Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Coto Hotel Restaurante 2 stars

Carretera Lermanda, 7, 01195 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain

#6 of 21 hotels in Vitoria-Gasteiz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    A nice hotel, that has it all...but maybe does not want to share it.?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner and the subsequent price of it. English, even in rudimentary form could be expected in a nice place like this in the international area it is in.

    A much nicer place than one expects to find in the industrial park area.! Nicely appointed rooms, with great bathrooms and a good bed. Quiet and restful. The restaurant... well, I ate in the bar area, which was ok...but it seems that there is a much nicer restaurant which seemed closed. The evening meal was forgettable and the only language spoken Spanish.! Seemed strange in an area with every international forwarding company warehouse close by. The food itself was a small dish with beef stew into which a dozen french-fries were heaved.! The tomatoe salad was good. It sure sounded more appetizing on the handwritten menu.! So... maybe it was my choice or the fact that the hotel was not very full..? Breakfast was a much different affair. The server was quick, efficient and courteous. Spoke English and the food was good. So..NO to dinner, YES to breakfast. On top of it...the restaurant bill was too high for the single dish food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is great for an overnight stay whilst travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no glasses in the bedroom and only one bedside table. I need a glass of water by my bed at night.

    The hotel is close to the motorway to Bilbao and San Sebastian, and yet it is quiet. The restaurant was simple and very good value and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    although by industrial site very quiet and historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can hear every house from he floor above. May gave only had floorboards between us. But they did say quiet after 22.00 and as most were business people was quite at a reasonable time. No menu for breakfast

    Ideal stop over for driving to Southern Spain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pretty place with great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water for some reason, not a big problem but others may find a problem

    Room and food excellent and great value, friendly and helpful staff and a good location near to the motorway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice rural hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not near tourist sites.

    The host was nice, the room comfortable, and the food at the restaurant good. They had a nice garden and beautiful wheat fields next door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Thank you for a superb night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Our room was super comfy, it was very nice and the shutters were BLACKOUT we got a super nights sleep! The gentleman let us in even though we were very late and getting ready to sleep in our car

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    4.2
    Disaster overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived 8 o'clock on Saturday evening straight from the ferry and the hotel is situated on a huge industrial park which is poorly lit and proved very difficult to find. They have no facilities at all weekends and we could not have a cup of coffee and everything nearby is closed. I think they should not accept bookings for weekends and would warn anyone thinking of booking weekends to change their mind.

    Very spacious and clean room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, very helpful, very clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, very helpful, very clean place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    It´s good for a stop by
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very thin walls. I could hear my neighbours and the TV.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Location for a business trip ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom kind of dirty and toilet did not work well (got stuck). No really excuse from the reception.

    Location for a business trip ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Would return at any time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very well run, clean, comfy, modern with traditional interior. Unasuming exterior. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    The dinner was served to fast, in 35min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was served to fast, in 35min. we got the starter, main dish and dessert.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    lovely overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a tiny village that has been swallowed by development but is still enjoyable. staff made every effort to make our stay pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in a industrial area.

    Friendly staff. Brought us to a very nice restaurant. Clean room and nice decorated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    We always use this hotel either befor driving to the ferry at Bilbao from Southern Spain or driving into France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Hydromassage Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    As usual the staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was warm, cosy and delightful, with everything that we needed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.6
    Not a weekend stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th fact that there was no breakfast even just coffee would have been good

    Nice bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.3
    Once the GPS got it right, although in an industrial area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you want to explore, there is nothing around the hotel other than an old church (not open). Perfect for a stop off on a longer road trip, though. No hairdryer in bathroom, wifi not pass protected (may be relevant for business travellers). Only ES TV channels (would have been nice to have one international news channel in EN/FR, at least!).

    Once the GPS got it right, although in an industrial area, easy access. Comfy beds, very clean and just what you need in the room (see minus comments for bathroom). Food served at bar in the evenings (we hoped the restaurant would be open as during the week, but I guess it's only used lunchtimes). Good, basic food. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.1
    The hotel room was very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar area, which then doubled into the dining room, which was very basic and not very comfortable.The set evening meal was also basic and not vey apetitizing and a total disappointment. It did not reflect the well turned out hotel

    The hotel room was very comfortable and clean. Well furnished and decorated. The staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.1
    Rustic atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. This is how it seemed to us, the rest of the village / no more than ten buildings / which "swallowed" a huge, modern industrial zone. It is caught between the motorway and multi-kilometer zone of hangars concerns such as Mercedes Benz. Next to nothing, you need to travel, except for a gas station. Without GPS / how it happened we / not found. But we have learned some Spanish, the Basques in particular, responsive people !!!! Twice / Once late at night / they brought us along to this, lost in the vastness of production, location. However, the restaurant in demand, especially in the morning, the managers for a conversation over a cup of coffee. Probably, from the consciousness of self-importance, the owner gloomy and unfriendly.Расположение. Это , как нам показалось,остаток от деревни / не больше десяти построек/ , которая "проглочена" огромной, современной индустриальной зоной. Она зажана между автобаном и многокилометровой зоной ангаров таких концернов, как Мерседес Бенс.Безлюдное, унылое место.Рядом ничего, что нужно для путешествий, кроме бензозаправки.Без GPS / как это случилось у нас/ не найти.Зато мы узнали какие испанцы , баски в частности, отзывчивые люди!!!! Два раза / один раз поздно вечером/, они приводили нас за собой к этому , затерянному на производственных просторах, месту.Однако ресторанчик востребован, особенно с утра, у менеджеров, для разговров за чашкой кофе. Наверно, от сознания собственний важности, хозяин хмур и неприветлив.

    Rustic atmosphere. Not young, but well-kept stylish country house. Wood, stone, flowers, modern plumbing, cleaning, crisp white linen. Everything is fine except the location. Transfer to the lodge on nature .....Деревенская атмосфера. Не молодой, но ухоженный стильный деревенский дом. Дерево ,камень, цветы, современная сантехника,уборка, белоснежное белье. Все прекрасно, кроме расположения.Перенести бы этот домик на природу.....

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Quiet location a few minutes drive from the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Faultless.

    Quiet location a few minutes drive from the motorway. Beautifully decorated interior, very clean bedroom, quality bedding and roomy modern ensuite. Very friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was good value and plentiful. After a long day driving through France, we left for Portugal in the morning well rested and fed.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    5.8
    The hostess, a young woman, was a true darling and even made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The old guy at the reception immediately had us pegged as a homosexual couple and asked rather disapprovingly "where did the kid come from" (I was travelling with my friend and his 3-year old son). Everything we asked him he complied to in a rather disgruntled manner.

    The hostess, a young woman, was a true darling and even made us dinner out of hours, since we hadn't understood that the restaurant is closed on weekends.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is a gem but strangely situated between motorways...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only that it is difficult to reach - you can see it but sat. navs. just can't do it - you have to use common sense! Not a hotel you would spend more than a night, purely because of its location. That being said, it suited our purposes as we were travelling to Cadiz.

    The hotel is a gem but strangely situated between motorways and an industrial park, its is in a tiny village that has been isolated by the development. Food excellent, plentiful and hearty. Room lovely and staff ace. Ideal for a break on a long journey.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    5.4
    Room was nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work in room. no English spoken as advertised. No staff available at 9-30 am so could not get a cup of coffee before travelling. Payment was asked for on arrival. Hotel set on edge of industrial estate. Expensive.

    Room was nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.5
    The personal attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - however our sat nav - garmin was still showing the 4032 road as open to cars cross ing the motorway when in fact it had been closed for some while

    The personal attention

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.3
    Convenient for motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient for motorway

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Having a room suitable for a disabled person
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having a room suitable for a disabled person

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay easy access to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very comfortable stay easy access to motorway.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.2
    An ideal place to stay near the ferry ports
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An ideal place to stay near the ferry ports

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.5
    Modern hotel in classic country style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Modern hotel in classic country style

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: