Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel El Convento 2 stars

Maldonado, 2, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain

#3 of 21 hotels in Arcos de la Frontera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 225 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, comfortable bed with a beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t easy to find by car with the directions given to me. A small car is definitely needed to get through the extremely narrow streets.

    The view and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike with the hotel

    Great views and a central location (follow the hotel's advice as driving & parking in central Arcos de la Frontera is as exhilarating as they describe! )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful view, Problems with Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed should be replaced as it has permanent indentations in the mattress from long use. Also the floor in the room was dirty. We parked at the sister hotel, Hotel Los Olivos, for 8€ per day in secure parking. The evening we arrived the lady at reception noticed the flasher lights on our car were on and called to her colleague at El Convento so we could be told and take care of it before the battery was exhausted. So, the NEXT afternoon about 4pm, 20 some hours later, the reception at El Convento relayed the message to us! Of course by then the battery was completely dead and it was Sunday afternoon. This worried me so that I didn't enjoy the rest of our stay, and interfered with my sleep. We called the car rental agency on Monday and after 2 hrs got the car started. The explanation at El Convento was that we hadn't come out of our room on Saturday night, so they couldn't inform us when we could easily have prevented the dead battery. 30 seconds walk to our room, or a phone call from reception would have prevented this big inconvenience for us, with International phone calls, worry, stress, and delay.

    Beautiful view! The staff were quite friendly and helpful except for the obvious stupidity at El Convento about choosing not to relay the message about the car to us promptly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing views from balcony at a charming hotel in old town. Very comfortable and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi connection was very poor.

    The view from the balcony was amazing! The hotel's location was perfectly situated in in a great location in the middle of the historic area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Really good place to stay in Arcos de la Frontera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is that you have to park 100 metres up the road.

    Best view (from the room and from the balcony) that I can recall enjoying in very many years. The hotel is small and although it is not modern it is comfortable and charming. The staff are very friendly. The tariff is modest and for the relatively small cost it is very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly located in the village with spectacular view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfectly located in the village with spectacular view and balcony overlooking the valley. Parking was so easy. Just leave it at the sister property for 8 euro per day. Safe and locked away. Staff called a taxi for us to take us up to the hotel. We walked back down the hill when we left. So easy!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Central and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridors are noisy and the walls quite thin.

    Nice big terrace. Good central location and friendly, helpful staff. The receptionist recommended the Bar la Carcel for dinner - excellent advice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Arcos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have been a little more proactive with information, eg of the bull run and its impact on access.

    Wonderful location with spectacular view from spacious private terrace. Bottles of wine etc. charged at little more than shop prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Glum and pedestrian. Look elsewhere?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on check-in and during breakfast and check-out in the morning, were officious, sullen, and fairly unfriendly. Kind of a glum atmosphere overall. Also, beware — the bed in our room was quite uncomfortable! Breakfast was not included in room and very pedestrian, including boxes of Kellogg’s cereal! Look elsewhere???

    Hotel is in a good location in the old part of Arcos, but honestly there’s not too much to see. We arrived mid-afternoon and the churches, castle, and other points of interest were closed up. Lots of shops and eateries around, but kind of limited. Our room with a balcony overlooking river below was fantastic! Clean room and very spacious patio, furniture to enjoy some wine, cheese, and bread.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Not only did we love the location in the old town at the top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not only did we love the location in the old town at the top of the hill, but especially appreciated our terrace room (#5) with a spectacular 180 view of the valley. Would recommend the extra $$ for the terrace which has a table and 2 chairs plus 2 lounge recliners. Staff is amazing and helpful. We had no refrigerator or safe in our room which was not a problem for us. We ate 2 breakfasts in the hotel and it was basic and good. The hotel also has a terrace where everyone can enjoy an afternoon drink and the view. We arrived at bus station and took the Centro minibus to and from hotel for 1EU per person. We LOVED this hotel and would go back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Would have been great if the weather had been normal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was stormy, rainy, and windy while we were there, and the wind whistled through the windows. There was a patio, but we didn’t see it because all the shutters were closed. Not the fault of the hotel.

    Very beautiful building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It responded to expectations.

    Good hotel, nice location in the heart of the old town. Close to the better restaurants. Large terrace with beautiful views. A rather small room. Good shower. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions from the hotel, to the car park in town were vague, they could have made it much more simple.

    Loved this little hotel. I may be 2* but the location, the view from the terrace etc warrants a 5*! Full of character, offering a great choice of breakfast, although at an additional cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location in village, wonderful views, clean, tidy, good breakfast. Good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This white village of Arcos was wonderful with so many sights, great restaurants, bars and music venues which spilled out into the streets. The hotel's on the edge of the cliff giving stunning vista's. Breakfast was good at little cost. We parked in the underground parking at the base of the village and walked, however the village bus stop was right outside and stopped by the hotel. Give the Bluebell bar a try it's well worth it. We would happily return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed everything, would definitely recommend the local wine, Gibalbin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect with lovely views. You got used to the church bells chiming, at least they seemed to stop through the night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable and good size room and bathroom. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great Hotel, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely, very helpful and always cheerful. Breakfast was great. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would recommend a room with a terrace, the views are amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    A view to remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a large car into the old part of Arcos is quite hair raising but getting out is worse.

    We were offered either a balcony or a terrace. The terrace we had was slightly more expensive but well worth it. You are right on the edge of the cliff and can see for miles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular views and comfortable room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking available at the hotel but secure parking is offered at the sister hotel "Olivos" which worked well . However there is an 8 euros charge for this . We felt it could have been offered without charge considering it is the sister hotel and the parking area was huge . Also worth mentioning is the 7 euro it will cost if you decide to take a taxi from the olivos to the convento rather face the ten minute up hill walk with luggage . (Strongly advise not to take a car up into the parking in the pueblo as the route up is very very narrow ! )

    Spectacular views from the terrace . The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable . Great value for money .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony/patio had a great view but not usable because you can see the bedroom of the nextdoor room - very obnoxious - no privacy. Balcony was more like a public space. My sons stayed in the twin room with no balcony which was more spacious and had a great view and more private. You really don't need to pay extra for the balcony.

    View and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.0
    Park down the hill & take a taxi up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good view!

    Impossible to find! Gps doesn't work to find it hotel the front desk said. We had a small car and had to put the mirrors in and Gimmy on some of the turns to get in to the hotel area. Then you have to park at a church & a guy showed us we here to park and then demand that you pay him three euros to watch your car. Worst access in Spain!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing views from this lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely small hotel situated in the old town with amazing views. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had air conditioning controlled by the guest. Some rooms come with a large furnished terrace with dining table dining chairs, sunloungers and parasol, towels are supplied for the sun loungers. Rooms 4, 5 & 6 have the largest terraces. You can have breakfast on your terrace at no extra charge. Arrange car parking befor hand by contacting the hotel as there is very limited parking in the old town and streets are very narrow. For €6 a night you can park in their sister hotel at the bottom of the hill and either walk up which isn't difficult if you are reasonably fit or get a taxi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location but poor soundproofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound proofing to next door room poor so could hear when toilet was flushed/shower on. And even worse air con unit above balcony very noisy so not relaxing sitting on balcony. Staff acknowledged this and we were offered another room but this had poor balcony. So we were disappointed given one of main reasons for booking was to have balcony with view and loungers to relax in. No discount offered on check out which would have at least softened ethe disappointment

    Balcony and locatiuon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Basic but friendly welcome and good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite small. Wifi very unreliable.

    Friendly staff, awesome views from the terasse of the rooms. Breakfast was not included but reasonably priced and rather good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.5
    Challenging parking situation but nice place to stay with several good food options nearby.,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was challenging to get to the property initially due to it's great location in the Old town - very narrow 1-way streets & GPS won't help as it doesn't always know about 1-way streets. The hotel did send good instructions for parking options but not until day of travel and I was not connected to internet. The local folks were helpful in guiding me to the nearest parking lot which conveniently was free during the time I was there.

    The hotel staff recommended a restaurant a few streets away Taberna Jovenes Flamenco which had good food but even better was the street-side Flamenco performance, possibly impromptu I couldn't tell as they were already playing/singing when I arrived. The crowd of mostly locals filled the street and periodically had to let cars pass through. My room had a balcony with a great view of the valley below and parts of the city wall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Best view in Andalusia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tough but the view, location and ambiance of the hotel made any parking difficulties worth it

    The view from our balcony was spectacular! The room was very comfortable, clean and pretty. The staff were very personable and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    beautiful traditional rooms, great staff, magnificent views, (but plan your parking!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking is a bit difficult - but I think that is the case for any hotel located inside the old part of Arcos (still worth it). I recommend asking the hotel in advance for advice - they offered us parking in their sister hotel located just outside the old city and then booked us a taxi for the short ride between (also walkable).

    Rooms are spascious + extremely clean and the view from them is magnificnet. Staff was very nice and accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel in the old part of pretty Arcos with unbeatable views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a walk from parking to hotel - could be a downside for those less mobile but comes with the territory of being in old part of town with very narrow streets and some awkward corners.

    Very nice classic Spanish hotel, with modern rooms. Private balcony and lovely views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    A welcoming and comfortable hotel in Arcos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, will whole heartedly recommend this hotel.

    A lovely hotel, wonderful assistance from all the staff. Comfortable room with large elegant bathroom. A calm respite after traveling.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    A Terrific Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was essentially worthless. Didn't work at all in our rooms. Worked somewhat in the lobby area.

    This place has so much character and you can't beat the views. Very unique place to stay. Worth the walk up from the parking if you have a car. Lots of good eating choices nearby in the old city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.2
    Charming Locale and Comfortable Ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location next to the 500 yr old church and view of the valley below is beautiful! The rooms are large, beds comfortable, and breakfast delicious. All for 65+ Euros

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Incredible view and delightful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Terrace (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a modern hotel

    Incredible view and delightful staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    La situation la terrasse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation la terrasse

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    amazing location at the top of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    amazing location at the top of the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Arcos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, excellent attentive and friendly staff, great terrace and great room with a lovely balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful balcony with wonderful view of the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful balcony with wonderful view of the countryside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    I had a shower with cold water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was terible. not hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Fine, sparkling clean room with the most spectacular view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine, sparkling clean room with the most spectacular view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, excellent value, unforgettable vista from the room's private terraza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view from the Terraza.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Really nice hotel with astonishing view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have provided a refrigerator

    Really nice hotel with astonishing view and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    The view is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is amazing. Step right out onto the patio, and see for miles in any direction. Watch the birds flying BELOW you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Best little hotel in arcos de la frontera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Its a great little hotel, spottless, quiet and the staff are excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for one day visit to Arcos de la Frontera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    --the view from the balcony and the bathroom window was just spectacular. --huge bathroom --very quiet stay --very clean --very reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Bed comfy, fabulous views, staff friendly, great value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfy, fabulous views, staff friendly, great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Stunning views, delicious breakfast, friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, wonderful place.

    Stunning views, delicious breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views. Very clean. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely stay here...this is your first choice...get the room with a big terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow! Everything was super. No parking at this property, but easy to park at sister location and make the easy walk here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views. Parking at sister hotel worked well,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location, extraoridnaly clean, great and economic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, extraoridnaly clean, great and economic breakfasts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Great room with a terrace and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great room with a terrace and view. Nice location in town. Parking available at sister hotel or in public lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Great staff, a/c worked well, good value for a 2 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked one of the bigger terraces.

    Location, staff, view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Amazing view from the bedroom and the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the air-conditioning compressor which is attached to the outside wall of the room.

    Amazing view from the bedroom and the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Beautifull location and view from the terrace
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to reach..perhaps the hotel can arrange their own pick-up transport..?

    Beautifull location and view from the terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    keep your nerve if driving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    scary drive to top of village through really narrow street

    fantastic views from room terrace, excellent location at top of village

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi inconsistent and slow

    Fabulous view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    What a view from our balcony - very clean and well equipped rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints - everything was just perfect

    Fabulous location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    The staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff! Extremely helpful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel, in sleepy town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view. Eating breakfast on the terrace. The room was clean and wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent lovely place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    We liked the alchemy and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathroom kind of smelled old and gasey. The coffe out of the modern machine was not good.

    We liked the alchemy and the location. We especially appreciated the comfy beds, balcony and hot water with lots of pressure

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I think driving directions to the underground lot could be better given that entry into town is from at least two directions. Also the plaza where parking is is called Andalusia I believe.

    Wonderful location. Quiet. Great views. Had breakfast on their terrace. Service was friendly and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Amazingly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't stay forever.

    Amazingly clean. We booked a room with a balcony hanging over the valley below. Fantastic view! Wonderful staff. Off the charts value for money. Located near many restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Spectacular views from room terrace & roof terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough hot water. Sign stuck to bathroom wall advising 50 litres every 45 minutes.Booking.com emailed us directions for parking but still difficult to find and be prepared to lug suitcases uphill.

    Spectacular views from room terrace & roof terrace. Staff friendly & welcoming and room spacious if a little sparse. Super fluffy towels and extras in the bathroom. Breakfast on the roof terrace was well worth it. Each item priced individually but still good value.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.3
    The hotel was centrally located it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived at the motel with the doors locked and no one there to receive us after 10- 15 minutes someone did arrive to check us in. There is door bell on the side of wall you apparently need to ring to get in on occasion there was a sign posted on door bell the day we left.

    The hotel was centrally located it was clean. The staff did upgrade our room status for us. The pictures of the rooms and balconies are a little misleading. If you get a room with what they call a balcony it is a Juliet balcony just two doors that open with no where to go and the room is pretty tight. It is clean and comfortable if just looking for a place to lay your head. They do have some very large terrace rooms for a nice bump in price. The staff were accommodating and very nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.2
    The view from our balcony was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First night we were there during a rain & wind storm - exceptionally noisy & crazy - our room was literally hanging off a cliff. Second night was calmer weather & much more manageable - the balcony & view made up for the 1st night!

    The view from our balcony was amazing! Good breakfast a la carte. Nice people run it - helpful. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    8.8
    A lovely hotel situated in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely hotel situated in the heart of the old town. The rooms were clean and spacious and the views from the balcony are spectacular given the weather. The staff were welcoming and friendly and there are plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby. I would suggest that you park in the free car park at the bottom of town and take the local bus up to the hotel. It stops about 50 yards from the front door!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic location with breathtaking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Difficult to find. Roads not suitable for anything but a small car. Better directions would have been helpful.

    Fantastic location with breathtaking views. Charming hilltop village. People were very friendly and helpful when we were lost in our quest for the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    I liked the terrace and view - the room was very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room #6 wa quite noisy as you could hear the noise from the lobby and people going to rooms past the door. If the lobby door wa kept closed it would be better.

    I liked the terrace and view - the room was very clean and the linens were good. The staff are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Amazing views from the Hotel Terrace and the terrace in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we didn't like but be aware "old town" in Spain and in many placed means very narrow streets (often only just a car width) and no parking so be aware. Not a "fault" just be realistic

    Amazing views from the Hotel Terrace and the terrace in our room (on a cliff edge with amazing views , and soaring birds of prey and swifts). Modern bathroom , friendly staff, in the heart of the old town.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    9.6
    The woman at the front desk who took care of us so well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking from the parking lot in the newer part of town on a Sunday with no taxi service to the hotel. That was a bit of a hike to the old town with luggage. Sorry I didn't get the Rick Steves suite.

    The woman at the front desk who took care of us so well. I just wish I new her name so I could thank her personally. The location at the edge of the cliff. Great view. An excellent place to watch a storm come through.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    stayed here last year,was not disappointed with return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    stayed here last year,was not disappointed with return visit.Very very comfortable ,lovely staff.Room is decorated to a first class standard and very tastefull. Have now included hot breakfast to the menu.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Amazing location and views ( as long as you don't mind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to detail in the room was poor - especially for the price. Eg - one of the bedside lamps didn't work. The shower head had the wrong fitting so would not go in the holder on the wall making having a shower very difficult , ie holding the shower head in one hand whilst trying to wash hair etc with the other.We had a small private balcony but the doors to the balcony would not close - the hinge on one of the doors was broken - had to leave them open all night which created a draft in the corridor which made our bedroom door rattle all the time, we ended up having a jam a chair against it. A nightmare to drive through the old town - no where to park , narrow streets - would advise driving no further into the town than the underground public car park.

    Amazing location and views ( as long as you don't mind heights). Our room was literally on the edge of the gorge.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    Spectacular views from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spectacular views from the balcony. Breakfast was available for purchase and was quite good. Parking is a bit of a challenge, but we arrived around sunset, so the square had spaces available.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: