Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel El Bedel 3 stars

Plaza San Diego, 8, 28801 Alcalá de Henares, Spain

#4 of 19 hotels in Alcalá de Henares

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 870 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Character building in historic centre
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all fine.

    The hotel is such a noble-looking building right across from the University close to the centre of town and very convenient for places to eat and drink. It's my second stay here and I had no hesitation about returning. The building has plenty of character, the staff really courteous and the price attractive, so I am sure I will be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom furniture could be renovated. The breakfast could have more choice of fruits and cereals

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, very comfortable bed, clean room, very central location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with great staff. Fantastic location and surrounding area. Highly recommended
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was fine, but sometimes cold. Toiletries were minimal and indicated better on the literature. Roadworks made travelling to and fro with a car very difficult - suggest a plan be given to guests to help us get in to and from the garage more easily.

    The Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent with several restaurants around to choose from to eat. Rooms were good and clean. Our stay was wonderful and the hotel was a major part of this. It was great having drinks outside and in particular the accompanying tapas - thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Charming, clean and comfortable but needs to improve small details for business travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting could have been better, the air conditioning did not work in my room. I asked for an iron and ironing board but there was no board, only an iron. For business travellers, the ability to ensure that your shirt is crease free when you turn up at a meeting is essential.

    Clean and comfortable in a good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.0
    A Good Business Trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very noisy because of the restaurants that work till after midnight; The AC wasn't working because of repairs. Although we were informed in advance, this could have been scheduled for Spring or Autumn.

    Good location in the centre of the city; Most staff speak English; The Internet was excellent all the time. The rooms and batrooms were clean and there was hot water. The tap water is actually good for drinking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Could have been a dream...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C went out(we arrived on a Sat.) and as a result, not only was it quite warm, but you had to open the windows, and the noise was horrible: night life, garbage trucks, cleaning streets crew, you name it, we heard it! They did give us fans, & it helped to get through the night. We were offered an “apartment “, which was air conditioned, (near by)but we were 4 adults & a teenager, & would have been a tight squeeze & we decided to stick it out. Surprisingly & dissappointly, because of our vacation schedule, we came back to Alcala, two weeks later, & the A/C was still down! In the middle of July! In Spain! No excuse...

    The location is in the same Plaza as the The University. Lots of ambience, a block for the main City of Alcala square, lots of cafes, restaurants, bars, easy to catch tours, location is awesome! The decor of the hotel is beautiful, great Castilian Spanish furnishings, with wonderful tapestries, & paintings; they offered us free buffet breakfasts, to compensate for the lack of A/C...staff was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Nicely located in central Alcala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator was “clean” from any food when we got there but was so horrid that we couldn’t put any drinks or food in it. Someone had clearly had left some rotten food in there. Also-our shower head fell from the wall (the screws fell out of the drywall) and landed on my back while showering. Ouch. I was the first shower so everyone had to hold the shower head in their hands while showering. The beds are very hard and my back ached after sleeping in them. Having said all of that -I would stay here again if the beds were a bit softer. The fridge and shower would likely have been resolved while we were there but we were there two nights only -so did not alert the staff (late the first night-so went straight to bed).

    Nicely located in central Alcala.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Extremely good and going back in three weeks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like some tomatoes and cucumber at breakfast

    Just incredibly warm friendly staff. Really comfortable rooms . Superbly positioned near many interesting buildings . Great walking and close restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    This is a comfortable hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfasts could be much better and the dead flowers on the tables and in the reception area should be removed.

    Compared with other hotels that we have stayed in, the breakfast was very monotonous. There was not much choice of cereal, pastries, bread etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and well located hotel with very nice receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, all was good.

    Very good location, I think, it is the best location in Alcala, right city center on the main square. Very quiet and calm. Nice hotel and comfortable. Very good restaurant and bar. Very nice and helpful person at the reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Private appartment with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle, no ironing equipment No curtains in living room (had "not been delivered yet") No information folder in the appartment (But the hotel may be planning to provide these in future)

    Stunning panoramic view over Plaza Cervantes Self-catering appartment opposite the hotel Newly refurbrished within historic square

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.0
    Prime location with
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was idea. The hotel was so central to the town and right opposite the university building. Lovely traditional building and comfortably furnished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Definitely one of best places we have stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a glitch with the toilet but Staff were quick to rectify the problem.

    The location was perfect. The staff were very friendly and extremely courteous and helpful. The room was beautiful, clean with lovely ambiance and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed buffet breakfast and bar. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Great historic district close to most of important sites of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi did not work in room. Bit tiring to go down to check email. Would be perfect to have stable Wi-Fi in all rooms.

    All staff are very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    A quick, 1 night stay for business reasons.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    A delightful hotel in a pleasant square, staff helpful and welcoming. The room was charming, a change from the standard business type hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location, but many problems
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What annoyed me, was the bed, which seemed cheap and was really uncomfortable. Although there is little traffic, the street underneath the windows is very noisy beacuse there is a bar. And there is obviously a custom to unload sheets, food, bottles from the truck in front of the hotel at 5AM, everyday.

    There is no doubt, that the hotel is perfectly situated. Located in the historical centre, right next to the university building. Building is nice, rooms are spacy, bathroom clean and big.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning didn't work properly. Not a big deal, as it wasn't that hot, and I didn't bother reporting it.

    This is a really nice hotel, located on the square outside Alcala's old university buildings, right in the middle of town. The room was very nice and well-maintained, with a comfortable bed and a desk, and a view right onto the square. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I'd happily stay here again any time I was in town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    great value and superb location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike.

    The hotel is centrally located in the old part of the town. The staff were very friendly and the car private parking is secure and close to the hotel. the restaurant is good and overall the hotel is great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    My first choise in Alcala de Henares
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit of noise from the near by post office during the early hours but not something the hotel can do anything about it.

    Located in the heart of Alcala in walking distance from the shops - cafes and historic monuments. The staff profecional and helpful and the hotel amenities are as discribed during the booking procedure. It was my second stay at the specific hotel and if ever again in Alcala wiil be my first choise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Lively, beautiful, sunny and peaceful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Alcala is very lively on week ends as every city so a little noisy at night and windows not too sound-proof. No scrambled eggs for breakfast, but that's personal :)

    Super nice staff, they help you with Spanish survival words. The bed was perfect and the room very large. Everything was clean and the personnel guessed very easily I needed warm blankets, it made me feel in a 4 star hotel. The breakfast has a lot of different options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was looking foward to have a nice bath just to discovered the tiny bath that they have in the bathroom. I only could soak half of my body and I'm a small person. It can get a bit noisy outside since is a popular square.

    The location was perfect. The room was very comfortable and also the bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stop over hotel in interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - hotel could be easier to find (entrance is in a pedestrianised square accessed by car only via a "no entry" street...) and parking is in a garage a couple of minutes walk away.

    Lovely hotel, great staff, loved the complementary tinto de verano on arrival and the (also complementary) 90 minute walking tour of Alcalá. Comfy bed, clean, quiet room and hotel parking a real plus. Nice restaurant serving local food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Basic stay in centre of Alcala de Henares
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited comfort, room very simple, dark, and it all felt anonymous. Good luck finding parking on all the one way streets after six o'clock

    clean room at a great location: the square of the university building. But nothing special

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in Alcala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was not working, they reset the system but it never felt fully cold which was difficult in the heat

    Really lovely location, friendly staff and great views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel,great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were professional and curteous but did feel that they didn,t go the extra mile to be friendly.Also felt they should have warned people about the parking,we arrived on a Saturday and parked in the square ,we looked on the meters which stated that you only paid for parking till 2pm.We were leaving late afternoon on the sunday and only saw on checking out a sign saying you couldn,t park there on a sunday.We went back to the car in the nick of time as the policeman was just about to have it towed away.We were let off as it was a genuine mistake but it could have gone a different way,which wouldn,t have been a good start to our trip around Spain.I Feel that the staff should explain to their guests about the parking situation on arrival.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable and in a fantastic central location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfort and convenience, storks and sunshine, at a reasonable price
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only minor things: our bedroom only looked out into a rather shabby internal courtyard; the piped music at breakfast was inappropriate and somewhat intrusive; wi-fi secured, but a little slow. The weather in May was lovely, but at another season you might wish for a place to sit and relax other than your room or the bar/restaurant.

    The location couldn't be bettered: in an attractive, traffic-free square in the heart of the old town, peaceful though frequented at all hours by locals, tourists and students, right beside the famous university gateway and round the corner from the pedestrianised Calle Maior (historic main street with Cervantes birthplace museum) which bustles with life till after midnight. Staff were courteous, efficient and helpful, and those on reception fluent in English. Decor was tasteful, breakfast varied and abundant. In May we had a close-up view of storks nesting from our bathroom window. Alcalà is a lively but relaxed town, with plenty of historical interest - don't miss the university tour if you can follow basic Spanish; and the university cafeteria does an excellent 10-euro lunch if the hotel restaurant looks a bit pricey. For day-trips further afield the walk to the station and train to Madrid together take only an hour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.3
    Excelent location but too noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy, doors and windows are thin and all the noise from outside and from the lobby is audible in the room.

    The location is excellent, near town center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    A gem in a highly attractive old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long walk to the underground car park.

    Reminded us of a mini parador with charming architecture inside and out. The situation once we could find it was ideal for viewing this quite remarkable historic university town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    An unforgetable experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perfect bed, clean rooms, friendly and polite stuff, marvellous breakfast, very good restaurant. Too close to center of the town and in heart on historical center of Alcala.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old style hotel in the heart of the old town of Alcala de Henares
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal was poor in the lobby and non existent in our bedroom at the rear of the hotel

    Lovely old style hotel tastefully decorated room with great view over plaza Cervantes

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    The location is amazing, the hotel is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Genuinely loved everything!

    The location is amazing, the hotel is beautiful. We stay here everytime we come to Alcala and it always feels like such a treat!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Good location in a very pretty and interesting university town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for us as regular travellers between the Costa del Sol and the Ferries to the UK. Lovely for an overnight stop. Situated in a pretty square, easy access to the town's main features and restaurants and with secure parking - essential with packed cars. We intend to make it our regular stop off point.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    4.6
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the staff apparently does not understand English: I requested a silent room. I was assigned the room above the cafetaria where you could hear the noise late at night and early in the morning!!!!. It was close enough to reception to hear the comes and go of every one.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    The perfect location - in the very center of Alcala: just...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The perfect location - in the very center of Alcala: just next to the university and 2 minutes from Cervantes Plaza.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent central location. Smart and clean hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    It was near everything
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was near everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Perfect for daytrippers too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. A lot of attention to detail, great customer service. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous in a lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful traditional hotel in a perfect location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    In a very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a very nice location. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Location in old town and perfect stopover from the South en...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in old town and perfect stopover from the South en route to Santander ferry port

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel in a fantastic location would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Great location and really pleasant stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes it was noisy in the morning, Soundproof facility was bad.

    City center, great view from the room, kind staff,small but cozy room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel great for a few days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow and noise from other rooms.

    Nice location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom ,no view.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    Great location!!! Big nice room. Good experience. Soft bed, and that is not typical in Spain!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location in Alcala overlooking plaza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Excellent customer service by Alicia and David
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service by lo al police who towed away our car.

    Excellent customer service by Alicia and David

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be a bit noisy at night due to people in the main square

    Excellent location, very central

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, great comfort!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was rather slow, disconnected from time to time.

    Hotel is very well located, newly renovated and looks indeed very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    bed comfy, room spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bed comfy, room spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room

    Friendly staff, perfect location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful old charm and all modern conveniences in a top class location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wonderful

    Old world charm and location perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Nice and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar with awesome tapas that came with each beer

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location Nice and friendly stuff Great decoration and spatial rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice place, but the wifi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi was barely usable. The breakfast is acceptable...

    Nice hotel, very nice location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    5.4
    To avoid in the future
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel. I cannot rest. My room was effectively into the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi Fi network.

    Service. Top.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    Old historical building, very center of the old town. Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location is very good. Center of the old town. Good view from the room. Old building with a long tradition.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    I liked the room, the breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the room, the breakfast. Perfect place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Imagine waking up one morning, getting to your room's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    People at the restaurant could be more welcoming

    Imagine waking up one morning, getting to your room's window and... you are in the Spanish sixteenth century! Good hotel in wonderful environment.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    5.0
    The location and staff are very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed is so hard that is like sleeping on the floor. You only have one tiny little pillow that its like having nothing. The blind shut was broken so it wouldn't close properly and it was so so noise that is like their bar is in your room. The rooms needs modernisation asap the only thing good about this hotel are their amazing staff and location

    The location and staff are very friendly

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location, nice decor, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would love to have tea & coffee making facilities in the room. The minibar seemed to be not in use as it was totally empty. There were not enough seats in the breakfast room at 8:45.

    Excellent location, nice decor, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    Very good location on Plaza San Diego.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Too busy at breakfast time ...Avoid 8.30am to 9am. I wish there was tea/coffemaking facilities in the bedroom

    Very good location on Plaza San Diego. Welcoming atmosphere with beautiful décor which suits the old town. It was fun watching the storks at work on the church spire opposite my bedroom window.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Lovely ambiance with a beautiful view right in the historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower curtain needs to be replaced! The location can bring quite a bit of noise

    Lovely ambiance with a beautiful view right in the historic district! So charming!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    9.6
    Bed comfy, Shower Gel, Shampoo and toothbrush etc provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kettle and Tea/Coffee making facilities not provided.

    Bed comfy, Shower Gel, Shampoo and toothbrush etc provided. Fridge, Room Safe. Central location.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.2
    very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group

    it can be a bit noisy outside late in the evening

    very good breakfast beautiful surroundings plenty of good restaurants around including one in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    8.8
    Great location and very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit noisy if people is talking outside on the square and noise if people talks outside in the corridor (but that is just rude people talking loud even well after 12:00) however the doors are not blocking the noise as other hotels (but for a 3 stars this is avery good 3 starts hotel)

    Great location and very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    9.6
    Situated in a nice square opposite Alcala University...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was some sort of utility room adjacent to my room 220 and each night at 11.45 someone came in, jangling their keys, used a toilet and sounded like cupboards, and left 5 minutes later, locking everything back up.

    Situated in a nice square opposite Alcala University buildings but was very peaceful and relaxing. Bed was excellent and room was furnished tastefully including a nice writing desk

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    9.2
    location is excellent (city center), historical building and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location is excellent (city center), historical building and in the middle of historical monuments. Breakfast buffet is reasonable, clean room with good size, and good wifi access

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    9.6
    Location:right in the centre of Alcala's historic Old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend!

    Location:right in the centre of Alcala's historic Old Town, 5mins walk from airport bus stop,10 walk to train station. Room: Large and beautifully decorated in Spanish tradition,really comfortable bed, great views over San Diego Square. Staff: frieny and efficient, have good directions re sights, train timetables etc. Cost: We went last weekend in Nov and considered it exceptional value for money. There is a restaurant and bar on site but we didn't eat there so can't comment. The area looked welcomming however and was busy anytime we passed.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.8
    Very nice hotel - in the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    we spent there 2 nights - we asked lady in reception for restaurant recommendation / she said that the best is in hotel, becuase all other are "tapas" - it is not true.

    Very nice hotel - in the city center. Not so far from restaurants etc. I had great view. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location in the heart of historic Alcala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location in the heart of historic Alcala. Walking distance to all places of interest and situated in a beatiful pedestrianised square. Very comfortable rooms and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Position opposite Universty building built in 1499.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position opposite Universty building built in 1499.in car free zone apart from entrace to hotel Old town amazing. Happy helpfull staff. Good breakfast Clean onsuite rooms with Spanish charm

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.1
    Hairdryer didn't work properly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Hairdryer didn't work properly. It's model was completely old fashioned and it is useless because a lady can't get her hair dried. The hotel need an updated room key system. And old key with a big key ring is not comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Fantastic location, beautiful rooms, excellent value for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise travels a bit through the building and people sometimes came back in the early hours making a lot of noise. But with the airco on it was better.

    Fantastic location, beautiful rooms, excellent value for money, friendly staff

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel El Bedel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: