Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montanyà Hotel & Lodge 4 stars

Avenida Montseny s/n, 08553 Seva, Spain

#2 of 3 hotels in Seva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1076 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think they should invest some new pillows...not very comfortable.

    The location of the hotel is amazing with incredible views, and great routes for walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet completely overpriced (28€/person for low quality food). Also very sad that such a beautiful place can offer such horrible tea and coffee.

    Great view, spacious lounge area and gastro bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - SPA closed at 7pm - Swimming pool cold - Jacuzzi more a small kid pool than a jacuzzi (only 2 waterjet on the ground) - No bathrobe inside the room to go at the swimming pool - The swimming pool is more a public pool like than a private hotel one - The restaurant was closed ... only the bar was open. They give you all the menu (2 languages Spanish & Catalan) ... but nothing tasty was available. The burger meat undercooked ... poor quality and fries really fat ... Staff at the bar are not really friendly and positive. - Breakfast: no fresh juice, coffee undrinkable, ...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is pricey but there's the best restaurant I've been to in Catalonia quite close (by car) at the golf course Montanya. Rooms were maybe bit cold, immediate surroundings are plain and there was some broken glass at the road below the hotel (bad for f.ex. dog that we had with us).

    Nice rural location, although you need a car to move around. During summer was really nice with warm weather, spa services (really good massage) and chilling at the outdoor pool. Now the outside pool was closed but it still was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not serviced- I raised this with reception checking out, she looked confused and apologised. Can't understand why this would happen as so few guests. The hotel was extremely quiet therefore lacking in atmosphere. On our 2nd night we are alone in a huge restaurant. Without driving a sugnificant distance there is no alternative. The breakfast the first morning was great, eggs/bacon offered to be cooked to order. Second morning no offer to cook anything and limited choice despite being only people there, 2 waitresses and a chef- we saw him leave the kitchen- present. Again I raised this with reception and was told it was because it was quiet. Really not good enough- too quiet to offer to cook the only 2 people there some eggs? Poor value for what we paid. Disappointed.

    Room/bed comfortable. Very peaceful. Great view. Food in restaurant although from a restricted choice was well prepared in the evenings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very attentive. The countryside around not very attractive and the suggested walks disappointing. The hotel does not give you the feeling of being connected to the surrounding countryside although the balcony was very nice to sit out on and read but no coffee /tea making facility in room.

    Nice warm indoor pool Good breakfast and buffet supper.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa seemed a little expensive. Some parasols by the pool would have been appreciated, although there was lots of natural shade in the afternoon.

    Great facilities, stunning views, excellent food options with good veggie choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Remoteness was a problem with lack of public transport and no airport shuttle. Had to rely on taxis that were very expensive. Mountain bikes offered by hotel were not fit for purpose and luckily found shop in region that would rent to us.

    Fantastic location for business and pleasure get away. Great staff and excellent food. Managed four days of mountain biking in local area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location at the foothills of Montseny. Great outdoor activities. Paradise for the kids with the swimming pools and staff so kind and friendly. I really cannot wait to go back for longer stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff at the front desk lucking knowledge regarding basic information about the area, transportation and lucking personal friendliness. There is fee for attending pool,sauna which I did not find when we were booking the hotel- thought entry was included in the hotel price. Some of the staff at the restaurant/bar services are stress out which influencing unrestful enviroment. There is no grocery store near by, totally depended on the hotel. Far from Barcelona city- 1 hour by car, 1:40 by train, need to take taxi to get nearest translation.

    Very nice, good size , very restful, comfortable, clean room very practically set up. Good breakfast selection. Spaces restaurant and bar. Pleasant staff at the front desk. Hotel with a lot of space, Excellent location for those who wants spent time in nature further from city life.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only 4 rooms occupied, but what can you expect on a Sunday night two weeks before Christmas? The place will be in full service right now.

    I have spent here one night on my way to a customer 50 km further NW. I was here only briefly but loved the pool and spa facilities, the design of the lodge and the view from the room at sunrise. The area is well suited for all kind of outdoor sports, but in order to benefit from that I should return some other time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No routes from the hotel possible to go to with a pram Breakfast and dinner good but always the same

    Bed very comfy, big pool and few people during the week

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been very disappointed about the pet friendliness! We booked this hotel because of this reason and... what we found when we arrived, it was that we had to pay 15€/night extra because of the dog! What, at the beginning, we thought that It was ok (it wasn't going to be our case, but We could understand that they may need more cleaning service). The surprise was that, when we made our check-in, We had to sign a paper where we said that we were the responsable of our dog and what he might do (what We agree with -it's a fact-). What We didn't agree with it was that, in the same paper, the hotel informs us that the dog couldn't be (almost) anywhere in the hotel (only in the bar, what it meant that we could not have dinner in the restaurant, in spite of eating and paying for a restaurant menu) and, in case we wanted to leave the dog alone in the room for a while (for example, because we wanted to go to the spa -activity that only one of us could enjoy It-) the dog had to stay closed in his pet carrier!

    The hotel was quite good, the service was nice, the location was excellent (you could breath nature) and the food (breakfast) was notable!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    can´t really complain about anything

    Room - Spacious room and a comfortable bed, Food - Good selection of food and good quality Nice quiet location, Good Spa

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there are some stray dogs on the area of the hotel. They case the guests. The staff of the hotel is not able to deal with that problem. One day our own dog was attacked by these dogs and was heavily injured. We had to go to a veterinary hospital immediately where our dog got a general anesthetic and a surgery. The hotel didn't show any gesture of good will to share the costs of the surgery or to find any other solution. Police couldn't help either. We are still waiting for a message from the hotel concerning this. The stray dogs on the hotel area also can be a threat for humans, especially kids. Besides this, the hotel was nice in general.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small for 3 pepole. The walls of the porch radiated heat

    .We stopped on the way to Barcelona. We arrived in the evening and left in the morning So did not use the facilities We ate dinner & breakfast and both were fine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Net i comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La Wifi millorable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had an unpleasant smell, guess it was from the pipes.

    Breakfast buffet was great, liked the spa centre (though access is a bit pricy.)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were horrendous and the room was poorly serviced.

    Breakfast, dinner and personnel were cool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bot dufficult to get around without a car

    Beautiful surroundings and lovely rooms with spectacular views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom are little bit noise

    The restaurant and bar lounge area is 5 star hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is a bit soulless...

    great mountain retreat. Good location and very close to Golf Course.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    chekin time, too late

    Beautiful place, large bed, wonderful breakast, perfect spa and swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect breakfast, cosy and clean rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view over the mountains, big outdoor swimming pool, buffet food was really delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh Air , cycling , Room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have SPA included in hotel formula.

    Friendly staff, breakfast was top !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, just sorry that we couldn't stay longer

    Fantastic place to relax

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and our sat nav did not match and took 3 hours from girona to find

    staff attentive and selection for breakfast was excellent even though we had quick slice of toast as had to get to the airport

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Why everyone seems to leave positive reviews about this place is a mystery to me. Badly managed establishment with useless staff and pathetic "spa". Avoid and save your money. First of all, the hotel doesn't answer emails sent to "reservations@montanyahotel.com". It would've been nice to know what we're getting into. Based on other reviews, we took the reservation anyway. How bad could it be? On arrival, things started looking weird. The front door was jammed, so we used the other door. The front reception man spoke no English, and didn't know how much the spa costs. Montanya's web page says 34 eur, the man said 54 eur. True price is 28 eur. You would think the staff are aware of their own prices? The interior design and furniture was fine in 1970, but today is outdated and worn. Floors from stone? Weird. The rooms were hot. Hotter than the sauna in the spa, which I'll get to later. Rooms missing basic supplies like body lotion and conditioner. For a hotel advertising itself as a spa, this is ridiculous. No bathrobes or slippers in the rooms. Bed was broken. Probably the same bed from the 1970s, as the rest of the furniture. Forgetting all this, we tried to go relax in the spa. As mentioned, the reception was clueless about the spa, so we went downstairs to ask more. The spa-girl happily took our money but didn't have time to present the spa area much more. The "spa" costs 28 eur and gives you access to four pools with different temperatures, a shower and two cold rooms advertised as saunas. One "steam" room with mildly warmed steam - no eucalyptus and cold benches. One "sauna" - a mildly warmed room without a stove. The "spa"-timelimit was 90 minutes per customer. Why anyone would spend more than 10 minutes in there is beyond me. This is not a "spa". We have a word for this, and it's called "rip-off".

    Great location and view. Some neat architecture and nice premises. Room was warm. Breakfast omelette was good.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It would be nice to have a place inside the hotel where the younger kids could play

    Bit expensive but great place to stay with kids. It's really worthy!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit overpriced for what you get. The distribution of the hotel and materials used for some things i.e. bar in the basement without light. Overlighted diningroom. Although the staff at the reception was very helpful, the ones of the bar downstairs were the contrary. Untrained and chaotic making you wait when there are hardly any other customers.. very strange decisions are taken there.. anyway. Not a very cozy hotel, must be the size of it.

    Great location, staff at reception. The installations were okay, it has almost everything one can wish.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    friendly staff but we stayed in the old part of the hotel and a bit of a walk to where the main part was hence breakfast room pool room lunch back and forward

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gym facilities only open at 09h00.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi, Thin wall (can hear all the noise from neighbor and from the hallway). Poor decoration in the room,

    Nice view and good atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Encontre la cama y la almoada incomodas

    La comida excelente

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dan zapatillas para spa

    La atencion del personal

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Remote location No cooked food (bar or restaurant) till 8.30 pm

    Very helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent spa

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - dinner, poor quality of the food -

    -spa -room -place

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms not to a 4 sars standard

    Spa, location, breakfast and dinner, actib¡vities for kids (billiard etc), pool (a bit chilly but fine)

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: