Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel El Castillo 1 stars

Acacio Gutierrez, 141, 39340 Suances, Spain

#4 of 17 hotels in Suances

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 399 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.5
    It was a great stay, thanks and we will come again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfirst! Not really a breakfirst. The coffe was quite good, but the rest... The burgers tast well an were fresh made.

    The most beautiful view out of the window, the close and qiet beach and area. We didnt like the acces to the beach. Quite difficult for elder people! Sure we will come again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    The location is simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is nice but needs a caretaker. There are many small things that could be easily fixed in 5 min but are not. We had a room with a broken door knob, which could have been easily repaired with a screwdriver. The same was true for the shower doors.

    The location is simply amazing. We had a room with sea view and I definitely recommend this. It was beautiful to wake up to the sound of the ocean and the sight of the waves crashing into the bay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    nice hotel above the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ceiling height in the room was too low and the sound isolation between the rooms could be better.

    'Castle' hotel located in a spectacular place - surrounded by the beaches and cliffs. We had a very spacious room in the highest floor. The room had a seating area in front of a big window with a perfect view directly to the ocean. Nice staff and easy parking directly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing bay/beach view with some surfers trying their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, Cafe food - could be a lot better. Weather, but hey its not theur fault :D

    Amazing bay/beach view with some surfers trying their best all day long. We mostly decided to eat in our room because of this incredible view - have never found somerhing comparable before. Hiking, surfing in this area can also be highly recommended - u won't get bored.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfasts were good and so nice to have them brought to our room but the cafe food was disappointingly limited to hot dogs and pizzas. Some soups or other fresh light foods would make this paradise!

    The most gorgeous location overlooking sea, beaches, views to Picos etc. Room good size and well furnished; lovely bathroom with great really hot showers. But the best thing is the sitting area of the room with armchairs and huge windows looking out to sea! And downstairs the bar, cafe and outside seating also with beautiful views. Great very relaxing. Lovely seafood restaurants a 15 minute walk across the beach in the port. Would definitely return for a peaceful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only staircase is a spiral one. It’s all right for able-bodied guests, though awkward, but absolutely not a place for any disabled person. The restaurant is convenient and always open ( useful in a town where 2030/2100 opening is the norm) but it only serves a limited range of pizzas and burgers. Lovely place to sit, though. Our beds were a very soft memory foam which we found difficult.

    It’s an intriguing place to stay with a superb position immediately above a lovely beach. It looks like a quirky small castle and is only one star but the room we had (superior sea view) was spacious and very smartly done to near four star standard. Two huge chairs in the roomy window area with magnificent views: we couldn’t stop looking out of the windows ( on a really stormy night, too). It would be better still in warmer months. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    The most amazing view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiral staircase a struggle with a couple of cases. It would be very difficult if your getting on a bit.

    The most amazing view from our room. Overlooking the beach with a storm blowing in and surfers battling the harsh winter storm was quality. Plus your staying in a castle. That’s pretty special!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    1 million dollar view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    stuff was excellent. but as general problem in this part of Spain, only manager was speaking english. waiters were very helpful all the time but without an english word:)) there no elevator, juts very narrow steps, it is a huge problem...

    this hotel has a view with 1 million dollar!!! unbelievable ocean view from your window! only this beauty is enough to chose this hotel. but it last but not least: rooms with characters is big plus. we loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    View was amazing, but previous occupant had been smoking in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View was amazing, but previous occupant had been smoking in the room which was pretty unpleasant. Explained this to the reception manager who said this was not possible. She eventually came to the room and agreed it smelled of smoke. We stayed for 3 nights and the smell was gone eventually.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Romantic and beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the breakfast. The price (7€) is too high for a coffee, an orange juice and a croissant. I appreciated the fact that they serve it in your room but if I pay this price I would expect to have more quantity and best quality.

    The view from the hotel is breathless. Having the opportunity to have breakfast while watching the beach “Los Locos” is wonderful. The bed is very comfy, it is rated as one star hotel but the rooms could belong to four stars hotel. It has a big tub instead of shower and everything looked very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Great exercise, lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Fantastic for surfers but daunting for old swimmers. Picking up plastic usually brought in with the tide did not seem to be a habit. For some reason green vegetables are not on the local menu .

    Staff were exceptionally nice, Bedroom comfortable and thoroughly clean, Local area scenic and interesting. Two beautiful beaches .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was missing a door so when you showered it was hard to keep the water from straying all over the floor.

    We reserved a room with sea view! It was wonderful, it is truly picture perfect. Even in a rainy day sitting and watching the waves was relaxing and enjoying. It was quiet, and the bed was comfortable. I would book this hotel again. The breakfast, you had 3 choices, we chose the egg and bacon breakfast a couple of times. No extra charge for room service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay with a warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurants open in the evening within walking distance.

    Wonderful welcome. Stunning view of sunset over the sea. The hotel had a simple limited menu at the cafe bar which was open all day and evening and was very good with freshly cooked food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Awsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Everything The place is just awsome. The castle itself is beautiful, facing the bay The room (7) was just awsome big panoramic view on sea. We ordered pizza and breakfast to eat in the room, it was delivered directly by the staff with no extra charge, really nice and welcoming staff We had the best experience ever..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Amazing little Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very sweet castle with some very nicely furnished rooms. Spectacular views!! Only a couple hundred meters walk to some shops and restaurants. They were very kind and upgraded our rooms. We wanted to stay another night it was so nice, but our trip to Portugal had to start.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Excellent, boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not a complaint, just information: The hotel is located in an idyllic location. It is much more comfortable to have a car to move around.

    - Friendly personnel, - Nice location, - Fantastic view around the hotel, - Nice, decent price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    The most romantic spot ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was 2 single beds instead od double and the matress was too soft for me

    The view from the room is spectacular. Staff of the hotel was very welcoming and friendly. The property in general gives you the feeling of exclusivity.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Quirky hotel with lots of character located on a headland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited menu

    Very enjoyable overnight stop. The setting is spectacular with beautiful sunset to take in from the bar. Room very clean and comfortable. Great value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Amazing views, great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As there is no elevator, the spiral staircase might be a drawback to some. Not to us though, and even then the staff was helpfull taking up the luggage. The bathroom was great, though on the second floor the ceiling wasn't quite high enough for showering. (there's a seat on the edge of the bath though, so if you want to practice for old age: this is great!)

    The location! Great views over the cliffs and sea. Great sunset. Make sure to have a room looking out over the beach (Playa de Los Locos). Falling asleep with the sound of the breaking waves... Breakfast (three decent options from the menu) is brought up to your room so you can enjoy your room and the views even longer. Clean, spacious rooms, great beds, nice furniture, friendly and helpfull staff. Sufficient amount of plugs and decent WiFi. Oh, did I mention the views?? :D

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    5.4
    Just the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and needs a serious refurbishment, very poor wifi, very steep staircase and no lift, old and stained pillows and blankets, no air conditioning, breakfast - poor value for money, turning off the light automatically switches off the electricity in the sockets, shower cabin is old, broken and, to be honest, quite disgusting

    The ocean view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Breathtaking views, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location of this hotel was great - it's between two great beaches.The sunrises and sunsets were amazing.The friendliness of the staff made our stay very relaxing-all our problems were easily solved by a great receptionist.Our bedroom had a separate glassed seating area overlooking La Concha beach which we did not expect on booking.The bath was long and deep with excellent water pressure in both bath and shower. Can't believe it hasn't a higher rating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful stay by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, stunning views and amazing location, lovely room fab staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    We use this hotel as a stopover for the Santander Ferry. It suits the bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    We like the 'quirkiness' of the hotel - every room is different and we must have stayed in most of them!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Affordable luxury
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully decorated and furnished, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to be fit to climb the spiral staircase!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful view from Seaview bedroom of surfing every day, in a modern castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food served in room overlooking amazing surfing beach. Location is superb for beaches, walks and trips to Picos Europa etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Location is amazing and the views from the room were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is amazing and the views from the room were spectacular

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Matched expectations.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view from room,stairs a challenge for older persons.Pleasant staff,nice cafe /lounge.No problem with parking adjacent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    The room from our room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room from our room was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Totally recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.0
    Tolle Aussicht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to climb the very narrow stairs with your luggage, not very comfortable. The room was just good for a night.

    Tolle Aussicht

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely views

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Great view over the ocean and cliffs from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view over the ocean and cliffs from our room. Nice walking around.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.5
    The view is worth everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive restaurant with OK, but not good, food. A lot of smoking.

    Outstanding views. Spectacular location. Large, comfortable rooms, with a view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Great view of the surfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air con and a mini fridge

    The breakfast where good value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    9.2
    the views are Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no food on site, the food available is not good/frozen pizzas??? after a long day of travel it would have been nice to sit in our fabulous ocean front/view room and had dinner vs going into town with no view! the spiral staircase, wow that is tricky! cannot imagine how the insurance companies allow that? floor tile was VERY slick and almost fell

    the views are Outstanding! bed was super comfortable and room quite spacious with reading/sitting area. free parking right in front. front desk very friendly with good English which we were grateful for. big area for dogs/grass and big area for kids playground so all are happy/ Did not see other rooms and what the side views were vs our full view but the lime green room is great! wow what a view, pounding surf

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.6
    Staff were fantastic and extremely polite,as well as helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is surprisingly poor. The snack we had at lunchtime (hamburger and hot dog), were poor quality and not in keeping with the hotel image. The cooked breakfast was equally poor, since there was not much food on the plate and for €6.60, we did expect something more substantial to be served. Next time we stay (and we definitely will) we will not order breakfast or lunch and will find a local cafe/restaurant instead to eat.

    Staff were fantastic and extremely polite,as well as helpful. Everything was excellent about the hotel and the sea views from our room were simply incredible! The bedroom and lounge area were beautifully furnished and clean. This hotel is a superb choice for anyone wanting the best views, easy parking, helpful staff and roomy bedrooms. Our medium sized dog was also very welcomed and he had a great time too !! Wifi was also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Great location, great spacious clean room with an amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, great spacious clean room with an amazing view. Staff were friendly. Can't believe it's not got a higher star rating. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.2
    The location is amazing and the views on the headland are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem is the spiral staircase which would be extremely difficult for anyone with mobility problems. However, we were instantly offered help with our luggage.

    The location is amazing and the views on the headland are stunning, the room with the internal balcony has great views. The hotel is a half mile or so out of town but you can cross the road and then walk along the beach. There are only snacks available in the evening but there are plenty of good restaurants in town.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    4.2
    The views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell of dampness. Damp patches on the wall. Windows and frames running with water due to lack of ventilation. Side window directly above kitchen extractor, stinks of cooking. Enamel on bath chipped. Reception area tired and unwelcoming.

    The views.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.8
    Location, scenic lookout, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator and very narrow staircase.

    Location, scenic lookout, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.2
    Good location and a very attractive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu and food choice uninspiring!

    Good location and a very attractive Facility.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    We paid a bit extra for the sea view room and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We paid a bit extra for the sea view room and it was definitely worth it! Loved the vintage style decor as well.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Hotel El Castillo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: