Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Duque de Najera 4 stars

Gravina, 2, 11520 Rota, Spain

#2 of 17 hotels in Rota

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 322 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for additional milk for tea and coffee in our room over and above the two pots originally supplied.

    The breakfasts were awesome with an incredible choice of hot and cold dishes. The staff were all unfailingly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are thin and offer little to no support.

    Great location right next to the pier, the beach, and the Castle de Luna. Also only a short distance from Rota Naval Station. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Most of the Reception staff speak English and can help with things like taxis and currency exchange.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions on how to use heating are necessary. Impossible how to make it work! Fortunately it wasn't very cold!

    The wonderful location and fabulous bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was unusable in the bedroom and dropped continuously. I had to use roaming data throughout.

    Perfect location for arriving by catamaran from Cádiz. And for enjoying the town and the beach. Comfortable spacious room with an amazing bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn’t work in the rooms. The noise from the bar across the street kept us awake half the night. Ask for a quiet room away from the street.

    The shower was amazing. The food in La Bodega was some of the best we’ve had in Spain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was almost empty and the offer which came to upgrade the room was done, but against money..when I argued that I know hotels which would do it with no price increase the answer was I can’t we are not empty at all. Of course they were almost empty..

    Comfy beds, nice large room and bathroom, wonderful views of Atlantic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing between rooms isn't great.

    Pay the EUR 17 extra for a sea view room and you won't be disappointed. I changed room and was very impressed with the large balcony - even though I was there at the beginning of December.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was located on the side that is directly across from the Irish bar and it was always loud from the bar patrons even on a Tuesday, Wednesday and especially Thursday. The bed in my room was only okay as far as comfort and the headboard was very squeaky any time I rolled over or got up.

    The staff was very nice. Since I was staying there for work and had to leave for work before breakfast started, they offered me a boxed up breakfast to go for the same price. Also, the shower in my bathroom was like a human carwash! LOVED IT! The location is also great for beach time, running, walking, shopping, dining.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent hotel, very clean, Underground parking was a bonus, although it was 9E a day extra. We were offered an upgrade, for 17E a day which was well worth it. Great sea view and Balcony. The receptionist could do with a little help, as they were always on their own, with queues waiting. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we would definitely go back. Rota itself, offers few restaurants in November, I'm sure its busier in the season, a lovely town with great beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was very dated. An upgrade is needed asap.

    The hotel is beautiful with the perfect location. The staff is incredible. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Hard to get from the airport to this property. 2. Really old furniture. 3. Pillows were the worst pillows I've ever slept on...no fluffiness and they stunk. 4. Laundry detergent smelled of the cheap budget stuff. 4. Floor was dirty. There was hair all over the floor, instead of sweeping it up, they mop over it. Hair clumps all over...it was nasty. 5. Do not choose this hotel because of the pool. The pool has walls around it so you can't even see the beach. The pool was small more for the kids then an adult. 6. If your in a corner room, forget about enjoying free wifi. The wifi signal is very weak and will not stay connected. 7. Only a four star hotel because of location, this would have been a no star or a one star in a big city. 8. Hotel needs to be renovated and update the furniture.

    The staff at breakfast were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisiest wedding party ever! Saturdays should be booked with a warning from hotel if a noisy till late night revelry is taking place.

    Proximity to beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that I was booking an ocean front room on bookings.com but it turned out to be a superior room only. That was disappointing, and the hotel could not change us the first night. Since we only stayed 2 nights, it was not worth the time to change once we spent the first night.

    Beautiful view of the ocean and marina from front room, sun deck, upper decks. Beautiful view of the fort and church, especial at night, from back superior room. Location is excellent for walking the beach or beach boardwalk, huge number of ventas, resturans, and bars. The best hotel in Rota.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The location close to the beach was very nice. You could enter the pool and recreation area from the beach without going through the reception area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Too much noises outside the bar areas since our room was located near the Irish Bar and there was too much noises outside. We were not able to get a good night rest! The beds were to hard and pillows really uncomfortable! Not sure if I would stay at this location next time since rest is important for me to do business the next day!

    It is located in a perfect walking area to downtown Rota and not far from the Highways.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all!

    Very comfortable and spacious room with a small private balcony and fabulous view. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and accommodating. I liked the convenience and offerings of the hotel restaurants. I loved the location, near the Castle; great for exploring on foot. If I return to Rota, I plan to stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The shower. Various pipes in the wall with no shower head. But LOVED taking bubble baths instead!

    Location. This is a great place to stay with LOTS of different businesses and restaurants to try!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The garage was very dark and you could hardly see anything. Toward the end of the stay, they replaced the light bulbs and was much better. You need to keep a closer eye on the garage and replace the light bulbs as they go out. Also, the hours of the pool could be opened more than what was allowed. When we checked out, we had been charged for breakfast everyday which we told them we didn't want. The man took it off, but if we wouldn't have asked about what the cost was when we checked out, we'd been billed for 2 breakfasts for 9 days that we didn't even eat.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet/Wifi service was not good.

    Beautiful, clean, quiet, comfortable room with a breathtaking view of the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are spotless clean.Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They upgraded us free of charge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning service didn't replenished shower gel container.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Wifi connection went down several times.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Buffet breakfast food was not hot enough. Having to pay in your car park.

    Bedroom size was excellent. Happy hour was the highlight of the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    FANTASTIC PLACE. VERY COMFORTABLE ROOMS. LOVELY BREAKFAST AND INCREDIBLY NICE SERVICE.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved through booking and paid through booking. The hotel also charged me for the room. Who is going to make this right?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from staff outside in the morning at 6am.

    Fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was work being done on the next floor up and it was noisy from 8.00 am.

    Room only as there are excellent eating establishments near by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!!!

    This hotel is Awesome, very clean, friendly staff, great food and the best location in Rota...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For € 17 per day got a beautiful seaview room with two beds and a spacy bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff which was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very happy about the accommodations

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    blankets on beds

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing negative to say.

    The staff went above and beyond. Everyone ensured I was happy. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelents rooms, with sea views

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings outdated

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not much of selection

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was some street noise late at night in the first floor.

    Great room, had everything I needed. GREAT location...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was 10 euros each.Well worth it as we filled up for the day.Hot food for breakfast was not hot enough.Only fault!!!

    Excellent hotel,staff couldn't do enough,really good restaurant adjoining hotel.Good happy 2hours in bar!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The beds are very firm, but I believe the hotel is in the process of replacing them.

    Great morning brunch. Don't miss Happy hour. Its fun to be in downtown Rota. Very friendly restaurant staff. The attached restaurant (Embarcadero) is a gem.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    While not quite in season, it would have been nice if the pool were ready or if there were a hot tub instead.

    Great location and friendly staff. You can walk to all the best restaurants and along the beach boardwalk from here.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The double double beds instead of a king bed was pointless. They could use better comforters the bed was stiff

    Location was excellent and food was great.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is beautiful and the location is ideal; close to Rota's attractions and the best restaurants and shopping. We walked everywhere. The hotel is right on the beach and the ocean-front promenade. I recommend choosing a room with a sea view. It is worth it.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Work out facilities were not available until 10:00 in the morning which did not support my schedule.

    Great location. Good value. Nice variety with half board option.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was an extra charge to use the room safe, the wireless signal was weak and kept requiring annoying re-entry of passwords. Front desk check-out was inefficient (but friendly)

    The location is excellent with beautiful views and easy access to the beach as well as the charming center of old town Rota. The morning buffet is very good and offers many choices. The bar and restaurant have excellent food and fair prices and the staff are friendly. A great place to stay if you can afford it.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Although i didnt speak spanish the staff was not especially kind and wanted me out of their hair as soon as they could. Also made me feel hesitant to ask questions as a result. Beds were quite uncomfortable.

    The location provided a beautiful view of the ocean and the hotel was beautiful. Room was clean and the bathrooms very nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The king sized bed was not as comfortable as I had hoped. Very hard. This is a minor complaint however.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My room had an enormous terrace. The location was fantastic! Directly on the gorgeous beach front AND in the heart of Rota's historic downtown.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is annoying. Don't book a room facing the pub next door.

    Rooms are big and comfortable. Very friendly staff. Good food. Great view if you have a room facing the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Furniture in rooms and at beach are very old. Room furnishings need to be updated. They are worn and need to be replaced. Beds are somewhat lumpy and need to be turned. Same for linens and towels. Upgrade to softer materials.

    Staff is awesome. Extremely professional, friendly and helpful. Beautiful part of Rota with exceptional access to beach. Pool is gorgeous. Internet works great.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Swimming pool is excellent Small local restaurants in neighbourhood are cheap and good Can never get tired of the view to the ocean Parking very convenient

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Your staff should learn a bit more English or I more Spanish. However most traveler's on business don't always the time to learn the language of another country especially when they have no other use for it. Also a little high priced! Your hotel was recommended!

    Breakfast was fantastic & the restaurant in the evening as well. One of the best steaks ever ate. Bravo to the chef & service.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The view from the rooftop solarium was incredible. You had a view of Cadiz, and the beach and marina. It is right next to the light house and across from main square.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I like everything about this place, the rooms are very well appointed with luxury bathrooms and plenty of room. The pool and public areas are very well kept and the entire hotel has an air of luxury. Staff are all pleasant and well trained. I would very much like to stay again soon.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool area a bit short on sunbeds. Hotel said they had policy of removing towels left on beds for over 30 mins. but this was never actioned.

    Lovely hotel overlooking the sea with views of Cadiz accross the bay. Staff friendly and helpful. Good choice at breakfast with lady cooking eggs to order. Nice pool. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not like the fact that the price of the hotel went up 30 euro over the weekend. Internet was sporadic and my view was a brick wall.

    The location of this hotel was great. It was on the beach and near many restaurants and bars. The staff spoke english which was helpful and they gave us maps of places to go.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and pillow is not what I am used to. Ogradys bar was close enough to my window where the yelling patrons could be easily heard.

    location location location.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Clean, comfortable, excellent value, great staff. Breakfast was excellent and priced very reasonable. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everyone was very friendly and made me feel at home. The hotel is within walking distance for all that Rota has to offer. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and keeper to the Spanish idea of amazing dishes. I can wait to go back!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ordered a sandwich in the bar and the bread was really really stale.

    The views and quietness.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They need non slip shower/bath mats in all rooms for safety. The floors are very slippery and dangerous when wet.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    beautiful hotel and the view is amazing. Easy access to town

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slippery floors in bathrooms. Need anti-slip mats in all showers.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WE THINK THE HOTEL IS NOW A BIT DATED & COULD DO WITH A SPRUCE UP LIKE THE RESTAURANT

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautifull Location

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything, rooms, hotel, staff, all very good.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They tried to move us to a different hotel because they had overbooked

    Location and nice pool

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely clean hotel, was there with a group so central

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was cold food, would have preferred hot sausages and bacon. However choice of other items was excellent.

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing! No complaints.

    Everything! The staff, the restaurants, the pool, the location.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to comment on

    Location location location

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast expensive

    We love the poo!!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi

    Location

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: