Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Nogal Home 2 stars

Avda. Juan Sebastián Elcano, 62, Este, 29017 Málaga, Spain

#36 of 53 B&Bs and Inns in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and there was a private bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was without a window - it was too hot and there was no fresh air. Also there wasn't any air conditioning in the bathroom and the toilel. As well it was a little noisy at night because of the hotel's guests.

    The room was clean and there was a private bathroom. Also there was a TV (with Spanish channels only).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hostal if you don't need WIFI.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    NO WIFI although it is advertised as included in the price, and NO REFUND for not having any WIFI.

    This property would have rated all fives if not for the non existent wifi. THERE IS NO WIFI AT ALL. We complained several times and were told that they had complained to the company, but nothing was done about it and we were there for almost 3 weeks. Rooms are very clean and there are two lovely outdoor spaces. Location is two short blocks to the beach and a short block to both the bus and the supermarket. Refrigerator could have been larger and cleaned out more frequently, but other than that, it was a great. Several very good language schools within a short walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were very firm but not uncomfortable.

    Very nice location, near the beaches and a cafe next door. Room was spacious and nicely appointed. No facilities for food in the room but a kitchen area where there was a drinks machine and possibility of heating food in a microwave. Lovely helpful staff although reception is not manned after 4.pm. Super central terraces with tables and chairs. Altogether a very nice establishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect value for money right next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a perfect place for this price. Located in my favorite area of Malaga - just meters away from the beach and seafood restaurants, but very well connected to the centre by bus. There is also a night bus, so there is no problem going back late. There is a nice little patio with tables and sunbeds - that would be perfect in summer. The room was small, but cosy and had everything we needed. Very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were promised a double bed - and we got 3 single beds instead. So much for romantic. Also, our room (number 2) was on the ground floor which gave it the aura of a cellar. We also couldnt find the stuff to check-in immediately, we had to call some numbers furst. However, it took around 10 min, no more.

    It was literally 1 min away from the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Cosy stay at Pedregalejo Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the rooms (like room 11 where I stayed or room 7) were a bit claustrophobic, but it's OK if you don't spend much time in the room. The bathroom was also a little bit small.

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Despite the language barrier, we were able to understand each other through smiles and kindness. The terrace was very comfortable and the location was just perfect. The room was very clean. There is a very nice kitchen that guests can use equipped with coffee and cold drinks vending machines. About 30 minutes walk from the city center, but you can also take the bus at the stop a few meters away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    We only stayed one night but would have happily stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We only stayed one night but would have happily stayed longer. Room was very comfortable and cool. Next time we visit Malaga we will stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location, room, air conditioning but check in out side of 9 to 5pm can be difficult as you collect key from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in arrangements as their is rarely someone in reception and you check in to nearby hotel who then give you the key to the hotel nogal

    The location and air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.2
    will never accept to stay again unless the choice of room is clear and there is honesty on the coice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    - the room (nr.9 and 2-3 more) was well above EU standards of noise pollution, do not accept rooms facing the street, they are at least 40 db and more, we have not been informed of that and even if there have been other rooms available, the request to switch even for couple of nights has been declined given that there have not been rooms available, - toilet flash has been permanently broken and we had to ask each day that it is repaired, - English is barely spoken, - no reception after 16.00, - wifi in the room is bad, - no explanation on the property use, - at one point, they even withdrew one set of towels, considering I am staying alone, even though I paid for double.

    - relatively clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    A good place to stay for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was close to the beach. From the airport there are 2 buses to take: Line A and then either 3 or 11. The room was basic but clean. Bathroom was clean. Across the street there is a cafe with good stuff. It is a very nice walk on the breach to downtown / Malagueta.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.8
    No answer to e-mails
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit of distance to city centre. Two beds in my room, that were both very squeaky. No window in my room to the outside world (one just leading to inner common walking passage). No answers to my two different requests by e-mail, arranged by booking.com on my behalf well in advance.

    Close to beach. Many shops and restaurants near by. Bus connection to city centre good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Happiness in El Nogal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like my own outside space to take in the sun. The patio is very pretty but doesn't get the sun.

    Very near beach, great restaurants and excellent bus service to Malaga City. Bus every few minutes and only 10 mins approx to centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location, 2 minutes from the bus stop to the center, 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy as our windows were facing a busy road.

    Great location, 2 minutes from the bus stop to the center, 2 minutes from the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Three night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny! Room not made up during our stay but maybe that is what is expected from a hostel rather than a hotel?

    Good location for beach, pleasant courtyard

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.9
    Great location, good value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, good value accommodation. Entry system using your payment card for access worked well. Mix-up on the room numbers was quickly rectified by calling the phone number. Staff kindly supported our left-luggage request.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location near to the local beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Noisy" metallic beds

    Great location near to the local beach. Easy access to the city center by bus (3,11). Very Clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good good altogether

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We never saw the jacuzzi...

    The location was perfect. Close to the beach, and the bus to Malaga City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the main road-if your room is turned to the street

    Very clean, close to the beach, restaurants and supermarket

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Very clean and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and helpful staff. Would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.8
    Brief.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door lock didn’t work,?really struggled to get in late at night.

    Location, restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    we were very conforteble and everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were very conforteble and everything was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Good place to start a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Quiet location. Not a tourist trap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.4
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold

    Value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Guys.. thanks for your note.. appreciated.. 👍
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Silence, boutique design, cleanness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Love all the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The woman in the lobby was so nice and I would love to come back there, so helpful. Thank you Nogal for excellent service :) Definetly recommended !!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.3
    Obnoxious Smell from plumbing permeated room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obnoxious Smell from plumbing permeated room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.8
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better cooking stuff !

    Hi

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.9
    THE BED WAS VERY COMFY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE BED WAS VERY COMFY! VERY CLEAN PLACE, AND QUIET.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    best short break ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The friendly staff nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No reception, seen it once. Doesnt speak english. room is tiny. bathroom is a joke. overall i wouldnt stay there again.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.1
    It was in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we arrived at night, we couldn't get in. They didn't answered the phone for about 1 hour. Most of the staff couldn't understand even the simplest english sentences.

    It was in a beautiful location. The place looked stunningly good. There is a bus stop and a shop nearby

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.5
    Great location, close to the beach with many restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to use your credit card to open the door. it is not convenient when two persons want to split and one need to come back to the room and second need to pay by card.

    Great location, close to the beach with many restaurants, supermarket and to the bus stop. Good value for this price if you don't want to stay in busy center.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    Cute little hostel, very quiet and close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room smelled somewhat of smoke and the check-in process was difficult because we arrived after 21:00 and the door mechanism didn't accept my credit card to open. If this happens to you, go to the Hotel Elcano which is 100m further on the street and call the night porters number, he can open your door for you.

    Cute little hostel, very quiet and close to the beach. Clean beds and bath. Very good price. For us (students on a quick holiday) it was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no staff at the hostel when arrived just a note to say to use my credit card to open the doors. It worked on the outside door but not the room door. I had to walk 20minutrs to another hotel. The staff brought the wrong keys. It eventually took 2 hours to access the room. Also I was charged for 2 nights when I booked only for1.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    The owners were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were amazing! They were really friendly and helpful. My sister left her purse on a bus on the last day and they went out their way to do everything to help her. Good size room in a lovely location near the beach. I would deffinitly recommend staying here.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely people, pretty courtyard and simple, but comfy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Funny shower curtain that wasn't waterproof and a/c was a bit temperamental

    Lovely people, pretty courtyard and simple, but comfy rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    very good price-quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good price-quality close to beach and restaurants easy to go to Malaga centre by bus 3 or 11

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.4
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 9 by a very busy road - very loud;(

    Price

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    Location of place & outside terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location of place & outside terrace

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.9
    It's like a timeslot, where nothing have changes for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's like a timeslot, where nothing have changes for decades. nice courtyard. Value for Money

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.1
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was with little, tiny window to the inside yard!

    Quiet

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.5
    The changing of towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom smelled slightly of drains.

    The changing of towels. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    Close to beach and rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to beach and rest

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi didn't work for most of the days we were there

    Location Cleaness

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.9
    Very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some troubles with WiFi in the room.

    Very close to the beach. A lot of restaurants are nearby. Quiet place compared with city center.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    Close to beach and cafes and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to beach and cafes and restaurants. Bus to city centre almost outside building. Pleasant outdoor sitting area. Pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    8.3
    Clean tidy hotel, staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can here noise from other rooms

    Clean tidy hotel, staff were friendly and helpful.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse El Nogal Home traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: