Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Ciervo 2 stars

Edificio Penibético, 18196 Sierra Nevada, Spain

#51 of 88 hotels in Sierra Nevada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 300 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    El Ciervo is a hostal not a hotel. The facilities are very basic. However, there is no reason why our bedroom should have had so much damp and mould on the walls and ceiling.

    The staff at El Ciervo were all very pleasant. The receptionist was very friendly, efficient and helpful. The staff in the restaurant were also very nice and helpful. The room was warm and the beds were comfortable. There was plenty of hot water which was very welcome after a long day on the slopes. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. I tried the dinner once and it was OK without being amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very strong smell of smokes/cigarettes/weed. We specifically asked for a room that's free of those smells, yet the room given was a complete opposite. Mattresses needed changing ages ago, so you will get a comfortable sleep only if you are really tired. Shower head is always facing random direction, and bathroom leeks water to the main room, so after each shower you get puddles in a room.

    Opposed to other rental places in Pradollano, this one has breakfast. And quite a decent one. Depending on the apartment you are staying, you might get nice views in evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a double room and was given 2 single bunk beds. Not very appropriate for a weekend getaway with my partner. Even two single beds would have been better, the bunk beds were really unappealing as a couple.

    They left valentines treats in the room as it was clearly a trip for valentines (even though it was the weekend after). The breakfast was much better than I expected with great sausages, bacon, and other warm foods as well as your standard continental options. Dinner was also included which would suffice if I had been with friends but because I was with my partner, we didn't take advantage of this and went out in search of more romantic settings. The view was great from the room as you could see the mountains and the ski lifts and it was extremely close to all amenities and the ski lifts. Didn't expect much, exceeded expectations for sure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con! Only air con was a window! It felt like we were in a dark cave. Beds were old and sqeezy.. And talkin about noise! Couldnt get any sleep, because of hallway noise and banging doors. We Didin't get any smile from the stuff. And we had to wait to get to breggie. Not enjoyable stay, I can say.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price and location and last minute booking it was totally acceptable . It is what it is . Breakfast was good and fair and reflected the price.. Totally reasonable for price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was overheated. It was like an oven, so we had the window open all night.

    Great buffet breakfast - perfect before hitting the slopes! Great hostel for those on a budget. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't worth paying extra over similar accommodation in the area with no breakfast - 45 minutes into the meal serving time and hot food was already cold, poor choice. Better to find bed only accommodation and eat breakfast somewhere else.

    Location, room size,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no lift and we were on the third floor next time will request a room on 1st floor

    for what you pay this hotel is excellent value for money room large and clean breakfast was suffient

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very uncomfortable beds. Old bathtub. Keychains to the room fall apart. Thin walls, you hear anything - people in the hallway, next door, loud talking/partying in the middle of the night, the kitchen downstairs (stayed on the first floor). Drinks at dinner not included and wrong billing for drinks at check out. Small dining room.

    Good breakfast and dinner buffet. Friendly staff. Closeness to the chairlift.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of updating , especially bedding.

    Ok. Bit tired but clean and roomy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    Staff and restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy outside but not the hostels fault

    Excellent Value

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of natural day light and dark room.

    Plenty of hot water and central heating.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the TV was about 15 years old

    Comfyish bed and warm room, perfect after being on the slopes all day

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was helpful, smiling and good. Breakfast had a good variety. And it was warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: