nights

    extra large super comfy bed, shower & balcony ! beach front

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Modern nice hotel over the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast : variety of foods but of low quality.

    Clean, modern and comfortable room. Beautiful views from the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor food, uninterested staff

    location and facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautyfull hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The glas shower and glas walled WC.

    Beautyfull hotel with great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Spending my time in a fabulous environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View (1 Adult) - High Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no complaint at all

    The best decision. If you want escape from terrible November, visit here. Disappointment is excluded.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities. Not much to do in immediate area.

    Very close to beach. 3 swimming pools.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Food location room facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning

    Food location room facility

    Stayed in October 2017

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: